Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

9 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 19 View Larger Image
  • North Lodge - Herefordshire - 987325 - photo 1
close

North Lodge

Ledbury, Herefordshire (Ref. 987325)

4.5

(41 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Broadband / WiFi
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Ground floor bedroom

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

40 Customer Reviews

  • "A lovely cosy cottage with the most spectacular views you could wish for."

    Definitely hope to return one day.

    Reviewed by SallyJun 2022

  • "Lovely Cottage in a beautiful area"

    Reviewed by DeborahJun 2022

  • "North Lodge is a delightful property."

    A couple of things spoiled it though: the lack of storage of any sort in the second bedroom. A small chest of drawers or shelves with baskets would have been such a help. Living out of a suitcase is not ideal. I see this has been raised several times in the Visitor Book. The lovely old rug in the lounge is a tripping hazard as you move about. You have to move furniture to sit at the table and then the rug ricks up even more.

    Reviewed by ElizabethMay 2022

  • "We had an amazing week at North Lodge."

    The cottage is ideally situated for some great walking with footpaths starting right outside the door. The cottage is very well equipped with everything being of a high quality. The garden is the perfect spot for lunch or BBQ (although the seating does need replacing as well as the front porch light) We wouldn't hesitate to return.

    Reviewed by DavidMar 2022

  • "North Lodge is a lovely, warm, pretty cottage, ideally located to start your walking from the front door."

    Underfloor heating in addition to the wood burner were amazing during our mid January stay. The cottage was really well equipped throughout. Only tiny issues were the hot water supplying the showers didn't last long and there was a strange smell like vegetable peel in the rear porch (between the main bedroom and bathroom) that we didn't manage to find the source of and if doors were left open penetrated beyond. Overall, we had a lovely cozy week hill walking. Our dog absolutely loved it. Very dog-friendly area and so many walks straight onto the Malvern hills from the cottage front door.

    Reviewed by DavidJan 2022

  • "Outside was absolutely stunning, it couldn't be faulted."

    The walks directly from the cottage were amazing. Inside needs some tlc., the sofa - it's beyond time it went - people have been commenting since 2019 that it was uncomfortable and unforgiving. The two singles - very small, even zipped together, were childrens' sized singles and we ended up sleeping apart. The room could so easily accommodate a larger king size or superking size bed and the singles could go in the smaller bedroom. The bed in the smaller room is much more comfy. There is a microwave, even though it isn't mentioned, but there is no parasol, so sitting on the (very ancient and slightly dodgy) seating in the sun means moving to the shade on the ground. The fire is gorgeous, and we loved lighting it. Overall, we enjoyed the stay but if there were a meet expectation button for inside we would have put failed to meet expectations.

    Reviewed by MichaelSep 2021

  • "Cottage needs a lot of work."

    The thatched roof is in very poor condition and is now being patched up. The kitchen floor was hazardous and unsightly. The furniture grubby and uncomfortable. Flaking ceiling in the bathroom, stains on walls and carpets. Shelf in bathroom coming away from wall and very poorly positioned if you want to wash your face. Not worth what was paid and we left 2 days early.

    Thank you for your feedback. It is a shame that you did not contact anybody during your stay on the contact numbers provided, as the owner would have done his very best to rectify and issues that you had. Thank you again for your feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by KarenAug 2021

  • "We loved North Lodge."

    It is quirky and compact but set in such a beautiful quiet location. We really enjoyed the outdoor seating area Andy’s position being placed so we could walk straight out of the front door.

    Reviewed by LucyJul 2021

  • "Excellent position with stunning views."

    Spotlessly clean but very uncomfortable furniture which spoilt the holiday unfortunately. Others have complained but obviously been ignored. Nowhere to hang clothes in bedrooms, in fact no storage at all in second bedroom. Would not return.

    Reviewed by EileenJul 2021

  • "The cottage itself was lovely, in an amazing location, and the people at the estate office were very helpful - in particular Florina who came round on Saturday morning to show us how the heating worked."

    However, I was less impressed by the Manor Cottages organisation - immediately after I booked, I was bombarded with advertising emails, sometimes twice a day. There were too many messages about the holiday - the single message from the estate office was far more useful than the screeds from Manor Cottages. Altogether compared with other cottage booking companies we have used, this was not the best experience. I would like to emphasise that this is all about your organisation, not a criticism of the cottage where we had a great holiday.

    Reviewed by ClareJun 2021

  • "Gorgeous cottage in a beautiful location."

    Reviewed by LyndaJun 2021

  • "Tyvm, very very enjoyable stay in superb accommodation"

    Reviewed by PaulJun 2021

  • "Beautiful cottage in idyllic setting; very comfortable and a great base for exploring the area."

    Reviewed by ElaineApr 2021

  • "North Lodge is a beautiful cottage in a stunning location."

    There are some wonderful walks from the doorstep across the Estate and access to the rest of the Malverns is easy. We had everything we needed at the accommodation (a couple with dog) and it was spotlessly clean when we arrived. The kitchen was modern and extremely well equipped. We appreciated the decor and furnishings in the Lodge which were very much in keeping with the property. We found the beautifully reupholstered antique chairs and couch very comfortable. We would definitely book again.

    Reviewed by SueApr 2021

  • "Lovely cosy cottage."

    Well equipped and clean. Ideal for walking. Beautiful location with a stunning view.

    Reviewed by FaqirOct 2020

  • "Super romantic place, cosy little house, perfekt for 2 couples or family withb2 kids."

    Perfect for heiling, stunning view from the hills. Would love to come back!!!!

    Reviewed by JudithOct 2020

  • "A wonderful rural holiday cottage in such an attractive place."

    The cottage itself is ideal for two people but the second bedroom had no where to either hang or put clothes apart from in the suitcase on the floor. My friend had to use a drawer in my bedroom which wasn't ideal. The sitting room would be very cramped if more than two people. Kitchen well equipped and functional. The heating thermostats didn't work. However, the weather was perfect and I wouldn't hesitate a second visit sometime.

    Reviewed by ValerieOct 2020

  • "A lovely cottage in a stunning location with wonderful local walks, the owners staff were very helpful, unlike Sykes staff!"

    We would have marked this higher but there was a very uncomfortable sofa which had been reported by several previous visitors, we were surprised it was still there! So quite and relaxing and sitting in the garden enjoying the view with a glass of wine is an experience in itself and the cows made wonderful neighbours!

    Reviewed by PeterSep 2020

  • "The settee and arm chairs were very uncomfortable."

    I have emailed north lodge and am pleased to say it will looked into So hopefully it won't be to long before they are changed.Otherwise the cottage was spotless and beds very comfortable, Well equipped kitchen.Ideal location for the Malvern hills.

    Reviewed by RogerSep 2020

  • "Settee is uncomfortable and has been noted by other holidaymakers."

    Everything else is great for those that like peace and quiet.

    Reviewed by DavidJul 2020

  • "Quirky and different type of holiday cottage made a change."

    Excellent location for walking and visiting. The garden was very secure for our retriever which is good because there are sheep in nearby fields. Windows were drafty especially in the kitchen when the wind got up. We found it best to keep kitchen door closed to keep warmth in cottage. However, log fire did warm cottage up quickly and made it cosy otherwise I think heating struggled a bit in wintery weather.

    Reviewed by MarkFeb 2020

  • "Such a beautiful idyllic cottage."

    Great location at the bottom of numerous Malvern hill walks. 5-10 car journey from the historic town of Ledbury with lovely handmade shops.

    Reviewed by HayleyDec 2019

  • "The cottage was very cosy indeed."

    Lovely and warm throughout, especially given the time of year. Although we did use the log burner on a couple of nights, we didn't actually need it as the central heating allowed each room to be temperature controlled, and both shower rooms had underfloor heating which was nice. When we arrived, the meet and greet service by Florina was excellent. She was there waiting for us when we arrived, and showed us where everything was, and how everything worked. All the essentials were provided, i.e. towels, logs, fire lighters, tea, coffee, milk etc. and the kitchen was very well equipped. The bedrooms were lovely and the beds themselves very comfortable. In fact the whole cottage was immaculate, and the lounge was very cosy. Overall, we had a lovely week in this quiet cosy cottage with magnificent views of the surrounding countryside, and would definitely consider booking it again.

    Reviewed by ADec 2019

  • "Stunning cottage in a beautiful location."

    We didn't want to leave.

    Reviewed by TaraNov 2019

  • "The interior of this cottage needs some updating."

    The uniform magnolia walls throughout made it seem rather cold and drab. It could do with brightening up a bit. The furniture in the living room is awful! I mean truly awful. Quite possibly the most uncomfortable I have ever used. The sofa moves around underneath you and is too low down. Sitting in the chairs was reminiscent of being a toddler again, they were that small and low down. After a day's walking, we couldnt wait to get to bed because sitting in the living room was torture. I get that they want that cottage feel to the place, but they could easily modernise and improve the furniture with something new rather than items that appeared to be bought at the local car boot sale. The "dining" table was next to useless. It wouldn't fold out. The folding table in the kitchen is so low down that the dog could have happily used it. I don't want to make it seem all bad, because it wasn't. It's a fantastic cottage full of charm and character. The location itself is outstanding. A perfect peaceful getaway. If you have a dog, he or she will love the local walks, with woodlands just a stones throw away and one of the Malvern hills literally on your doorstep. The garden was also fantastic and the bedrooms had the most comfortable beds. We found the showers a bit temperamental but that is a small niggle. All in all, a great short break. We would consider returning ONLY if the living room was updated though.

    Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you did not appreciate the cream and off-white paint colours or the sitting room furniture. As the cottage is a small Regency lodge, we have had to use small sofas and chairs to ensure that there is enough seating for four guests. We prefer antique furniture as it is in keeping with the 19th century cottage, and many of our guests appreciate this too, but we understand also that some prefer modern furniture. Your comments about the dining table are noted and we have addressed this, thank you. We are grateful for your positive comments too. Property Owner

    Reviewed by StevenOct 2019

  • "Very comfort cottage in beautiful surroundings"

    Reviewed by DianeOct 2019

  • "We had a lovely break at The Lodge."

    It is very well equipped and clean. The location is perfect for walking the dog with no need to drive if you need a break from it. The Malvern Hills are a short drive away and views are fantastic if you can make it to the top ! Ledbury is nearby with quite a few pubs to choose from and a good variety of shops. Glad we took torches as as there is no street lighting but that's all part of country life!

    Reviewed by JaneSep 2019

  • "The location was ideal for fantastic walks."

    The cottage had everything that was needed and was very clean.I would definitely be coming back as our dog absolutely loved it.The facilities were great and everything that would be needed was thought of.

    Reviewed by JasonAug 2019

  • "We visited the North Lodge for a week with 2 adults."

    The North Lodge and its location were perfect for us, we had enough room and the view is astounishing. The beds are very comfortable, the kitchen well-epuiped. We would certainly come back.

    Reviewed by GertAug 2019

  • "Generally, North Lodge was very good."

    Contact and information from the owners was excellent. The representative who met us was very friendly and helpful. However, there were some inconveniences which did not warrant complaining about at the time. The second bedroom did not have any cloth storage space other than a hook on the back of the door. The seating in the lounge was not very comfortable, particularly if one needed back support. Both showers did not remain hot for long and eventually ran cold before we finished showering, suggesting some boiler issue. The hot taps were normally very hot, but they too were cold immediately after a shower had been used.

    Reviewed by RogerJul 2019

  • "Looking at photos we realised there were only 3 easy chairs."

    This was a few days before our holiday, we contacted the owners and they put an extra armchair in for us, which we were very grateful for as we are all in our seventies.. One of the biggest attraction was the outstanding views from the cottage. The cottage was very well equipped, and beds were extremely comfortable.

    Reviewed by WilliamJun 2019

  • "We were met and guided to the property and shown around."

    The stunning views from the property and walks from the door were the real high point. The cottage was perfect for the two of us but I think the living room and furniture would have been a squeeze for 4 adults. The overall standard of the cottage was very high and the lovely weather meant we could enjoy meals in the garden with a fabulous view across the vale.

    Reviewed by JackieMay 2019

  • "The cottage was spotless, not a dog hair in sight, despite being pet friendly, very well done to the lovely housekeeper who we met on our arrival (we turned up early as we received different access times via email from Sykes 3pm and the managers of the cottage 4pm), please let customers know which is correct!"

    Cottage is so pretty, kitchen very well equipped, living room could definitely do with a bigger, comfier sofa as the blue one there is so tiny and not very comfortable. I think four people would find it impossible to sit comfortably as it is right now, at a push two can manage. Needed to purchase fire lighters and kindling for the fire, would have been nice if these were supplied as per all cottages I have ever been to. Having said that the living room is very pretty (however a I did rearrange the seating a little, to make it more homely, hope no-one minds)! Big bedroom was lovely to sleep in, but really need some wardrobes (there are none at all)! We found the half a dozen hangers to hang on the doors just not enough for even two people let alone if there was four of us. The cottage garden was delightful but also very steep, my calves enjoyed the workout! Would be useful to leave some basic gardening tools in the shed as I would have enjoyed pottering around the garden doing a little tidying here and there (which could be quite helpful to the gardener too)! I brought my own parasol and used it in the garden but it would be nice for guests to find one already there to use, perhaps? There is a little bit of “traffic” in the way of walkers on a weekend which is to be expected but you hardly see a soul during the week, we didn’t mind either way. The walk through the field along the footpath goes right through the estate and is a lovely easy stroll which takes about 1.5 hours. We recommend the Farmers Arms public house (about 5 miles away) very friendly and in a lovely settings too. All in all a delightful cottage with awesome views, we will certainly come back.

    Reviewed by AlisonMay 2019

  • "Cottage was hardly big enough for 4 people ."

    All fittings ,showers kitchen etc were of very high quality except the seating in the living area which was of poor quality. Lovely area, quiet and ideal for walkers etc

    Reviewed by ArtMay 2019

  • "This is a beautiful place in a beautiful area."

    It was very comfortable and we had a wonderful week.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth and GregApr 2019

  • "Beautiful cottage well equipped nice and cosy."

    Good standard of finish throughout. Thoroughly enjoyed this cottage.

    Reviewed by SamJan 2019

  • "The cottage was lovely and very rustic but upon arrival our oven did not work and we had to wait till the next day until it was fixed and that was just by pressing some buttons!"

    The bathrooms are very small and sinks are tiny so difficult to was your face and brush teeth. It seemed the cottage is kept clean overall but it lacks dusting. Also theiving room should have some more comfortable seats as only one confortable chair to sit on and in master bedroom one bed is wonky so when put together one person will suffer!! Other than the above it was a great escape personally do think it was very pricey for what it actually is and not worth the actual price we paid for it..

    Reviewed by MeishaDec 2018

  • "This cottage is in the perfect location for walking and visiting the Malvern hills."

    The cottage contains everything you need for your stay. Beautiful setting. Would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by DawnDec 2018

  • "Such a lovely cottage in a brilliant location everything we needed was included including the logs for the fire which was amazing."

    Would definitely be back again.

    Reviewed by DonnaDec 2018

  • "The most beautiful cottage in wonderful surroundings."

    Ideally located for walks or going to nearby towns. Everything you want for a relaxing break. Under floor heating and a wood burner made it lovely and warm in the evening for a December break. Highly recommend

    Reviewed by GrahamDec 2018

Show more

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: Both bedrooms are on the ground floor
  • 1 x master twin (zip/link, can be king-size on request) and 1 x smaller double room
  • 2 x shower rooms with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living room with woodburner.
  • Oil-fired heating with woodburner
  • Electric oven and hob, dishwasher, washer/dryer, TV with Freeview, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for several cars
  • Large garden to rear with seating area
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 4.9 miles and pub 2.8 miles

The property

North Lodge is one of several lodges for the Bromesberrow Estate, at the southern end of the Malvern Hills, where the counties of Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Worcestershire meet.

The Regency cottage orné, with a charming thatched roof and rustic features, occupies a commanding position on the eastern side of Ragged Stone Hill, the last but one of the Malverns.

There are magnificent views across the Severn...

View on map

About the location

LEDBURY

Hereford 15 miles.

The ancient market town of Ledbury (4 miles), dating back to 960 AD, nestles under the Malvern Hills east of Hereford, surrounded by unspoilt English countryside. Ledbury lies on the River Leadon and is famous for its numerous timbered buildings, including Ledbury Park, believed to be one the finest Black and White buildings in England, the 17th century Market House in the town centre and The Painted Room, home to 16th century frescoes. Many music, art and food and drink festivals can be enjoyed in the town and the surrounding area. From time to time music, art, poetry, food and drink festivals are held in the town. Nearby is Eastnor Castle, a fine example of a 19th century, mock-medieval castle, and numerous festivals are held in Eastnor Park. Close by is the historic city of Hereford with its 11th century cathedral, world famous Mappa Mundi and Chained Library. Malvern offers guests many lovely walks along the hills, a luxurious spa and for the car enthusiasts the Morgan Motor Company. Guests can also enjoy the local vineyards, travel along the Elgar Route, visit the Black and White villages and enjoy the many outdoor activities available in the Forest of Dean and beautiful Wye Valley. A great holiday destination at any time of year.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas