Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 22 View Image Gallery
  • Cider Cottage - Cornwall - 959374 - photo 1

Cider Cottage

(Ref. 959374)

Looe, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (9)
  • pool (8)
  • bed (6)
  • lovely (6)
  • dog (4)
  • good (4)

14 Customer Reviews

  • "Kitchen is well equipped, miss a good skillet."

    The house is suitable for families with small children. Above an adult cannot stand upright. Interior very dated and much used. Beds uncomfortable potholes and springs felt. The outdoor area is not suitable for sitting. It is unappealing, rubbish bins in front and a house is being built next to it. No privacy due to scaffolding and generator sound from 8 o'clock in the morning. Not good value for money

    Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cider Cottage. Firstly we do sincerely apologise for the noise from the building being carried out in our neighbouring field. We had not anticipated this and thankfully it has now ceased. In relation to the other comments, we have recently installed a complete new kitchen, furnished the lounge with two new sofas and completed some decorating work. We have never received complaints regarding the comfort of the double bed and on checking, found nothing untoward. With regard to the ceiling height in the upstairs bedroom…it is stated clearly on the description that the headroom is 4’7”. Children do love it but we have also often had teenagers and even an 80 year old lady sleep there with no complaints! The rubbish bins are well covered with high fencing and have never caused a problem to any of our guests in the fourteen years we have been letting out our cottages. Whilst we do understand and apologise again for the builders noise which understandably would have made it uncomfortable to sit out in the small cottage courtyard we must point out that there are three acres of gardens and meadow together with a large patio area and garden around the outdoor heated pool for our guests to enjoy. Lastly, if you had asked for anything you needed but were unable to find, such as a skillet we would have immediately supplied it for you. We have since supplied two of different sizes to the cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gja2.8Jun 2023

  • "A great dog friendly cottage in a nice quiet location."

    The cottage had everything we needed. Central heating and plenty of hot water anyway but the log burner made it super cozy on a cooler evening. Large field on site to exercise the dog which was brilliant. Nice pubs, beaches and coastal walks just a short drive away. Sad to leave and hope to return.

    Reviewed by Bruce5.0Sep 2022

  • "Lovely cottage, really helpfull and kind owners, had a fabulous week there"

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Aug 2022

  • "Had a lovely 2 week holiday."

    We visited lots of places including Seaton dog beach and 2 visits to Chartwell adventure dog fields. The welcome items of milk, biscuits and wine were a lovely thought. Thank you

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jun 2022

  • "A friendly welcome from the owner and a bottle of wine and milk in the fridge."

    Utter disappointment from my grandchildren and myself to find out that the ' heated' swimming pool was closed from the beginning of October, a feature we were all looking forward too. Nowhere on the booking app through Sykes Cottages did it mention this and I've checked and treble checked despite Sykes Cottages saying that it does. We found the property clean and as described. Unfortunately we had torrential rain and the flat roof leaked and rain came through our bedroom ceiling...we left a day early and informed the owner of the leak.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. We are sorry that your grandchildren were disappointed that the swimming pool was closed. However, the following red note is on the website - Note: The heated swimming pool and adjoining garden and patio is shared between guests at Trehalvin and is open from May to September. Children must be supervised at all times. Thank you for advising us of the leak in the bedroom ceiling which will be dealt with. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wendy3.4Oct 2021

  • "This Cottage was very tired and in need of a good clean!"

    ..Rusty toaster, cracked unclean wine glass in the cupboard, stains on the curtains and lampshade..Bed uncomfortable!..We could not stay any longer and left after three nights, .Our first holiday since lock down and we were so disappointed..I do not recommend this cottage..!!!..Although we did take up the matter with Sykes cottages, It was a waste of time..!..

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry that you experienced these issues. Had you mentioned this to the owners at the time, they would have been happy to have the opportunity to rectify any problems. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen1.3Sep 2021

  • "We felt very disappointed with the accommodation at Cyder Cottage, the cottage was absolutely filthy!"

    It had clearly not been cleaned in a long time!! Cobwebs and spiders everywhere! Dead insects on the floor! There was no cleaning products at all to be found within the property! No hand soaps by the sinks ( especially with Covid!!) seating facilities outside ( the picnic bench!) was green and mouldy! Never been cleaned! Could do with a jet wash!! Upstairs bedroom was unusable due to steepness of stairs for our 7 year old and the heat!! It was about 10 degrees hotter up there!! So he had to sleep on the floor next to our bed. Generally the place was tired and dirty! A low level of glasses and cups. Talking to all three guests that were also staying too said their accommodation was also shockingly dirty! Our neighbours in smugglers cottage even brought cleaning products whilst there! Also spoke to yourselves and Peter who arranged another deep clean!! But she said it was still awful! Luckily we had nice weather and the pool was amazing as were the grounds!! I feel for the other families now staying there

    We are sorry to hear of the cleanliness issues that you mention. I discussed these comments with the owner who was surprised to hear this, amongst other glowing feedback in the visitors book and the website. There is plenty of glassware and cups provided. Had you contacted the owners at the time, they would have been more than happy to sort out your issues quickly and efficiently as they had mentioned on arrival to you. The cottage is older and therefore prone to spider webs but extra attention to detail is taken to remove these at changeover as a result. Bars of soap are left in the cottage by the bathroom basins, along with other cleaning utensils. There is a window and a fan supplied for the upstairs bedroom. We have never had any complaints about that room, and it has been enjoyed by adults and children alike. There was an issue with the cleaning in one of the neighbouring properties, but this was put right to the satisfaction of the guests. We are however happy to hear you enjoyed and made the most of the pool, the weather, and the grounds. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anthony1.9Jul 2021

  • "The grounds 0f the property are lovely and the swimming pool is fantastic, however I feel the cottage lacked some comfort and felt it needed a deep clean."

    The owner of the property is very accommodating but just feel the cottage/ furniture is in need of some updating. It's a shame because it's a lovely place but lacks attention to detail in some areas, if this could be improved upon I would have given it 5 stars! Maybe he needs to look at employing a better cleaning company as this is really letting him down. Sorry Peter! If I was to return in it's present condition I would only hire one if the newer cabin style propertys

    We are sorry to hear of the cleanliness issues that you mention. I discussed these comments with the owner who was surprised to hear this, amongst other glowing feedback in their visitor book and on the website. Had you contacted the owners at the time, they would have been more than happy to sort out your issues quickly and efficiently, as they had mentioned on arrival to you. We feel that the photos of the cottage and the furnishings are accurate to what you find and are fitting with the aesthetic of an older cottage. We are glad to hear of your positive comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire3.4Jun 2021

  • "The cottage is lovely and cosy."

    My 5 year old loved the pool which is heated and the park. She couldn’t have had more fun. It was completely out of the way, which is what we loved. And it was is was only about five minutes away from looe. Which was even better. Thank you for a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Jackie4.4Sep 2020

  • "Great location to visit Looe and surrounding area and the pool was lovely and warm"

    Reviewed by Janine5.0Aug 2020

  • "Generally a good visit although cottage is in need of updating."

    Great swimming pool and location and very peaceful. The bed was a small double with a very soft mattress so not ideal as we are used to something bigger and a lot firmer. Sofas are also a little tired. Generally well equipped kitchen which is functional but again could do with an update. Cottage is very dark and sits under a large tree so very little natural light into the property. The rear windows look onto a horse field which I don't think is owned by the cottage owners. The field is badly maintained so you look out onto horse poo, weeds and metal fencing. For the £750 paid for this rental I was hoping for a bit more.

    Reviewed by Don2.8Sep 2018

  • "The owners were very welcoming and accommodating without crowding us ."

    The cottage could do with a few basics such as salt and a few basics would have been welcome on arrival after a six hour journey although we did have sachets of coffeee and sugar but no milk or bread ! A bottle of wine was left for us a big plus ! The pool was lovely and the cottage looked very the upstairs was only suitable for children we were not really informed of this until we arrived so my sister had to crawl to get dressed and the stairs were very steep however saying all of that we would definitely recommend them to a family and the dog really enjoyed his time there too ! ***Owners response*** Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback following your recent stay at Cider Cottage. We've spoken with the owner who has asked us to cover the points mentioned in order to help yourselves and reassure future guests. We were very sorry to hear that milk and salt were not left at Cider Cottage for your arrival, we always thrive to provide lots of extras for our guests which would normally include milk and sea salt. We can only assume on this occasion these items were overlooked, for which we apologise, had you let us know during your stay we would have been more than happy to provide these for you. We are also sorry that you were not aware of the upstairs bedroom layout, we do state in the description on both of our websites that the upstairs room is set into the eaves and we also advise of a 4'7'' height restriction. We are pleased to hear that despite the points raised you enjoyed your stay at Cider Cottage. The feedback we receive for Cider Cottage is overwhelmingly positive and we are confident that any issues highlighted are a one off.

    Reviewed by Louise4.1Sep 2018

  • "We enjoyed ourselves and the accommodation was good"

    Reviewed by Olive4.7Jun 2018

  • "Wonderful location, easy travelling distance to local attractions."

    Great cottage to take your dog. The heated outdoor swimming pool was absolutely stunning. Owners very pleasant and helpful. Simply the best holiday with Sykes yet. Cant recommend it enough.

    Reviewed by Denise4.7May 2018

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Arranged over two floors
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin has restricted headroom of 4'7"/140cm
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area.
  • Electric panel heaters, wood burner, electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washer/dryer
  • TV, DVD, CD/radio/iPod dock, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • On-site shared facilities: swimming pool, children’s play area
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • 1 dog welcome (or 2 at owner's discretion, please enquire) at £30 per week
  • Patio area with furniture
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shops, pubs and restaurants 3 miles
  • Beach 5 miles
  • Note: Very steep stairs to twin bedroom and has limited head room at 4'7"/140cm at the highest point which is along the middle of the room (see photos)
  • Notes: Step up into shower approx 25 cm.

The property

This pretty cottage provides beautifully furnished accommodation close to the seaside town of Looe, South East Cornwall.

Approached along a leafy drive the cottage sits in a private corner on the owners' grounds and is an idyllic rural retreat.

There are two lovely bedrooms, the second bedroom being upstairs and set into the eaves - particularly loved by children.

The open plan kitchen and living area is full of rustic character and charm but with the comforts of modern living.

Sink into the plump settees with the wood burner for the colder evenings and leave your busy life in the past.

Outside there is a private patio area ideal for listening to the birdsong over your morning coffee.

There are shared on-site facilities, including a wonderful swimming pool, perfect for cooling off on a warm day and a children's play area.

Also available to book individually, or for larger groups, are Smugglers Cottage, Daisy Lodge and Sam's Cabin.

Shared use of a large meadow overlooking scenic countryside and woodlands is the perfect spot for ball games and exercising dogs.

Ideally located for exploring the diverse coastline of the Cornish Riviera, you will find fabulous surfing beaches at Whitsand Bay, Seaton and Downderry or for walking lovers, the South West footpath is within a short drive.

The seaside town of Looe is well-known for its food and eateries from fish and chips to fine dining and with its working fishing port; you can buy your fresh fish and rustle up a lovely evening meal.

Take a day trip to the vibrant, naval city of Plymouth or the awe inspiring gardens at the Eden Project, both within easy driving distance.

There are three other properties within the same grounds: Daisy Lodge, Sam's Cabin and Smugglers Cottage; perfect if you wish to holiday with friends but still retain some privacy.

A beautiful cottage for a relaxing family holiday.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Polperro 5 miles.

Looe is Cornwall’s second largest fishing port and hence there is always a lively maritime bustle around the quay area of East Looe, which is connected to the quieter West Looe by a seven arched 19th century bridge over the River Looe. You can also catch the river taxi between East and West Looe. East Looe has narrow cobbled streets, twisting alleyways and plenty of tourist shops, whilst West Looe has a lovely outlook across the harbour. Looe’s viewpoint, Banjo Pier, can be reached from the quay and is a great spot to watch the returning fishing trawlers and look across the bay to Looe Island, which can be walked to occasionally at very low tides. The sandy Looe beach adjoins the pier and is very popular with families because of its safe shallow swimming and vast expanse of sand. There is also a great rock pool area at Hannafore that children will love. West Looe has a Heritage Centre that recently opened in the Old Sardine Factory with a climbing wall and a cafe and the delightful Kilminorth Woods have way marked walks through the majestic oak wood, rich in plant, insect and bird life. Apart from beach activities in this part of south east Cornwall, there are many mining remains on Bodmin Moor and in the Tamar Valley and much of the mining landscape has World Heritage status. This area of Cornwall has inspired writers, such as Daphne du Maurier and much of Bodmin Moor has inspired legends linked with King Arthur. There is much to explore in this beautiful part of Cornwall.

View more holiday cottages in Looe

Note: steep stairs to twin bedroom. Children must be supervised.
Note: Very steep stairs to twin bedroom and has limited head room at 4'7"/140cm at the highest point which is along the middle of the room (see photos).
Note: The heated swimming pool and adjoining garden and patio is shared between guests at Trehalvin and is open from May to September. Children must be supervised at all times.
Note: 1 dog welcome (or 2 at owner's discretion, please enquire) at £30 per week. No other pets allowed.