Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th June. Available on breaks arriving 1st September - 31st December.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cotswolds 43 minutes ago

  • Tannery Cottage - (Ref. 988619)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.


1 of 17 View Larger Image
  • Tannery Cottage - Cotswolds - 988619 - photo 1

Tannery Cottage

Burford, Oxfordshire (Ref. 988619)



Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

27 Customer Reviews

  • "A lovely place."

    Cozy lounge with logburner and lots of space in kitchen diner. Beds were very comfortable and rooms full of character. Manor cottages ( owners) proved to be very helpful too. Found the grill difficult to master. It needs some extra explaining as the manual is not clear.

    Thank you so much for providing us with your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Tannery Cottage. We appreciate your suggestions for improvement and will look at providing further instructions on the grill for future guests. Thank you once again for providing us with your feedback and we hope to welcome you to Tannery Cottage again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MarkFeb 2022

  • "Considering we couldn’t enter the property until 6pm, due to deep clean we ..."

    Considering we couldn’t enter the property until 6pm, due to deep clean we were disappointed with the cleanliness, the bedroom was full of dust, an empty cardboard box had been left in the living room, our dog found a raggedy old dogs toy behind the chair and the worst thing for me was all the dog muck left on the lawn

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback, we are so sorry that you had issues with your stay, we will inform the owner of your feedback and will work on them. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TracyDec 2021

  • "Overall we were satisfied with the cottage and location to Burford High Street."

    The Royal Oak Pub and Highway Inn were excellent and definitely worth a visit. Burford is a great place to stay and stroll around with many interesting shops. Our only criticism of the cottage is that the living room would benefit from updating with new furnishings.

    Reviewed by MarcelloSep 2021

  • "Was really small and old fashioned needs updating."

    Stairs a nightmare. Location good but parking a problem. Bathroom so tiny could hardly move in it.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Tannery Cottage. We take all feedback seriously and note your comments. The cottage dates back to the 19th Century, so it is old throughout being a stone cottage of this age. The stairs are in keeping with the age of the cottage and are steep in places due to the age, but we do state this on the website. Also parking is on street as with most of Burford, but it's free parking everywhere. Again the bathroom is a standard size. We hope you still enjoyed the wonderful sites Burford and the surrounding areas have while you stayed with us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MyraAug 2021

  • "Lovely cottage but not ideal for anyone with mobility problems as stairs are difficult to climb."

    Facilities and cleanliness very good and good location to visit other popular locations.

    Thank you for your feedback! We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed the cottage and your positive comments will be passed on to our housekeeping team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TatianaJul 2021

  • "We enjoyed our stay in Burford, parking is an issue if you want to be close to the cottage."

    It could be a lovely place to stay but it is in real need of updating and money spending on it. The lounge especially really uncomfortable suite which has covers on it which are in dire need of washing. We had to wash all the cutlery, plates, mugs and most certainly the glasses which looked like they’d not been washed in ages. We did take some our own utensils and pots and pans. But overall we enjoyed our stay in Burford. With the previous lock down the cottage could have been decorated and deep cleaned it would have been an ideal opportunity. Would we stay in the Tannery again (NO is the answer). The weather was superb all week so that was a real bonus.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Tannery Cottage. I'm sorry to hear that you experienced issues in terms of cleanliness during your time spent there and really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. The housekeeping team will be informed of your comments and will improve their work accordingly. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ColinJun 2021

  • "Lovely cottage and a very nice holiday."

    Great location just off the high street with 2 very good pubs within 400m.

    We are glad you had a very nice holiday! Property Owner

    Reviewed by IanOct 2020

  • "Really lovely cottage in a brilliant location."

    Happy to hear you had a lovely stay at Tannery Cottage. We hope to welcome you back one day. Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by VeritySep 2020

  • "The Cottage was lovely, it had everything that we wanted for our stay, would recommend it."

    Reviewed by RogerAug 2020

  • "You very kindly let us know that we could check in early which was much appreciated."

    Reviewed by TimAug 2020

  • "Lovely little cottage in the heart of Burford, not even 5 mins walk from the High St."

    It's very well equipped, garden is pleasant and enclosed and, extra important at this time with Covid 19, it was spotlessly clean! As the listing says the loft room is very small and the beds are under beams - my 8 year old twins were too big for this room so slept in the 2nd double room. Stairs are steep, I would not recommend for the elderly.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay at Tannery Cottage. It is in a lovely location to visit the Cotswolds. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CathJul 2020

  • "Fabulous cosy cottage in the perfect location."

    Our children loved it and so did we. Comfy beds, excellent kitchen and well appointed. Lovely snug living room. We enjoyed the proximity to the high street, cafes and pubs and access to roads to travel around. Lovely stay - will be back!

    Reviewed by LucyFeb 2020

  • "Gorgeous cottage is wonderful location with very comfy beds."

    Unfortunately towards end of holiday we discovered oven did not work so this needs fixing. Despite emailing ahead of our visit after reading some bad reviews about cottage being dusty and in need of good clean we arrived to find very dusty - cobwebs all over beams and in shower and very dirty under beds etc - in need of thorough clean and airing. Also needs painting above sink in kitchen where it’s been plastered - generally needs refresh. Throws and sofas pretty old and stained. Despite this we loved location but cottage in dire need to deep clean and refresh.

    Thank you for your feedback on Tannery Cottage, many apologies that you did not find the cottage up to standard. We have taken measures to address the issues you have raised, to ensure future guests have an enjoyable stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine JaneAug 2019

  • "Parking car was a nightmare so busy ."

    Nice cottage and garden for our dog . But it states no dogs on furniture or upstairs which l wouldn't let my dog do anywhere but there was dog hair everywhere my husband was covered in it when he sat on sofa and bedroom carpet was also like this. But be fair to housekeeping the Hoover was awful.

    Reviewed by SusanJun 2019

  • "Beds very uncomfortable and not meeting standard ..."

    Beds very uncomfortable and not meeting standard Towels not up to standard Should have bath/shower toiletries Otherwise all good

    Reviewed by JulieNov 2018

  • "I would highly recommend a stay in this lovely wee cottage."

    A perfect home from home

    Reviewed by AngelaOct 2018

  • "Excellent!"


  • "It was our first visit to the Cotswolds and Tannery Cottage was a fantastic base."

    Ms Little

  • "Location, size, layout and comfortable"


  • "Lovely relaxing place in a great location"

    Mr Layne

  • ": Lovely cottage, well equipped, great area and base to explore."

    Mrs Barrans

  • "It was very well equipped, perfect secure enclosed garden for our dogs to chill out in."

    Very close to all shops and at the start of many excellent local walks.\ \


  • "Beautiful location and I liked the garden space attached to the cottage."

    The rooms were clean and comfortable. I felt Burford was a good base to travel from to get to the other villages.

    Mr Traidia

  • "Good location - close enough to the the centre of Burford to enjoy the services, but far enough away to avoid the hustle and bustle."

    It also has a great garden. Mr Shaw, May 2017.


  • "Excellent cottage!"

    Mr Pocock

  • "A very cosy comfortable cottage where you feel at home almost instantly."

    Mr Augustijn

  • "We stayed in a very pleasant cottage in a very pleasant town with nice countryside around it."

    Mr Dagmar

Show more

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Three bedrooms: all double, top room can be made up as twins on request. Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Living room with woodburner and tv.
  • Central heating, woodburner
  • Gas range, with 5 hobs, multiple ovens and a grill, microwave, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer
  • Fuel and power inc in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc in rent
  • Travel cot
  • Enclosed garden with furniture
  • Roadside parking on quiet street
  • One well behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 mile
  • Note: The stairs to the twin room are steep and therefore not suitable for the less mobile or very young, the stairs up to the first floor are also steep
  • Note: This cottage is suited to 4 adults only. Note: Though there are 3 bedrooms as the cottage is only suitable for four people, Customers wont have used of all 3 bedrooms, you can choose between either having two double beds, or one double and two singles. Please note this property has a Good House Keeping Bond of £100, this will be shadowed at the time of booking

The property

Tannery Cottage is a cosy, stone-built cottage nestled close to the centre of Burford.

Your family will be delighted with this home-away-from-home, offering a superb base for touring the wonders of the Cotswold.

Upon entering the property, you are immediately...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Burford is possibly one of, if not THE most famous of the Cotswolds' locations. With its medieval bridge, old stone houses and attractive Tudor and Georgian frontages, Burford is justifiably one of the most picturesque towns in England. Often referred to as the 'Gateway to the Cotswolds', the town was originally a fortified Anglo-Saxon ford which later grew to be an important regional crossroads and wealthy wool town. Located mid way between Oxford and Cheltenham (25 mins each away) it is a little haven of history and beauty that many come to fall in love with when they visit.

The 16th century Tolsey building, once the meeting place for medieval merchants, now houses The Tolsey Museum, a delightful local museum illustrating the town's social and industrial past. The church is stunning, a real gem architecturally with many interesting memorials charting some of Burford's great families. There is also the signature, on the baptisimal font, of Antony Sedley, one of the Levellers besieged in the church in 1649 - three of the ringleaders were executed by Oliver Cromwell's men in the churchyard. History awaits!

With little changing over the centuries, Burford is now very popular with visitors, both for its beauty and history but also for its shopping and antiques, and for the wide variety of places to eat, with restaurants, pubs and teashops. It is an ideal base for visiting The Cotswolds area as it is within easy driving distance of popular attractions such as Blenheim Palace, Sudley Castle, Warwick Castle and several National Trust Houses and Gardens. Bourton on the Water, Bibury, Cirencester and Stow on the Wold are all with 25 minutes from the property.

Region Information

Note: The stairs to the twin room are steep and therefore not suitable for the less mobile or very young, the stairs up to the first floor are also steep.
Note: This cottage is suited to 4 adults only.
Note: There are 3 bedrooms as the cottage is only suitable for four people. Customers won’t have use of all 3 bedrooms, you can choose between either having two double beds, or one double and two singles
Please note this property has a Good House Keeping Bond of £100, this will be shadowed at the time of booking.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it