Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cotswolds 6 minutes ago

1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Bobby Jo's - Cotswolds - 1091394 - photo 1






Bobby Jo's

(Ref. 1091394)

Blockley, Gloucestershire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance

25 Customer Reviews

  • "We’ve stayed here a few times over the last number of years and have always enjoyed our stay."

    I wish to raise a health and safety concern with regard to the steps leading onto the garden.. they are very slippy with no handrail or slip prevention/ grips. My wife had a very bad fall bruising and hurting her back. My dog also slipped on a number of occasions. This needs rectified please as this a very dangerous hazard.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of the issues you experienced. The owner has just embarked on an external refurbishment of the property, so all these will be resolved. We hope we can welcome you back again once the work is completed. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jonathan3.4Oct 2023

  • "Bobby Joe's is a lovely property, however we didn't find the property very comfortable mainly due to the suite in the lounge/conservatory, it certainly wasn't easy to relax of an evening especially when the nights are drawing in, also the dinning furniture has defiantly seen better days."

    The other thing that should be mentioned is that there is no mention that dogs are stickily prohibited from the bedrooms this should be mentioned in the property description.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Bobby Jo's. We appreciate the feedback provided by yourself and the Owner is looking to replace the sofa's in both the lounge and conservatory areas. We hope you still had a lovely stay, it's a wonderful spot to be based in the Cotswolds. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pauline3.1Oct 2023

  • "Bobby Jo's was the perfect place for a break away from the noise and pollution of the city!"

    It was actually larger than it looked on the website and ideally located for visiting the beautiful surrounding Cotswolds. The added bonus was that it was dog friendly. We weren't aware at the time of booking that the bedrooms were off limits to the dog but that wasn't a problem for us. And the garden was enclosed and totally safe for him which was far more important. Would happily recommend the accommodation and the location for anyone wanting peace, quiet and plenty of country walks.

    Thank you for your wonderful comments, regarding your stay at Bobby Jo's. It's always lovely to get feedback from guests. It sounds like your furry friend had an enjoyable time to. We would love to welcome you all back again in the future. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Sep 2023

  • "The property was stunning very clean and we also found the furniture and beds ..."

    The property was stunning very clean and we also found the furniture and beds quite comfy the views are stunning and the village is worth a visit the only downside was the toilets weren’t connected to the mains and the bathrooms were a little smelly but it didn’t spoil our stay

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the local area. Thank you for letting us know about the bathrooms. This has been passed on to Housekeeping. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine4.7Aug 2023

  • "This was our second visit to Bobby Jo's, we enjoy the peaceful location and the lovely surroundings of Blockley."

    Overall the property could be rated as good but there are matters which need URGENT attention, The cane furniture seating is collapsing, the webbing has disintegrated, all the cushion upholstery is sagging dreadfully. We coped by supporting our chairs with small scatter cushions. The mattress in the smaller bedroom is extremely uncomfortable, loose springs and lumpy and so could not be used. These shortcomings have been reported to you previously (as shown in several previous feed backs) is it not time for rectification? The hedging along the side path is overgrown making access difficult, requires extensive trim. It is hoped these shortcomings will be addressed very soon and we can return to Bobby Jo's knowing all will be well.

    Reviewed by Pat3.4Jun 2023

  • "Very roomy and comfortable for 2 adult couples."

    Great location in a small quiet village with pub and cafe within easy walking distance. Close to hiking trails. We enjoyed the living room with wide open doors to the outside patio. The large kitchen allowed us to cook meals when we weren’t exploring the Cotswolds. We thought the house should have a broom available.

    Thank you for your feedback and your suggestion. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Bobby Jo's and exploring the Cotswolds. Best wishes, Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steve4.4Jun 2023

  • "We previously stayed at this property and on arrival were disappointed that once again the garden was not usable because the grass had not been cut, at least one foot high!"

    After complaining about this the garden was tidied and the grass cut at 5.00pm the day before our departure. The kitchen equipment is the bare minimum, the only utensils being a wooden spoon and a flimsy spatula. Some of the crockery is chipped and the placemats are worn and damaged. The lounge furniture is now very uncomfortable being worn and giving little support to sit on; much the same goes for the chairs in the kitchen.

    Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.Due to the weather prior to your stay the gardener had been unable to cut the grass as often as usual, however recent drier weather means they can keep to their schedule. We're sorry to hear you found the furniture uncomfortable, we will review this with the owner. Best wishes, Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter3.4May 2023

  • "This was our second visit to Bobby Jo’s and we had a lovely week in Blockley, where we visit regularly."

    It is a great cottage set amongst beautiful views but as others have mentioned the lounge furniture and the beds are very uncomfortable and detracts from the rest of the cottage which is lovely - the weather wasn’t great so we had to spend more time inside this visit and the sofa and seats are not comfortable to sit on for any length of time. Sadly not sure we would book again because of this.

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're so pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful views from the property and will certainly look into your comments about the seating. Best wishes, Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.4Apr 2023

  • "Love the cottage will definitely visit again, suggested improvements:- 1."

    Install coat hooks either in the hallway or on the back of bedroom doors 2. Given the cost of hiring the cottage the lounge furniture is very uncomfortable

    Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments about Bobby Jos. We so pleased you had a lovely time overall and are planning to visit Blockley again. Best wishes, Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip4.7Mar 2023

  • "We had a great New Year 4 night break at Bobby Jo's enjoying the location in the village which was walkable to the pub and shop and well located to easily drive to other cotswolds villages."

    As 2 couples it was great to have the 2 ensuite bedrooms plus the extra loo. Whilst the shower room was excellent in bedroom 2 the shower facility over the bath in bed room one could be improved. The kitchen was very modern although could be slightly better equipped and the lounge was very light and airy and comfortable enough. We remarked that the lovely fireplace could do with some decoration or be equipped to burn logs if possible. We would however definitely recommend the place and would come again in the summer to take more advantage of the garden and the views from the front terrace.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback and we're glad you had a great New Year at Bobby Jo's. Thank you also for bringing to our attention some issues you encountered during your stay which we have passed on to the Property Manager for review. We hope to welcome you again - in the summer hopefully! Best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine4.4Dec 2022

  • "Firstly, the description “single storey” is not accurate."

    There are stairs in the hallway, which presented a problem. Secondly, there is an intermittent fault with the sitting room main light, which obviously has a wiring problem. The lounge furniture is disappointing and feels really old and saggy. The kitchen would benefit from slightly better equipment, such as an oven glove and/or a second tea towel, and some basic instructions on the appliances, also the tv. In spite of all this, we did enjoy our stay, and loved the area.

    Thank you for your review and we're sorry if the description of Bobby Jo's was in any way misleading. Thank you also for highlighting the issue with the main light in the sitting room. We have passed on your comments to the Property Manager. Best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Virginia2.2Dec 2022

  • "Nice property but the furniture in the lounge need’s replacing."

    The beds are a bit uncomfortable. But my main concern was how slippery the steps to and from the garden are when they are damp I actually slip down them and bruised my spine and sprained my wrist I THINK THERE SHOULD BE A WARNING. Also the outside light does not work. I think this should be addressed A.S.A.P AS I actually hold a HEALTH AND SAFETY CERTIFICATE . But apart from this the property was great .

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Bobby Jo's. I'm sorry to hear you slipped on the steps, this time of year steps can get slippery, we will arrange for Maintenance to have a look at these and pressure wash if they need it. We will also get them to check all outside lights. Kind regards Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil4.7Nov 2022

  • "Love the property - we've rebooked for next year."

    Lovely property facilities in a great location. The only point to make, the lounge furniture is very uncomfortable and doesn't fit with the rest of the property

    Reviewed by Philip4.7Nov 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at Bobby Jo's & would definitely book again."

    The property is very spacious & comfortable with a good sized garden & patio. There were a couple of minor issues. There was only 2 x glass tumblers in the kitchen, whereas the property is supposed to cater for 4 x people. The instructions in the handbook regarding contact details are incorrect & require updating, as does the instructions for recycling. We eat one evening at The Blockley Village Cafe & the food & service was excellent. During our stay, the local amateur dramatics society put on performances of Allo Allo at the local village hall, & it proved to be well acted & very funny.

    Thank you for your review and we're delighted you had such a lovely stay at Bobby Jo's. Thank you for bringing some minor issues to our attention which have been passed on to the Property Manager. We would love to welcome you again. Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicholas4.7Oct 2022

  • "We had a lovely week at Bobby Jo’s; the cottage is situated in a nice peaceful location ideally placed for the village shop and pub."

    The cottage is clean and well equipped, the views are stunning. We loved the fact that the garden is well enclosed, it’s a perfect place to relax and let our dog roam freely. We will look to book again.

    Thank you so much for this lovely review. We're glad you (and your dog!) had a lovely stay at Bobby Jo's - and also enjoyed the views. We hope to welcome you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Aug 2022

  • "This property is very spacious and airy although the beds were uncomfortable and the lounge settee was also in need of replacing."

    Our dog loved the garden which was secure although very small dogs could have escaped through the garden gate. Only one outside light was working and there cobwebs above the cooker. However we did enjoy our stay at Bobby jos and with a little TLC this would be perfect. Blockley is a very small but very friendly village

    Reviewed by Stephy3.4Jul 2022

  • "This is our 3rd stay at the cottage and we once again had a very enjoyable experience."

    New touches this year in the en-suite with the addition of a shower curtain and the fixed positioning option for the shower head were a welcome enhancement. As a further suggested enhancement ,whilst the main living area did have a fan it was still very warm and wound benefit from a mobile air conditioning / cooling unit. Thanks again for the hospitality and we look forward to returning in future.

    Thank you for your lovely comment with regard to Bobby Jo's Cottage, we are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience and noted the additional enhancements from your previous stay with us. We will send your further suggestions to the owner for consideration and look forward to welcoming you back. With best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jonathan4.7Jul 2022

  • "Lovely property in a lovely location, car is essential."

    Some of the paintwork could do with a freshen up, beds were comfortable and bath was deep and long making for a nice soak. Garden nice and secure for the dog. Would visit again.

    We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay, if returning we would recommend a walk through the Bluebell Woods in the Dovedale End of the village, we will pass your comments onto the owner with regard to the decor. With best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carolyn4.7Jun 2022

  • "The house was clean but the garden furniture was not & the patio certainly hadn't been swept for a while."

    . The bedrooms were spacious but the mattresses were not comfortable & definitely need replacing along with the beds to king-size ones (as in most hotels these days) The Wifi code was wrong on the info & we had to phone to get the correct one so that needs updating.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We really appreciate your honesty on issues you encountered during your stay and will take your suggestions for improvement into full consideration. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen4.4Jun 2022

  • "Had a great stay the cottage is wonderful and in a great location."

    Lounge furniture is not the most comfortable but was adequate. One suggestion would be to trim the height of the hedges as they obstruct the views over the fields. Would definitely go back and Blockley church and cafe are well worth a walk. Cotswold Barn nearby is an excellent place for breakfast or lunch.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay inside and enjoyed the area. We will forward your comments to the owner and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Character cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kenneth4.4Jun 2022

  • "Hi - I already submitted feedback via the link two weeks ago so I do not understand why I am being asked again."

    However, my main points are as follows: Bobby Jo's is generally very good. Very clean; quiet and beautiful location and generally very good amenities. However, there are some issues which if they were addressed would make the property even better. The fact that they were communicated to you and the owners in 2020 and 2021 when we previously stayed makes the fact that they haven't been addressed even more frustrating! • The wifi password on the laminated sheet in the kitchen is incorrect. In fact none of the details on this sheet seem to be accurate so please remove. • Blinds/curtains for the upper windows in the lounge should be fitted. In summer the heat and light is dazzling, particularly when watching TV • No coat stands or hooks In the hall. Would be useful to have this for outdoor clothing (jackets etc) to prevent the hall from getting cluttered. Also somewhere to put boots and outdoor shoes to prevent the property from getting muddy. • Dishwasher service was out of date. • Front door bell not working • Would be useful to have more smaller drinking glasses (currently only two glasses which are not beer or wine glasses - not good if you want G&Ts!) • Long handled brush would be useful for keeping the kitchen clean of crumbs etc • Oven indicator kept showing that it needed auto clean. • Side gate not secure. Bolt can be opened from outside

    Reviewed by John4.4May 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay at Bobby Jo's but were surprised to see that the lawn had not been cut and were unable to make use of it until we called the office to arrange for it to be done."

    (This was done quickly after our call! We were able to use the garden on the Sunday.) Lovely light lounge but the seating not the most comfortable for an evening in front of the TV! Overall a good stay.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and we're glad you had a good stay at Bobby Jo's. We're sorry that you were not able to make use of the lawn straightaway and hope this didn't impact too much on your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter4.4May 2022

  • "Great cottage, great views and great village."

    Loved our stay, plenty of room and very peaceful. Village had an amazing coffee shop that served evening meals that were fabulous and a lovely pub that did extremely tasty meals. Couldn’t fault the village as everyone so friendly and even local fete was good. So much to do and visit surrounding the village/cottage.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back. With best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Craig5.0Apr 2022

  • "Lovely cottage in a quiet location amidst a slightly hilly village."

    Good for car parking and the local pub serves good fare. I’d love to know who owns the property and what their horse racing links are! Loads of horsey pics everywhere!

    Thank you so much for providing us with some lovely feedback on your stay at Bobby Jo's. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your time away and we look forward to one day welcoming you back in the near future! Best wishes, Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin3.8Mar 2022

  • "Excellent property in great location"

    Reviewed by J5.0Feb 2022

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Single-storey, although there are a few steps throughout
  • Two bedrooms: 2 x double with en-suite's (one bath and one walk-in shower, with hand-held shower, basin and WC)
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Utility
  • Sitting room
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, kettle, toaster hairdryer, portable fan
  • 2 x Smart TV’s, DAB radio, CD player/radio, WiFi, selection of board games and books
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and cot available
  • Off-road parking for 3 cars
  • Split-level patio and lawn garden with furniture
  • One small well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.4 miles, pub 0.2 miles

The property

Perched on the hillside overlooking the peaceful village of Blockley, sits this contemporary, 2017 built home, Bobby Jo’s.

Boasting spacious interior and two homely bedrooms, it is the perfect retreat for a family or couples who are seeking a relaxing break surrounded by the wonderful Cotswold countryside.

Be welcomed by private parking on the drive, where you can easily unload your belongings into your home-from-home.

A step and ramp lead you up to the front door which opens into a bright and welcoming hallway with marble flooring, giving access to the two spacious and well-presented double bedrooms, both with en-suites, one containing a bath and one containing a walk-in shower.

A handy cloakroom sits adjacent to the two bedrooms, meaning there will be no more queues for the bathroom!

Meander up the six marble steps and into the smart open-plan kitchen/diner, complete with all the amenities you and your loved ones require to rustle up delicious meals and gather around the wooden dining table to crack open a bottle of bubbly and toast to a wonderful holiday that lies ahead.

Adjacent to the kitchen is a convenient utility room, where you can wash and dry your clothes just before you leave.

Relax for the evening in the warm and inviting sitting room that is flooded with natural light from the floor-to-ceiling windows beneath the Apex window, whilst watching your favourite TV show, sunk into the cane furniture suite.

On warmer evenings, make use of the delightful enclosed garden, where from the elevated position, there are breath-taking views of the surrounding countryside; the perfect setting to unwind.

Once you’ve had some well-earned rest for the night, in the morning, get ready to head out for the day into the picturesque village of Blockley which has a country pub, The Great Western Arms, a historic Norman church, Church of St Peter and St Paul, and the popular community owned shop and café which serves delicious food during the day and hosts a couple of dinner evenings too.

Surrounded by wonderful countryside, there are many walks and cycle routes on its doorstep including The Monarch’s Way long distance walking trail which passes through the village and can be followed either north to Chipping Campden or up and over the ridge towards Moreton-in-Marsh, skirting the fringes of Batsford Arboretum which is a 56-acre garden with trees and shrubs from around the world in the plant centre and a café.

At Bobby Jo’s, you are close to the bustling market town of Stow-on-the-Wold where you can take a walk around the market square, which is the heart of the community and offers boutique shops, tea rooms, pubs and restaurants, as well as the Farmers’ Market which occurs every second Thursday of each month, featuring inviting local produce.

For memories that will last a lifetime, stay at Bobby Jo’s.

View on map

About the location


Moreton-in-Marsh 3 miles; Bourton-on-the-Water 11 miles; Cheltenham 22 miles.

An ancient village once famous for its silk and corn mills, Blockley lies just 3 miles from Moreton-in-Marsh and features a unique collection of honey-coloured buildings with a pretty village green, two excellent pubs, serving hearty food and real ale, as well as a village store and café, serving dinner on a Friday night. Many walks and cycle rides through the beautiful rolling countryside of the Cotswolds can be enjoyed from the centre of the village, with the Macmillan Way, Heart of England Way and the Gloucestershire and Monarch's Way all running close by. Very close by, Moreton-in-Marsh boasts many elegant 18th century buildings and is home to traditional inns, tea rooms, restaurants and individual shops to suit all tastes. It also offers its own train station and lies on the intersection of the Paddington rail line from London. The town hosts the Moreton-In-Marsh Show, one of the UK's largest one-day agricultural shows, as well as the Moreton Beer Festival, an annual French Market, and a large outdoor market every Tuesday. The highest town in the Cotswolds, this ancient market town has played host to many fairs since the 12th century and today holds a biannual Gypsy Horse Fair, craft fairs and monthly farmers' market. Close by is Bourton-on-the-Water, which lies in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and is known as the Venice of the Cotswolds as the River Windrush runs through the centre. Also within reach is the spa town of Cheltenham, boasting an incredible range of shops, cinemas, theatres, restaurants and pubs, as well as being famous for its horseracing festival in March, culminating in the Gold Cup steeplechase. Oxford, Stratford-upon-Avon, Bath, Worcester and the waterfront city of Gloucester are also within driving distance, making Blockley a great base for a Cotswolds holiday.

Note: For the comfort of future guests, we ask that dogs remain out of bedrooms, stay off the furniture and that no trace of a dog remains after your departure.
This property only accepts 1 small dog

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas