In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

11 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 29 View Image Gallery
  • Gardeners Cottage - Cotswolds - 1051595 - photo 1

Gardeners Cottage

(Ref. 1051595)

Fifield near Burford, Oxfordshire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (7)
  • bed (6)
  • comfortable (6)
  • garden (5)
  • house (4)
  • our (4)

12 Customer Reviews

  • "We stayed at Gardeners Cottage for 4 weeks during a house move to Alvescot."

    The cottage is cosy, comfortable (especially the bed), quite well equipped with a large garden with wonderful views over the countryside. Good off street parking although it took us a while to understand you park adjacent to the house on the grass verges. The key safe was a bit of a challenge at first but ok to use after we’d mastered the code. If you’re bringing dogs, the garden is not contained so we used a roll of garden netting to keep ours from wondering off, or bothering the neighbours. The garden furniture is in need of a refresh, but ok to sit out on and enjoy the beautiful view. You’ll need accounts to all the streaming services on the TV as there’s no access to Freeview or terrestrial channels via an aerial. We have streaming accounts so it was ok, just not possible to scroll through channels (a good excuse to forget the TV and go for walks with the dogs!). We changed the batteries in one of the TV remotes. A note to the management team - we had the plumber visit twice to take air out of the system which was caused a lot of disturbing noise in the early hours of the morning. They came promptly the next day and rectified the problem, but I think the system needs a good overhaul in general - ou can’t shower upstairs if someone is issuing the shower downstairs for instance. Agree with other tenants that a microwave would have been convenient and the cutlery is a little tired The village is peaceful (a sleepy hollow) but it’s a drive to a shop and a decent walk to the Hare pub. Careful where you walk as one of the neighbours was upset that we hadn’t followed a public pathway which wasn’t marked to be fair. I think on balance it may be on the pricey side for what is offered and we noted that it wasn’t booked at all in July & August which is a shame. It served us well for our move. Perhaps the pricing needs looking at?

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this comprehensive feedback. We're glad you found the cottage to be comfortable and enjoyed the garden and views. Thank you also for bringing some issues to our attention which have been passed on to the Property Manager. We will look at your suggestions and recommendations which are very helpful. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dave3.4Jun 2023

  • "We had an amazing stay and loved this cottage."

    The downstairs shower needed a little repair or two, but apart from that it was perfect! The garden is huge and our children had an amazing time playing outside, or at the park just behind!

    Reviewed by Peter4.7Jun 2023

  • "Absolutely this is not a dog friendly property Total misleading Credit card chargeback in process"

    Reviewed by Luke2.2Apr 2023

  • "It is a lovely country location, good walks, comfortable beds, nice and warm."

    Be aware that whilst it’s in a village there is nowhere to shop nearby. Burford is amazing but not really walkable, about 5 miles on roads with no pavements. We stayed last Christmas as well as this and have to say the cottage, whilst lovely, could do with a bit of a refresh. The crockery, cutlery, glassware is past it’s best, there aren’t enough pans to cook a full meal. The ‘smart’ television in the main room is unusable unless you have log-ins for the streaming services, not great with two teenage children and saying there’s a tv in the snug is not a good response as it’s too small for a family to sit in. Plumbing a little ‘aggressive’ at times, don’t be shocked when you turn the taps on upstairs! Overall it offered what we needed and with some small tweaks would be easily improved

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. We're delighted you enjoyed your Christmas at Gardeners Cottage and would like to thank you for bringing to our attention some issues which we have passed on to the Property Manager. We hope to welcome you again. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew3.4Dec 2022

  • "Overall we enjoyed the house."

    It was comfortable, clean and spacious for a cottage. It was quiet with lots of lovely walks to choose from. Might be worth considering a walking map as we mistakenly went off course once and were challenged about it which was rather uncomfortable. The fireplace was a big disappointment given it smoked no matter if the window was open. As we had a dog, it would have been useful to have known that the garden is not fully enclosed. The kitchen was reasonably well stocked but did not have enough crockery/glasses for a family of four. It did not have a microwave which we felt was essential. Refresh cleaning was sporadic, and had to be chased up. As we were there for a month, it would have been nice to have had it proactively arranged.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and also the surrounding countryside walks. Thank you also for bringing some issues to our attention. The property management team have been informed and will be advising the owner on some new essential kitchen items. We appreciate your constructive feedback. Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola4.4Sep 2022

  • "Gardners Cottage is absolutely beautiful inside & out."

    It is extremely well equipped & comfortable (especially the beds). The garden is amazing with wonderful views over the rolling cotswolds countryside. Fifield is an idyllic & extremely peaceful village. Our only (small) criticism would be that we only lit the fire once as it was too smokey within the house to light again. Maybe consider fitting a log burner in future & that would make the cottage perfect. But we loved our stay & will hopefully return.

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay at Gardeners Cottage. It's lovely to hear you had a wonderful stay and had everything you needed in the property. We will look into the issue you had with the fire and possible alternative options. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith4.4Oct 2021

  • "I requested addition of high chair and cot which was not listed at this property and you said that it wasnt available ."

    Imagine my surprise and delight when on arrival both were in place. While I appreciated this very much, it was too late to stop my son purchasing a travel cot and a portable high chair. Communication that you had been able to provide this would have been great. We had to assume it had not been possible. Maybe Manor got them for us, but we were most grateful. Other than no salt or pepper, oil or vinegar, everything was super. Comfortable beds and pillows, spotless linens and bathrooms and kitchen, exceptional views of glorious countryside and we discovered a playground for the toddler just behind the back hedge. Some information on the walking trails in the area from the back door would have been wonderful, but we hiked blindly to enjoy the great late summer weather and returned safely.

    Thank you for your feedback. We're so sorry for the communication error with regard to the cot and highchair. We at Manor Cottages wanted to make sure that you did not go without so ensured there was a highchair and cot placed in the property prior to your arrival. We will ensure cupboards are stocked with the basics for future guests and would like to apologise that this was missed on this occasion. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the property and had the chance to explore the wonderful Cotswolds on foot! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane4.7Sep 2021

  • "No microwave."

    No freeview tv. Need adjustable electric shower. Shower screen leaking down the side. Deep cleaning to me would also mean cobwebs on lamps would be removed! Windows were scarmy....washed with dirty water. I hope the dvd player was not stolen by any previous residents. After saying all that. It was lovely cottage, peaceful and set in lovely village. Would stay there again.

    Many thanks for taking the time to feedback on your stay at Gardeners Cottage. We're very sorry that you encountered these issues during your stay and will investigate to ensure future guests do not have the same problems. We're pleased to know that you enjoyed your time at the cottage and would love to welcome you back again in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steven3.8Sep 2021

  • "No tv unless you are with Amazon or Netflix."

    Reviewed by Neil4.1Sep 2021

  • "Gardner's Cottage has a lovely relaxing feel to it."

    The beds were comfortable and overall it was a nice stay. I think some extra thought could be given to the property, the one sofa isn't very comfortable and small things could be added such as a laundry basket and additional kitchen items. It's a shame we couldn't use the lovely upstairs bathroom.

    Thank you for your feedback. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate your points for improvement. We're very sorry for the issue you had with the upstairs bathroom - this has now been rectified so will not be an issue for future guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kayte3.1Aug 2021

  • "The main bathroom shower is very difficult to control pressure and temperature."

    We're sorry that you had difficulty operating the shower. Your feedback will be passed promptly onto the owner. Thank you for your feedback and we would like to welcome you back anytime. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Jul 2021

  • "We had a fantastic time."

    In particular we were impressed by no extra charge for providing a cot and high chair, and the speed with which you provided a parasol for the outside table and chairs. The house is brilliantly set up and the garden is wonderful. A couple of minor things that could be improved are that the wifi only really works in the sitting room and bedroom above it - it would be great if it could be extended to cover the kitchen and master bedroom; there were no cereal bowls and no vegetable peeler, so it would be good if those were provided; lastly, the mattress provided with the cot was the very basic one and from our experience isn’t really okay for a baby to sleep on for a week. Fortunately we had brought our own mattress as we knew there was a chance this might be the case, but it would be good if you could provide a better mattress with the cot. These were all minor things though, the house was fantastic, and we had a wonderful time.

    Reviewed by Annabel4.7Jun 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x super-king-size (zip/link, twin on request), 1 x super-king-size, 1 x ground-floor adult bunk beds
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, double basin, 2 x heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with open fire
  • Snug with TV - You will be able to log in using your own accounts
  • ..
  • central heating and open fire
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge, 2 x TV - You will be able to log in using your own accounts
  • , WiFi and a selection of books
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Parking available
  • Private lawn and patio garden with furniture
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 2.7 miles, pub 1 mile
  • Note: There are two steps down into the shower, please take care

The property

Milton-under-Wychwood 2.6 miles.

Located in the pretty village of Fifield, mid-way between two of the Cotswolds' most popular destinations, Burford and Stow-on-the-Wold, rests Gardener's Cottage.

A picture-perfect cottage which has undergone complete refurbishment to provide stunning accommodation in the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, it makes the perfect base for an escape with family or a group of friends.

As soon as you enter the cottage it becomes apparent that a great deal of thought has been put into creating a warm and inviting home, especially the inviting sitting room with the contemporary seating arranged around the warming open fire.

Also on the ground floor you will find the snug, where you can retreat to watch a good film, or curl up on the corner sofa with your favourite book for a quiet moment to yourself.

Move through into the kitchen/diner to be greeted by a spacious room perfect for hosting your celebrations, with a large table at its centre where the whole group can gather to make a toast to your retreat, while the good range of utensils and appliances provide all you could need for your catering requirements.

In the summertime be sure to take your dining experiences outside alfresco-style, with a large lawn and a patio overlooking the beauty of the surrounding countryside, the perfect spot to end each day of adventure.

The ground floor also provides you with a stylish and contemporary shower room, accompanied by one of the three bedrooms, a wonderful bunk room suitable to sleep either adults or children, the bottom bunk being perfect for those less able, while up on the first floor you have two further bedrooms, both being super-king-size with one having the option of being set up as two single beds to offer you and your loved ones a flexible sleeping arrangement.

You will also find the luxurious family bathroom on the first floor, with matching his and hers sinks, making a lovely spot to prepare for your day.

The local area boasts plenty of excitement to occupy all ages, with a whole host of amenities in easy reach too; if you're seeking a celebratory meal be sure to visit one of the two most highly regarded local pubs lying within a couple of miles of the cottage; The Feathered Nest inn Nether Westcote and The Hare in Milton-under-Wychwood, both serving hearty meals and a pleasant atmosphere, as well as the village of Mliton-upon-Wychwood hosting a shop too, where you can pick up any of your own last-minute ingredients.

For those who like a bit of exclusive shopping, then a visit to Daylesford Organics in nearby Kingham, one of the pre-eminent local destinations is a must.

Nearby Stow-on-the-Wold offers even more eateries to take your pick from including tearooms, restaurants and takeaways, and being the highest of the Cotswolds' towns it makes the perfect place to experience the natural beauty of the area, with plenty of walking and cycling routes all around with parts of the National Cycle Network passing through the Cotswolds too!

Spend a day in Burford where you can enjoy a scenic walk along the riverside followed by a game of golf, or spend a day in the 'Venice of the Cotswolds', Bourton-on-the-Water, where you can find the wonderful attractions of The Model Village, Birdland Park & Gardens, Cotswold Motoring Museum & Toy Collection and so much more.

In reach of Oxford, Cirecencester and Cheltenham too, Gardener's Cottage is the perfect base for exploring this stunning area of the South of England.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £400.

View on map

About the location


Burford 4 miles; Chipping Norton 7 miles.

Milton-Under-Wychwood is a village and civil parish in West Oxfordshire. The village has one pub called The Hare which is a gastropub. Wychwood public library is located in a converted shop. Local attractions are Foxholes Nature Reserve, Wychwood Wild Garden park and for those interested in outdoor activities The Wychwood Golf Club, all within a few miles of the village. For the art enthusiasts look to Tosley Museum housed in the early Tudor market building, famous for its doll’s houses and large photographic collections. Also nearby is the St Nicholas Church, which is the resting place of the designer of the Forth Rail Bridge, Sir Benjamin Baker. Little has survived of the Norman church except its ornate north doorway. Milton-Under-Wychwood is 4 miles north of Burford and 7 miles south of Chipping Norton.

Please Note: whilst the cottage has ground floor accommodation the bedroom has bunk beds (suitable for adults if required) and the shower on the ground floor shower room has 2 steps down.
There is a £400.00 Good House Keeping Bond at this property.