Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

9 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 40 View Image Gallery
  • Bell Garden - Cotswolds - 1091423 - photo 1
close

Floorplans

Floorplan

Floorplan

Photos

Floorplan

Bell Garden

(Ref. 1091423)

Stow-On-The-Wold, Gloucestershire Show on map

4.9

Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • location (21)
  • house (17)
  • lovely (15)
  • great (15)
  • clean (13)
  • property (13)

40 Customer Reviews

  • "Great location and beautiful property."

    Helpful hosts.

    Thank you for this lovely feedback which is much appreciated. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ruth5.0Mar 2024

  • "Lovely cottage let down by a few things."

    Log stove wouldn’t draw, very disappointing & others seem to have had same problem. Kitchen pans very battered. No instruction booklets or leaving info. Downstairs en-suite, top light has no switch? How to turn on? In 2 showers, mixer tap wouldn’t operate handheld shower head. A small milk jug would be useful.

    Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Bell Garden. I'm sorry to hear you had a few issues during your stay, did you get in touch with the Owner to address these while you stayed?. I have passed on your comments to the Owner so she can look into this for you. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elizabeth4.7Feb 2024

  • "Well appointed, very clean and well equipped."

    Perfect for 6 adults and a dog.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback, It's fabulous to hear you all enjoyed your stay and i hope you managed to eat in some of the local Restaurants in Stow. We hope to welcome you all back again very soon. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Jan 2024

  • "We had a lovely time at Bell Cottage, the photos don't do the property justice."

    It's far nicer when you're there. The location was perfect for us, the facilities at the property were excellent. There were 8 of us staying at Bell Cottage so it was quite busy in the morning with all of us getting ready. I had a shower at 9am and there was no hot water which wasn't great. Check in at 4pm doesn't leave a lot of the day to enjoy the property but we made ourselves busy in the town, however we all felt that a 10am check out is a bit mean, it means you can't end your break in a relaxed way. 8 of us seated at a table for breakfast and having to get showered and packed and out for 10am is a rush . We can't fault the property but feel that the check out should be midday to allow a stress free end to an enjoyable break. Kind regards Mr L Ashby

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Bell Garden. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your gathering at the cottage. We will pass on your feedback to the Owner for review, but the reason for the check-in/out times is because our Housekeepers have to fit in more than one holiday cottage in per day and to enable us to reach high standards we don't rush them. We hope you still had a lovely holiday with us and we would love to welcome you back again. Kind regards Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lee4.7Jan 2024

  • "Lovely house that accommodated 7 of us easily."

    Having a large oven over Christmas was superb! Great location being a few minute stroll from the centre of town. We all had a lovely time and thoroughly loved Stow - we will be back!

    Reviewed by Samantha4.7Dec 2023

  • "We absolutely love Bell Garden, now being the second time we have stayed with ..."

    We absolutely love Bell Garden, now being the second time we have stayed with friends and family Gorgeous house and beautifully decorated throughout with all the amenities you need Within a very easy walking distance to the lovely town, shops and restaurants in Stow on the Wold

    Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your second stay. We hope that we can welcome you back again for a third time. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Dec 2023

  • "We loved the property and it was perfect for our needs."

    The following are simply things that you might wish to consider in order to make future guests even more comfortable: - the Internet in back bedroom (the one that has been converted from the garage) is non existent. Difficult as a visitor from overseas - I churned through my roaming data. Maybe consider a booster? By the way, I did not find this room cold at all, as some previous reviews have mentioned. - we needed to leave a day early for family reasons and therefore received the departure instructions after we left. We looked everywhere in the house for them, as I like to leave properties exactly as the owner wishes, but there was very little information. As a result we were not able to strip the beds as requested. Perhaps consider leaving departure info in the house or providing it on arrival. - I couldn’t get the wood burner to draw (and I live in a house where my only heating is a wood burner, so I’m pretty experienced!). It smokes badly when you open the door. I wonder if the chimney could do with a clean? Either way, some instructions would be useful - there are a lot of vents and, even with my experience, it was complicated.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Bell Garden. It's lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your feedback, we will pass on your comments to the Owner for review. We hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Nov 2023

  • "Lovely cottage, we were a multi generation group and it worked really nicely for us and the location was great too."

    Reviewed by Kerry5.0Oct 2023

  • "Stunning property."

    Excellent location to explore Cotswolds. Convenient for local shops and restaurants. Owners went beyond expectations to ensure we enjoyed our break.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your time at the beautiful Bell Garden and took full advantage of the surrounding area. We hope to welcome you again one day soon. Best wishes, Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Teresa4.7Oct 2023

  • "Our second stay at Bell Garden."

    Perfect for three generations, we had a lovely holiday. Plenty of room in the house, lots of parking and a few minutes walk to the centre of Stow-on-the Wold. There were a few minor maintenance issues which we did report.

    Reviewed by Shirley4.4Sep 2023

  • "The house was amazing- it was furnished to a high standard and had all the equipment that anyone could wish for."

    The house was so clean and welcoming, the flowers, milk and Prosecco were very much appreciated- thank you! It is in ideal location to explore villages in the Cotswolds and it is only a 5 minute walk into Stow on the Wold where we had wonderful food in 'The Porch House' and 'The Sheep' We would highly recommend this house, we have been back home 3 days have already booked the house for next year! We had a slight problem with hot water but Sykes Company and the owner were so efficient and the owner came on the same morning has the problem was reported and all was resolved. There is a little problem with the shower taps, as soon as your hands are wet no one in the family could turn the taps off or on in any of the showers, they are so slippery, without getting the aid of a towel.

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Aug 2023

  • "Really enjoyed our stay at Bell Garden, Stow on the Wold is an excellent location for seeing the main towns of the Cotsworld."

    .. highly recommend a trip Broadway, Bourton on the water (first thing before the coaches arrive), plus a trip to Daylesford Organic is a must!!!! Plenty of places for dinner in S-o-t-W, all within walking distance of the house. I would ask the owners to get a bowl for the kitchen sink, as it would make washing up a lot easier and us less water!!!

    Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your suggestions. Best wishes, Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Jul 2023

  • "We have just returned from a lovely family week here with our grown up children."

    Excellent location, great for local walks direct from the property, 50m from the Bell pub itself, and only 100m from other pubs, restaurants and the busy centre of Stow. Two of our children arrived by train which was easy as Moreton in Marsh station is just 15mins away with a regular service from London. The house itself was very comfortable and well equipped, clean with good showers and plumbing throughout. There was a comfortable lounge / dining space for 8 adults. The back patio had a good quality gas BBQ and seating, but was close to a busy road so quite noisy at times with traffic. The house was well sound-proofed, however, so inside the property was fine. The bedrooms all had comfortable beds. The properly was enclosed and gated, which was great for our dog (although he did manage to escape through the hedge once… ), but certainly very safe for children. We had a great stay and would love to return.

    We are pleased you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the location, close to the centre of the popular town of Stow. Best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Jun 2023

  • "Had a lovely stay, cottage was lovey."

    If I could provide some positive feedback it would be to add a bowl for the kitchen sink, some antibacterial spray and some jig for the sink? Thank you, we would love to come back and stay.

    Thank you for your review and we're so glad you loved the cottage. Thank you also for bringing to our attention some recommendations which we will of course note. Best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christina4.7Jun 2023

  • "We had a lovely week at Bell Garden."

    Felt homely and comfortable. Lots of room in the house. Garden was good for the children. A couple of items. The windows were extremely dirty, both inside and out. They obviously hadn’t had a clean for a long time. Windows with secondary double glazing were particularly dirty. Lots of bird muck around the garden which would have benefited from a good sweep. Two sun beds for use in the garden were broken.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback and we're glad you enjoyed a lovely week at the Bell Garden. We're sorry if the cleanliness of the windows was not up to our usual high standards. Your comments and those concerning the garden have been passed on to the Property Manager. Best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maureen3.8May 2023

  • "Great accommodation and amazing location, perfect for my dads 70th birthday celebration."

    My only comment is that directions to find the property could be slightly clearer but apart from that it was brilliant.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Bell Garden for your special celebration, and loved the location too. Best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kiran5.0Apr 2023

  • "Great location, convenient, clean, well equipped."

    Bedrooms ideal for our number . Pleased to recommend. Jeff Brain

    Many thanks for your recommendation. We're so pleased you had a good time and would love to welcome you back. Best wishes, Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jeffrey5.0Apr 2023

  • "A beautiful cottage in a very convenient location."

    I have been there twice and will definitely book it again.

    We're delighted to hear you had another enjoyable stay at Bell Garden, it is in a great position for Stow-on-the-Wold. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Best wishes, Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Mar 2023

  • "Fantastic property, ideal base for access to shops, pubs, restaurants and walking routes."

    Thank you for your review - we're delighted you loved the property and location with all its walks and amenities. We hope to welcome you again. Best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Mar 2023

  • "The house was immaculate and so clean, really fab locations"

    Thank you for your feedback, we delighted to hear you enjoyed the house and your break in Stow-on-the-Wold. Best wishes, Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elaine5.0Feb 2023

  • "The house is situated in a delightful setting in Stow, very easily accessible by car and perfectly situated for getting around to explore the town, shops and pubs on foot."

    The house is well presented and we stayed over the festive period and I was worried about cooking Christmas dinner for the whole family with limited kitchen accessories and equipment but this was not the case at all, there were many pots, pans and baking equipment it was easier here than at home! One let down of the house is the dining arrangement, the chairs are oversized and seat 6 adults snuggly, we had a family member visit for the day and although it’s an eight sleeper house getting 8 chairs around the table in the space in the house would be rather uncomfortable. All the bedrooms has plenty of storage and were comfortable to sleep in but watch your head in the eaves of the two upstairs rooms! The second bedroom downstairs which feels like a garage conversion was always cold even with the radiator turned up. Again the bathrooms were a good size with good towels and the showers were nice with lots of hot water. Remember to bring your own toilet roll though as we were left with four rolls for 6 adults for a week. One minor tweak is that the larger downstairs shower could have a rail added to make is more accessible for those with mobility issues, one of our guests struggles with mobility and felt uncomfortable using the shower without a rail. The house was generally well presented and clean, however when we arrived the cleaning team were still working hard but a few areas could have been swept better, there were some sweets under the sofa and confetti left in the dining chairs but these were small things. We did thoroughly enjoy our stay and would recommend this house and the pub across the road!

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas break at Bell Garden and we appreciate your comments/suggestions. Best wishes, Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Heather5.0Dec 2022

  • "We had a wonderful stay at the Bell Garden."

    Warm, clean and well maintained. Big thank you to the owners and housekeeping staff.

    Thank you for such positive comments. so pleased you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shirley5.0Nov 2022

  • "We had a fantastic weekend at Bell Garden."

    The house is perfectly located close to the restaurants, pubs and shops in Stow on the Wold with everything within walking distance. The house itself is spacious, beautifully decorated and has everything you could ever need and more. We loved it. The owner quickly sorted out a minor hot water issue and was really helpful. We had a great weekend with family and will definitely return.

    Thank you for this lovely review. We're delighted you had such a fantastic weekend at Bell Garden and loved the location too. We hope to welcome you again. Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Nov 2022

  • "We are regular visitors to the Cotswolds and Bell Garden is one of the best cottages we have ever stayed in if not the best ."

    Will definitely return . Spacious , modern inside with great facilities

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Bell Garden. It's fabulous to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by James5.0Nov 2022

  • "We stayed here for our sons wedding."

    The house was very spacious and exactly as described. The location was excellent, especially having The Bell pub just over the road! The Sunday lunch there was excellent. The property is ideally situated for walking around the lovely village of Stow. It’s well equipped and is a great place to return to at the end of a busy day. This property is a genuine find and somewhere we would definitely want to return to. Thank you to the owners for making our stay so enjoyable.

    What a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to leave a response, it is much appreciated. The area is such a lovely base from which to explore the surrounding town and villages. We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future. With best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Aug 2022

  • "Bell Garden was perfect for our stay for our daughters wedding locally, easily accommodating 4 adults and 2 children in great comfort with modern fittings and decor."

    It's central location, so close to all amenities one could hope for was ideal with various other family and friends staying at hotels and houses within a very short walk.

    Lovely to hear Bell Garden was a perfect choice to stay for your daughters wedding. Glad you enjoyed the property and found it an ideal location for family and friends staying in hotels close by. Thank you for leaving feed back. Character Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Jul 2022

  • "Absolutely loved this place :) The roads either side of the property are slightly distracting but certainly nothing to worry about."

    The house is as described and we had a wonderful time.

    We're pleased to hear you had a lovely stay. With best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rowena5.0Jul 2022

  • "Perfect location, we were there for my daughters wedding and having lovely ..."

    Perfect location, we were there for my daughters wedding and having lovely accommodation and spending quality time with family it made the most perfect long weekend break

    We are pleased to hear you had a lovely stay, we hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Jun 2022

  • "Jenny was a fantastic help to us during our stay."

    The property was clean and tidy and we slept brilliantly. Would highly recommend this property to others.

    We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing time. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Apr 2022

  • "Hi, we did come and see your office as we were leaving on Monday."

    We had a fantastic stay in a beautiful house but there were a few issues. The downstairs toilet had no hot water, in general the house was cold even when the heating was on it was chilly and 2 bathrooms had no heat from the radiators but the kitchen accessories was the most disappointing. 4 champagne flutes for a house that sleeps 8!!. We eat in when we visit and there is a lack of equipment, no serving platters, dishes for veg, serving spoons etc. we put nibbles out and then had to wash bowls before we could eat dessert. We took photos of the baking sheets that had the top layer of Teflon literally flaking off, the frying pans have lost their non stick surface. The kitchen accessories desperately need changing and upgrading, we went out and bought 2 platters for ourselves which we felt was poor for a house of this standard and price range. Feedback from yourselves as to whether anything will be upgraded would be appreciated as we would dearly love to return next year.

    Thank you for providing us with your feedback. It's great to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay, and we would be delighted to welcome you back to the property any time in the future. We can only apologise for the issues you encountered during your stay and appreciate your suggestions for improvement. Following your feedback, the owner has informed us of the following; Frying pans and baking sheets will be replaced, the heating is going to be looked at and there will now be 8 champagne flutes in the property. We would like to apologise once more for these issues, and hope to welcome you back to Bell Garden in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steve4.4Apr 2022

  • "Lovely property and great location with good facilities but we felt it could have done with a spring clean as cobwebs were visible throughout the property and the coffee maker had mould in the filter."

    Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Bell Garden. We value all feedback provided by guests and will pass on your comments to the owner for review. The owner of this property has very high standards, so I'm confident this will be addressed. We hope you enjoyed yourselves and we would love to welcome you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise4.7Mar 2022

  • "Beautiful cottage in fantastic location, we will be back!"

    Thankyou

    Thank you for your lovely feedback, it's great to hear you enjoyed the stay and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Mar 2022

  • "Stunning house."

    Spotlessly clean and well equipped. And a perfect location in Stow on the Wolds as well as for visiting the Cotswolds. We would absolutely love to return one day.

    Thank you for your lovely kind words about Bell Garden, it's a great house in a wonderful location and we hope you enjoyed it as much as we do. You have so much to do in the area, walks and cafes/shops just a short walk away. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Feb 2022

  • "Absolutely fantastic place, loved it there, lovely lady that owns it, brilliant location, can’t fault anything about it."

    Sure people could find little niggles but for me and my party it was excellent

    Thank you for the amazing feedback, it's wonderful we guest let us know how much they have enjoyed the stay. We would love to welcome you back again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Terry5.0Feb 2022

  • "Great house, lovely host & lovely area"

    AmitJul 2021

  • "Would definitely recommend- thumbs up!"

    AlisonJun 2021

  • "The property was as described and in the photos."

    It was very clean and extremely comfortable. We would definitely recommend this property to friends and family. Ideal location and walking distance into Stow. We had a great stay. Thank you.

    DianeJun 2021

  • "Amazing property in a great location."

    We stayed with our baby, dog and grandparents. So easy with ample car parking, short stroll to town, lots of comfy seating for everyone including outdoor furniture. Would highly recommend!

    EllenMar 2021

  • "Conveniently located house with lots of space, well equipped kitchen and very comfortable bedrooms."

    We had a lovely stay thank you!!

    ShankariDec 2020

  • "What a beautiful home!"

    !We absolutely loved our stay here. The location was perfect for our family and the home couldn’t have been more welcoming. Beautifully furnished with everything we needed. We will definitely be coming back!

    NicoleSep 2020

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Over three floors
  • Four bedrooms: 1 x ground-floor super-king-size double with en-suite rain shower, hand-held shower, basin and WC, 1 x ground-floor king-size double, 1 x first-floor twin room with en-suite bathroom, rain shower over, hand-held shower, basin and WC, 1 x first-floor king-size double
  • 1 x ground-floor shower room with rain shower, hand-held shower, basin and WC, 1 x first-floor shower room with rain shower, hand-held shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Open plan living area with dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove.
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Gas hob and oven, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, kettle, toaster, filter coffee machine, wine cooler, TV with Sky, WiFi, selection of board games
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburning stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and Highchair available
  • Off road parking for 5 cars
  • Patio and lawn garden with furniture seating 8 plus gas BBQ
  • no smoking
  • Shop 0.5 miles, pub 0.3 miles. Pet friendly
  • No more than 2 dogs at £30 per dog per stay
  • Nearest Vehicle Charging Point is at Tesco GL54 1BX £250 Good Housekeeping Bond

The property

Located in the popular and vibrant market town of Stow-on-the-Wold, Bell Garden is an exquisite Cotswold stone property boasting stylish interiors with a warm and homely feeling.

With four spacious bedrooms, sleeping up to eight guests, this property is ideal stay for you and your loved ones.

There is plenty of space for your cars in the large driveway which houses up to five cars so unload your luggage right on your doorstep and enter into the fresh and bright entrance hall, kick off your boots and marvel at the triple aspect sitting room to your left, which houses a beautiful stone fireplace with a warming woodburning stove and dining table and chairs for you and your beloved to socialise at.

French doors in the sitting room lead out to the polished and well-maintained garden, which wraps around the property and has a manicured lawn area, inviting shrubs and seasoned trees that create a welcoming solace.

The south facing patio area to the front of the property houses a bistro table hosting two guests for added privacy for couples and the second lawn area to the rear of the property rests alongside a sweet rockery.

Moving back into the property and into the kitchen, you can cook up a storm in the well-equipped and tastefully decorated room.

A handy utility room sits next to the kitchen and gives access to the garden and a second door leads you down two steps and into the shower room and bedroom two.

The shower room hosts an invigorating walk-in rain shower and can function as an en-suite for the bedroom which is flooded with natural light and is wonderfully presented, house to a king-size bed.

The master bedroom is located on the ground floor and is home to a super-king-size bed that overlooks the lovely front garden and boasts an en-suite shower room with walk-in rain shower.

Moving up to the first-floor and onto the admirable galleried landing, there are two further bedrooms to choose from, you really are spoilt for choice at Bell Garden!

Bedroom three is located in the eaves of the property and is a well laid out, bright room benefitting from an en-suite bathroom with invigorating walk-in shower over.

Bedroom four contains a welcoming king-size bed and features sloping ceilings.

The shower room pleasantly finishes off the first floor and contains a walk-in rain shower, perfect for washing down after a day of discovering the local town.

When a new day begins, put on your walking boots and discover the many local amenities Stow has to offer including pubs, tearooms and individual shops.

Stow is surrounded by beautiful countryside, with many scenic walks and cycle routes right on its doorstep, including the nearby 102-mile Cotswold Way, that stretches through the wonderful villages and towns in the Cotswolds, which can be easily accessed from Stow.

If you want to enjoy the scenic spots that The Cotswolds have to offer, why not arrange a tour with Cotswold Walks & Hikes & Bikes, or discover the history of Stow by taking a walk around the market square, where you will find the town stock at one end which dates back to the 15th Century and is shaded by an old Elm Tree and at the opposite end, you will find the ancient Market Cross, originally erected as a symbolic reminder to traders of the times to deal honestly and fairly.

Take a stroll over to St Edward’s Parish Church where you will find the enchanting looking tree surrounded doorway; it is here you will find a memorial of those who fought in the last Civil War.

Further afield, keep yourself entertained by visiting local Bourton-on-the-Water where you can discover a miniature replica of the Cotswold-stone village at The Model Village, or enjoy a scrumptious picnic surrounded by wildlife at Birdland Park & Gardens.

Take a trip to Cotswold Wildlife Park & Gardens in Burford for the day, or take a tour at Undiscovered Cotswolds, located in Minster Lovell.

You and your loved ones will want to book again when choosing Bell Garden!

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

STOW-ON-THE-WOLD

Bourton-on-the-Water 4 miles; Stratford upon Avon 15 miles.

The highest town in the Cotswolds, Stow-on-the-Wold, originally an Iron Age Fort, epitomises olde worlde England. This ancient market town has played host to many fairs since the 12th century and today holds a biannual Gypsy Horse Fair, craft fairs and monthly Farmers' market. The vast market square boasts an ancient cross at one end and the village stocks at the other, surrounded by an elegant array of Cotswold stone townhouses, antique shops, tea rooms, traditional pubs, award-winning restaurants and its very own cricket museum. Many walks and cycle rides through the beautiful rolling countryside of the Cotswolds can be enjoyed from the centre of Stow, with the Macmillan Way, Heart of England Way, Gloucestershire and Monarch's Way all running close to the town. Bourton-on-the-Water, known as the 'Venice of the Cotswolds' as the River Windrush runs through the centre, lies in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and is one of the most popular Cotswold villages. The Saxon market town of Moreton-in-Marsh and the quintessential English village of Broadway are all within easy reach and make a great day out. Cheltenham (20 miles away) is, architecturally, the most complete regency town in England. A spa town with an incredible range of shops, cinemas, theatres, restaurants and pubs, it is famous for its horse-racing festival in March, culminating in the Gold Cup steeplechase. At other times of year, it is host to literature, jazz, classical music, science and food and drink festivals. Oxford, the oldest university city in England and sometimes called 'The City of Dreaming Spires’ has an abundance of prestigious attractions, including the 38 colleges of the university (half of which date back before 1600), the oldest university teaching room, the Bodleian Library, Ashmolean and Pitt Rivers Museums, and Botanic Gardens. Stratford-upon-Avon, Bath, Worcester and the waterfront city of Gloucester are also within easy reach, making Stow-on-the-Wold an ideal base.

View more holiday cottages in Stow-on-the-wold

PET FRIENDLY. THE OWNER WILL TAKE TWO DOGS.

Note: Cot and Highchair available. Infants who sleep in a cot do not count towards the occupancy figure, however, due to space restrictions, the occupancy figure may only be exceeded by up to three additional infants.

Note: The property is laid out over two floors and has two eaves bedrooms with sloping ceilings, both of which could pose difficulty to guests with limited mobility.

Note: The property is accessed via stone steps which can become slippery in wet conditions, and so young children should be supervised when outside.

Note: Hen, Stag and other same sex groups are not allowed at Bell Garden.

Note: The Stow Horse Fair is held twice a year, on the Thursday closest to 12th May and the Thursday closest to 24th October, this is a traditional fair for people to meet up and trade which dates back to 1476 when its Charter was granted; Stow is very busy for a day or two before and after each fair, and a number of shops, pubs and restaurants are closed.


£250 Good Housekeeping Bond for any new booking from the 8th September 22

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas