In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cotswolds 2 minutes ago

1 of 21 View Image Gallery
  • The Tin Barn - Cotswolds - 990351 - photo 1
  • The Tin Barn - (Ref. 990351)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.





The Tin Barn

(Ref. 990351)

Newnham-On-Severn, Gloucestershire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Hot tub
  • Four poster bed
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance

53 Customer Reviews

  • "Pros - Location is fantastic, rural but not far from anything."

    Most tourist spots are only a short drive away. - Directions to find the place were great. - Quiet and peaceful with lovely views - Sofa is really comfortable - The outside area is lovely and relaxing - Bath is lovely and dressing table is great. - Local pubs are great particularly the Lyon inn in Westbury on Severn. Beautiful pub garden, delicious food and really dog friendly. - Darren was very friendly. Cons - no Wi-Fi for the week and we couldn’t get a phone signal unless we sat outside. This makes planning our time very difficult and was quite inconvenient. - The hot tub was out of action for the duration of our stay. Very disappointing. - The taps in the bathroom were constantly dripping and eventually made strange noises. We reported this very early on in our stay and it was not addressed. - The hob is absolutely terrible and takes ages to heat up. It took nearly 50 minutes to make scrambled egg! The knobs are worn so it’s a guessing game which ring you’re turning on and which heat you’re selecting. The oven however is fine. - The kitchen is reasonably stocked but does not have essentials such as an oven glove, tongs, scissors etc. The frying pans are not non stick. - The place in general is in need of sprucing up. Throughout the property there are paint chips, a big chip in the sink. It just looks a little tired. - If staying for a longer period, there isn’t anywhere to store clothes apart from a couple of coat hangers and a shelf. - The pillows on the bed aren’t the best, quite flat so was a little uncomfortable.

    Reviewed by Emma3.1Jun 2023

  • "The property is in need of redecoration, and a deep clean."

    On arrival we were told the hot tub did not work, which to be honest spoilt our weekend, it was one of the main reasons why we booked this property. There was no WIFI connection inside the property, which to some this would not be an issue, but with the phone signal weak in this area and two teenagers at home I would have felt more comfortable if I knew they could contact us at any point of the holiday. However, the owners were very pleasant and friendly. We found plenty to do for the weekend around the local area, however the point of the weekend away was to relax in and out of the hot tub!

    Reviewed by Vicki2.2Jun 2023

  • "We were made to feel very welcome by the helpful staff and we enjoyed our stay with good weather However for what we got, it was vastly overpriced."

    The property is in need of a lot of updating. It is tired and the garden is not secure for dogs and dead pot plants and weeds spoil the beauty. Bbq is too rusty to use though we wanted to use it. The linen is poor quality as are all the kitchen appliances. Kettle doesn’t switch off, frying pan hasn’t been non stick for years etc. The hob is so slow to heat up and is so ancient all the heat markings have worn off so it’s a guess. Butler sink has a huge chip and fridge door is rusty and froze my food. Information folder is out of date. We were greeted on the drive by a filthy huge old motor home and that I’m afraid set the scene. Initially we were not sure we would stay but Louie and Darren made us feel very welcome and we didn’t want to be mean about it. However if they are running the business we have to be honest. If it was half the price it would be ok but it was no way up to the standard it should be and I’m not sure when Sykes could have last inspected it. We are seeking some compensation from Sykes.

    Thank you for your comprehensive feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the property. We do expect high standards of our properties, so we will be thoroughly investigating with the owners. We are glad that you were made to feel welcome. Best wishes HideAways Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter2.5May 2023

  • "A lovely relaxing place with fabulous views, and the hot tub was a teal treat."

    We are so pleased that you enjoyed your relaxing break. Good to hear that you appreciated the hot tub. We hope to welcome you back Best wishes HideAways Property Owner

    Reviewed by Annette4.7May 2023

  • "Lovely cosey barn."

    Hosts very welcoming and really enjoyed the hot tub.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the hot tub made it special. Best wishes, HideAways Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elin5.0Mar 2023

  • "Brilliant comfy property!"

    Would certainly recommend!

    Thank you for this lovely review. We're delighted you loved the property and hope to welcome you back! Hideaway Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joel5.0Feb 2023

  • "Our 10th anniversary surprise getaway for my partner has to be the best places we have stayed."

    The property owners Adam and louis were exceptional. They prepped the hot tub ready for every day, and on the last morning had it ready for us at 7am. If we needed anything they were always happy to help. The Tin barn had lots of character, something we was looking for, something different. They also have a double decker bus ready for larger families to rent out which looked amazing. Thank you so much for our romantic getaway I would highly recommend.

    Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a wonderful Anniversary break! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Victoria4.7Feb 2023

  • "The Tinbarn was amazing, we had a really lovely stay."

    Adam and Louie were really accommodating and the hot tub was great.

    Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you liked The Tin Barn. The hot tub really is a great bonus! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lauren5.0Jan 2023

  • "Wouldn’t recommend we drove 2 hours to get to a place to be greeted by a hostile man that was not even the host or property owner."

    We turned up entered the property to a horrendous smell, once opening the fridge there was blood and residue smeared and leaking all in the fridge. We entered the bedroom which had stains/hairs and the bed was not made. When confronted with this the man who showed us the property telling us he hasn’t got time to hear this and got aggressive. When in fact we drove 2 hours thinking we was going to have a lovely relaxing weekend. He was demanding money off us for wood for the log burner, and telling us he is just the gardener which made us feel very unsafe especially when walking in to blood all in the fridge and the fact he wouldn’t give us owners details and behaving angry towards us. We had to drive back home after 20 mins of being there which completely ruined our new years. We have had no feedback or compensation from property owners and after seeing all evidence and photos. It took over 3 weeks to get a refund. Sykes as a company disclosed that the host was not who he says he was so in fact we was greeted by a stranger and was unsafe. They held no accountability and I will be sharing photos on all media plat forms as I highly would say I’ve never felt so unsafe. AVOID BOOKING for your own safety….

    Reviewed by Tiffany1.3Dec 2022

  • "George was very welcoming and helpful throughout the entirety of my stay."

    The tin barn was extremely cosy and had everything you’d need for a short stay. I will definitely be back again.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Tin Barn. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Hideaways Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jamie4.7Dec 2022

  • "Thank you for this little hideaway."

    We would definitely return. Loved that it was at the back and beyond, but you’re only 10 minutes from a little town that catered for everything we needed. I only marked down due to the bed was to hard for my personal taste, but saying my back thanks you for it. As lovely as the bath is, for the space, a shower would be a better fit and ideal for showering after the tub. Especially reducing cost of water and electric. And the taps could do with some attention as well. Lastly the Wi-Fi was down the time we were there, I know this can not be helped, and it probably made us more chilled with bot relying on it. But with being i contactable, the provider should be more vigilant with services. We also found the others renting the bus were a tad loud, maybe just leaving a notice for all there to be respectful of others around, especially for your neighbours. Leaving on a positive note. The place is amazingly homely. It was very much to our style and taste. And we love some of the quirky touches around the place. We felt immediately at home. And thank you to George who did an amazing job of being host and always ready to stoke the tub. Thanks again

    We are pleased that you enjoyed your hideaway stay only a short distance from local services. Thank you for your comments which will be passed onto the owner. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Best wishes HideAways Property Owner

    Reviewed by Victoria5.0Oct 2022

  • "Exceptional and welcoming place to stay the tin barn provides all your needs ..."

    Exceptional and welcoming place to stay the tin barn provides all your needs quiet n quirky set in beautiful surroundings we enjoyed every thing it had to offer George kept the hot tub on for us every day great relaxing in it after a day out highly recommend and looking to book for next year keith/ Diane and our bully frankie

    We are so glad that you and your dog enjoyed your stay in the lovely location. It is good to hear you felt well looked after and made good use of the hot tub. We hope to welcome you back again. Best wishes HideAways Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith5.0Sep 2022

  • "The Tin Barn set up was good, with most of the facilities that you would require."

    However, the owner was unresponsive to our queries, we didn’t hear from them at all although we tried to contact on several occasions. The grounds around the barn are very nice, but it wasn’t as secluded as we had hoped. There is another holiday let fairly close by, which was a bit noisy while we were there. The barn was a little dated in places and we weren’t provided with some basics like tea towels. We paid £50 for the use of the wood-burning hot tub which we didn’t receive instruction on, and only got to use for a couple of hours. The maintenance person who is located on site, George, was very helpful.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you liked the Tin Barn and it's grounds. We have passed your comments on the owners. We hope that you enjoyed your stay. Best Wishes Hideaways Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol3.4Sep 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay high up just outside the Forest of Dean."

    Lovely private spot The Tin Barn cleverly laid out outside sitting area and privacy in the hot tub with so much bird life, Buddy the lovely friendly dog popped to see us a few evenings a goat called Jess who climbs through fence so amusing and tame and Lulu the cat made a couple of visits to us too.. Lovely green area and trees and walks. The Barn is a great quirky place to stay with basic needs met inside. Lovely bathroom water on demand cosy main room with TV and tiny kitchen. Met Jane and George friendly people. Saw George mostly who was so very help to us about the local area and made sure the hot tub was up and running and hot each day on top of lots of jobs he does. A very hard worker. He showed us the chickens fresh eggs available if you want some. Brilliant little place. The only thing I would change to stay again would be a new comfy mattress for the bed and update/replace the fridge. Would be happy to stay again. Thank you so much to Lee Jane and George. Treats on the way in the post for Buddy.

    Thank you so much for this lovely feedback - we're delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Tin Barn and especially the company of the various animals! We hope to welcome you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie3.8Jun 2022

  • "A well appointed and charming accommodation in an idyllic spot deep in the countryside but all is not what it seems, there are several properties crammed into the plot which means you will not get the solitude that the description infers."

    Also it is not good for inquisitive dogs as there is no separate fenced off garden, so you cannot let a dog roam as they can introduce themselves to other cottages. George is a delight though and keen to make your stay as welcoming as possible I tis a lovely part of Britain though and the area is well worth visiting

    Reviewed by Lee3.4May 2022

  • "Wonderful week at the Tin Barn."

    A great place for a mini retreat from every day life. We loved just chilling in the hot tub listening to the birds. George was so helpful and friendly and we really enjoyed our chats with him. Would definitely return.

    Thank you so much for this feedback and we're delighted you enjoyed your week at the Tin Barn. We look forward to welcoming you back for another chill out break! Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.7May 2022

  • "It's the quirkiest place ever!"

    ! The most beautiful, quiet setting . If you feel the need to drop off of the planet, be free of your mobile, ( no signal or WiFi), then here's you haven.

    Thank you for your kind review. We're so pleased you enjoyed a relaxing stay at The Tin Barn and hope to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Mar 2022

  • "Had a much needed peaceful break in this lovely property."

    Really cosy accommodation set in the most beautiful countryside. Great for walking, or short drives to explore the local area. George, who was onsite pretty much the whole time, was really helpful with local information and anything else we needed. Top marks for the amazing hot tub!

    We are thrilled to hear that you had a delightful time at The Tin Barn, and enjoyed exploring the surrounding areas. Please do come again in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard4.1Feb 2022

  • "Beautiful accommodation in a really lovely location."

    We found plenty to do despite it being early February. The owners were very laid back and accommodating of our dog, letting her roam around the grounds with no restrictions. The walks in the area are stunning. Hot tub was a great addition and was lit and stocked up by George daily who was also helpful with suggestions for walks. Would definitely recommend for a totally relaxing stay.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you (and your dog!) had an amazing stay at The Tin Barn. We would love to welcome you back in the future - especially with the nicer weather! Thank you once again for providing us with your lovely feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise4.4Jan 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at the tin barn, loads of beautiful land to explore with our dog."

    George was extremely helpful with helping us find some beautiful walks. Unfortunately we arrived Sunday with no electric in the kitchen and lounge area which took until Wednesday to be repaired, and the Wi-Fi is extremely hit and miss. But all in all we had an amazing time away, we would definitely consider returning :)

    Thank you for your feedback on The Tin Barn. Unfortunately some water got into one of the kitchen sockets causing the issues which meant they needed to dry out. We appreciate George was on hand to help navigate the areas that were affected to ensure power was available. Due to the rural location of the property the wi-fi is definitely temperamental. Happy to hear you had a lovely stay and we would love to welcome you back in the future. Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Abbie3.8Jan 2022

  • "What a lovely place to stay and so relaxing."

    The hot tub is fab and the tin barn is a comfy place to stay. You won't be disappointed if you book this little gem up.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back any time in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer4.7Sep 2021

  • "Jane and Lee were fantastic hosts and the Tin Barn was an amazing place to stay."

    We couldn’t have wished for a better location, we loved it. The dogs enjoyed making friends and also the lovely treats left for them! We also enjoyed our goodie box which was very thoughtful and unexpected. Nothing was too much trouble we left feeling very relaxed and wishing we’d booked for longer.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back any time in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kerry5.0Sep 2021

  • "We had a relaxing week at the tin barn."

    Lee and Jane were welcoming , nice welcome pack too. Their friend George was also friendly and worked hard to keep the timber hot tub going and also gave some good recommendations, eg symonds yat east and boat trip, Cyril hart arboretum. After a year and a half both working in frontline services during the pandemic it was such a good place to relax with great view. Our recommendations are the food truck at the Severn and wye smokery ( outstanding), Sunday lunch at the miners sling, lydney harbour and walking over the lock gates for a fab walk and views of the Severn bridge, going into Monmouth, Just relaxing at the tin barn

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay at The Tin Barn. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and had some great recommendations on places to visit. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andy5.0Jul 2021

  • "The Tin Barn is a hidden gem."

    It's so peaceful, and relaxing, a unique place. A beautiful garden and lovely accommodation.

    Reviewed by Angela4.4Jun 2021

  • "Unbelievable place the tin barn exceeded our expectations!"

    I would highly recommend to anyone. Very friendly staff who went above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our stay! We would 100% go again!

    Thank you for highly recommending The Tin Barn and we would love for you return in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rikkie5.0Jun 2021

  • "Had a fantastic stay at the tin barn which exceeded our expectations."

    Lee, Jane and Louie were very welcoming and always on hand to help. The property itself is beautiful with spectacular views, great base to explore the local area or if you fancy a lazy day the hot tub was great way to relax. Couldn’t recommend this place enough and couldn’t thank them all enough.

    It is great to hear you had a fantastic stay at The Tin barn! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Luke5.0May 2021

  • "We had a lovely week at The Tin Barn to celebrate our 'would-be' wedding."

    We really appreciated Lee letting us know about some places to eat, highly recommend The Ostrich Inn! We arrived to a beautifully decorated barn and a lovely warm hot tub. The barn was so cosy and just perfect for what we wanted. Our little dog enjoyed all the woodland walks and felt right at home. Lovely stay, would definitely come back!

    The owner will be delighted that you has a lovely stay and he would love to welcome you back in the near future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joshua5.0Oct 2020

  • "Fantastic from start to finish - their son Louie was particularly amazing, out in the pouring rain stoking the hot tub to ensure it would be nice and toasty for the evening."

    The kitchen had everything we needed. The walks straight from the front door were lovely, and apparently wild boar frequent the field opposite the barn! I was back in the hot tub at 6:30am hoping to catch a glimpse (and there are binoculars provided too). thank you Lee, Jane and Louie for an amazing staycation, cant wait to come back.

    The owners will be delighted to read your comments and would love to welcome you back in the future. We are pleased to heat you had an amazing staycation! Hideaways Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jessica5.0Oct 2020

  • "Beautifully appointed property, very tranquil."

    The Hot Tub was amazing. Wonderful welcome basket, even treats for the Dog! Wonderful Hosts.

    Reviewed by Zoe5.0Sep 2020

  • "It's a beautiful place tucked away in a tiny hamlet of Popes Hill, just on the edge of Forest of Dean."

    Warm welcome from the family, Lovely welcome gift much appreciated. Layout very private, even though there were properties nearby you did feel on your own most of the time. Nice views out from the hot tub, although the trees that add privacy do restrict some of the views but you can't really have both - a bit of selective tree works would improve it I think. Didn't use log burner as we were blessed with brilliant weather all week, unusually for mid September, very lucky. Property is generally very good - lounge and kitchen excellent. Bed looks really nice but could do with a new mattress in our opinion. Bathroom feels small but is functional - would have preferred a shower but space is limited. The hot tub is managed by the family, they put logs on and it gets hot, it is really pleasant, and gets to a good temperature. We spent most of our late afternoons/evenings in there and it was great. Overall it is a lovely place, nice people and in a lovely part of the world.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments of your stay at The Tin Barn. We will pass your feedback onto the owner. Hideaways Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.1Sep 2020

  • "The Tin Barn is probably the most relaxing place we have ever stayed in."

    Lying in the hot tub whilst looking at such beautiful scenery was heaven. Jane, Lee and Louie are fantastic hosts. Our little dog loved having the freedom to explore and socialise.

    Thank you for your feedback. It's great to hear comments from guests about the stay and we completely agree, it's a fabulous setting. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Annette5.0Aug 2020

  • "Amazing welcome gift pack from Lee and Jane."

    And the place is great, looks fantastic, views are awesome. Hot tub was heated during day so was available in the evening. The owners were on hand if we had any problems. When we had an emergency Jane was more than happy to help. If you need a quiet break come here.

    Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay, we love to hear how much you have enjoyed your time at the barn and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Aug 2020

  • "Lee, Jane and Louie couldn’t do enough for us at The Tin Barn."

    Arriving to a welcome package including whiskey, strawberries and cream was a fantastic surprise for my husbands 40th. The facilities were great and everything was provided to make our stay go smoothly. Our Boston terrier had plenty of space to play/make friends with the local dogs and there are plenty of walks to go on. The hot tub was a great addition to a place that was already great and would recommend a dip at night under the stars. Fabulous accommodation, views and hosts. Thankyou

    Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your stay at The Tin Barn. It's always wonderful to hear how much guests have enjoyed staying and we will pass on your comments to Lee and Jane. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nichola5.0Aug 2020

  • "You can use the log burner hot tub anytime of the year and there is no ..."

    You can use the log burner hot tub anytime of the year and there is no restriction on the time you have to use it from and to plus they come and light it for you everyday

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Feb 2020

  • "Oh my god, where do we start?"

    Our stay at the Tin Barn was absolutely amazing! From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel completely at home. Lee even helped carry our shopping in. The trip was a present from my partner for my 50th. She couldn’t have booked anywhere more romantic. Lee and Jane have created a little piece of heaven here. The Tin Barn was a real home from home. They’ve thought of everything you might need and provided it. The welcome hamper was a really lovely gesture and crammed with gorgeous goodies. This has definitely got to be one of the best places we’ve ever stayed and we can’t wait to go back. Save a biscuit or two for Edna and Jessica, the resident goats as they have a sweet tooth. Our tips would be the Woodman Inn for a lovely Sunday lunch and Symonds Yat for a pretty walk. Thanks for everything Lee, Jane and family.

    Thank you so much for your feedback which is very much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and everything was beyond your expectations. The owners take a lot of pride in providing the best possible service at all times and always ensure guests have a wonderful stay. We hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanna5.0Jan 2020

  • "The Tin Barn was beautifully appointed."

    . full of character and charm.. from the log fire to the stunning four poster bed. The owners were very friendly and welcoming even provided a welcome basket of lovely goodies and a delicious bottle of wine.. all very welcome on arrival. The wood fired hot tub was amazing.. and our hosts ensured it was ready to use each day of our stay. Would recommend a visit

    Reviewed by Janette5.0Dec 2019

  • "Beautiful location with hosts that where always available for whatever was needed"

    Reviewed by Tina4.1Dec 2019

  • "The situation is absolutely perfectly very secluded with amazing views of the forest."

    The quietness is so therapeutic. The Tin Barn has everything you need for comfort, it’s cosy, the layout is fabulous, The kitchen has all you need if you want to eat in. The fire is romantic and easy to maintain. It’s so nice to have a lovely inviting eco hot tub. Lee, Louis and Ray were incredibly inviting, friendly and helpful. We left feeling so relaxed and content

    Thank you taking the time to leave your comments on The Tin Barn. We are glad you had a relaxing break! Hideaways Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eric5.0Dec 2019

  • "We've just returned from the Tin Barn and already we miss it!"

    The most beautiful place we have ever stayed. We had the best of both worlds too - on Saturday it was a little dewy and misty, which was a beautiful sight over the tops of the trees (especially when viewed from the warmth of the hot tub!) and on Sunday it was bright and sunny, and the views all around were breathtaking. Lee and Jayne couldn't do enough for us, we had fresh new robes, a beautiful clean lodge and a piping hot hot-tub! Thank you so very much, I don't think it will be too long before you see us again! Robbie & Will

    Reviewed by Robbie5.0Nov 2019

  • "Warm welcome with basket of complementary goodies on arrival."

    Peaceful, cosy and warm for a quiet getaway break.

    Reviewed by Diana4.4Sep 2019

  • "My wife and I had a great week at the Tin Barn."

    The property is in a wonderful rural location and is run by Lee and Jane, helped by their family. The Hot Tub is a great addition and was kept up to temperature for us to use when we needed. We are walkers and we had plenty of choice including walks from Newnham itself. Definitely recommend the steep stroll from Symonds Yat East up to Symonds rock. The view from the top is stunning. The property is well equipped for self catering but there was no microwave for space reasons so we took our slow cooker which out friendly hosts were happy for us to use and this worked well for us alongside the electric cooker. Wouldn't want to spoil your fun so will let you take in the wonderful views from the site and also the impressive London Bus ! Would definitely visit again

    Thank you for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lee5.0Sep 2019

  • "We had a wonderful holiday."

    The Tin Barn is set in an idyllic situation, very quiet and peaceful.

    Reviewed by Douglas5.0Sep 2019

  • "A marvellous place to calm down and enjoy nature."

    We felt at home in the cottage from the very first minute. Linda and Lee are very helpful!

    Reviewed by Ulrich4.7Jun 2019

  • "Amazing location, great hosts and we will definitely return, hopefully with the ..."

    Amazing location, great hosts and we will definitely return, hopefully with the family booked into the red bus in the grounds, cheers, Graham and Joyce

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Jun 2019

  • "Our stay at the Tin Barn was simply magical, couldn't have asked for more in such an enchanting hideaway."

    Our hosts Ray, Jane and Lee were amazing, nothing was too much trouble, the hot tub was the perfect way to end the day, immersing ourselves in the gentle sounds of nature surrounded by the forest and hills,we thoroughly enjoyed our walks each day, it was great for our golden retriever as well who had a great time with the resident dogs Bear and Bud, we highly recommend the Tin Barn if your looking for a beautiful, undisturbed relaxing getaway. We will definitely be booking again and look forward to enjoying more of the tranquility of the Tin Barn.

    Reviewed by Mark5.0May 2019

  • "We were warmly welcomed by the site manager Ray who quickly gave us all the essential information."

    The welcome pack was lovely and lasted us all week. The property is opulent luxury in a beautiful tranquil spot. We couldn't have wished for a better place to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. On top of that, everything that you could want to do is within a 30 minute drive. We will definitely return, probably with friends and family. *****

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0May 2019

  • "Just a amazing location, property and hosts nothing was to much trouble for them there was a lovely welcome pack provided for us on arrival and the hot tub was awsome i would definitely recommend this location to anyone and we are already planing our next break there but this time for longer."


    Reviewed by Paul5.0Feb 2019

  • "We had a lovely stay at the Tin Barn."

    The owners have furnished and decorated it very well. There is plenty to do in the area, with lovely walks from the cottage and in the Forest of Dean. Thoroughly recommend for a relaxing get away.

    Reviewed by B & J5.0Feb 2019

  • "Hidden gem definitely a place to recharge your battery"

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Dec 2018

  • "We really enjoyed our stay."

    The hosts and the company responded quickly to make everything happen - including preparing extras upon our arrival to make us feel extra special and welcomed. The tin barn was so beautiful and exceeded expectations. There was plenty on offer - from relaxing to walking and a lovely guest book and welcome pack about surrounding activities. We loved our stay and would encourage others to book as well.

    Reviewed by Liam5.0Nov 2018

  • "A delightful, peaceful place overlooking a valley on the outskirts of the Forest of Dean."

    Close to Cinderford, Abergavenny and the Cotswolds. A fine base to visit in many directions. The Tin Barn was nicely just off the beaten track so we could enjoy the best of both worlds. Our hosts were very helpful and welcoming. The accommodation was well presented and just enough for two - romantic and intimate with a four poster and a woodburner. A great break!

    Guest's Review On TripAdvisor

  • "The Tin Barn (Pope's Hill) We have just stayed at The Tin Barn."

    Well what can I say ……… a real delight to behold!!! Situated on a farm on Pope's Hill in the picturesque Forest of Dean. On arrival, you can park directly outside, so it's easy to unload all your luggage. There is a beautiful patio and gravel area and a wrought iron patio set overlooking beautiful woodlands. There are two other holiday lets, a fabulously converted double decker bus & a cottage for families. There are horses, goats, chickens & dogs on the farm. The Tin Barn is adults only. Perfect for a romantic getaway, with a beautifully restored antique four poster bed & woodburner. On our arrival, we were greeted with fresh flowers in a vase, a basket of fresh croissants, scones, jam & freshly laid eggs from the owners chickens. (You can also purchase these). In the fridge there was milk, butter & clotted cream. Perfect for unorganised people like us who forgot to bring anything for breakfast!!! Cupboards are stocked with everything you would need, cutlery, crockery, glasses, pans, etc. Also, washing up stuff supplied. So either go & cook for yourself, or there are takeaway places 10-15 mins away & a Lidl to stock up. There is a TV, comfy leather sofa. Gorgeous trendy filament lighting. All in Farrow & Ball colours. As said, the bedroom has a beautifully ornate four poster bed, lovingly restored. Heavy ornate curtains separating the 3 rooms. Held up by curtain poles with quirky finials. The bathroom in up 3 steps from the bedroom, with a roll top bath, sink & toilet, and a dressing table with hairdryer (finally someone actually thought about putting the hairdryer by a mirror, unlike most hotel rooms I've come across & ladies, yes there is a plug within reach of the dressing table for your hair straighteners!!!) The owners Lee & Jane are super friendly, nothing is a problem if you need to ask anything, any time of day, they will happily show you around & fill you in with local knowledge. The way they have restored their holiday cottages is clearly done with love & passion. I would highly recommend this place (& trust me, I'm a fussy one :)

    Guest's Review On TripAdvisor

  • "From the moment we arrived, we knew our stay was going to be something special."

    We received the warmest greeting from Jane and instantly felt welcome. The barn itself is beautifully decorated, with a log burner, super-sized sofa, well equipped kitchen and luxurious bathroom. The view from the barn instantly puts you in a relaxed state of mind. Our journey was long so the welcome pack was very well received. There are plenty of places to visit if you feel the urge but I think the day we stayed in, lit the fire, curled up on the sofa and watched the rain fall was the best day we had. Jane and Lee are so friendly and naturally accommodating, we never felt awkward asking for anything and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be visiting again and will not hesitate to recommend to friends and family.

    Guest's Review On TripAdvisor

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • All ground floor
  • One bedroom: 1 x four post king size bed. Bathroom with roll-top bath, WC and washbasin plus a make-up area with dressing table (separated from bedroom by a curtain)
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburner.
  • Central heating, woodburner
  • Oven, hob, fridge, TV, WIFI
  • Fuel and power and inc in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc in rent
  • Off road parking
  • Gravelled garden area, a few steps below the accommodation, beyond this is anopen, grassed area with direct access across the owner's fields to woodland
  • 2 dogs allowed at a charge of £25 per dog per week. Wood fired Hot tub available for £50 for 5 nights & under or £70 for 7 nights and over
  • This is to be paid directly to the owner upon arrival. PLEASE NOTE: the owner will instruct on the use of the Hot Tub, however the running of the hot t tub is the responsibility of the guests. Shop 1 mile, pub 2 miles
  • Note: The property is on the ground floor, but there are a few steps into the property, and inside the property.

The property

Imaginatively conceived by its very creative owner using reclaimed materials, The Tin Barn is the perfect retreat for a honeymoon or a romantic weekend away including a beautiful woodfired hot tub.

The furnishings include a highly impressive, ornately carved four poster bed.

The interior is tastefully decorated in traditional Farrow and Ball colours and the spacious, open plan Living Room has a woodburner for cosy romantic evenings together.

The kitchen and living room are open plan with contemporary styling features.

Outside, the partly fenced garden area below the barn affords some privacy without compromising the restful views across the valley.

Simply walk through the owners' land and you are in Hangman’s wood, where you can walk for miles undisturbed.

The views over the wooded hills of Forest of Dean cannot be beaten.

The Tin Barn is a great place for couples to come and relax and become one with nature.

View on map

About the location


Gloucester 13 miles.

The thriving village of Newnham-on-Severn nestles on the banks of the River Severn. The village is steeped in history, and offers specialist shops to suit all interests, along with traditional pubs and cafes. This charming village, part of which is designated Conservation Area, has a tree-lined main street, many listed buildings, a striking central clock tower and is ideally located for watching the spectacular Severn Bore. The Royal Forest of Dean, England's largest oak forest, offers numerous trails that can be explored on foot, bicycle or horseback. Caving, abseiling and a high-wire rope course are on offer for the more adventurous, while fishing, golf, kayaking and canoeing are also available. Gloucester is just a short drive away, where you will find Roman foundations, Victorian docklands and a spectacular Norman cathedral (whose cloisters were used in the Harry Potter films). Littledean with its unique Jail Museum and Quadrophenia Collection, Westbury Court Garden, the only restored water garden in the country and the ancient caves and eerie caverns of Clearwell Caves (as seen in Dr Who and Merlin) make a great family day out. The ancient market towns of Ross-on-Wye and Monmouth have excellent shops, pubs and restaurants, plus many black and white timbered buildings, or visit the historic walled town of Chepstow with its celebrated race course and impressive Norman castle. A little further afield, discover the beautiful Malvern Hills, Black Mountains and Brecon Beacon National Park. A great location for a relaxing break or activity holiday at any time of year.

Note: The property is on the ground floor, but there are a few steps into the property, and inside the property.
Maximum of 2 dogs at a charge of £25 per dog per week.
Wood fired Hot tub available for £50 for 5 nights & under or £70 for 7 nights and over. This is to be paid directly to the owner upon arrival.
Please note: the property is located within the owners grounds along with The Red Bus! (990350)
Note: The owners friendly dogs will be seen around the grounds.
the owner will instruct on the use of the Hot Tub, however the running of the hot tub is the responsibility of the guests.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas