Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 33 View Image Gallery
  • Pochard Lodge - Cotswolds - 1076194 - photo 1

Pochard Lodge

(Ref. 1076194)

South Cerney, Cotswolds, Gloucestershire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lodge (15)
  • bed (13)
  • lovely (12)
  • stay (12)
  • no (11)
  • comfortable (9)

25 Customer Reviews

  • "Only a few things that would be helpful, pull up handle on the side of the bath ..."

    Only a few things that would be helpful, pull up handle on the side of the bath and not too serious we could not find any salt and pepper otherwise a very comfortable stay - thank you, the fishing was spot on,

    Reviewed by Peter4.7Mar 2024

  • "We loved pochard lodge, from the moment we arrived it felt cosy and homely."

    The setting it’s stunning and we had a brilliant weekend, lodge is well equipped with kitchen stuff and towels etc. we will 100% will be coming back with my family to stay here.

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Mar 2024

  • "This was the second time we had stayed at 4 Pochard in the past 18 months."

    We moved out nearby whilst we had decorating done to our house in South Cerney. Overall it was very good. I will list a few niggles and finish with the best bits. On the negative side - some of the fixtures and fittings need a refresh, like the showers which have black mould marks and are grubby in parts. The kitchen utensils for cooking also need a renewal along with the cloths drying rack and ironing board which are well past their use by date. On the positive side - on arrival 3 heating units needed urgent attention and the owner was contacted and the service company called almost immediately, they replaced three heaters on the same day, very good! The property is in a pretty location and being off season we pretty much had the entire lake to ourselves, it has amazing views.

    Reviewed by Christopher3.8Nov 2023

  • "Lovely spacious lodge, in a beautiful setting very well equipped - big fridge and freezer, well lit inside and lovely patio with comfortable chairs and table for six."

    Really loved the Elemis toiletries - what a gorgeous touch. Towels new, fluffy and large. We had a really loved our stay and plenty to do in the locality besides fishing! The Waterside restaurant is superb! Thankyou A couple of caveats - we had dry week but would have found it difficult to dry wet clothing for six of us. Also patio light didn’t work for whole week despite reporting first thing Saturday am.

    Reviewed by Lawrence5.0Oct 2023

  • "I am a wheelchair 24/7 and I found this Lodge very accommodating, and very roomy, it was abit hard with the Gravel near the entry ways, but I had my electric hand cycle, so I got round very well and around the grounds."

    The fishing in the smaller lake was brilliant, the lodge its self was beautiful, clean, lovely and a very efficient kitchen, it had everything you needed, and very modern. Very Good quality towels, cumfy beds, fab furnishings the lot. The only tiny thing, was the TV in the livingrooms the lil grey Internet connection thing for channels was missing the plug, so I left it rolled up, as it was left hanging from the TV. But we did have to leave the dogs behind, as my lil girl is ill, but we still had a great time...I think you could so make this a Disable friendly lodge with a few lil alterations, but I adapt to whatever's there and the local Indian takeaway is to die for ...left the pamphlet there Thanks guys will defo come back

    Reviewed by Tracy5.0Sep 2023

  • "Very squeaky bunk beds and TV's in bedroom no signal."

    Hi Haydn many thanks for your feed back and we have serviced the metal fram and all should be good appart from this I hope you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Haydn5.0Jul 2023

  • "Squeaky double bed, but comfortable."

    Front door lock needs attention and door didn't fit properly. Fan would have been appreciated. We enjoyed our stay peaceful but close to many attractions.

    Many thanks for your feedback it is much appreciated. We have stopped the creaking there were a couple of screws loose. We have upgraded the patio furniture plus new crockery, toaster, and iron this week as well as part of our ongoing improvements. Many tanks again David Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wendy4.4Jun 2023

  • "Had a lovely week at the lodge my husband loved the fishing."

    The lodge itself was lovely very spacious. The master bed was very comfy but also very creaky .. couldn't move a muscle without a loud creaking. My husband has a bad hip and back every time he was trying to get comfortable the bed was screeching. Another metal shelf in the oven would make life easier too ( only one there ) Overall we had a really good time there and would definitely recommend it.

    Hi Linda We have dealt with the bed many thanks for your feedback and we are looking a shelf. Many thanks for your feed back. David Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda3.8Jun 2023

  • "We had a lovely holiday everything was excellent a couple of things which needs bringing to attention, no slip mat for the shower in the master bedroom or the main bathroom so we had to buy one, main bathroom door did not close, the main door has a big gap when shut, but overall was great we had a fabulous week and have booked to go again in September."

    Reviewed by Angela4.7Jun 2023

  • "I stayed last year and loved every minute."

    This year I hardly slept as every time I moved on the double bed it creeked constantly and kept waking me up, and there were ants all on the kitchen side that got into food items which then had to be thrown out. I do want to book again but would like the bed issue especially sorting out as the lack of sleep spoilt my stay.

    Reviewed by Yvonne4.1May 2023

  • "Had a lovely stay, lodge was clean and tidy, only down size was beds were VERY squeaky but comfortable and could do with some shelves in bathrooms near basin for toiletries."

    Hi Yvette We have delt with the bed and all is quite! David Property Owner

    Reviewed by Yvette4.4May 2023

  • "We had a fantastic week."

    The lodge was so cosy and warm. The bed was so comfortable. Had everything we needed. Extremely clean. So relaxing and will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by Kelly5.0Nov 2022

  • "Double bed too small when u are used to a king size bed at home."

    One of the saucepan lids had a broken handle but was still useable. And possibly a wasps nest as quite a few constantly on and around the outside of lodge. Lodge was absolutely lovely for us and we would definitely stay here again, thank you very much we had a lovely time.

    Hi Michelle sorry about the delay in getting back to you but I have had an operation for cancer so bit of a shock but now getting back on track. The wasp nest was dealt with as soon as reported and is now clear. We have purchased a new King Sized bed with a supportive mattress which is very comfortable so hopefully, if you visit again you will be happy. The pots have been changed but it is something we keep an eye on. We appreciate your feedback as we like to keep the property in top condition. Many thanks David Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Sep 2022

  • "Whilst the lodge was fine and in a lovely location it which lacking in some essential information."

    There was no information about nearest doctors,nearest hospital, nearest shops,places of interest etc.,etc. There was no visitors book and why where two out of three TV’s only useable by downloading some obscure app on my smartphone? Although there was an office on site it was permantly closed throughout our visit. All this just took the edge off our enjoyment of our stay.

    Reviewed by Ron3.4Sep 2022

  • "The comfort reflects the hardness of the single beds in the second bedroom otherwise it would have had top score, (maybe a little harsh but score was to bring attention to the fact)."

    In general feedback the bathroom door does not close on the catch and needs attention. Finally a wasp net is in the eaves and has been reported to staff on site.

    Hi William Sorry about the delay in getting back to you but I have had a surprise visit to hospital! We have had a wasp exterminator on site and he has sorted the problem out. Many thanks for bringing it to our attention David Property Owner

    Reviewed by William4.7Aug 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at Pochard Lodge."

    The lodge was well equipped and clean, although the vacuum wasn't very good. Plentiful hot water, lovely fluffy towels, comfy sofa's and a great view. There is a lot of goose poo out on the grass, just a warning to others to watch your shoes! There is nothing on site such as a shop so you need to make sure you come with supplies or there is a Tescos, Waitrose, Aldi and Lidl about 10-15 minutes drive away. There is a restaurant which did look lovely but as there was 5 of us in the lodge and some more family was staying at the Hoburne across the road it was too prohibitive a cost for us to try.

    Reviewed by Siobhan4.7Jun 2022

  • "Lodge 4 is in a lovely setting overlooking lake pochard."

    The site is secure, well maintained and within easy road connections to visit top attractions in the Cotswolds. We enjoyed the fishing with a good number caught over the duration of our stay. The accommodation was well equipped with basic requirements covered. Plenty of hot water, space to move around and comfortable sofas to chill out on after a busy day. A few things to consider to improve things would be to upgrade the double bed to the next size up. It’s a wee bit small. Add a shaving socket in both the bathroom and the en-suite. Add a storage shed/box for fishing gear. Currently you have two choices place it back in your car each time or leave it on the decking area. For the site, put a designated path in from the small gate to the restaurant road entrance. It’s quite uneven for the older ones going over to the fishing tackle shop or venturing out for a walk. We did enjoy our stay and hopefully the items mentioned will be taken into consideration for the future.

    Hi Andrew Many thanks for your positive comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to point out that both illuminated mirrors have shaving sockets on the side for electric toothbrush chargers and shavers. Regarding boxes we ar restricted by planning and as an ANOB unable at the moment to get planning for an external box for fishing gear, sorry. We value your comments and will continue to improve whenever possible. Look forward to seeing you again soon. David Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew3.4Jun 2022

  • "There was food left in a drawer from previous and windows could of done with a ..."

    There was food left in a drawer from previous and windows could of done with a good clean I normally check couch and in between cushions needs cleaning The fry pan has had its day Apart from that the tv in main bedroom didn’t work and also was unable to get Netflix Everything else good

    Reviewed by Ann3.4Apr 2022

  • "We had a lovely time and my granddaughter thought her lodge was awesome ☺️ My partner really enjoyed the fishing on the Green Lake and despite the weather we had a brilliant time."

    Seeing the geese, pochard ducks and Swan milling around just outside our lodge was lovely too and we were very pleased to see the swan’s partner nestled in on one of the little islands on the lake. A thoroughly enjoyable week.

    Hi, we are really pleased you had a great time at our lodge and look forward to seeing you next. time and many thanks for your kind feedback David Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Apr 2022

  • "Firstly overall we enjoyed our stay and the property is in a superb location."

    The bedding and towels were very clean and the general condition of the lodge is good. However I would like to share some genuine and hopefully constructive criticism of a few aspects which might help improve the rental experience even more for future clients. The internet was awful for the first day until I carried out a speed test which showed it connected at 0.01 Mbs, a re boot of the router fixed this and speed went up to over 100 Mbs so might be worth posting that as a fix if needed. The wi fi signal does not extend into the twin or double bedroom at all, the smart TV in the twin room had zero internet connection so rendered useless. EE phone reception generally in the lodge is very poor and in double bedroom is zero, not your fault I know but worth highlighting. The carpet in the lounge and open area outside the bedrooms are very dirty and marked. At my own expense I replaced the shower head in the main bathroom which was filthy and clogged. I also took lots of hair out of the bath plug hole. The old shower head is left in the bathroom so you can see what I mean. The shower area in the bath has many areas of typical black mould and that whole area along with maybe the electric shower pump is overdue replacement. Maybe invest in a new cloths horse and a new ironing board. The heater in the main bathroom cuts out after around 30 seconds every time so leaves the bathroom a bit cold. Please take this as constructive and none of the above ruined our stay and we would stay again if we needed. Many thanks Chris

    Hi Chris Many thanks for your feedback and firstly I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the internet, we are at the whims of Giggaclear who provide this service and the router and connection from the lodge is their responsibility but you did the right thing by switching off and then after a few minutes switching back on again, it appears this is the answer to all electrical systems nowadays! I have checked the strength in the bedrooms and we are now at c80 dBm. With regard to the EE service, we do not have any control over the coverage. With regard to the other matters, we have reviewed and taken action including a deep clean. Once again many thanks for you feed back and hope to see you again sometime David Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher3.8Feb 2022

  • "A welcoming cottage, equipped with everything you need, warm, a beautiful view of the lake, everything you need to disconnect from the daily stress, we will definitely be back!"

    Many thanks for your feedback and we are glad you have enjoyed Pochard Lodge, look forward to seeing you again sometime David Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marius3.8Feb 2022

  • "We chose the lodge as it accepted pets."

    We checked the wider site website which reiterated that and, indeed, contained two of three pictures with dogs off leads. It turns out that dogs must be kept on leads at all times out with the lodge. This really needs to be highlighted in marketing - it makes a huge difference to some owners and I would not have booked if I had known that. The lodge had some odd missing items - tin opener, kitchen scissors, drying rack. the washing up liquid was almost empty. The owner popped around to check for storm damage and I mentioned these. He advised that theft of items was endemic. Understood - but that is not my problem as someone who booked the lodge.

    Hi Bruce Many thanks for the feedback and we have replaced the items which were missing. It was good to hear apart from this you had a great stay and I hope you had an opportunity to visit Jennies Kitchen for a coffee and to see the Apaches Property Owner

    Reviewed by Bruce4.4Feb 2022

  • "We had a fantastic time."

    Very relaxing and have never experienced the sunrises and sunsets that I have over the last week. Walks around the lakes were incredible. So much wildlife and beautiful views over the lake. Lodge was very comfortable and spacious. It had everything we needed and more. Brilliant check in information so easy to follow. The lodge was so warm and cosy. Plenty of towels. Nice touch to have tea towels, dishwasher tablets, hand wash etc Explanation of tv in email was very helpful. The lodge was very clean. Maybe a small hoover would be helpful for us to keep it clean as lots of mud from walking around lake and dog’s hair. Felt very safe with the coded gate at entrance. The fishing was brilliant and the staff working on the grounds were friendly and knowledgeable. The nearby restaurant were welcoming and food was delicious. Nice for a treat. Overall a fantastic experience and we hope to be back. Many thanks.

    Hi Kelly many thanks for your positive feedback it is great to hear you had such a great time and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kelly5.0Feb 2022

  • "Excellent lodge, spacious, homely, comfortable and very well equipped with beautiful views."

    My son's highly recommend fishing both lakes as very well stocked with monster sized fish. Lovely for relaxing, walking as well as completely dog friendly. Will definitely return. Have already recommended to friends. All in all a great experience. THANK YOU

    Reviewed by Lesley4.7Nov 2021

  • "Great stay and beautiful location."

    Definitely would recommend. Lovely property.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Oct 2021

Show more Hide all


  • All-ground-floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x King Sized Bed with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin with TV (connection via Chrome Cast), 1 x adult bunk
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher
  • Smart TV with Chrome Cast and Freeview, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair available on request
  • Designated parking place for one car
  • Veranda with furniture and gas barbecue
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.4 miles, bar/restaurant on-site
  • Fishing charges for 2022 on the two lakes designated for lodge guests only as follows; Green lane £20 per angler per stay, Lake pochard specimen lake £10 per angler per 24hrs (includes night fishing)
  • There is a max of 8 anglers and it is requested that they are to check with the office and book, contact email information will be provided at the time of booking for lake availability

The property

Resting on the bustling Lake Pochard Holiday Lodge Park in South Cerney, near the market town of Cirencester, is this detached Scandinavian deluxe lodge, Pochard Lodge.

Set over a single storey and sleeping up to six guests, Pochard Lodge is a superb dwelling for your next getaway to Gloucestershire, within easy reach of the Cotswolds AONB and the North Wessex Downs AONB.

You enter the property into a spacious open-plan living area, perfect for socialising with loved ones, with a fully-equipped kitchen supplying everything you need to allow the dedicated chef of the group to rustle up an evening meal, to be enjoyed around the dining table as you plan the next day's adventure.

For a more relaxed evening indoors, grab a spot on the sofa and flick on the Smart TV for a family film night.

Moving through the property, there is a stunning King Size bedroom with an en-suite, where yo can prepare for each day with a quick shower, while the twin room and adult bunk room allow for flexible sleeping arrangements to suit a variety of groups and give everyone space to rest after a long day.

The interior of the property is completed by a bathroom, allowing you the choice of a long soak in the bath or a quick morning shower.

Outside there is a designated parking space for one car on-site, and a veranda with a barbecue and furniture to embrace an evening in the outdoors with good food, as you admire the views across Walters Lake, where you can also enjoy a spot of carp fishing during your stay.

The lodges are located within the Cotswold Water Park’s abundance of footpaths, bridleways, cycle tracks and canal tow paths, also on-site is the Waterside Kitchen and Bar, which has beautiful outdoor and indoor seating areas, where you can appreciate the outstanding views as you took into a delicious meal showcasing the local produce.

Just a short drive away is the charming market town of Cirencester, which lies on the edge of the Cotswolds AONB and boasts a mixture of dramatic and quaint architecture, as well as the stunning church, rows of quirky cottages, a number of fine shops and eateries and the Corinium Museum, displaying a collection of locally discovered Roman remains.

Venture into the Costwolds AONB to discover the natural beauty it has to offer, and head to the 4th century Chedworth Roman Villa, where there is a museum and many fascinating exhibitions to explore.

Close by is Bibury, once described as the most beautiful village in England, with National Trust cottages from the 17th century, an idyllic church and the magical River Coln running through.

Stroud is another character-packed market town within reach, ideal for a leisurely stroll and an agreeable stop off on your way to spend the day in the city of Gloucester which has a striking 11th-century cathedral, a captivating prison and viewing chamber which is a great tourist attraction, as well as the magnificent docks and ample interesting museums.

For a memorable stay in Gloucestershire, choose Pochard Lodge.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

View on map

About the location


Cirencester 5.1 miles; Swindon 13.8 miles

This quaint, stone-built village rests peacefully among the eastern fringes of the Cotswolds, in the district of Gloucestershire. Positioned just a stone's throw away from the market town of Circencester, South Cerney offers an array of local amenities including a shop, Post Office, hairdressers, pharmacy and takeaway/restaurant, as well as three public houses. Enjoy a round of golf at the 18-hole golf course on the edge of the village and sail or fish on the lakes of the Cotswolds Water Park. This renowned conservation area is a popular spot for anglers, water skiers and sailors, and walkers can enjoy the miles of countryside scenery. Nearby, Cirencester boasts a stunning church and rows of quirky cottages, along with a number of fine shops and eateries connected by a network of attractive streets. The Corinium Museum showcases a collection of Roman remains found locally, and you have a choice of immaculate parks offering memorable summertime strolls. Stroud is another market town worth a visit, offering bags of character, a choice of cosy pubs and plenty of walking, whilst the city of Gloucester is dominated by its medieval cathedral. The Cotswold Way is not to be missed during your stay; it winds itself through rolling countryside and past an array of timeless villages. Choose this lovely village for your next holiday destination in Gloucestershire.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter