Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th September '22. Available on breaks arriving 1st January - 30th April '23.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cotswolds 1 minutes ago

1 customer booked Footstool Cottage in the last 24 hours

1 of 21 View Larger Image
  • Footstool Cottage - Cotswolds - 1075266 - photo 1
close

Footstool Cottage

Fulbrook near Burford, Oxfordshire (Ref. 1075266)

4.1

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

6 Customer Reviews

  • "The cottage was fantastic."

    Everything we needed was available. Comfortable and tastefully modernised. Wood burning stove, kitchen, bathroom, beds, wifi, all fine. Even though we didn't see the owner, the tea/ coffee/ milk/ biscuits waiting for us made us feel very welcome. Very quiet side street, no road noise at all.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Footstool Cottage. It's always lovely to hear how much a guest has enjoyed the stay and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChrisFeb 2022

  • "Excellent location, lovely cottage with lots of nice walks."

    Thank you for your feedback at Footstool Cottage. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, it's a lovely spot to explore and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GaryDec 2021

  • "The cottage was in a fabulous village within walking distance of burford where there are lots of restaurants/pubs."

    The cottage has great potential, rooms are large and kitchen well equipped, WiFi good and sky TV . Patio area lovely in autumn sun and bottom of garden 'naturally wild' . Bathroom high spec and a very warm cottage throughout. Generous welcome package with an array of cotswold goodies However, we contacted skye cottages before our stay for assurances that the broken bed, mattress and bathroom heater would be fixed. Only the bathroom heater was fixed. The bed needs fixing as main wooden support down the centre is broken and creaks everytime you move. A new mattress is needed- as it is a memory foam which is comfortable at the top but the foot end is severely recessed. Some areas of cottage fixtures and fittings are good, others in dire need of updating (broken lampshades, worn towels, torn mattress protector, sofa very worn and stained as were the carpets) . There isn't enough seating in the lounge for 4 people unless you want to sit shoulder to shoulder in a line. We contacted the management company twice about the bed and were promised it would be fixed but no maintenance arrived- very disappointing . If the above were rectified we would love to stay again- otherwise not recommended as value for money for the standard of accommodation.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are replacing the bed and mattress and hope this addresses your concerns. The replacement will be done at the end of November 2021 Property Owner

    Reviewed by AmandaOct 2021

  • "The house has lots of potential but a few things were disappointing: 1."

    the bathroom is very cold - can’t adjust the heating. 2. first bedroom - very thin duvet (cold!); the mattress is very soft and the Supporting plank in the middle of the bed (under the bed) was broken. Really suggest you buy a new mattress. 3. A filter coffee machine would be nice ! 4. Garden could be a lot nicer if looked after. 5. Sofa in living room very soft / worn out. Otherwise fine - very nice village, quiet street. Great for exploring the Cotswolds . Up to you if you want to publish.

    Thank you for your feedback. We're so sorry to hear that the cottage was not up to standard during your stay. We will put your comments to the property owner in order to have these issues rectified as soon as possible. We hope this issues did not impact on your stay too much. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time exploring the local area. We'd love to welcome you back to the Cotswolds in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PhillipOct 2021

  • "To be fair Footstool cottage is ok."

    Facilities are perfectly functional but Beds are terrible…. Definite the case of concave mattress and clinging to the edge of the bed all night Garden is scruffy and a wasted opportunity. You don't want to spend any time out there which is a crying shame Sofa really uncomfortable Being a cottage it is also quite dark which while fine in winter is not great in summer given the outdoor space Otherwise it’s perfectly fine and the location is good with a 20 mins walk into Burford of which half can be away from roads. We live in a cottage so are probably more critical than most

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay at Footstool Cottage. We're sorry to hear that the property did not meet your expectations. Please be assured, your comments have been taken onboard and we will do all we can to rectify the issues. We're pleased to hear that you found the cottage to be in a great location for exploring the beautiful local area and hope you had a lovely stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SarahAug 2021

  • "The property is a lot nicer than the ad made it look so this was a pleasant surprise."

    The floors could have done with a better clean but otherwise all was good

    We're so pleased to hear that the property exceeded your expectations! We're very sorry that the floors were not cleaned to the high-standard we'd expect and hope you still had a lovely stay at Footstool Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JamesJul 2021

Show more

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x double
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room with woodburning stove
  • Sitting room
  • Electric central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburning stove inc. in rent
  • Roadside parking at the end of the lane
  • Garden with patio, lawn and seating
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • 1 dog welcome
  • Shop 0.8 miles, pub 0.3 miles
  • Note: There is a stone step leading down to the garden, please take care

The property

Burford 0.9 miles.

Perched in the charming village of Fulbrook, near Burford in Oxfordshire, overlooking the Windrush Valley, is this idyllic terraced cottage, Footstool Cottage.

Set over two floors and sleeping up to four guests, Footstool Cottage is an attractive and homely dwelling for exploring the beautiful surroundings of the Cotswolds, with easy access to Burford and Blenheim Palace.

As you approach the property, there is parking available at the end of the lane, where a short walk will lead you to the delightful stone-fronted cottage.

Look forward to preparing delicious meals with local produce in the fully functioning kitchen, which also has a handy dishwasher making cleaning up less of a chore!

Gather around the dining table in front of the warming woodburning stove and discuss plans for the days ahead over drinks.

Settle down to watch your favourite film on the TV on the generous corner sofa in the sitting room, with its exposed beams adding a real traditional quality to the space.

When sleep calls, there is a choice of two bedrooms on the first floor to retire too, the first being a spacious king-size and the second an ample double with lovely pine furniture to store any belongings in.

Guests will benefit from the contemporary ground floor bathroom where they can enjoy a long soak in the bath with their favourite book before venturing out for the day.

Enjoy a spot of alfresco dining at the picnic table, perfect for enjoying the warm weather and fresh country air.

Fulbrook is just a short distance from the beautiful town of Burford, otherwise known as the ‘Gateway to the Cotswolds’, well-known for keeping its historical character with its medieval bridge and attractive Tudor and Georgian architecture.

Here you will be spoilt for choice with the good selection of shops and antiques where you can indulge in a spot of retail therapy, or treat yourself to a bite at a wide-variety of restaurants, pubs and tea rooms to suit every palette.

Delve into the town’s rich heritage with a trip to the Tolsey Museum, once a 16th century meeting place for medieval merchants, it is now home to exhibits showcasing the town’s social and industrial past.

For those who have brought their clubs, enjoy a few rounds of golf on the well-maintained green fairways of Burford Golf Club.

Explore your surroundings further and take the short drive to Minster Lovell, home to the picturesque ruins of Minster Lovell Hall and Dovecote, a once remarkable 15th century manor house resting beside the River Windrush.

Whilst you’re visiting you can learn more about the location with a trip to the tomb of Baron Lovell himself in St Kenelm’s church, or step further into history by visiting the North Leigh Roman Villa, with magnificent mosaic floors that must be seen!

For a truly memorable day out, venture further out to see the world heritage site of Blenheim Palace, residence of the Marlborough family and home to the Churchill exhibit, The Palace State Rooms and Formal Gardens, it is not to be missed!

Footstool cottage is the perfect country retreat that will leave you returning year after year to make new memories.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

BURFORD

Swinbrook 3.3 miles; Little Barrington 3.4 miles; Minster Lovell 6.1 miles.

Burford is possibly one of, if not THE most famous of the Cotswolds' locations. With its medieval bridge, old stone houses and attractive Tudor and Georgian frontages, Burford is justifiably one of the most picturesque towns in England. Often referred to as the 'Gateway to the Cotswolds', the town was originally a fortified Anglo-Saxon ford which later grew to be an important regional crossroads and wealthy wool town. Located mid way between Oxford and Cheltenham (25 mins each away) it is a little haven of history and beauty that many come to fall in love with when they visit.

The 16th century Tolsey building, once the meeting place for medieval merchants, now houses The Tolsey Museum, a delightful local museum illustrating the town's social and industrial past. The church is stunning, a real gem architecturally with many interesting memorials charting some of Burford's great families. There is also the signature, on the baptisimal font, of Antony Sedley, one of the Levellers besieged in the church in 1649 - three of the ringleaders were executed by Oliver Cromwell's men in the churchyard. History awaits!

With little changing over the centuries, Burford is now very popular with visitors, both for its beauty and history but also for its shopping and antiques, and for the wide variety of places to eat, with restaurants, pubs and teashops. It is an ideal base for visiting The Cotswolds area as it is within easy driving distance of popular attractions such as Blenheim Palace, Sudley Castle, Warwick Castle and several National Trust Houses and Gardens. Bourton on the Water, Bibury, Cirencester and Stow on the Wold are all with 25 minutes from the property.

View more holiday cottages in Burford

Region Information

Note: There is a stone step leading down to the garden, please take care.
Note: this is a period property with some low doorways. If you are taller than 6' then you will need to duck!
Note: please be aware that this property requires a Good House-Keeping Bond of £150.00.
One dog is welcome and charged @ £25.00 per week

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas