Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cotswolds 28 minutes ago

1 of 36 View Image Gallery
  • The Chestnuts - Cotswolds - 1018773 - photo 1
close

Floorplans

1st FloorGround Floor

Ground Floor

Photos

Floorplans

The Chestnuts

(Ref. 1018773)

Tenbury Wells, Worcestershire Show on map

4.7

Sykes rating

  • 13 Guests

  • 5 Bedrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (18)
  • family (16)
  • stay (15)
  • property (14)
  • great (12)
  • all (12)

35 Customer Reviews

  • "It was a lovely time but with 2 issues."

    Firstly, TV: the Freeview signal was either very poor or not existing, and we had to resort to viewing through a laptop. Secondly, noise: both floors and partitions provided little insulation, and every noise or footstep could be heard elsewhere. The creaking floors were a particular problem. On the other hand, the layout of the property was lovely, with a nice living room with comfy sofas around the fireplace, and a great kitchen/dining area with a large table.

    We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Chestnuts but sorry that you had an issue with the TV. You did mention that you struggled with the TV control initially but we did not realise that this issue had persisted. If you had contacted us, we would have attended and re-tuned the TV which is frequently used with Playstations and the like and left in the wrong mode. We are also sorry that you felt that the floors made a noise which is due to the 250 year old beamed frame of the house not being particularly level upstairs. Thank you for your booking and for visiting rural Worcestershire. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jorge4.4Dec 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay but there were some issues."

    The kitchen/dining room windows need blinds or curtains for privacy and because the morning sun shines into the eyes of diners. The french doors by the bottom of the stairs need locks or bolts to secure them. They blew open and we had to wedge the wheely big against them. There is NO can opener. Some of the lights are not working. The fridge is inconvenient in the store room. However, the new bigger beds, the wine cooler, the new electric cooker to compliment the Arga, and the enhanced kitchen cupboards and work surfaces are all good.

    We note your review and see you have rebooked again for the third time. The kitchen is not overlooked by anyone, and we have many comments on how nice warm and bright it is. A member of your party was informed that the doors were being replaced at the time of your stay and we are sorry that there was a high wind one day which apparently opened them. These have now been replaced but we would have rectified the problem if we had been informed during your stay. If there was no can opener - we always carry replacements which would have been supplied if you had let us know. The two bulbs were replaced on change over, but also would have been changed if you had let us know. The beds remain the same size, except for one which has become a super-king zip and link from super-king. The fridge is situated in the pantry that was built next to the kitchen to accommodate food and such items. The kitchen has just has had an upgrade, as we are continually updating the Chestnuts so we can provide our guests with the highest quality stay so we are pleased you appreciated those improvements. Property Owner

    Reviewed by F Charles4.4Nov 2023

  • "The property is stunning and Michelle was lovely we had a great weekend."

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jan 2023

  • "Spacious, warm, comfy."

    Friendly host and delicious arrival gifts. Great area to explore.

    We are all really pleased that you enjoyed staying at The Chestnuts. It was good to meet you so thank you for your booking for for visiting rural Worcestershire. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Trevor5.0Oct 2022

  • "The property was perfect for a family holiday - we had 9 adults, 3 babies and 2 dogs."

    Michelle arranged extra high chairs and cots for us. The views were amazing and the property was very well equipped. The only reason we didnt give 5 stars for accuracy of listing was that we all thought we read that the garden was enclosed and it wasn't completely enclosed. But a perfect place to stay

    We were so pleased that you enjoyed staying at The Chestnuts so thank you for your booking and for coming to rural Worcestershire. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lesley4.7Oct 2022

  • "Fantastic property in an excellent location."

    Friendly and helpful owners.

    Reviewed by Shirley5.0Sep 2022

  • "The property was fantastic and exactly what we needed!"

    We were able to stay with such ease and you were really welcoming to us - the cake was incredible! It was easy enough to find and in the perfect location for what we were looking for so thanks again.

    Reviewed by Joe5.0Sep 2022

  • "Hosts were very welcoming and chatty."

    We appreciated the goodies they left. The house is very spacious and characterful. It suited our family - 7 adults and two children - brilliantly. Very well equipped for a large group. Bedrooms were a very good size and the bathroom situation was more than adequate. The sloping floors were a little disconcerting to begin with but added to the property’s quirkiness. One tiny gripe was that the floorboards creaked and this woke the baby and toddler on a couple of occasions - and the whole household early one morning! The garden was great for games and sitting out. Incredible views from most rooms. In short, we loved our stay and would definitely recommend the house.

    We are very pleased that you enjoyed staying at The Chestnuts. Thank you for your booking and maybe we will see you again one day. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eric4.7Aug 2022

  • "A lovely property, full of character and as described."

    Our three-generational extended family had a wonderful time.

    We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed staying at The Chestnuts. Thank you for your booking and we hope to see you again one day. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mavis5.0Jul 2022

  • "A lovely house , beautiful views, the washing machine broke when we were there the owners bought a new one the next day,always on hand when needed very friendly, you need a car if you stay here."

    Some rooms had no wardrobe or any where to put clothes,wasn’t a problem as just kept clothes in suitcase,relaxing holiday definitely recommended by us all thanks Michelle

    So pleased you had an enjoyable stay at The Chestnuts, it was lovely to meet you all and I am sorry that I did not explain that there is a hanging rail for the bunk room (apart from the hooks and hangers) along the passageway. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julia4.7Jul 2022

  • "We have a wonderful week at The Chestnuts."

    We were celebrating my husband's 70th birthday and were able to invite people to come and stay with us and hold a couple get-togethers with friends and family living nearby. The accommodation is fabulous, well-appointed rooms with everything provided, a big kitchen and a lovely big lawn for children and adults to run around in. The views at the front of the property are stunning!

    It was lovely to meet you all and know that you had really enjoyed your stay at The Chestnuts. It was good to know that the property lived up to your expectations and you were able to enjoy your celebrations with family and friends. Thank you for coming and maybe we will see you again in the future Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Jun 2022

  • "Property was great for the family gathering with plenty of social space in lounge and kitchen, as well as good sized bedrooms and plenty of bathrooms."

    The Garden was great to play in with kids young and old and lovely views outside. Kitchen chairs were the only slight worry as a lot felt wobbly when sat on, so would benefit from repair or replacement.

    We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Chestnuts and we have addressed the chair issue! Thank you for your booking and we hope to see you again one day. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Jun 2022

  • "We had a wonderful family break at The Chestnuts."

    There were 7 adults, 2 children and 2 large dogs and the accommodation was perfect for us. We loved that the heart of the house, the kitchen, was spacious with a huge dining table and a sofa so we could all socialise in there comfortably. The house contained everything we needed and more. The beds we comfy. The Family bedroom was great for people who like to have their young children close whilst staying somewhere so spacious and unfamiliar. The garden was fantastic for family games and the dogs loved having lots of space to run around. There is a public footpath with a lovely walk right on the doorstep which was also great. We will definitely be recommending and rebooking.

    We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Chestnuts, thank you for coming! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gemma5.0Apr 2022

  • "We had a fantastic holiday."

    We had a great chat with the owners before we arrived to ensure the set up would accomodate our group. When we arrived we had a lovely welcome basket, which went down a treat after a long drive. All requests we had for the owners were allowed/fulfilled and it made our stay really enjoyable. The space is amazing. We had 4 children ranging from 2-8 and the garden was safe, secure and meant they didnt get bored. I did think the quiet location would mean we would have to entertain them, but the grounds, local walks etc were great. The kitchen is really well stocked. I brought the kitchen utensils I cant live without but there was no need there was everything. We did a family murder mystery night in the kitchen and it was brill as it was such a sociable area. Nice to walk around the village a short drive away, chipshop and tesco within driving distance (10 mins) and also in a location we could get a good shop delivered for our arrival date. It was just fab and hope to return soon.

    We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Chestnuts. Thank you for coming! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kate5.0Apr 2022

  • "Reviewed by - Lynne 11/03/22 - A lovely large and comfortable holiday cottage."

    The welcome tray full of goodies was much appreciated, as well as having all the basics such as tea, coffee and cleaning liquid. The Chestnuts is well equipped. Only one suggestion as in a small jug would have been useful. Otherwise we had a very enjoyable stay.

    Mar 2022

  • "The property was lovely and did exactly what we needed for our stay."

    The hosts were very friendly and the welcome basket was a nice touch.

    Reviewed by Lee4.1Jan 2022

  • "A very enjoyable stay in fabulous old house with all the oak timbers and beams exposed but with all the mod cons present."

    The house was perfect for the 12 of us staying along with 3 dogs with lots of space and stunning views of the surrounding country side. The house was situated ideally to visit the local historic towns of Ludlow, Bromyard and Tenbury Wells. And finally a big thankyou to Mitchell for all her help for making this a wonderful stay, even keeping the Xmas tree there for our delayed family Xmas.

    Reviewed by Roy5.0Jan 2022

  • "Had a fantastic family break at the Chestnuts."

    Very relaxed environment for a large family gathering that includes adults, children and three small dogs. Roger, Michelle and family are just lovely. Thank you so much for a great stay.

    It was lovely to meet you all, Happy New Year! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jacqueline5.0Dec 2021

  • "Really disappointed that the garden was not enclosed as stated in property advert, our dogs could escape the garden in every direction and we had the worry of them running straight out onto main road which meant we could only take them out for toileting, no play time."

    Plus 5 minutes after arriving we found our youngest dog chewing on a yellow tablet she’d found in the kitchen, inside of cupboards were dirty plus herbs etc left for your use if wanted some were 8 years out of date. Our last day was slightly spoilt by being without electricity for some time. House is lovely overall and comfy, beds were really nice and comfy and clean, the largest sofa definitely needs updating but the rest were comfy. Outside light didn’t work and no where to shelter in winter/bad weather if your a smoker. We had a nice time and house is really nice overall, just needs a deep clean and garden making safe for dogs that might run off.

    We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Chestnuts. I am sorry that your dog managed to find a tablet that remained unspotted by cleaning staff and they have been informed of your comments about the cupboards. The Chestnuts property description does not state an enclosed garden. As you have now stayed there, you now know that such a wide open space could not be fenced without severely hampering the views which would be a pity. The Chestnuts is a non-smoking property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kelly2.5Dec 2021

  • "Very nice house."

    Well equipped and in a beautiful location.Owners very friendly and helpful.We would definitely recommend a stay here.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Dec 2021

  • "It is without doubt a lovely house."

    Very large and specious. All the facilities you could need I believe. Ideal for large family gathering. Directions were spot on thank you. What we liked. Size, views, aga, kitchen generally. What we felt could make it 10/10. Update bathrooms, heating (with the exception of the kitchen most of the space was cold)(we did stay during storm Arwyn), some of the cheaper furniture (and the bathrooms) gave the house a 70s holiday home feel, enclose back garden for dogs. Thank you for letting us use your lovely home.

    Reviewed by Anthony4.4Nov 2021

  • "Our big extended family (including 4 children of various ages) have just had a lovely week at The Chestnuts, which was enjoyed by all."

    The farmhouse has beautiful views and a lovely garden and is surrounded by superb countryside. The owner (Michelle) and her son were very helpful and friendly and left us a great welcome pack, which was unexpected and very thoughtful. We had a few issues, which Michelle sorted out very promptly (the main one being it had only 12 beds and not the 13 advertised). Additionally, there were a few cons: the kitchen chairs were all in various stages of falling apart (one actually did fall to pieces while someone was sitting on it); also the window frames really need attention (the window to the bedroom over the kitchen, though closed, let so much rain in that it soaked the headboard inside the room). We left a note to this effect for the caretakers, in the hopes that they will warn the owners – as if something isn’t done soon they risk losing the window frames and damage to the rooms. A wonderful property, just needing some TLC!

    Reviewed by J3.4Oct 2021

  • "A lovely property in a beautiful location."

    The owner was super helpful and friendly when organising key collection and helping us find the fire wood. The welcome pack was yummy and a nice surprise.

    Reviewed by Lyndsey4.1Oct 2021

  • "Great cottage for a big family get together, loads of room."

    Very well equipped with all the basics too. Lovely area to visit, especially Ludlow. Michelle was a very helpful host.

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Oct 2021

  • "The owner was accommodating and helpful."

    The house was as described and very clean. We had a great stay, it was perfect for a family gathering.

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Aug 2021

  • "This farm house is in an amazing location with fantastic views and amazing sunsets."

    It has all the home comforts and would thoroughly recommend it for a large family.

    Reviewed by Cheryl5.0Jul 2021

  • "We had an issue with extra charges."

    We had paid for the week and initially thought we would leave on the Tuesday. We contacted Sykes and they stated this would be fine with only a £30 admin charge to pay. We mentioned to the owner that we would be leaving on Wednesday rather than Tuesday and he said there would be £150 charge. This created an awkward situation. When we rang Sykes back they said it was to do with having to cancel and rebook cleaners stating that it would cost £120. They then offerred a £20 contribution and no admin fee. Despite this we were left feeling rather as though the owner and Sykes were just trying to get more money from us. We also have property which we rent out and a £120 charge for cleaner cancellation felt rather unbelievable to us even though this is a large property. That said we absolutely loved our stay at the Chestnuts and would happily return.

    Reviewed by Joan3.8Jun 2021

  • "Cosy and warm, reluctant to leave."

    Well equipped kitchen and using the Aga was fun. We'd recommend it.

    Reviewed by Malcolm5.0Oct 2020

  • "The property had excellent facilities, Beautifully warm, really well equipped in the kitchen and generously stocked with wood."

    Very comfortable beds and plenty of space for everyone to relax together. We rent a large property every year to share a family holiday..... this is the best we have come across.

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Mar 2020

  • "Welcoming and helpful hosts."

    Lovely accomodation for a familly get together, plenty of indoor and outdoor space for children (and adults) to play in. Pretty rural area.

    Reviewed by S Claire5.0Feb 2020

  • "Marvellous space for a family celebration and wonderfully warm despite the grey January weather"

    Reviewed by Helen4.4Jan 2020

  • "Our holiday went absolutely perfect the place was amazing and so big enough room ..."

    Our holiday went absolutely perfect the place was amazing and so big enough room for us all to be all together or space if you needed, loved everything about it would definitely recommend:)

    Reviewed by Ami5.0Dec 2019

  • "Lovely cottage with lots of character, warm & spacious!"

    Great facilities & very welcoming - would recommend.

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Nov 2019

  • "Good hosts Excellen/t facilities for 7 persons although some work in progress."

    Amazing countryside and local towns

    Reviewed by Sally5.0Oct 2019

  • "Beautiful cottage."

    Made to feel very welcome.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Oct 2019

Show more

Summary

  • Five bedrooms: 1 x super-king-size with en-suite bathroom with bath, shower, double basin and WC, 1 x family room with superking-size (zip/link) and a single with truckle bed and en-suite bathroom with shower enclosure, toilet & WC, 1 x bunk room, 1 x triple room (super-king-size zip/link bed and 1x single), 1 x ground-floor twin bedroom
  • Bathroom with bath, shower, basin and WC
  • Ground-floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with Clearview woodburning stove.
  • Heated by green energy - ground source heating pump
  • Woodburning stove
  • Oil fired AGA and hobs, microwave, integrated fridge, American style fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, selection of books and games, Smart TV with Netflix and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot available
  • Off-road parking
  • Garden with lawn and patio
  • Charcoal BBQ
  • Two WELL BEHAVED dogs welcome - extra pets accepted on request
  • No smoking
  • Shop 4.5 miles
  • Fuel and power is included however this doesn't cover the cost of charging electric cars at the property

The property

A large detached stone and brick farmhouse, situated amidst rolling green hills and fields, in the Worcestershire countryside, The Chestnuts lies near Tenbury Wells and is the perfect place to come to enjoy a refreshing break.

An ideal location for a family gathering, or some old friends reuniting, this property has five bedrooms and spacious communal rooms showcasing traditional and original features.

Open the wooden farmhouse door and enter into the vast kitchen/diner, where you will immediately spot the impressive oil fired AGA range cooker, so before you head out for the day, the chef among the group can cook up a hearty breakfast for everyone, as you and the rest of the group sit eagerly at the dining table.

Gather in the sitting room and fire up the woodburning stove for some extra heat, play charades or watch a film on the TV, or simply talk over memories old and new with a glass of wine in hand, you will sink into the plush sofa arrangement, before heading up to bed for the evening.

The ground-floor hosts one of the five bedrooms, a twin bedroom with a ground-floor shower room to serve this.

Upstairs the rest of the bedrooms comprise of various layouts; a family room containing a superking-size zip/link bed and a single with a truckle bed underneath, sleeping up to four and an en-suite featuring a walk-in shower, wash basin and toilet, there's a bunk room sleeping two, a triple room with a super-king-size zip/link bed and 1 x single, and finally the master bedroom which is a super-king-size benefiting from an en-suite bathroom.

You will love the exposed wooden beams making up the original structure of the building, with low ceilings on the ground-floor and large wooden farmhouse doors throughout, this home-from-home is truly full of character and charm.

On a summer day you can watch the children play on the spacious lawn while you sit with a cold drink in hand on the patio, soaking up the sun.

The town of Tenbury Wells was once said to have been called "my little Town in the Orchard" by Queen Victoria, and still boasts several examples of 17th century listed buildings with its most bizarre building being the Pump Rooms designed in a Chinese Gothic Style, it is well worth a visit to admire it's strange but unique architecture.

The Regal Cinema was opened in 1937 and is a wonderful example of art deco design, now fully restored with modern facilities and technology, so why not catch a new release on a rainy afternoon.

This area of the UK is largely unspoilt and perfect for walking and cycling and in under an hours drive, you can be in the Malvern Hills AONB, full of opportunities to witness breathtaking scenery and travel over untouched landscapes.

The Chestnuts will be wonderful accommodation for you and your loved ones to explore this mostly undiscovered patch of the world.

View on map

About the location

TENBURY WELLS

Ludlow 10 miles; Worcester 17 miles; Hereford 22 miles.

Tenbury Wells is a charming, ancient market town situated on the banks of the River Teme in Worcestershire. Dating back to the Iron Age and said to have been called 'my little town in the orchard' by Queen Victoria, Tenbury Wells boasts a unique 18th century bridge built by Thomas Telford, the magnificent Pump Rooms, which housed baths where local mineral water was available, and many other listed buildings dating back to the 17th century. This bustling town has many individual shops, traditional pubs, cafes and tea rooms and plays host to many festivals throughout the year notably the Applefest in October and Holly and Mistletoe around Christmas. It is home to weekly craft and farmers’ markets and a fully restored Art Deco cinema with a full programme of events. Ludlow, with its famous castle, is one of the most beautiful towns in Britain offers a medieval street pattern, which remains almost intact and provides an amazing backdrop for the town's regular markets. Renowned for its shopping, Ludlow also has high quality restaurants, excellent tea shops and pubs. Also within easy reach is Church Stretton, known as Little Switzerland, the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge Gorge, Leominster, Hereford and Shrewsbury, as well as the Severn Valley Railway, Berrington Hall and Hay-on-Wye, famous for its annual Literary Festival in May/June. A bit further afield are Offa's Dyke, the Malvern hills and the Brecon Beacon's. This is an ideal base for exploring the area.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute