Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 24 View Image Gallery
  • Inglenook Cottage - Cotswolds - 1091279 - photo 1
close

Floorplans

Floorplan

Floorplan

Photos

Floorplan

Inglenook Cottage

(Ref. 1091279)

Bourton-on-the-Water, Gloucestershire Show on map

4.3

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (65)
  • location (47)
  • lovely (34)
  • no (26)
  • stay (25)
  • cosy (21)

82 Customer Reviews

  • "Really central location."

    Nice places to eat.Cottage was really tidy and super clean.The. host got the cottage ready early and gave us a later check out which was really useful.

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Apr 2024

  • "Lovely time away fantastic location and had everything you needed Will for sure be back highly recommend"

    Reviewed by Sinead5.0Apr 2024

  • "We had a lovely short stay at inglenook cottage, a great little cottage in the heart of the village."

    Definitely worth a visit and we are missing the fire already. Everything you need is on your doorstep.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Inglenook Cottage. It's a great little hidden gem, just off the main high street. Close enough to walk to everything and enjoy the lovely tea rooms of Bourton. We would love to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lee5.0Mar 2024

  • "Everything at the cottage was very good but it really did need a good clean especially in the kitchen."

    Beds

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Inglenook Cottage and thank you for providing feedback for your stay. I will pass on your comments to the Owner, but i know she is in the process or renovating parts of the cottage and has already done some of the kitchen and bedrooms since your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future, to see the lovely changes the Owner has made. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barbara3.4Mar 2024

  • "Unfortunately the cottage is very tired and in need of a complete overhaul."

    Cleanliness was an issue. Floors, doors and furniture all need to be cleaned thoroughly. The smoke alarm in the main bedroom does not work. Other people’s toiletries left in the shower and a bar of soap from goodness knows when in the shower caddy. Such a shame as this house has the potential to be a really lovely place to stay.

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry that the property was not to your taste. It is reflective of the advert. The owner is disappointed that you did not contact her during your stay, to raise these points. For your information, the carpet and sofas were thoroughly steam cleaned 2 days before your arrival. The toiletries are complimentary for use of guests. The cottage is in the process of being redecorated, some had been done prior to your arrival. We hope you enjoyed the central location in Bourton. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael1.6Feb 2024

  • "Lovely clean and tidy cottage in the perfect location."

    Thoroughly enjoyed my little getaway from the city.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Inglenook Cottage. It's lovely to hear how much you enjoy stay in Bourton and we would love to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karl4.7Jan 2024

  • "Thank you for a wonderful relaxing weekend."

    The cottage is perfectly located with everything walking distance. It is cosy and a great place to relax. We particularly enjoyed the log fire to keep us warm during the cold January nights.

    Thank you for this lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your weekend at Inglenook Cottage and loved the location too. We would love to welcome you again. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Avril5.0Jan 2024

  • "The cottage is perfect for a stay in Bourton on the water and to visit the surrounding areas."

    It is cosy and very comfortable. We loved that it was decorated for Christmas and had a real tree. Also there was a welcome basket with chocolate, wine and tea and various other bits and pieces that are always helpful when you're away. I would definitely stay here again and throughly recommend this lovely property.

    Thank you for this lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Inglenook Cottage and would love to welcome you again. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Dec 2023

  • "The cottage was made very welcoming For us, it made our Christmas."

    Thank you for letting us know. We're delighted you enjoyed your Christmas at Inglenook Cottage and would love to welcome you again. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin4.1Dec 2023

  • "Perfect village and location in beautiful Cotswolds."

    Loved the comfy beds and space. Lounge furniture very uncomfortable and needs replacing!! No need to cover radiators, they are what they are, and surrounds just take up much needed space. Would stay again.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Inglenook Cottage. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, It's in a great location to walk everywhere in Bourton. We will pass on your comments to the Owner regarding the feedback. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rosemary4.1Dec 2023

  • "Location outstanding, beds very comfortable if a little limited in room space, fire brilliant along with the shower."

    Dining room very cold and lounge leather sofa was very low. Carpets need replacing. Overall, a nice place to stay and well prepared on arrival. This was our return visit and we had a lovely time thank you Patsy.

    Thank you for your feedback with regard to your stay at Inglenook Cottage. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed staying at the cottage, it's in a great location to explore Bourton and further afield. We would love to welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin3.4Nov 2023

  • "Great cottage with everything you require."

    Location is 10/10, everything is on your doorstep. Host is really helpful.

    Thank you for this lovely feedback. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Inglenook Cottage and loved the location too. We hope to welcome you again. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachel4.7Nov 2023

  • "Patsy made our stay lovely, and was so helpful we could check."

    Out abit later.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback, with regards to your stay at Inglenook Cottage. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Manor Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janice5.0Oct 2023

  • "The cottage is ideally located in the centre of the village and is full of character."

    Yes there are extractor fans from adjacent restaurants (as mentioned in other reviews) but they did not cause an issue. Parking was also no problem in the council car park which uses an app so you could easily extend the parking duration without having to visit the car park. Kitchen was well equipped but the chopping board had mould on so we didn't use it and it needs replacing. L shaped sofa in lounge was clean but difficult to get up from as it was so deep but was comfortable. Lovely light conservatory and safe enclosed garden make this property ideal for dogs. However garden could benefit from being tidied up and removing some unnecessary items (there were 2 barbecues and the chimnea!) Also the conservatory roof had rather a lot of moss on the glass which needs removing. Whilst all of the interior doors shut some would not stay shut (back bedroom) as the latch would not engage. Great to have a downstairs toilet in addition to the main bathroom (shower which was not slippery and didn't leak as stated in another review) but should provide spare toilet rolls. In the listing it states the stairs are steep and may be difficult for people with limited mobility - I would not describe the stairs as steep and were very easy to use. - We enjoyed our stay at Inglenook Cottage with our 2 dogs as it was ideally located to explore the village and was full of character. It was probably the nicest cottage we have stayed in for a long time. However it could just benefit from some minor maintenance to maintain a high standard.

    Reviewed by Kevin4.1Sep 2023

  • "Very basic."

    We have stayed at many cottages in Bourton on the water, but this didn't reach the standard of the others. Just basic things like extra rubbish bags or toilet rolls would have made a difference. Carpet on upstairs landing definitely needs cleaning, assume someone has had dogs there. It shows!!

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Inglenook Cottage. I'm sorry to hear you felt the cottage was missing a few items, it is very well equipped and that the cleaning could have been better in places, the carpet has recently been cleaned. We will pass on your comments to the Owner for review., so thank you. We hope you still enjoyed the area and lovely places to visit in Bourton-on-the-Water. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wendy3.1Sep 2023

  • "Absolutely wonderful, great accommodation and brilliant location."

    We will be back

    Reviewed by Rod5.0Sep 2023

  • "We thoroughly loved the location, enjoyed the extra space in dining area, however would be better utilized with another 2 seater couch and dining to the side."

    Lovely outdoor area when warmer. We all felt the downstairs settees were well passed their use by date, uncomfortable and dirty. Downstairs loo smelly at times. Considering price paid. Not enough utensils, sharp knife, tongs and breadboard would be useful. This is all meant as constructive comments. Enjoyed our stay.

    Thank you for taking time to leave this feedback. The property has a utensils draw which has a mixture of items and another utensils pot including the items mentioned.and the upholstery was recently deep cleaned. We will contact the local water company regarding the smell. Thank you for flagging this up! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer3.4Aug 2023

  • "Great location."

    Flat needs some updating to make it really nice. Right bedroom real tight, sun room could be great place for couch. Outside furniture would be nice beside chair.

    Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you loved the location and will pass on your recommendations and comments to the owner for attention. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen4.1Aug 2023

  • "It’s the perfect location but just not great for parking and the smells from the local restaurants wasn’t very pleasant when trying to enjoy a coffee in the morning or glass of wine in the evening outside in the garden."

    The property is a little bit tired and could do with a bit of updating. The sofas in the living rooms are extremely uncomfortable and definitely need replacing. The shower is also very slippery and I had to go out and buy a shower mat from the disability shop

    Thank you for your feedback.We can only apologise for the discomfort you experienced during your stay. We appreciate your comments regarding the property itself. Please know that if a shower mat was something you required during your stay, we are on hand 24 hours a day to assist you. We hope we can welcome you again one day soon. Best wishes, Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Katie3.4Aug 2023

  • "Parking was a major unexpected expense."

    It should have come with some prearranged concessions, from the local carpark. The close proximity to the burger bars and Italian restaurant meant that there was a constant smell of cooking meat/ food wafting into the property until late at night, with the windows open. The overall presentation of the cottage compared to others we've stayed in was one of needing some tlc and upgrading.

    Thank you for your feedback. Due to Inglenook Cottage's central location the smells from the local amenities are out of the owners control. Bourton-On-The-Water is a desirable tourist location, due to this we are afraid parking cannot be pre-arranged and we do mention that the property does not have allocated parking on the listing. Best wishes, Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon2.8Jul 2023

  • "Could not have been happier with the accommodation, perfectly located within Bourton on the Water, with everything my family and I needed in the cottage."

    Also pleased that my last minute reconfiguration of the rooms could be accommodated.

    We're delighted you had a lovely break at Inglenook Cottage and would love to welcome you back again. Best wishes, Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adam4.7Jun 2023

  • "Inglenook cottage is a gem in the heart of Bourton on the water !"

    We had a lovely week here and would love to return . We were very grateful to Patsy the owner for sorting out a problem we had on arrival that was totally down to Sykes lack of communication. Overall the cottage is well equipped clean and welcoming . If I was being picky I would say the worktops by the cooker were greasy when we arrived and the L shaped sofa is not comfortable because it tips you back and is extremely soft . The courtyard garden is charming but could do with the dead plants snd weeks removing . A vegetable knife and peeler would have been a useful addition to the kitchen . On the plus side the beds were the best I’ve ever had in a rented property- so comfortable !!!!! The parking wasn’t a problem - we used the council car park just on the outskirts of the village and it’s free from 6pm - 8am . We would totally recommend this charming cottage in a wonderful location .

    Reviewed by Carol4.1Jun 2023

  • "May sound a little picky ,,but a fresh coat of paint would not go amiss , otherwise a nice place very central"

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Inglenook Cottage has a fabulous location in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water with all the main attractions within walking distance. We will pass your comments on to the owner. Best wishes, Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neville4.7Jun 2023

  • "The sweet cottage was unfortunately poorly maintained."

    The furniture in the living room is badly sagged, you sink down very low on the floor and cannot get comfortable. Apart from that, the seat cushions smell unpleasant. The surfaces in the kitchen and living room and also in the conservatory were sticky, the doors, light switches and furnishings were stained and the mirror in the upstairs bathroom was poorly cleaned . There were still water splashes and fingerprints from previous occupants on it. The equipment in the kitchen is also far from adequate. The pans and pots were dirty and scratched, so we didn't cook here. The cosy courtyard is unfortunately flooded with food smells all day through the adjacent restaurant by the extractor fan system. It is noisy and smells of greasy food fumes. We could not relax here. But I still have one positive feedback: the beds are very comfortable.

    We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your trip to Bourton on the water , unfortunately this in the centre of the village which is great if you want to be in the middle of everything as it is close to all the restaurants and amenities which suits some people but not others. We are a little disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay at the cottage as we usually get such good reviews but we understand everyone’s taste is different We were there at the changeover so know the worktops were cleaned with flash kitchen cleaner so if anything may have still been wet with cleaner. The sofa has just had a professional upholstery deep clean. Less than a month ago so we were surprised to hear your comments on this and it doesn’t sink to the floor as suggested, it’s designed that way. The Kitchen is very well equipped with more than the basics for self catering accommodation and we try to replace pans when necessary but unfortunately they do sometimes get slightly scratched from guests use. But these are checked after each use and cleaned when needed. We will look at this . We are sorry you didn’t enjoy tyou that all will be rectified soon. We hope you enjoyed all that Bourton has to offer. Best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marion1.6May 2023

  • "This was perfect for us, a lovely property and right in the middle of village."

    Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding Inglenook Cottage. It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Fiona5.0May 2023

  • "We had a lovely holiday at Inglenook Cottage."

    The best thing is it’s location, right in-front of the water front and it’s on an alley with only pedestrian access so you will not feel any traffic noise. I got a text promptly from the owner Patsy before our travel and it was nice of her to offer a late checkout even without we asking . Every attraction is just a stone throwaway and also the restaurants are literally next door. The little cosy cottage will be comfortable for a small family .The wood fire was a very nice addition and so is the dining room in conservatory. Grocery store Londis is just couple of mins away on the high street. The best thing was we took an early morning walk along the stream with not many around and it’s a sight to behold with the ducks and birds chirping. This was possible because we had the stream so close to the cottage . Cheers ! Vasu

    Thank you so much for providing us with such lovely feedback on your stay at Inglenook Cottage. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time away! It really is a lovely place to unwind and take a break from day-to-day life! We hope to welcome you again one day soon. Best wishes, Character Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vasudevan4.7Mar 2023

  • "Inglenook is a cosy, comfortable and well-equipped cottage."

    It was fantastic being right in the centre of the village - we didn’t need to use the car for a couple of days, as we could just walk everywhere. Despite the weather being pretty chilly, the cottage was warm and it was easy to advance the heating. Would definitely stay at Inglenook again.

    Thank you for your excellent feedback. Inglenook Cottage is indeed the perfect base for exploring all that Bourton-on-the-Water has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanna5.0Feb 2023

  • "A lovely cosy property slap bang in the middle of Bourton on the Water."

    Lovely comfortable beds! Very well equipped and clean. I parked in the carpark near the big Co-op store. Would recommend.

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Feb 2023

  • "A lovely cottage in a great place to stay."

    Everything was just as we would want, the only challenge was parking but we managed to get a space in a near-by road.

    Thank you for your feedback, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Inglenook Cottage is wonderfully central and we often find that on street parking becomes easier later in the day. We hope to welcome you back again. Best wishes, Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Teresa4.7Jan 2023

  • "We had a fabulous weekend in Inglenook Cottage."

    A lovely cosy cottage in a great location! We enjoyed it so much we have booked again for next year.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such lovely feedback on your stay at Inglenook Cottage. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the property and cannot wait to welcome you again next year! Best wishes, Character Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Roland5.0Dec 2022

  • "This is my second visit and I will return again next year."

    It’s the perfect cottage in the perfect location.

    We are so pleased to welcome you back again to Inglenook Cottage. Thank you for your lovely feedback. We look forward to your visit again next year. Best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barbara5.0Dec 2022

  • "Shabby, uncomfortable and in desperate need of an update."

    We were so disappointed we left a day early. Tired decor, dirty sofa, shower that leaked, uncomfortable & small beds and an overwhelming fusty smell. One bedroom door couldn’t even shut as the bed took up most of the room. The photographs in the advert do not reflect the real life version. We were not informed prior to our stay that the village carpark was being resurfaced so ended up having to move our car multiple times a day due to parking time restrictions. When I asked the owner about it she was unhelpful and didn’t seem bothered. We have also been charged ‘extra’ on our return as the owner found dog hair (our dog is non shedding so this was obviously not from him) and also complained that we used a towel under his water bowl (trying to keep the floor from getting wet) - ITS SUPPOSED TO BE A DOG FRIENDLY COTTAGE!!! The owner even saw me with our dog when we arrived despite saying we hadn’t informed her that we were taking one?!?! All in all a really disappointing stay.

    We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the cottage, and it wasn't in the style you would have liked. However, we are disappointed that you felt you had to post this review. We were not made aware that you were bringing a dog with you. If we had known, we could have provided special blankets and towels for you to use for your dog and on the furniture, to enhance your pet’s stay. We do our very best to be a pet friendly property, in return we do ask pet owners to respect the pet policy guidelines set out by Character Cottages. Unfortunately, the owner didn't see your dog with you when you tried to check in an hour early and she offered up different places as parking solutions, as was not aware there was work on the car park. The cottage is decorated annually and updated according to its style. Both bedroom doors do shut, and they were both set up as 5 foot wide king size beds. As to any issues, we are not aware of any, we checked the shower and cannot see any leaks, we also had contact with you during your stay and nothing was mentioned. We hope that you were able to enjoy the central location and exploring the local area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Leeanne2.2Nov 2022

  • "Shabby is the first word that comes to mind."

    .. this place could be sooooo cute if a little TLC and decorating thought was given.... however, great location. Please get some new towels and washcloths for your American clientele. And bath soap would be nice. People don’t shower with hand soap. If you’re going to ask $$$$ provide a few basic amenities

    Thank you for providing this feedback and we're sorry to hear that there were some issues encountered during your stay. We were happy to accommodate your very early check in and were not aware of any requests from you as all essentials were provided. If you had contacted us straightaway, we could have rectified any problems there and then. We hope this didn't impact on your stay and that we can welcome you again. Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cynthia2.8Oct 2022

  • "The cottage is perfectly located within Bourton on the Water."

    All details on rental and key access were smooth and well organised. We ate out both nights so I can't comment on the facilities within the cottage. The bedrooms are quite small but it is a cottage so that adds to the charm. The only other comment I would make is that the decor is looking tired and the courtyard desperately needed a tidy up. All in all, a good place to stay.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Inglenook and loved the location. Thank you for bringing some issues to our attention which will be passed on to the owners. We hope to welcome you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandy4.4Sep 2022

  • "Just spent a lovely week at Inglenook Cottage in Bourton on the Water."

    The cottage was comfortable and reasonably clean, shame about the garden though, needs some attention especially the wisteria which is in dire need of cutting back. But on the whole a lovely cottage in a prime position.

    Thank you for your feedback and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Inglenook Cottage. Thank you for bringing the issues regarding the garden to our attention - we are aware and will be rectifying this as soon as possible. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Val4.4Aug 2022

  • "Very pleasant stay."

    The cottage is small but not cramped and lived up to expectations. Excellent location for most facilities. No serious criticisms at all. A spare key would be helpful to be left in the key safe. Also, rubbish collection. There were no detailed instructions so we left it with the previous weeks rubbish by the back gate. No problem with that as collection is fortnightly but no indication when (or how!) Car parking was easier than expected if attempted around 4.30p.m. Unlimited parking in Victoria Street and from 4.30p.m to 10.30a.m. up the far end and to the right.

    Many thanks for this lovely feedback and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Inglenook Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael4.4Aug 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay at Inglenook cottage."

    It was cosy, compact, homely, and an amazingly peaceful haven off the busy High Street. The charming conservatory dining room leading into a small enclosed garden was perfect to relax in after a busy day out. Good shower and comfortable beds. Second bedroom a bit tight round the bed. Perfectly placed for restaurants, cafes, tea rooms and Londis convenient for groceries. We were lucky to find on street parking on Victoria Street, for the 4 days we were there. The location is fantastic, great base. Thanks Patsy for the pint of milk you left us. would love some sugar too:)

    Thank you for this lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Inglenook Cottage and found the garden relaxing at the end of the day. It is indeed a great location and it's good you found the parking to be no problem. We hope to welcome you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shirley3.4Aug 2022

  • "Lovely, clean cottage in a fantastic location."

    Only little comment, there is only minimal crockery and cutlery for a group of 4 adults. We had to buy dishwasher tablets on the second day as only 3 provided for the full week. Would be better to double up on mugs, plates etc, to cut back on using the dishwasher twice a day. We would definitely return.

    Thank you for providing this feedback and also for raising the issues of insufficient crockery and cutlery. We hope this didn't impact on your stay and that we can welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jackie4.1Jun 2022

  • "A really quaint cottage in an ideal location."

    The. Cottage is homely & comfortable. The slightly uneven floors show the character of the cottage. The conservatory dining room is beautiful and the small garden is perfect for relaxing in the late afternoon/early evenings. Highly recommended & hope to return.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. Fantastic to hear you enjoyed the cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Apr 2022

  • "Excellent communication with owner and friendly Brilliant location, lovely cottage had everything we needed."

    Having the downstairs WC was a great help, my husband has reduced mobility this property was perfect for us. Parking for free overnight for all next to birdland and free all day for Blue badge holders or download parking app if needed. Thank you we had a lovely break away in Bourton-on-the-Water.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Apr 2022

  • "I would recommend Inglenook to anyone who wants a comfortable stay in a beautiful village."

    The location is excellent. Everything needed is right on the doorstep. The cottage is warm and comfortable and a welcome bottle of wine was waiting for us. The owner was very quick to reply when we had a WiFi problem at the beginning. There was good communication before the holiday with instructions for parking and the key safe. Even though we had rather bad weather during our week there, the cottage made up for it. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Feb 2022

  • "Right in the centre of town and close to everything."

    And Pasty the owner only a phone call away if needed. Lovely stay thank you.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay. We would love to welcome you back again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jan 2022

  • "I absolutely loved this little cottage, it is close to all the amenities, loved my stay there, and I would love to go back in a heart beat."

    KarenJun 2021

  • "Fantastic location."

    Cosy cottage. Found the owner to be very helpful.

    KathrynJun 2021

  • "Charming cottage, well equipped and right in the centre of this delightful village."

    Surrounded by cafes and restaurants, so convenient.

    SarahMay 2021

  • "We loved the cottage, very cosy and well equipped with a beautiful courtyard area."

    The log burning stove was a lovely addition. It is in a perfect location in the centre of the village. Easy and quick communication with the owner. We would highly recommend!

    SamApr 2021

  • "We had a great stay in the cottage."

    It was very clean and really cosy. We loved the log burner in the sitting room. It's in a perfect location for exploring the village. We would highly recommend it!

    SarahDec 2020

  • "A cute little cottage in an excellent location ."

    Just steps away from all sights and amenities. Plenty of restaurants, pubs, cafes etc on the doorstep

    TinaAug 2020

  • "First class excellent location"

    IanJul 2020

  • "Had such a lovely time at inglenook cottage."

    Everything was clean and tidy, and loved the decor. Great location, river windrush right by the doorstep.

    SoroushJul 2020

  • "A lovely little cottage in a perfect location."

    EllenJul 2020

  • "A charming cottage, right in the heart of Bourton."

    My kids were so excited to find it was right next door to a traditional sweet shop and if you look really carefully in the model village, you can spot the cottage in model form!

    BridieJun 2020

  • "Brilliant location, beautiful village and lovely cottage."

    AnneJun 2020

  • "Great cottage with fabulous location in centre of Bourton-on-the-Water very cosy feel and well equipped ,will be back next year."

    KeithMar 2020

  • "What a beautiful cottage in such a lovely location."

    A short but very sweet visit. The owners are to be commended for their attention to detail making this such a lovely holiday home. Thank you.

    HeatherFeb 2020

  • "The cottage is very comfortable and had everything we needed for a short stay."

    The log burner was great but be sure to take logs with you as none are provided. The setting is very picturesque and we would recommend The Mousetrap for a great atmosphere and food!

    AnnJan 2020

  • "Charming cottage in a perfect location, has a cosy lounge with a very welcoming log burner, would highly recommend staying there."

    StellaNov 2019

  • "Great location and lovely to be in the heart of the village with quick access to the riverside."

    Fireplace is great, nice and cosy.

    LukasNov 2019

  • "A very cosy cottage - fire a huge bonus."

    Location superb and bed very comfortable. Very clean on arrival and everything works! Thank you and see you again!

    Kevin, Kim & JoyNov 2019

  • "Cosy characterful cottage with lovely log burner in a perfect location in the centre of beautiful Bourton, surrounded by excellent shops, pubs and restaurants."

    Our particular favourites were L’anatra Italian kitchen - just yards away from the cottage, and the Mousetrap - a short walk away. A perfect, relaxing chill-out break.

    JuliaSep 2019

  • "Fabulous location, lovely cottage"

    Lisa & EugeneSep 2019

  • "Cottage is cosy and welcoming."

    Great location. Loved our stay, we will be back!

    Marg, Billy,Peter, Jennie & Baby TeddySep 2019

  • "Excellent and quiet location in a very charming village."

    AnnaSep 2019

  • "Loved the cottage and our time in the Cotswolds!"

    Donna, Julie & ChrisAug 2019

  • "This is a charming cottage right in the heart of Bourton on the Water (you couldn't ask for a better location!"

    ). The cottage is very quaint and has everything you need, just like the town.

    JessicaJul 2019

  • "Cozy cottage in the heart of Bourton-on-the-water."

    Couldn't be better located! Lovely place, lovely people, lovely holiday.

    PaulaJun 2019

  • "What a wonderful 2 weeks!"

    A lovely cottage and helpful owner - we will be back!

    Ted & PaulineJun 2019

  • "Had a most wonderful time in this lovely cottage, and village is delightful!"

    Jenny & TraceJun 2019

  • "We have a wonderful time in this charming little cottage!"

    We will be back!

    John, Mags, Si & PauMay 2019

  • "We, two couples, loved our stay at Inglenook Cottage."

    . We found it extremely comfortable and a pleasure to come back to after discovering what else was at our footstep. We loved the location within the beautiful village of Bourton on the Water. Lots of eateries within a short stroll if you don't want to cook or travel too far. The proximity to other villages was also perfect. I especially loved the walks we could do in the surrounding areas. Great for couples, a small family, or friends.

    KathyMay 2019

  • "Susan did a beautiful job cleaning the cottage !"

    Everything was so fresh and sparkling! Really nice.

    VickyMay 2019

  • "We spent 10 wonderful days in this cottage!"

    The location could not be better than that! The house is intimate, perfect for a family with 2 children. Has 2 bathrooms which was perfect for us. We felt fabulous and we will go in autumn if we have the opportunity to find it available. Thank you for everything!, Ellen

    Mar 2019

  • "We spent a wonderful Easter weekend in Bourton on the Water."

    Inglenook Cottage is in a great location. The cottage itself is beautifully furnished with lovely comfortable beds & sofas and is well equipped for families. The little courtyard garden was a bonus & a lovely place to sit & relax. There are plenty of things to do in Bourton on the Water & it has a great choice of restaurants, cafes & shops. The riverside setting is stunning & whilst it does get busy, it’s still a lovely relaxing place to be. Although there isn’t any parking at the cottage itself, it wasn’t a problem as we unloaded the car at the cottage & then parked at Rissington Rd car park which is only a 5 minute walk along the river. We paid in advance online for the weekend (£6.50 p/day & free after 3pm) so it was no hassle. Overall, we had a fantastic weekend & we will definitely book Inglenook Cottage next time we come to stay here.

    LouisaMar 2019

  • "Charming cottage in a perfect location."

    AliceMar 2019

  • "This gorgeous and cosy cottage was everything we needed and in the most perfect location."

    We had the best weekend ever in the heart of the Cotswolds, and would highly recommend this cottage. Thank you very much. Fantastic cottage, we had the most amazing weekend, thank you.

    LucyNov 2018

  • "Fantastic location very cosy cottage ideal for a romantic break."

    AlisonAug 2018

  • "This is a great town home style cottage only steps away from Windrush ."

    ... Water only steps away. Keeping in mind that we traveled during the hottest summer in years, and right in the middle of the height of tourist season(!); this was a great escape. No a/c for concerned westerners...but ample fans and cool nights made up for that... and though steps away from all the action...quiet retreat. The small back garden is a wonderful respite, great variety of entertainment (DVD, Satellite, Netflix and Cable)... kitchen was well stocked and all appliances were just right for a stay... though a bit crushed by the crowds and toasted by the heat... staying at Inglenook convinced us that we want to return to Bourton. A great place -- you won't be disappointed! Will not come during tourist season... really a problem as busloads of tourists would arrive in the morning and camp out by the river -- with large chairs, boom boxes, inflatable pools -- at the end of the day trash littered the banks. But...someone came by in the evening and cleaned it all up. Once the busloads left (around the end of the day) -- quiet... by 10 p.m. at night... completely quiet, beautiful setting, but we won't return this time of year, but we WILL return! Inglenook -- however -- is a great 2 BR cottage with VERY nice neighbors! (Candy shop... Salon... Tea House and Pub -- what else do you need?!).

    RussellJul 2018

  • "We had a lovely stay!"

    The cottage was perfect for 2 couples and the location was excellent. We would definitely stay again.

    IsabelJun 2018

  • "A lovely cottage and fantastic location."

    We had a brilliant holiday. Thank you.

    Andy And FamilyApr 2018

  • "What a fantastic, cosy, pretty, comfortable cottage."

    We had a lovely week in a pretty village and will definitely come back again.

    Paula And FriendsApr 2018

  • "Inglenook Cottage was simply proper, cosy, romantic."

    Everything was perfect.

    SimonaMar 2018

  • "We have really enjoyed our stay in your beautiful cottage."

    It's well located and Bourton-on-the-Water is a gem in the beautiful cotswolds. Would love to return to your cottage!

    Mr MachinJan 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 2 x king-size (one with zip/link, can be changed to twin on request)
  • **PLEASE NOTE BEDS WILL ALWAYS BE MADE UP AS 2 KINGS UNLESS YOU REQUEST THE TWIN ROOM TO BE MADE UP PRIOR TO YOUR ARRIVAL.**
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan kitchen/living room with woodburning stove
  • Dining Room (Conservatory) Downstairs WC
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge with freezer compartment, washing machine, dishwasher, kettle, toaster, cafetiere, Dulce Gusto coffee machine
  • Hairdryer, fan
  • Smart TV, Blu-ray DVD player, WiFi, Selection of DVDs and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available
  • On-street parking and public car park parking
  • Paved garden with furniture, chiminea and barbecue
  • Downstairs WC
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.1 miles, pub 0.1 miles
  • **PLEASE NOTE BEDS WILL ALWAYS BE MADE UP AS 2 KINGS UNLESS YOU REQUEST THE TWIN ROOM TO BE MADE UP PRIOR TO YOUR ARRIVAL.**
  • Please note the owner only takes dogs and no other type of pets.

The property

Tucked away in a quiet lane in the heart of the picturesque, Bourton-on-the-Water, Inglenook Cottage is a lovely Cotswold stone cottage, within a row of cottages.

The property has been lovingly refurbished to contain a perfect mix of stylish contemporary décor and charming character features.

Perfect for a relaxing break in the Cotswolds, Inglenook Cottage sleeps four guests in two well-presented bedrooms.

Step through the front door which opens up to a handy hallway, an ideal space to keep coats and shoes, which leads you into the welcoming sitting room which has lovely reclaimed wooden floors and a feature fireplace containing a woodburning stove, a fine room to relax with your loved ones and watch a DVD on the Smart TV.

The chef of the group will be delighted with the well-equipped kitchen, which is open-plan with the sitting room, so they will be kept company as the cook up a delicious meal, before you all gather in the bright conservatory which houses a dining table and lovely French doors leading out to the garden.

Concluding the ground floor is a handy cloakroom with a basin and WC.

Once you’ve enjoyed a tasty dinner with your loved ones, head up to the first-floor and have a relaxing shower before heading to one of the stylish bedrooms; the king-size master with views overlooking the courtyard garden and the second bedroom also overlooking the garden which houses a second king-size (which can be changed to twin beds on request).

Once you’ve had some well-deserved rest, head downstairs to make yourself a mug of tea to be enjoyed in the private, enclosed garden which has pretty Cotswold stone walls, mature shrubs, table and chairs and boasts a chiminea and barbecue.

Just a few steps outside of your front door you will see the River Windrush which is known for its low bridges, giving Bourton-on-the-Water the name ‘Venice of the Cotswolds’.

Bourton-on-the-Water has been regularly voted one of the prettiest villages in England, home to a wealth of attractions and shops, restaurants and tea rooms, such as Cotswolds Antiques and Tea Room and Coach & Horses pub, and you can surround yourself by wildlife at Birdland Park and Gardens or have some fun at the miniature replica of the Cotswold stone village at The Model Village.

Nearby Lower Slaughter is widely regarded as one of England's most beautiful villages and is home to The Slaughters Country Inn which is a well-regarded, quintessential country inn, offering lovely food and drinks – not to be missed!

Stow-on-the-Wold is the highest of the Cotswold villages and is a small market town with an array of boutique shops, tea rooms, pubs and restaurants; indulge in a bite to eat and drinks at The Stag at Stow, or revel in the scrumptious tea and cakes at The Old Bakery Tea Room.

Visit Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens where you will find over 250 species of animals and be inspired by the beautiful landscaping and seasonal displays throughout the park in nearby Burford, known as Southern “gateway to the Cotswolds”.

For an unforgettable trip to the Cotswolds, choose Inglenook Cottage as your abode.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

BOURTON-ON-THE-WATER

Stow-on-the-Wold 4 miles; Moreton-in-Marsh 8 miles; Chipping Norton 13 miles; Cheltenham 15.5 miles.

Located in the Cotswold Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, the historic village of Bourton-on-the-Water dates back to Neolithic times with over 100 buildings being Grade II listed or higher. The picturesque high street nestles alongside the River Windrush over which several low stone bridges span, which is why Bourton-on-the-Water is known as the Venice in the Cotswolds. Tradition states that an annual football match is played in the summer, in the River Windrush with the banks lined with spectators, with the aim to score as many goals as possible and get as wet as possible! The village has an eclectic range of visitor attractions, including The Model Village, Cotswold Motor Museum, Birdland Park and Gardens as well as a Dragonfly Maze, monthly farmers’ market as well as many tea rooms, an artisan bakery, antiques and craft markets, traditional sweet shop, cycle hire and its very own perfumery. Nearby, Stow-on-the-Wold, originally an Iron Age Fort, epitomises traditional England. This ancient market town has played host to many fairs since the 12th century and today holds a biannual Gypsy Horse Fair, craft fairs and monthly farmers' market. The vast market square boasts an ancient cross at one end and the village stocks at the other, surrounded by an elegant array of Cotswold stone townhouses, antiques shops, tea rooms, traditional pubs, award-winning restaurants and its very own cricket museum. Also take a visit to the medieval town of Burford for a great day out where you can enjoy a trip to the Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens. The Saxon market town of Moreton-in-Marsh and the quintessential English village of Broadway are both within easy reach and make a great day out. The spa town of Cheltenham is, architecturally, the most complete Regency town in England with an incredible range of shops, cinemas, theatres, restaurants and pubs, it is famous for its horse racing festival in March, culminating in the Gold Cup steeplechase. Oxford, the oldest university city in England and sometimes called The City of Dreaming Spires has an abundance of prestigious attractions, including the 38 colleges of the university (half of which date back before 1600), the oldest university teaching room, the Bodleian Library, Ashmolean and Pitt Rivers Museums, and Botanic Gardens. Stratford-upon-Avon, Bath, Worcester and the waterfront city of Gloucester are also all within easy reach.

View more holiday cottages in Bourton-on-the-water

*PLEASE NOTE... WEDNESDAY LATE CHECK-IN 6PM

**PLEASE NOTE BEDS WILL ALWAYS BE MADE UP AS 2 KINGS UNLESS YOU REQUEST THE TWIN ROOM TO BE MADE UP PRIOR TO YOUR ARRIVAL.**

PLEASE NOTE TWO DOGS ONLY AT THE COTTAGE, NO OTHER PET TYPES.

Note: There is some limited street parking available in Bourton-on-the-Water, however guests may prefer to park in the main village car park (Pay & Display), a short walk away from the property.

Note: The chiminea does not have gas.

Note: An initial basket of logs for the woodburning stove is provided from October to April; further log supplies can be purchased locally.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas