Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th September '22. Available on breaks arriving 1st January - 30th April '23.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outSave up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

1 of 23 View Larger Image
  • Porthkerry - Cotswolds - 1065540 - photo 1
close

Porthkerry

Oxhill near Tysoe, Warwickshire (Ref. 1065540)

4.1

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 5

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

11 Customer Reviews

  • "Worst experience ever, very very disappointed it was my wedding day me and my bridesmaids stayed stayed in the property the night before the wedding, there was no hot after to have showers."

    We phoned the owners who told us there was nothing they could do and they would send a someone to look at it the next day. The plumber didn’t turn up till 1:30 the next day at this point it was far to late the last thing I wanted while getting ready on my wedding day was a plumber there. He looked at the boiler and said it was on and then left that was it and we where still left with no hot water, I can’t even explain how upset I was to have my wedding day stared like this not only had we paid an arm and a leg to stay there but owners where very rude when we phoned. We left some interns in the property by mistake and we phoned the owners if we could pick them up once the current guests had left, they said yes to this we also asked if we could have a refund on some of our money as we had no hot water for are whole stay, they simply said this is not something they do and began to get very angry with us for asking for a refund on some of our money. I’m very very upset by this as I feel when you stay somewhere there are a few things you expected and that’s a bed and hot water I don’t think it’s for much to ask. Overall very bad experience and would not recommend to anyone especially for the price we paid very very disappointed and angry that my wedding celebration was stated like this.

    Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry that you are unhappy with your stay. I was called at 11.30pm on Friday night to be told the hot water was not working. As the boiler is less than a year old, and we have had no previous problems, I suspected it might be that the water timer had gone off, so I boosted the system remotely, and asked to be contacted if there were any further problems, hoping this would fix the issue. I heard no more, so assumed that there was no problem with the boiler. I was then called at 1pm on Saturday saying the hot water was not working, and within 15 minutes my lovely plumber was there fixing it. The boiler is outside the property, so thankfully there was no need to disrupt you further. I checked with my plumber who said that he had fixed the boiler, but we agreed that he would return to give it a full service on Tuesday, once guests had left to ensure that this didn't happen again. We really take pride in our high standards, and appreciate that hot water is important, so am sorry that at points during your stay you did not have it. I am really sorry that the plumber was not able to attend at 11.30pm on Friday, but I genuinely thought the problem had been resolved. As soon as I was aware that there was still a problem, my plumber attended within 15 minutes. I appreciate this was upsetting for you on this very special day, but I feel we did everything within our powers to resolve the situation quickly. I am surprised and sad that you found me rude. Other guests who have been to stay are very complimentary about the caring service we give them. I was making you aware that you had left a lot of your items in the cottage, and that despite only staying for 2 nights, our housekeeping team had to spend an extra hour at changeover due to confetti and cake being spread around the house, mascara being smeared on carpets, and all crockery and furniture having been moved around and dirty. This saddened me greatly as we take great pride in the high standards of our home from home, and we needed to ensure that our guests arriving were welcomed to a clean home. Property Owner

    Reviewed by EllieJul 2022

  • "Wonderfull cottage ..."

    Wonderfull cottage Nice garden Very clean Very silent Everything you need is there Great Anna, thanks for you support Thanks for that great time there

    It was a great pleasure having you staying. And so glad I could help out. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ReneJun 2022

  • "Great location and very suitable for dogs with good pub over the road Property had all facilities advertised although photo and description made it look bigger than it was and with 4 adults felt a little cramped with bathroom and toilet downstairs."

    Very warm with great AGA.

    We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. It is a fantastic spot for exploring with the dogs! The cottage has two separate eating areas, the outdoor table and chairs and a separate sitting room. However with one bathroom I can understand how it is rather cosy with 4/5 adults who are not related! Thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RodApr 2022

  • "Quaint cosy cottage, owner went above and beyond to make us feel at home from the moment we stepped through the front door."

    Wonderful touch with the beautiful Christmas tree and decorations, owner provided milk etc and gifted champagne. All bedrooms were very clean and comfortable, bathroom was spotless, only negative and that’s just me being picky was having to use the AGA as never used one before and the oven could do with a clean, also it would of been helpful for owner to provide instructions of disposal of rubbish and recycling although bins provided we were not sure what could be put in each one as in my home town we can put glass in the recycle bins. Overall experience fantastic cottage, welcoming pub across the road that serves great food. Friendly village with great walks.

    Reviewed by DeborahDec 2021

  • "The most wonderful, comfortable and clean cottage with the kindest owner who was so very generous and helpful."

    Thank you so much Tammy. I hope that we can welcome you back in easier times. It was a pleasure being able to help. All the best to you and your family. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TammyNov 2021

  • "Delightful cottage."

    Well equipped and cosy.great location and very friendly pub across the rd serving great food. Would definitely reccomend

    We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We have enjoyed lovely meals at the Peacock as well! Thank you for your recommendation! Property Owner

    Reviewed by DebbieOct 2021

  • "Cottage is very well equipped and everything has been thought of to be included."

    Anna was very helpful in assisting with queries on how to work the Aga as I haven’t used on before. If I had a criticism it would be first impressions count and on arrival the front garden and porch area were extremely untidy and in need of a general clean up. Lots of cobwebs around porch and door frame which doesn’t look very good!

    We love our Aga, so I'm so glad you got it working for you, and it was a pleasure helping you! We have taken on board your feedback and blitzed the spiders in the porch and tidied up the front. Thank you so much. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ElizabethOct 2021

  • "Beautiful cottage."

    Really enjoyed our stay.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed staying in Porthkerry. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlisonSep 2021

  • "We had a wonderful week staying in Porthkerry, it was very clean and well equipped."

    The cottage was a perfect base for us as we enjoyed our first holiday with our dog, lots of amazing country walks to explore on our doorstep. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

    Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the lovely walks around the village and the Cotswolds. And we are pleased your dog was happy too! Property Owner

    Reviewed by LucyAug 2021

  • "Cleanliness can be improved."

    On our arrival day we found cobwebs above the shower, dirty towel rail and lumps of dust under the bed. Overall, it was not what we were expecting.

    We are so sorry the cottage wasn't what you expected. We have very high standards, especially when it comes to cleanliness, so am sorry that you didn't raise your concerns when you were staying, as we could have rectified things. Thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DanJul 2021

  • "Our original booking at Noel cottage in chipping campden was cancelled by the owners the day before we were due to arrive as they had taken a private booking and not informed yourselves."

    However William in your office was brilliant on Sunday afternoon in finding us Porthkerry Cottage.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are so pleased you had a lovely stay at Porthkerry. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ElizabethJul 2021

Show more

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king, 1 x super king/twin, 1 x single
  • Ground-floor bathroom with roll-top bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Oil central heating
  • Electric Aga, microwave, coffee machine, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, Smart TV, Superfast WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • On-street parking available
  • Lockable bike storage
  • Enclosed garden with lawn, patio and furniture
  • Pet-friendly
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 2.3 miles, pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: Dogs to be kept downstairs
  • Note: Toddlers to be supervised due to first floor windows

The property

Tysoe 2 miles.

Tucked away in the idyllic village of Oxhill, a stone’s throw from the civil parish of Tysoe, rests this traditional thatched cottage, Porthkerry.

Dating back to the 18th century and boasting a rustic interior, Porthkerry provides a captivating base for your rural getaway to the fringes of the Cotswolds; Wake up to birdsong and peace and tranquility in this quiet spot.

Pass through the porch and take a step back in time as you enter into the delightful dining room, beautifully decorated with exposed wooden beams and stonework, where the character of the property is maintained through to the neighbouring sitting room, housing snug armchairs gathered around a rustic woodburning stove, offering a cosy setting to delve into a captivating book.

Head through to the kitchen to cook up a storm, making use of the AGA that takes center stage in the room, serving up at either of the two dining tables, offering the choice between gathering together with the group or enjoying an intimate meal with your loved one.

In the warmer weather, enjoy a spot of al fresco dining in the tranquil setting of the enclosed garden, which can also be accessed via the rear, while toasting a glass of fizz as your furry friend stretches their legs.

As the day draws to a close, prepare for bed in the contemporary family bathroom, featuring an elegant roll-top bath alongside a walk-in shower, presenting guests with the option of a leisurely soak or a quick morning rinse.

When it's time to rest your head, climb the stairs where you’ll find three beautifully-presented bedrooms, each with luxurious 1000 thread count quality linens and tucked under the intimate setting of the sloped ceilings.

Ideally located between the well-known towns of Stratford-on-Avon, Chipping Norton and Banbury, is the small village of Oxhill, home to the remarkable 12th century church of St Lawrence with its impressive Norman features.

With an abundance of beautiful walks there is plenty to see and do right on your very doorstep, along with a fantastic pub, The Peacock Oxhill, offering a friendly welcome within a 15th century character setting.

Give the designated chef the night off and make your way to the Michelin Star restaurant, The Royal Oak in Whatcote, which is just a mile away, where you can experience fine dining at a reasonable price!

Just a short drive away is the civil parish of Tysoe where you can stock up on local produce in the convenience stores; Grab your walking boots and visit the historical landmark of Tysoe Windmill, built in the 18th century, it provides exceptional views spanning across the Cotswolds.

Sample award-winning real ale at nearby Hook Norton Brewery, or take the opportunity to visit the Cotswolds Gin Distillery, situated just 7.4 miles away, where you can take a tour of the site, taste a full range of spirits and purchase some to take home.

For a truly unforgettable day, pack up the car and drive to the historic location of Stratford-on-Avon, which is just 13 miles and a scenic drive away, home to Shakespeare’s birthplace, the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Tudor World, not forgetting to take a detour to visit the magnificent Warwick Castle, where you can wander the halls, watch live battle re-enactments on the castle grounds, and venture down to the dungeons.

Experience a bit of culture visiting Compton Verney and Upton House (National Trust) or explore the battlefields of the Civil War of Edgehill.

If you love gardens then you mustn't miss a visit to the National Herb Centre and the famous gardens of Hidcote Manor and Kithsgate.

There are plenty of Cotswolds villages and towns to explore, such as Stow-on the Wold, Chipping Campden and Broadway where you will where you will find an array of delightful cafes and shops to fuel your excursions, with a wealth of activities to keep you entertained, make memories that will last a lifetime in your perfect Cotswolds retreat, Porthkerry.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £300.

View on map

About the location

TYSOE

Banbury 10.2 miles; Stratford-upon-Avon 13.6 miles.

Resting within the district of Stratford-on-Avon is the civil parish of Tysoe. This civil parish is made up of three settlements which includes, Upper Tysoe, Middle Tysoe and Lower Tysoe. Within the pretty village you will find a village Post Office, a shop, a pub and a small number of businesses. There is also a beautiful parish church of St Mary which dates back the 11th century and a number of properties which date back to the 17th century. The parish lies on the edge of the Cotswolds, where you will find breath-taking landscapes and a number of lively market towns and historic trials. A little further away is the medieval market town of Stratford-upon-Avon, where you will find further quality amenities and attractions including Shakespeare's Birthplace, Anne Hathaway's Cottage and the tropical greenhouse of butterflies. Tysoe is a pretty base for exploring this part of Warwickshire.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas