In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 28 View Image Gallery
  • Little Cowarne Court - Herefordshire - 12371 - photo 1

Little Cowarne Court

(Ref. 12371)

Little Cowarne near Bromyard, Herefordshire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 17 Guests

  • 8 Bedrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Four poster bed
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • our (7)
  • cottage (6)
  • well (6)
  • good (6)
  • lovely (6)
  • all (6)

13 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely accommodation for a large group."

    Bedrooms and plenty of bathrooms/ensuites for us all. Showers had good pressure. Kitchen was well stocked for cooking and plenty of space to sit round the long dining table and then relax in the sitting room. Games room kept the kids entertained. Sarah was friendly and it was lovely to have a hamper on arrival. Would recommend along with visiting the local pub.

    Reviewed by Gemma5.0May 2024

  • "Very well equipped kitchen."

    Great accommodation for us as an extended famil

    Reviewed by Howard4.7Apr 2024

  • "Three generations had a fantastic week at Little Cowarne Court."

    The accommodation was perfect for a large group as there was plenty of seating both for relaxing and dining, Two dishwashers and two kettles were a real bonus. Sarah, the hosts was very friendly and obliging. I would strongly recommend it.

    Reviewed by Judy5.0Mar 2024

  • "Little Cowarne was brilliant."

    The cottage was very clean and the kitchen was well equipped with everything one would need. The bedrooms and bathrooms were good and the beds very comfortable. The garden was lovely and the games room good. All in all I couldn't fault it.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Apr 2023

  • "This is a beautiful cottage with great facilities in a lovely location, perfect for large family get together or like us, a friendship group that hasn’t met up for a few years and had a 40th to celebrate!"

    We had dogs with us too, so the garden was ideal. You’re 5 mins walk from an excellent pub and 25 mins from another, so great for dog walking and a Birthday meal. The house is clean, spacious (loads of big bedrooms and bathrooms) and all mod cons, we cooked and ate around the huge dining table. It’s decorated in a modern way while retaining its lovely cottage charm - we all loved it, thank you!

    Reviewed by Joanna5.0Apr 2023

  • "Overall it was good and we enjoyed our stay."

    Few issues need attention: 1. A number of the beds had old spring mattresses that were well past their sell by date. Need replacing urgently. 2. Others have mentioned but no coffee tables in lounge - we ended up balancing things on stools! 3. TV remotes had no batteries. 4. Games room a little basic, well worn items and freezing cold. 5. A door matt and somewhere for muddy boots at the front door would be a good addition.

    Reviewed by Geoff3.1Mar 2023

  • "Large house with enough space to accommodate our group of 15."

    We all enjoyed the games room. Quite distant from the places we visited (Warwick etc), but nice cottage to come back to. Good communication from the owners.

    Hi Mark Thank you for doing a review and so pleased you enjoyed your week in Herefordshire Sarah Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark4.7Feb 2023

  • "Had a fantastic time and found the cottage much to our liking for the weekend we were staying."

    Found the owners very friendly and accommodating and could not ask for more!

    Thank you so much for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your weekend Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin5.0May 2022

  • "On arrival we had to set to and wash all the dirty plates, dishes, cups, glasses and then clean out the cutlery drawer."

    No instructions for the oven and a grill rail / slider is broken so you cannot put the tray under the grill. No instructions for the washing machine and a regular leak on the pantry / utility room floor. Kitchen / larder well equipped. Some of the floors were dirty and all the windowsills throughout had dead flies, cobwebs and dust on them. The kitchen dustpan and brush were filthy and thrown behind the bin on the kitchen floor. The downstairs double bedroom has extensive bubbled walls with damp, the radiator did not work, only one bedside lamp and no drawers. Not user friendly or suitable for an elderly family member, apart from the fact it is downstairs. The other downstairs bunk bedroom had no drawers, soiled bed linen and one single open wardrobe for effectively a 3 bed room. The 4 poster bedroom had the most disgusting toilet cleaning brush ever, a useless bin that was dirty and fell over when you tried to use the foot pedal. The room was generally dirty and dusty, a small sink with nowhere to put any toiletries and annoyingly very creaky floorboards. The kingsize en-suite bedroom had no wardrobes or drawers and the foul smell from the septic tank regurgitated up into the en-suite bathroom. The other 2 x double rooms and 2 x twin rooms upstairs also had a lack of wardrobes, drawers, bins, some soiled bedding, dead bugs on the roller blinds, no plugs near a mirror to do hair. The shared bathroom upstairs has a shower curtain which sticks to people when in the shower, which is very unhygienic when it is to be used by up to 8 people from the 2 x double and 2 x twin rooms. A shower screen would be much more suitable, or even remove the bath and have a walk-in shower to make it safer. The shower is difficult to use and water goes all over the floor. Although there is a coat rack in an inner hallway between the kitchen and downstairs bathroom, there are no coat / boot facilities at either the front or back door. No door mat at the front door and a manky door mat at the back door. The lounge had 5 large poor quality sofas in it and a pub table stood in the open fireplace. No coffee table or side table for drinks / snack bowls. We rearranged the sofas and put the pub table in the centre of the room (too high really). We used double sided sticky tape to secure the Hessian rug to the floor because its' curled up edges were a trip hazard. Whilst doing this we noticed how dirty the floor was underneath the rug. Outside there were 2 good quality picnic benches and a nice bench on the front lawn. The random outdoor chairs on the rear patio were scruffy. The shared games room is a health and safety hazard. There is a large hole in the floor with a laundry bag dropped on top of it. There is a chest freezer full of meat in there?? There is bleach and also laundry waiting to be collected or being delivered back. Is it a games room, or a laundry / cleaning room? The sofa and chairs in there are a disgrace and belong in a skip, there was even a resident mouse living in the sofa that we called Zac. Only one broken pool cue available. Table tennis was also available. Although the youngest in our group was 15, you would not want young children in such an unsafe and dirty environment. It is a stretch of the imagination to call it a games room. Also, it was left unlocked all week with various (property) keys on the table. For safety there could be an outdoor security light on the courtyard parking area for people walking to / from said games / laundry room. Large potholes in the driveway up to the courtyard parking that need filling in. I have taken photographs to support the detail given in this feedback, if needed. As a family we have booked a large property through Sykes several times for our annual get together. We always go for 4 or 5 'tick' ratings. This property was rated as 4 ticks but really should only be 2 ticks. The owners seem to have tried to maximise capacity for the house, without considering the amenities in each room. This property needs a deep clean, it needs to smell clean too. With Covid we were shocked at the lack of cleanliness. The property badly needs renovation and some attention to detail in each room to warrant a 4 tick rating and the amounts that are being charged. Until this has been done, we think Sykes should inspect and regrade the rating for the benefit of others considering booking this property. Also, very poor and random internet access. Extremely disappointed on all counts; accuracy of listing, cleanliness, comfort and facilities.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had to raise these points with us. The comments that you have given us are very unlike the usual feedback that we get for Little Cowarne Court. The property is usually rated very well in areas of the feedback form so that this has surprised the owner. All owners want Customers to have a great holiday and if there are any problems, no matter how small, they want Customers to report them to them during the holiday. There isn't much they can do to rectify issues when you have left. The owner didn't have any contact from you during the holiday and would have been only too happy to help. They have received the photos however they were not able to identify all of them. They will be looking into each issue raised however these have not been mentioned before. As a gesture, the owner had agreed a value of compensation for you and worked with you regarding sending back a parcel that was delivered after you left. Sykes are a booking agent who work on behalf of the owners. We visit each property before its added to our website and rated this property as 4 tick Once again, thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa1.3Oct 2021

  • "The house was architecturally interesting, in a lovely garden setting with ample outdoor seating."

    We had everything our party of nine adults needed in the accommodation. Only negatives - the seating in the lounge could be more comfortable and one or two small tables would be useful. We had a thoroughly enjoyable week exploring this beautiful area and would gladly recommend the property to others. The Three Horseshoes pub up the road (0.3 miles) was a delight and a real asset.

    Reviewed by Glenys4.7Sep 2021

  • "We had a great week with family we have not seen for 18 months due to covid 19."

    The house had everything we needed but the big issue was the hornets nesting in the tree just outside the back door. On the first night once it got dark we had several in the house which was a huge issue for some members of our party. Luckily we were able to calm things as we know that Hornets are not normally aggressive but are attracted by the light. We made sure that all windows and doors were closed once it started to get dark and did not use the BBQ which was by the tree. However it did rather spoil the week it is a lovely spot and it is a shame there is not any information at the house about its history but I found a little book on line which is full of really interesting facts about the area

    Reviewed by Janet3.8Aug 2021

  • "Cottage was in a wonderful location & was equipped with everything we needed & more."

    There was even a hostess trolley to keep food warm before serving to 16 people. It was a very warm & welcoming property with wine & milk there for our arrival. Also soap & shower gel was provided which was a lovely surprise. A wonderful stay for our parents surprise 60th anniversary

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Nov 2019

  • "Nice cottage, plenty of space, well equipped kitchen."

    WiFi not very good, often no Internet access! Also no mobile data or signal in the area so rely on the WiFi.

    Reviewed by Helen4.1Nov 2018

Show more Hide all


  • Over two floors
  • Eight bedrooms: 1 x king-size four poster double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 3 x super king-size double,1 xen-suite (two zip/link can be twin on request), 1 x ground floor king-size double (zip/link can be twin on request), 1 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x ground floor triple bunks (double below and and single on top)
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Utility
  • Sitting room
  • Oil central heating
  • 2 x electric double ovens and hobs, microwave, 2 x fridges, 2 x freezers, washing machine, 2 x dishwashers, TV with Freeview, DVD, CD/radio, iPod dock, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair on request
  • Ample off road parking
  • Lockable bike storage
  • Garden with lawned area, patio, furniture and BBQ
  • Shared use of games room with table tennis and pool table
  • Shop 3 miles, pub 1 mile

The property

This lovely part black and white detached cottage has been comfortably furnished throughout to provide spacious accommodation, and is ideal for families to get together, a university reunion or a group walking holiday.

The cottage provides versatile sleeping arrangements and a spacious farmhouse-style kitchen with large dining table to enable all guests to sit and enjoy a meal together, as well as a handy utility room/pantry ideal for storing all the extras that go with a large group holiday.

The sitting room again seats all guests and makes a great place to sit and chat, play party games or relax in front of the TV.

The large garden has ample seating and a sandpit to keep the youngsters entertained, as well as a BBQ and covered table tennis area.

A games room is also available which is shared with the other two cottages across the courtyard.

A wonderful cottage for a memorable holiday at any time of year.

Note: This cottage is across the courtyard from Refs 12137 and 12138, together they sleep 26.

Little Cowarne Court Cottages

Situated in the scattered village of Little Cowarne, these delightful Herefordshire cottages have been lovingly created from farm buildings to form Grade II listed barn conversions. Each furnished and decorated to a high standard, with a cosy, contemporary feel, each of these charming cottages offer a front patio area with furniture, a lovely place to relax and enjoy the peace and tranquillity of this unspoit area. Many lovely walks and cycle rides can be enjoyed from the doorstep , which are set on a working livestock farm, and the local pub is just a short distance from the cottages, the perfect place to stop after exploring the delights of the area and enjoy the excellent food and local ale and cider being served.

View on map

About the location


Bromyard 6 miles; Hereford 14 miles.

The scattered village of Little Cowarne is surrounded by rolling farmland, beautifully situated amidst lovely Herefordshire countryside, 6 miles from the delightful, medieval market town of Bromyard. Little Cowarne boasts a traditional local Inn serving excellent food and local ale, cider and wine. Located between the cathedral cities of Hereford and Worcester, Little Cowarne is the perfect base for touring the wonderful surrounding counties renowned for their outstanding scenery, boasting many scenic walks and cycle trails, great nature watching opportunities and of course, a wealth of historic houses and gardens scattered throughout the area. Nearby Bromyard has an air of timelessness with many half-timbered buildings, helping visitors relax amongst a good range of pubs, restaurants and shops, whilst the cathedral town of Hereford dates back to Saxon times, and with its medieval bridge over the winding River Wye it is the very image of picturesque England. With a mix of buildings from almost every British era, eclectic Hereford is a popular base for those seeking to explore the locale – being ideally placed for accessing the ‘Black and White’ villages of the region, not to mention the delights of neighbouring Shropshire, Worcestershire and The Cotswolds. This lovely location has plenty to offer, at any time of year!

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas