Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cotswolds 8 minutes ago

14 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 32 View Image Gallery
  • Victoria Cottage - Cotswolds - 1044146 - photo 1
close

Victoria Cottage

(Ref. 1044146)

Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire Show on map

4.2

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (14)
  • our (10)
  • lovely (10)
  • location (10)
  • comfortable (7)
  • cotswolds (6)

20 Customer Reviews

  • "Victoria Cottage was a lovely base to explore the Cotswolds and surrounding areas."

    The cottage was warm, cosy and comfortable and was based a very short walk from Chipping Norton. We didn’t do much cooking but the small galley kitchen looked well equipped to make meals. There was a secure private garden for our dogs, (but make sure the gate to the busy road is closed as this is shared with a neighbour to access a small path leading to neighbours garden). Chipping Norton has plenty of pubs, shops and restaurants and we went there most evenings for food and drink. The locals are really welcoming and friendly and the pubs and restaurants welcomed our dogs just as warmly. The blue Boar and Chequers were our favourites and Alberto’s Italian Restaurant was a great discovery. As well as providing great food and drink Alberto’s welcomed our dogs too, it’s well worth a visit. The Cotswold villages are breathtaking and there are photo opportunities at every corner. Would definitely recommend Victoria Cottage and hope to return ourselves as there are still plenty of places we didn’t get around to visiting.

    Reviewed by Steven5.0Feb 2024

  • "No welcome pack on arrival."

    No teatowels. Battery missing from tv remote.Found them towards end of stay. Apart from that nice comfortable cottage. Overall pleased with our stay.

    Reviewed by Lita3.8Jul 2023

  • "We can only compare with previous like for like properties we’ve rented in the Cotswolds at Xmas period."

    The property has the potential to be a nice house but lacks maintenance and needs a refurbishment. We had plumbing issues but in fairness the Agent/owner rectified the issues quickly. Previously our Xmas rentals provided excellent festive decorations but none was provided here. The house is fine for 4 but tight with 6 persons staying. Again going on previous experiences items like dishwasher tablets and cleaning products were in abundance but nothing here. No welcome hamper either. Furnishings and beds were comfortable.When renting for 6 you expect tableware for that number but only catered for 4, the same with some crockery like dinner plates. The property sits on a main road but we never found this a problem.The parking for One car is very tight though. Maybe it’s the company standard against Rural Retreats who we used previously that offers a different level . We made the most of the location and generally had a nice time.Tweeks and refurbishment could make a big difference

    Reviewed by Alexander2.8Dec 2022

  • "Hi I have rented cottages from Sykes before and this the worse cottage I have rented ."

    I am concerned about the damp and , the smell from the basement was over powering from the 3 steps down . All our clothes smell of damp . We couldn't work the heating so none of our towels got dried . There were no bath mats so it was difficult stepping out of the shower without slipping . No toilet rolls no hand soap so we had to go and buy some from the garage late at night on arrival . Two of us have horrible coughs now from the damp in the cottage this should not be rented .

    To Ms Collin, I have been renting the cottage with Sykes Cottages for the last 3 years. I go to the cottage every Friday to check that the cleaners have been in, and I have never smelt any damp in the basement and nobody has ever said there is a smell of damp in the cottage. The heating is a modern combi boiler and is very easy to use, most guests turn it of when they leave, and any new guest will always call me on my mobile if there is a problem. I can only apologize if the cleaners did not leave bath matts, toilet paper and soap. This is something I will take up with them. If you did not have the heating on at all over that cold weekend, then it would have been uncomfortable for you, and I only wish you had called me. Regards Max. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah2.2Oct 2022

  • "Lovely property in a great location."

    Easy walking distance to town centre and a great base for the North of the Cotswolds. Nice little extra of milk in the fridge and a lovely M&S cake to share. Clean and tidy. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because we felt it was ready for a lick of paint.

    Reviewed by Jo4.1Oct 2022

  • "A lovely comfortable cottage, well equipped, and an excellent location for exploring the Cotswolds."

    Central location with shops in walking distance. This was our second visit to Victoria cottage and we had a wonderful holiday!

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Aug 2022

  • "Victoria Cottage is a pretty, clean & comfortable property in an excellent location for exploring the Cotswolds an surrounding area."

    We really enjoyed our 3 night stay and would not hesitate to recommend it! Booking online with Sykes Cottages was very easy & the communication & information provided was superb. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Maria5.0Apr 2022

  • "Overall we were happy with the property, just one or two minor niggles."

    There were no sheets on two of the beds and there was no wood for the stove despite the details saying it was included with the rental. It was a cold weekend so we bought some. Nice touches were the milk in the fridge and a cake for us. The garden was pretty and the cottage in an excellent location.

    Reviewed by Bernadette3.8Apr 2022

  • "Quality equipped and comfortable."

    Everything we needed for a weekend getaway. Ideal for 4, too cosy for 6 probably!

    Reviewed by Adam4.4Feb 2022

  • "Wonderful place to stay."

    Everything was clean and the cottage was warm, even though the weather wasn't! We found the location was excellent, good choice of shops nearby for necessary items and some lovely gift shops too. During the week we managed a day trip by train to Oxford (there's a mainline station with parking at Kingham). Local farm park (Adam Henson's) very good for a day out too. Owner was extremely helpful and we would love to come back. There is a busy road outside, but if you want to be near a town, that's part of being in a convenient location.

    Reviewed by Frances4.7Feb 2022

  • "In a great location 5 mins from Village centre ."

    Marks and Spencer Foodhall 5 mins in other direction. plus Aldi nearby .Parking area right outside cottage . Owner not very friendly when we ran into problems with Heating and Cooker hob . Simple written instructions would have been so helpful iso we didn’t have to call him .instructions for rubbish would’ve have also been useful . Despite the above problems had a lovely weekend catching up with friends .

    Reviewed by Ann4.4Nov 2021

  • "We enjoyed our stay & the cottage was lovely but we did find a lot of the pans etc dirty."

    It could be lack of use. The information also needs updating - the booklet on the oven is out of date. We would have liked to put the central heating on but couldn't understand the instructions!

    Reviewed by Susan4.4Oct 2021

  • "Six of us and two dogs enjoyed a good four day stay at Victoria Cottage."

    We met the owner by chance on our arrival. He was very helpful. The house was very comfortable, everywhere very clean and well maintained. We would be happy to recommend this property to anyone.

    Reviewed by Lesley4.1Sep 2021

  • "We had a wonderful time staying at Victoria cottage, the cottage was perfect in every way and very centrally located to see many sites in the local area."

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Aug 2021

  • "I would not rent a pet friendly house again We could smell dogs downstairs and on the soft furnishings and rugs It was very unpleasant."

    We send our sincere apology's about the smell of the property and wish you had contacted us at the time as we could have looked to rectify this issue for you. Our cleaner's are going to make sure all the soft furnishings's and rug's receive a deep clean to avoid this issue for future guest's. We thank you for your comment's and wish you well in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine2.8Jul 2021

  • "Lovely cottage, everything you need."

    Only thing would be to state that the garden has a walkway for other neighbours to get to their gardens so had to remember to shut the gate in case the dog got out. Also water pressure could be a little better as you couldn't run a tap when the shower was on otherwise the showers pressure dropped significantly.

    Reviewed by Rebecca5.0Jul 2021

  • "This is a really lovely cosy cottage with plenty of space and superb facilities."

    It is in an excellent location with easy walking access to lovely shops and pubs. We loved our stay! Thank you

    Reviewed by Lindsay5.0Oct 2020

  • "This cottage is fantastic."

    Beautiful in every way. We didn’t need anything as everything was well provided. Extremely clean, beautifully decorated and a lovely little garden to sit in. Great location to visit everywhere in the area. Easy walking distance to pubs, restaurants and shops (2 mins) We had such a lovely visit and would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Sep 2020

  • "Great location to explore the Cotswolds."

    A short walk to the centre of Chipping Norton for pubs, shops and convenience stores. Ideal for two adults and our dog. Plenty of bedroom and bathroom space, but limited kitchen and ground floor area. A nice outside area.

    Reviewed by Danny4.1Aug 2020

  • "The kitchen needs a door on as every time the oven or hob is switched on it sets the fire alarm off which is extremely distressing The kitchen needs a better range of cooking utensils as there isn't enough pans etc to make a proper meal for 6 adults."

    A number of glasses and crockery were chipped so we had to put them.in the bin I think this is from the lovely Belfast sink Need to have a drying facility there is no indoor or proper outdoor facilities for drying clothes after getting soaked by the British weather

    Thank you for your feedback. the Crockery, utensils and glasses have been replaced in the property. we do hope you enjoyed your stay at the property and we hope to see you again soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tracey3.1Aug 2020

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Over four floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size bedroom, 1 x second-floor twin, 1 x second-floor twin zip/link (can be a king-size on request)
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Second-floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Cloakroom
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room with woodburning stove
  • Lower-ground-floor sitting room
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric double oven, induction hob, microwave/steam oven, fridge, freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with FreeSat, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburning stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 1 car in the nearest parking space, directly in front of the property
  • Bike storage in rear courtyard
  • Garden with furniture and barbecue
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 miles

The property

This beautiful character Cotswold stone end-terrace cottage is ideally situated in the centre of the historic Cotswolds town of Chipping Norton, beneath the Rollright Hills.

Set over four floors, this attractive property is furnished to a high standard and provides an ideal base for family and friends to get together.

The sitting room boasts a warming woodburning stove ideal for those chilly evenings or enjoy catching up with friends over a leisurely breakfast around the dinner table.

A well-equipped kitchen caters for all your needs keeping the chef of the party busy.

On the two upper floors there are three comfortable bedrooms, providing versatile sleeping arrangements complete with two gorgeous bathrooms.

A sitting room with TV and DVD can be found on the lower floor perfect for relaxing with a good book or a place to watch a film with the kids.

Directly outside the kitchen is a small suntrap courtyard garden with furniture as well as a larger gravelled garden with table and chairs for all guests to enjoy alfresco dining.

Just a short stroll takes you to the centre of Chipping Norton with an abundance of pubs, restaurants and Chipping Norton Theatre, a reputed venue for live entertainment, cinema and music venue hosting events all-year-round.

Enjoy a day at Blenheim Place, explore the many unspoilt Cotswold towns and villages or take a bracing walk on the beautiful Cotswold Hills.

Victoria Cottage is a wonderful property for an adult getaway or for a family looking to explore the Cotswolds.

View on map

About the location

CHIPPING NORTON

Moreton-in-Marsh 8 miles; Stow-on-the-Wold 9 miles; Oxford 20 miles.

The ancient town of Chipping Norton, steeped in history and culture, is set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, in the shadow of the Rollright Hills in this unspoilt area of Oxfordshire. Chipping Norton boasts a popular weekly market, numerous book and antique shops, many cafes, restaurants and pubs serving excellent food and local ales, art galleries, a museum and a thriving theatre. Chipping Norton is surrounded by the pretty limestone villages of the Cotswolds and offers many walks and cycle trails from the town centre, together with a Lido, perfect for a relaxing swim at the end of a busy day. Blenheim Palace, Rousham House and Gardens and numerous National Trust properties are close by, and a little further afield Stratford Upon Avon, birthplace of William Shakespeare, and the magnificent university town of Oxford are a real delight. A wonderful holiday destination, perfect for exploring all this lovely area has to offer.

View more holiday cottages in Chipping Norton

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas