In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 44 View Image Gallery
  • Fairview Cottage - Cotswolds - 988704 - photo 1

Fairview Cottage

(Ref. 988704)

Burford, Oxfordshire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 10 Guests

  • 5 Bedrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (33)
  • lovely (22)
  • well (21)
  • great (17)
  • property (16)
  • kitchen (15)

61 Customer Reviews

  • "We stayed for three nights as a family of six adults and four young children."

    We had a fantastic time and would thoroughly recommend the property. Lovely pub in the village a few minutes walk away. As the property is not listed as adults-only would recommend the owner considers providing stair gates as two of the children were toddlers - we had to bring two gates from home. There were some minor niggles that did not spoil our stay and these will be fed back separately.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete the feedback we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the pub. Please do let us know if you stay again as we can organise some stair gates for you. Best Wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan4.7May 2024

  • "Super property for a family get together for the weekend."

    Very spacious and comfortable with each family having their own facilities. Situated in a lovely area where we were able to wander to the local pub for a fabulous Sunday Lunch

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Fairview Cottage. It sounds like you had a lovely time at the property with your family and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gillian4.7Oct 2023

  • "This is a spacious well appointed comfortable property suitable for all ages."

    The property is on the Hight Street but set back and quiet. The back looks out onto open countryside, with accesss through a gate to a green path to a country bridle path. Perfect and peaceful.

    Thank you so much for this lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Fairview Cottage and loved the location too. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Oct 2023

  • "We had a great stay in what was a wonderfully generous cottage in both size and facilities."

    The children really enjoyed the garden and the views from the garden were wonderful - we saw so many lovely sunsets over the landscape. The property was bright, comfortable and characterful too. We would definitely stay again.

    Thank you for this lovely review and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Fairview Cottage. We would love to welcome you again. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Jun 2023

  • "Generally a very positive stay and experience."

    Garden is great for the children. There is ample space in the cottage for the number of guests staying and enough space in the fridge for all the food you need which is great. We did feel some of the fittings looked like they could do with updating, for example, the TV looks relatively old and is at an odd angle and there remains as issue with the TV reception. We were trying to watch a programme and it kept cutting out which was frustrating (aware from the feedback this has been looked at before so maybe needs completing replacing). The rugs also look a bit old and dirty and maybe could do with replacing at some point and some of the kitchen bits are a bit old despite having everything there. Bathrooms and bedrooms excellent. On the whole, very positive!

    Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback - it is always helpful to us. I have removed a couple of the rugs, and gone through all of the kitchen equipment to remove/replace some of the worn pans and kitchen utensils. I tested the TV - the firestick is working well so wonder if you tried to use the 'smart TV" function? (you don't need to use HDMI/laptop for this) I have arranged for our aerial guy to take another look at the connection - he mentioned the freeview channels can be affected by stormy weather. We will continue to work hard to improve our guests stay at Fairview. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Aaron3.4May 2023

  • "We loved our stay and were very grateful for the last minute booking, as without that our family holiday was at risk."

    The property was very pretty and had a great kitchen (with three peelers!). The only things we would say is having the Arial fixed on the telly in the living room, and possibly something available to cast your phone to watch films. We loved the area and would definitely recommend.

    Thanks so much for your feedback. The TV should have the aerial connected to provide all freeview channels, and there is an HDMI cable to connect to laptops for streaming. I'll get my TV guy to ensure that both of these things are still working, and also see if we can arrange for the TV to have some sort of 'dongle' connected to make it a 'smart' TV...... and hope that you'll come again to stay. UPDATE: WE NOW HAVE AN AMAZON FIRESTICK INSTSALLED TO ALLOW GUESTS TO LOGIN TO ALL AND ANY OF THEIR STREAMING APPS..... Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lydia4.1Oct 2022

  • "Very nice property in a pleasant village in a very nice area, good walking from the house & with an excellent pub just down the road."

    Plenty of space, good rooms & warm (a touch too warm for some of us!). My only slight grouse is that instructions for wi-fi & operating 1 or 2 other things were a bit sparse or difficult to locate & some of the basic kitchen equipment (eg a very ropey peeler & some of the cooking stuff) was disappointing for an otherwise high quality house & could do with a review & a bit of an upgrade. But that minor quibble apart, we would go again.

    Thankyou for your feedback - we always review our guests comments to see how we can do better, so it was disappointing that you found the kitchen equipment disappointing as most guests feedback is positive on the kitchen. I had already ordered some new baking trays, and we have at least three peelers so this particular comment was surprising. I will check to see if perhaps they have been misplaced in one of the other cutlery drawers. If there was anything else in particular that you felt needed replacing I would be very happy to do so. I will also check the guest arrival folder to ensure all of the instructions are clearly marked. Thank you again for taking the time to provide such constructive comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen4.1Oct 2022

  • "Absolutely delightful cottage, we felt very much at home."

    Neighbours were lovely, we made some great memories. Will be booking again. Thank you

    Thank you so much for providing us with such lovely feedback on your stay at Fairview Cottage. It's fantastic to hear that you had a great stay and a well earned retreat! We cannot wait to welcome you again in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shane4.7Aug 2022

  • "Just returned from a fabulous stay here."

    Party of 10 guests (6 adults, 4 children). The property is beautiful and in a lovely location. Fabulous kitchen with plenty of crockery, utensils etc. Plenty of plastic plates etc for children to use. The property was tasteful decorated and provided plenty of space for our party. Only slight downside being that the sofas in the living room were a little on the uncomfortable side. Outside area is beautiful. Plenty of outdoor seating and beautiful views to the rear of the property. The only downside to the outside area was the lack of bbq. With such a beautiful outside setting, (and gorgeous weather that we had while there) the addition of a bbq would make the outside area perfect. All in all, a beautiful property in a lovely location. Would highly recommend. Thank you.

    We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation and location and you found the space and facilites suitable for your group. The property is not advertised with a bbq but we will certainly consider the feedback. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catrin4.1Jul 2022

  • "Lovely cottage - perfect for families and a great back garden for sitting out in the sunshine."

    Thank you for your kind review - we're glad you and your family enjoyed the cottage and the garden in the sunshine. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0Jul 2022

  • "Fairview Cottage is a beautiful spacious cottage with lovely tranquil picturesque surroundings."

    . I would recommend a stay here but have to say the listing for the cottage is not true to word.. it states a five bedroom cottage for ten people, Which gives the impression there are 5 separate bedrooms, it is NOT 5 bedrooms, realistically it should be classed as 3 double rooms and a family Room! There is one double room downstairs opening out onto the patio, which is a lovely view, 2 Futher double rooms upstairs, then the remaining '2' bedrooms is one double room with an ensuite bathroom then what can only be described as a closet containing 2 single beds Coming off that room with a curtain to separate both rooms, which can only be access

    Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and will look into the description of the property. With best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia3.1Jul 2022

  • "We loved every minute!"

    Perfectly located for Cotswolds touring, beautiful and comfortable home, well-appointed kitchen, loved the country views out the back. Will 100% stay again! Thank you for sharing your wonderful home. Cynthia USA

    Thank you so much for such amazing feedback. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and can't wait to be able to welcome you back. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cynthia5.0Jun 2022

  • "Daughter phoned local office about early entry, and was told they didn’t have contact details for the cleaner, so couldn’t check!"

    When we arrived, there were no towels, travel cot or any toilet rolls in any bathroom! Again rang local office who seemed surprised that we’d expect to have toilet rolls provided. Local office phoned just before 7pm to say she was still at work, and, when finished, she would bring the items. I pointed out that we had a young child who was ready for bed, and needed the travel cot immediately. These were eventually delivered. Later in the week we noticed there were no food waste bin bags, large bin bags, or dishwasher tablets. Having had previous enjoyable holidays with Sykes, we were very disappointed with the housekeeping/admin of the local office, run by Manor Cottages, presumably an offshoot of Sykes. Unfortunately this would make us think twice before booking with Sykes cottages in the future.

    Thank you for the constructive feedback. I'm so sorry this has happened these things should have been in the property for you on arrival as well as the cot. There is usually only 1 person on call after office hours so sometimes it takes a little while to get to some properties so i do apologize you had to wait for these things. I truly hope this hasn't put you off booking future stays with us as this is not a true representation of us at all. I hope you enjoyed your stay despite these hiccups. Best wishes, Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen3.4Jun 2022

  • "Fairview Cottage is a very good holiday cottage, with a lot of space and very well equipped."

    The settees are not the most comfortable, but a great kitchen and dining area with views of the garden; the bedrooms are comfortable and we appreciated all having en suites. The property has been thoughtfully decorated and furnished and provides great facilities. The village is very friendly, great food and service at the pub - The Hare which we would highly recommend. The Co-op is a good local shop, again very helpful staff. Plenty of walking on the doorstep with local pubs to have lunch or other refreshment. We felt that the 6pm check in for the cottage was unacceptable and we hadn't been informed or noted this prior to booking. A few days prior to our arrival I was able to speak to a very helpful person who suggested I ring around lunch time on the day of our arrival. I did so, and she was able to confirm with the housekeepers that they had just finished and we could arrive - this was 1pm and too late for us to travel earlier or alter our food delivery - but we all arrived by 4.45pm. In future we will check the time of arrival before booking any cottage with Sykes. The normal check in for all cottages we have booked with various companies over the years including in recent months is 3pm or 4pm.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We're so pleased you had such a lovely time and enjoyed the cottage itself! Thank you for bringing the sofas to our attention - this will certainly be investigated. With regard to the check-in time, we appreciate it's later than other companies state and we are looking at bringing it back at some point soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julia4.4Apr 2022

  • "An attractive cottage in a lovely area, well fitted bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchen."

    Lots of space inside and a pleasant back garden overlooking fields. Interesting decor and comfy furnishings apart from one huge sofa which gave no support and was designed around the body proportions of a very tall person! As I cannot drive in low light conditions I arrived about 4.45 pm but did not attempt to go in before 6p.m. On entry at 6pm I found some minimal heating in the kitchen/ lounge area. All the bedrooms had no heating on and were very cold. All radiators had been fully turned off and there was a complex zoned heating system with many different room stats . When my son arrived he helped me to try to get some heating around the place. Most of the heating is under floor and it takes a long time to reach a comfortable temperature.This visit was in early March so outside temperatures were low. When we went to bed most of us had to muffle up in extra layers of clothing because the rooms were still so cold. The heating finally got through about 2.30 am when several of us woke up feeling too hot! The final straw was finding that no bath towels had been provided, just one hand towel per person. An email sent that night resulted in an early delivery of bath towels the next morning. I am pleased that this review will be shared with the property owner as he or she may wish to reconsider their choice of property management and lettings. A lovely cottage spoilt by poor management. It would be wonderful in good weather but I would not recommend a winter stay.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a constructive feedback, we are so sorry you had to check in to a cold property, we would have appreciated is you spoke to our office or our out of hours phone number and this would have been sorted straight away, we will investigate into this as we aim to switch all heaters on before guests arrival, we will look as well into the towels situation as we always leave a bath mat and a hand towel. We will put all your recommendations and comments into our consideration and we look forward to welcoming you again soon for a better experience. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pamela4.1Mar 2022

  • "A lovely home in a good location in the Cotswolds."

    House was well appointed with plenty of room for a family of 5. Walking distance to a lovely restaurant where we ate twice while we were there. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and I would recommend this property.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcoming you again soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robin4.4Dec 2021

  • "The pictures don't do the cottage Justice."

    much nicer I person and we were positivley surprised. Main bedroom and bathroom amazing. lovely welcome basket

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back any time in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Victoria4.7Oct 2021

  • "Great stay in a well equipped cottage in a tranquil location A few improvements to feed back to the owners Would be : * The 18."

    00 check in with no option to request any earlier, was very difficult with babies and a young family. Very restrictive and off putting As check out was also early 10.00, this should give plenty of time to turn the cottage around for a 15.00 check in * Although all rooms were thermostatically controlled, the heating could not be turned off completely of lowered below 16 Deg C (the min 16 Deg C was to hot) * A vacuum cleaner (or hand held) would be nice

    We do respond to guests who ask for an earlier check-in. Usually, if requested via phone or email we will do our very best to accommodate. Our housekeepers carry out a high standard clean at every changeover and often have more than one property to turn around in a day which is another reason other than Covid for the 18:00 check-in. There should have been a hoover available for use during your stay so we apologise for the fact that the housekeeper must have mistakenly locked it away. We're pleased you had a lovely stay regardless of these issues and would love to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.4Oct 2021

  • "Beautiful location and very appointed property."

    We had a lovely week, enjoying the views from the garden, and were very comfortable as 3 families with children from teenage to 2! A lovely week….

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback, we are delighted you and the whole party enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kate5.0Aug 2021

  • "Spacious and well appointed, this property more than met our expectations."

    An ideal spot for our multi-generational holiday. The eight-year-old made the most of the large grassed area at the rear of the property and the newly installed play facilities on the nearby village green. Oxford, Blenheim Palace, Stow and Chedworth Roman Villa were among the many nearby Cotswold attractions and the village pub had a welcoming, friendly atmosphere as well as excellent food. The only minor criticism is that the hot water had been set at too high a heat for the eight year old to be able to wash his hands unsupervised.

    It sounds like you had a wonderful stay at Fairview Cottage. I'm so pleased to hear that the whole family were ale to enjoy what the property had to offer. Thank you for highlighting the temperature of the water as we can now investigate this. We'[d love to have you back to further explore the Cotswolds in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vince4.4Jul 2021

  • "This is a beautiful cottage."

    It is very spacious, comfortable, has all the amenities one could hope for. The decor throughout is to a high standard. It was very clean. The bedding and towels were crisp, white which is always a good sign that cleanliness is important. The outlook from the sitting room through the french doors is beautiful countryside. It’s a nice village with a pub serving good food and a Co-op for shopping needs. The village is well placed for discovering the Cotswolds.

    Many thanks for leaving your lovely comments on Fairview Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin5.0Sep 2020

  • "The property could benefit from some child friendly kitchen equipment."

    ... plastic cups/plates etc... The cottage was fabulous- great space for our family gathering. Will consider again for next year!

    Thank you for considering the cottage for next year, we will pass your comments through to the owner regarding the child friendly kitchen equipment. Many thanks Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle3.8Aug 2020

  • "Incredible luxury home."

    Reviewed by Raja5.0Dec 2019

  • "House is well equipped with high quality appliances and fittings and very tastefully decorated."

    Everything is immaculate and we enjoyed the luxury of having a complimentary bedlinen change and a spruce up halfway through our two week stay. There is no dryer which I found surprising in a house that is equipped to such a high standard. A lovely touch was having garden furniture in the front as well as the back garden so that the sun can be enjoyed all day long. The front is very sheltered so is a real sun-trap. There is an excellent village shop a short walk away and the local library a stone's throw away has very friendly staff and allowed us to borrow books. It has an excellent children's section which is a good backup for a rainy day if you have little ones, and the village play area is very well equipped, much better than my big city park back home. Very quick and efficient response by Manor cottages and the owners when we had any queries or issue with the accommodation.

    Reviewed by S4.7Aug 2019

  • "This is a beautiful spacious open plan cottage which is very light and views to the garden and countryside."

    The cottage has everything you need very clean and lovely decor. We didn’t have time to write in the visitors book as the cleaners arrived at 10am but we would highly recommend this cottage. It is ideally situated to walk to the village where there is a good shop and a great pub although it’s not cheap. Also ideally situated to drive to Oxford, Stow, Chipping Norton and other areas of the Cotswolds

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Jul 2019

  • "After carefully researching lots of holiday properties in the Cotswold area I chose this one to accommodate 5 adults and 2 children covering 3 generations."

    It ticked all the boxes for inside and outside. Perfect. I would have no hesitation in returning if visiting this beautiful area again.

    Reviewed by Ruth5.0Dec 2018

  • "Lovely cottage, great location for a holiday in the Cotswolds."

    We were 6 adults and a baby, great location for a baby with lovely walks and small park with swings nearby and short drive to Burford and Cotswolds wildlife park and gardens. Very well equipped kitchen, lovely en suite rooms.

    Reviewed by Richard4.4Oct 2018

  • "The cottage is lovely and comfortable and had everything we needed to celebrate our friend's birthday."

    The outside space is beautiful with stunning views. I would definitely recommend this cottage. Thank you.

    5.0Sep 2018

  • "The cottage was clean and had a homely feel about it."

    The surrounding area was beautiful.

    Mr Haque

  • "Location It accommodated 8 - Lounge lovely and large,\ \ \ view and location"

    Mrs Alderton

  • "The cottage was near to perfect!"

    Mrs Woolley

  • "Very well presented cottage in lovely village with all facilities required."

    Had a wonderful week exploring the Cotswolds.

    Mrs Edwards, .

  • "We couldn't fault the cottage which was in excellent condition and had everything we could possibly need."

    Mr Bailey

  • "Beautiful decor, en-suites to all bedrooms and views over the fields."

    Mrs Bhushan

  • "It was a fantastic holiday!"

    Great cottage, lovely garden, fab location.

    Mrs Stewart

  • "Everything was perfect - location was great, cottage was very well equipped and spotlessly clean."

    Ms Tredgold

  • "Ideal for 6 people, looking for quiet some luxury, in a splendid environment (we visited Oxford, London, Stradfort, Abingdon, Chipping Camden, Burford (were we stayed 3 years ago in Church cottage), the Slaughters, Bourton-on-the Water, Minster Lovell, Winchcombe and Blenham Palace."

    \ \ \ Although the very cold weather, we made some nice walks, beginning at the house (which had a wonderful view on the countryside). Very quiet, beautiful star heaven almost every day.

    Mr Vandaele

  • "Great location and carefully thought out property."

    Well furnished and equipped made the stay very comfortable. It gave us a great base to entertain our family.

    Mr Nagle

  • "We had a lovely weekend with some old friends and our little children in a beautiful cottage in lovely surroundings."

    Despite the weather, we managed plenty of activities. Cottage was well placed in terms of accessing local amenities and had everything we could ask for inside. It was warm, welcoming and decorated to an exceptionally high standard.\ \ \ Kitchen was impressive with loads of storage space. Bedrooms beautifully decorated and furnished, showers went down very well! Didn't dislike anything at all. Cottage had everything we wanted for a comfortable stay.\ \ \ Surroundings and safety were also a concern and this properly was very child-friendly. Was drawn also by the look of the cottage on the photos. Looked just as stunning in real life.

    Mrs Pierson

  • "The cottage was stunning and there was plenty of space for everyone."

    It was fantastic to have such a large kitchen, dining room table and seating area in the lounge - everyone was comfortable all of the time!

    Mrs Herbert

  • "Because of the large kitchen, we did a lot of baking, the ovens were great."

    Mrs Thompson

  • "The cottage is beautiful and in a fantastic location."

    The cottage is equipped to a very high standard and beautifully maintained.

    Miss Woolley

  • "The cottage was indeed fantastic."

    We had a great time.

    Mr Hallberg

  • "Pretty and clean holiday cottage ."

    Mrs Dissanayake

  • "Fantastic house immaculate, perfect for a family get together."

    We loved the fact that each bedroom had an ensuite. Beautifully decorated ,it really felt as though we were staying in someone's home rather than a holiday rental. \ \

    Mrs Brooks

  • "Excellent property with everything one could want\ \"

    Mr Brent

  • "The cottage was in an ideal setting with beautiful views over the countryside."

    It was well equipped and perfect for our family gathering. The location of the cottage meant there was plenty to see and do in the area and the nearby pubs and local play park were well received by the family! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

    Ms Goring

  • "The house felt like a home and not just a rental cottage."

    It was very well equipped and very spacious. The view from the garden was wonderful.

    Mrs Rooke

  • "Had a great stay."

    House was well appointed (love the kitchen.) The location was excellent.

    Mr Rhodes

  • "Clean, beautifully furnished, with everything you could possibly need."

    Mrs Illich

  • "Clean, warm, well equipped, gorgeous view, v."


    Mrs Worth

  • "Comfortable, spacious accommodation."

    Perfect for family gathering with good social living space, en-suite bathrooms with each bedroom, enclosed garden, parking.\ Interesting decor, homely and welcoming. Plenty of books/magazines. Kitchen well equipped.\

    Mr Bagness

  • "Brilliant cottage, very well equipped, lovely views and perfect setting for our family celebration."

    Ms Howells

  • "Cottage perfect - good number bathrooms, beautiful and well equipped kitchen, lovely garden."

    Useful 'tourist guide' printed by owners


  • "The cottage was perfect."

    I could not fault it in any way.

    Mr Mower

  • "It was perfect!"

    Plenty for space for everyone yet warm and welcoming. There wasn't a single detail that could be improved on, 3 generations all happy.

  • "We found the house was perfect for us as it was without any improvements"

    Mr Suffield

  • "Everything absolutely great for three generations of our family, ages from 4 to 73."

    Mr Morgan, May 2017.


  • "Lots of room; good condition; well cared for; good parking; would have been lovely to sit outside; quiet village; plenty of plates and cutlery; wifi; and everything worked."

    Mr Rayner, April 2017.


  • "The cottage was just like a family home which was a big plus point and we'll equipped."

    Cleanliness was reasonable however a couple of pots and plates needed to be washed.


  • "The cottage is in excellent condition."

    There were lots of personal touches which made it seem like someone's home rather than and out and out holiday letting. We loved the property and the views, and there were good walks from

    The House. Mr Wicks

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Due to layout of bedrooms, Fairview Cottage is suitable for 8 adults + 2 children
  • Four bedrooms: 1 x first floor kingsize double plus en suite bathroom with bath, separate shower, WC and washbasin, 1 x first floor twin which is accessed via bedroom 1 with curtain separation more suitable for children, 2 x first floor king size double both with own en suite shower room with shower, WC and washbasin
  • 1 x ground floor king size double with en suite bathroom with roll top bath, separate shower and double vanity basins
  • Ground floor cloakroom with WC and washbasin
  • Kitchen
  • Living area
  • Utility.
  • Central heating with woodburning stove
  • Gas hob, double oven, steam oven, dishwasher, microwave, coffee machine, large fridge/freezer and smaller fridge
  • TV with Freeview, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Rear enclosed garden with terrace and grassed area with furniture
  • Travel cot and highchair available
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • There is no BBQ at the property
  • Off road parking for three cars
  • Shop and pub 0.2 miles
  • Note: This property requires a refundable Good House Keeping Bond of £500
  • Please Note: Maximum of 10 people in the house or garden at any one time
  • Please Note: This is is a quiet residential area; No music to be played in the outside areas and no parties are permitted.

The property

Please note: The first floor kingsize double with ensuite also contains two single beds, with the area being seperated by a curtain.

Fairview provides a warm and high quality base from which to explore the Cotswolds.

Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, approximately 12 mins from Burford, Stow on the Wold and Chipping Norton, this delightful holiday cottage offers an excellent standard of self catering accommodation.

The property sits on the edge of the village and overlooks fields to the rear and enjoys a good size garden for outdoor entertaining.

There are three large bedrooms, (with a further fourth off one bedroom) plus three ensuite bathrooms.

There is newly re-opened pub in the village The Hare in Milton (glowingly reviewed by Giles Coren in The Times Magazine), and other pubs nearby, walks from your front door PLUS the Daylesford Organic Farmshop nearby, this is an excellent holiday cottage option.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £500.

View on map

About the location


Burford is possibly one of, if not THE most famous of the Cotswolds' locations. With its medieval bridge, old stone houses and attractive Tudor and Georgian frontages, Burford is justifiably one of the most picturesque towns in England. Often referred to as the 'Gateway to the Cotswolds', the town was originally a fortified Anglo-Saxon ford which later grew to be an important regional crossroads and wealthy wool town. Located mid way between Oxford and Cheltenham (25 mins each away) it is a little haven of history and beauty that many come to fall in love with when they visit.

The 16th century Tolsey building, once the meeting place for medieval merchants, now houses The Tolsey Museum, a delightful local museum illustrating the town's social and industrial past. The church is stunning, a real gem architecturally with many interesting memorials charting some of Burford's great families. There is also the signature, on the baptisimal font, of Antony Sedley, one of the Levellers besieged in the church in 1649 - three of the ringleaders were executed by Oliver Cromwell's men in the churchyard. History awaits!

With little changing over the centuries, Burford is now very popular with visitors, both for its beauty and history but also for its shopping and antiques, and for the wide variety of places to eat, with restaurants, pubs and teashops. It is an ideal base for visiting The Cotswolds area as it is within easy driving distance of popular attractions such as Blenheim Palace, Sudley Castle, Warwick Castle and several National Trust Houses and Gardens. Bourton on the Water, Bibury, Cirencester and Stow on the Wold are all with 25 minutes from the property.

Note: Due to layout of bedrooms, Fairview Cottage is suitable for 8 adults + 2 children.
Note: There is no BBQ at the property
Note: This property has a Good House Keeping Bond of £500.
Note: The cottage is situated in a quiet residential area, and guests are kindly requested to keep noise to a reasonable level at all times, and particularly when enjoying the garden and terrace. Due to proximity of neighbours, no music is to be played in the outside areas.
Note: No more than ten people to be in the property or garden at any one time. Parties are specifically, not permitted.
Note: The first floor kingsize double with ensuite also contains two single beds, with the area being separated by a curtain.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas