- Open fire
- Garden / Patio
- Cot available
- Highchair available
- Washing machine
- Broadband / WiFi
Reviews & Ratings
38 Customer Reviews
"The cottage is beautiful."
Perfect location for us as we love the North cornish coast. It was comfortable with good facilities. We could have done with a couple of tea towels and a dishcloth. It's a personal preference but I prefer not to use a dishwasher. The only thing we didn't like was that the cottage was not very clean. It was "superficially" clean. Dust, dog hair (?), cobwebs covered skirting boards, surfaces and in corners.The floors had only been swept/washed where you could see. There were drips of toothpaste/water down the front of the washstand cabinet in the bathroom. If it had just been one or two things - it could have been overlooked, but it was very noticeable. It's a shame. Lovely cottage. It didn't ruin our experience, we had a lovely time. But it was bad enough to mention it.
"A welcoming, clean, well equiped,home from home"
"This has been our fantastic Cornish retreat."
The location is perfect, and the roads were not as bad as we thought. We used the bus service a few times, it was handy. Thanks for the goodies and the homely atmosphere. Recommendations - St Just Taxis - Keith was an unexpected highlight. The Queens Arms - food 5 star. Pendeen Lighthouse and walk to boat cove. (Bus to St Ives makes lives easier) Botallack Mines, bus to Lands End, then walk to Sennen. St Just fish & chips and chinese. Geevor cafe for breakfast & views!
"A beautifully and sympathetically refurbished cottage in the lovely village of Pendeen with a fantastic view of the sea from the front windows."
Extremely well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds and all the required technology including Bluetooth stereo with speakers in the ceiling. Large table and chairs outside. The village has a few pubs and a little shop within walking distance. Sennen Cove is simply beautiful and Portheras Cove, whilst a bit of a hike (park at the lighthouse) is well worth the walk and was virtually empty. We really couldn’t fault anything with Bal View and will definitely consider returning. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
"This is a lovely cottage."
It’s clear that the owners take pride in making it a comfortable and welcoming place for a holiday.
"This is our second stay at Bal View."
The cottage is tastefully decorated and warm and cosy. The views are lovely and it's in a very good location. There are places to eat and a local shop in easy walking distance. There are good walking opportunities in the area and bus stops practically outside the cottage. The open top bus to St. Ives is an unforgettable trip. The parking space at Bal View is generous. We would certainly recommend this lovely cottage.
"Very comfortable cottage with excellent facilities."
The photos in the brochure do not do it justice. It is well placed in Trewellard for accessing all local coves and beaches. We 'survived' storm Noa while we were there and it was wonderful to arrive back soaking wet and cold to this warm and comfy cottage. Off street parking great bonus too. We would happily rebook.
"This was our second time staying at Bal View and we enjoyed it as much this time as we did the first time."
Will definitely return…everything perfect for us.
"We have stayed at Bal View a number of times and it’s perfect for a winter break - warm and cosy BUT this year we were so disappointed with the mattresses on the two double beds, they need to be replaced."
The years of having all shapes and sizes have taken their toll, way too soft but more importantly no support on the sides, very easy to roll off. We’ve ended up with creaky backs and necks. We even resorted to sleeping in separate bedrooms and in the end cut our stay short by a night. Will have to think seriously about whether we will return.
Thank you for your feedback. I can advise that all mattresses in the property are being replaced this week. I do hope that you will consider coming to stay at Bal View again in the future. Property Owner
"Stunning property in a beautiful location, plenty of things to travel and see nearby."
We have been here before this time we had our little one with us and it was as perfect as the last time we visited. Really appreciated the little touches like the stair gate it was a lifesaver with a toddler! We were also welcomed with a beautiful cream tea, a fantastic treat after a very long drive so thank you!
"We loved the cottage."
Got everything you need to enjoy your holiday. BUT. On arrival found property not very clean! Spent 1st hour cleaning kitchen and bathroom. Unable to use bbq. It was left dirty and uncovered. Needs a deep clean. We were left with only bath towels NO hand towels, bath mat or tea towels! Phoned customer service on Sunday, towels didn’t arrive until following Friday. Not a good start to our holiday!
Thank you for your feedback.Pleased to hear you enjoyed the cottage.We have spoken to the cleaning care team who apologise and insure us the problems you incurred will not happen again. We would love to welcome you back. Property Owner
"We had a really lovely time at the cottage, v comfortable, lovely warm courtyard nd views towards the sea and equipped with absolutely everything."
The only tiny quibble was that the bathroom washbasin is still in need of unblocker, as we mentioned at the beginning of our stay ( and also mentioned in other reviews). Overall a really lovely base and we would definitely rebook.
"The cottage was beautiful and the cream tea arrival gift was very thoughtful and appreciated, however the beds were small and not overly comfortable."
I understand that a cottage bedroom can’t fit big beds but a better description would’ve helped - it wasn’t a big issue as my partner and I slept separately (we’re 5’8” and 6’1” for reference) - I just slept in the other double room with my daughter. Also the pillows and duvets were very thin and didn’t fit the covers leaving huge gaps of sheets which left us very cold. In hindsight, I would’ve bought my own bedding as there were no spares. The cottage was generally very clean, the kitchen especially so but the bathroom was very dusty and the shower door had handprints and smudges all over it. However the bath and the shower were so relaxing after a day at the beach! These are just small annoyances and did not put us off our stay or returning to Bal View as the location and cottage is worth it.
Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. Our quality assurance manager has visited the property and confirmed the width of the double beds are a tiny bit shorter than average, but not enough to warrant a change to the description. The quilts and pillows will be replaced, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Property Owner
"We absolutely loved the cottage."
There were a couple of things that we struggled with. The fridge is small for the number of people the cottage is catering for. Especially with no freezer. We missed a freezer. And it was only the two of us, so we could mange. No cleaning solutions for kitchen, bathroom. Bin bags, no extra bin bags. We were there for two weeks and the bins are a large size. Heating, we struggled with the bathroom underfloor heating. I don't think we ever managed to get it to come on. Overall, the cottage is excellent. And these are only tiny niggles, and not enough to stop us booking the cottage again.
"We keep returning to Bal View for a winter break and it’s in an area we know well."
It’s a warm and cosy cottage with lovely underfloor heating and very well equipped. The only negative is the brightness of the outside lights both front and back which are on from dawn to dusk with no ability to turn them off. Even with blackout linings it takes a couple of nights to adjust. Everything else is perfect. We like the fact that so much is accessible without having to use the car.
"Great cottage, clean, warm and welcoming."
Great walking routes from the door and 3 pubs to pick from all very different in their offerings
"A beautifully renovated cottage, very well equipped and spotlessly clean."
It made an extremely comfortable and cosy base for exploring this wonderful coast. The welcome cream tea was a nice touch!
"The cottage is absolutely a delight."
All the facilities you could wish for, comfy beds with a superb outlook over the Geever Tin Mine and the sea. Only criticism was the cleanliness. Considering we could not get in until 5:30pm there were elements of the accommodation which were not clean. The kitchen sink was particularly dirty which we had to clean with a disgusting looking bowl in the sink. Most floors where dusty with clumps in the corners but we cleaned round. All in all we had a lovely time at Bal View with a lovely cream tea awaited.
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear you had a lovely stay at Bal View. We are sorry to hear you have experienced cleanliness issues at the property, Bal View have a trusted team of cleaners who received great feedback week on week as you can see in the previous feedback for Bal View. Property Owner
"This was a fantastic cottage in every way… beautiful decor , spotless plus there was everything you could possibly need for/ if cooking."
Great location Hope to return ….we would say probably one of the best we have ever stayed in. Oh the lovely afternoon tea welcome pack was well appreciated Thank you
"The cottage was well equipped, warm (we loved the under - floor heating!"
) and nicely decorated. We were a bit disappointed (given the extra time allocated for cleaning these days) to find a clump of hair on the washing machine door, LOTS of hair on the beds and bedroom floors, a blocked bathroom sink and a rim of soap scum around the bath. Unfortunately, we couldn't get used to the matteresses and consequently we didn't sleep very well. They looked of a high quality, but they were just far too soft for us. The cottage was well located and served as a good base from which to explore the area. We enjoyed being able to walk from the door along the coast path.
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry Bal View was not as prepared as it should have been for your stay and this has been addressed with the housekeeping company. We would gladly have arranged for someone to call back and deal with the issues had you raised them while at the property. The matter of the slow draining sink was remedied following your departure, as you suggested. Despite these things, we hope you enjoyed your holiday and we would love to welcome you back. Property Owner
"We were really surprised at how large the property was."
From the outside we were a little worried it would be a bit cramped for 4 adults and a child but it was perfect. Nothing felt too far away and it was a great base to explore Cornwall. The bed was a little uncomfortable as it was very soft and we rolled out a couple of times. But that is the only small thing we would say. We definitely will be booking Bal view again.
"Lovely cottage - is exactly like the photographs!"
Very comfortable furnishings, although the mattresses were a bit on the soft side - the single bed mattress was firmer! Enough off road parking for two cars if you are careful when reversing in (reversing in is recommended). The only downside was the size of the fridge - it is only an undercounter fridge with a small icebox compartment - not really big enough to hold cold food for five people. Enjoyable week!
"It was very cosy comfortable and clean ,beautiful view from my bedroom window warm ,comfortable beds could not fault anything."
"This was a really well set up, well organised and well located holiday cottage."
The village Pendeen has pubs, a church and a good shop all within easy walking distance, and the coast path is accessible in both directions. The cottage itself worked well, and even the hi-tech stuff such as AirPlay feeds etc all worked easily first time. Not always the case. The cottage was warm, cosy with a very effective easy to start wood-burner. Couple of suggestions - the welcome pack was nice, but at that time of year, one bag of logs provided as a start would be helpful. The dual rubbish bin in kitchen was good and access to the outside bins easy - but we just couldn't find any spare rubbish bags - they must have been well-hidden!
"The cottage was in a lovely setting, with the sea a being only a short distance away."
The cottage was very well equipped, very clean, neat and tidy. My friend and I both said the same thing, in that it did exceed our expectations, with the underfloor heating, comfort, it just felt very homely. Great location for exploring this part of Cornwall, no where was very far by car. Excellent visit to the local tin mine which was only a short walk away. Good local pub, very good food, not too expensive. Good service, approx. 5-7 mins away by car. The weather was wet and windy at times, however the cottage was so warm, secure, once inside none of this mattered.
"Perhaps a bigger fridge freezer would be useful"
"Bal View is a cosy clean comfortable cottage, with easy walks from the door step, really friendly local people, very good pubs nearby serving good quality food."
Would really recommend the Trewellard Meadery and The North Inn. This has been our second visit here and have already booked for a third visit next year.
"Well appointed cottage with everything you could possibly need- great little touches everywhere."
"A beautiful cottage - well equipped , every attention to detail was fulfilled."
A beautifully decorated Christmas tree in the lounge, Christmas crackers , Prosecco & treats awaited our arrival -EXCELLENT!! The cottage was warm on arrival - .everything about it was comfortable. Don’t mind if you publish feedback or not !
"We had a great time the house was clean quiet and excellent value for money, we really enjoyed our stay."
We would definitely stay again.
"Beautiful cottage which we were sad to leave, perfect location for beach’s and places to eat and drink"
"The cottage was superb, very comfortable and in an excellent location."
Would definitely visit again.
"Really great and the most comfortable cottage we have ever had!"
There is all you need and a very high standard in everything. Our backs didn‘t like the very soft mattresses - but thats a personal thing. The road right in front of the house was a little bit busy in the morning, but anyway - this cottage is highly recommended!
"Lovely house in a friendly village - would book again."
Would recommend The Field House for dinner.
"Lovely quiet cottage, in a convenient location - with choice of local pubs, other eateries (recommend the Trewellard Meadery - within 6/7 mins walk."
..just as well!), plus Convenience Store. All decoration, equipment and fittings are of highest quality and very well-maintained. Super, modern kitchen. Almost immediately opposite the Geevor Mine, which is also worth a visit. If we did have a minor gripe, it was that we did find the heating arrangement quite odd: in that there was underfloor heating provided downstairs which we found at times almost unpleasantly warm, whilst the bedrooms were uniformly frigid in the mornings (the radiators upstairs appeared to function solely in the early hours...with no obvious way to boost 'on-demand', all wall mounted controls being 'locked out' by owners) - therefore the effect as one ascended the stairs, was always that of a sizeable heat gradient.
"Always trust Sykes cottages for peace of mind and quality."
Never been disappointed.
"Beautiful cottage - perfect for a winter break - cosy and comfortable."
Love the fact that the kitchen is so well equipped cooking is a pleasure but Bal View is also within walking distance of a number of places to eat - always good when you enjoy the Elderberry Mead Wine served at Trewellard Meadery.
"Only downsize to the property is the size of beds they were small double but it’s persond preference as we have a king at home!"
Otherwise fantastic place to stay just gutted we were snowed in!
There are no reviews featuring this term Show all reviews
This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.
- Ground floor with sitting room with wood burner and smart TV
- Kitchen and dining room
- One flight of stairs to first floor with two double bedrooms and one single bedroom
- Bathroom with bath and walk-in shower.
- Electric central heating, electric oven and hob, fridge with freezer compartment, dishwasher, washing machine, 32" Smart TV, DVD, WiFi, Hairdryer
- Electricity inc in rent
- Bed linen and towels inc in rent
- Cot, high chair and stairgate available
- Off road parking for two cars, Sorry no pets and no smoking
Impeccably refurbished from top to toe to an excellent standard, Bal View is a romantic seaward facing granite cottage set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in the small village of Trewellard.
Within a short stroll is the iconic Pendeen Lighthouse, secluded Portheras Cove Beach and a village shop, coffee shop, meadery and convenience store.
There are miles of sandy beaches and rugged coastline to explore for spectacular views, wildlife, walking, fishing and water sports.
Head out on foot along the stunning coastal path, or by bike or car along the coast road - voted the UK's most scenic.
Return from a day's exploring to pure comfort and elegance.
Bal View delivers luxury, quality and style without compromise.
The living room with wood burning stove, richly coloured sofas and chairs festooned with cushions and throws await enticingly.
There is an impressive kitchen/dining room laden with top name brand appliances coupled with traditional features.
Upstairs are three sumptuous bedrooms and a gorgeous family bathroom with freestanding bath with separate walk-in shower.
Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.
About the location
- St Just 2 miles
- St Ives 11 miles
- Land’s End 7 miles
Trewellard is a small village on the north coast road between St Ives and St Just. Located in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, there are plenty of lovely walks in the surrounding countryside and along the coast. The area around Trewellard was once heavily involved in the tin mining industry, and as such, the village is now a Site of Special Scientific Interest. Geevor Mine, just outside the village, was one the last few working tin mines in Cornwall, finally closing in 1990. The mine is now a museum. Levant Tin Mine, also just outside Trewellard, is now owned and run by the National Trust. The cliffs just below Trewellard offer fantastic rock climbing opportunities. Trewellard has two restaurants – one of which is a Medieval-themed ‘Meadery’ – and a pub.