Don’t miss our Summer Sale

Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cotswolds 5 minutes ago

10 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 42 View Larger Image
  • Kedges Farmhouse - Cotswolds - 1074541 - photo 1
close

Kedges Farmhouse

Wichenford near St John's, Worcester, Worcestershire (Ref. 1074541)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 3

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

12 Customer Reviews

  • "Absolute lovely stay again… we loved the garden, petting the horses in the neighbouring field and watching the tiny ducks grow."

    Mario the owner was has helpful as always. Looking forward to our next visit.

    Reviewed by EveJul 2022

  • "5 star review (error on the form would only let me choose 4 stars)."

    Truly amazing place to stay. Visited with some friends for a reunion weekend, and made good use of the pool table, BBQ and the garden. The grounds are absolutely stunning and is very well kept. The bedrooms are lovely, as is the kitchen. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

    thank you so much! your vey welcome back anytime! Property Owner

    Reviewed by GeorgeMay 2022

  • "I stayed at the house with my friends, we are a group of mid 40’s males."

    We had a short break Friday to Monday. The house was very picturesque; better than the photos. I had read previous reviews and noted that some people commented on hot water but the showers were working perfectly. The kitchen was a great space for cooking, we stocked up from our local butcher, our plan was to barbecue but we used the oven in the end for ease. We spent a lot of time playing pool which was good fun. We ventured off to the Mason Arms, was a fun stroll single file, took about 20 mins there and 15 back. It was a short drive to Worcester town, none of us had been there before but there’s plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. We all really enjoyed our stay and would totally recommend to both families, couples and groups of friends. If there was one small thing that would have made a difference; a TV would have been welcomed, however we took games and had the pool table to keep us occupied.

    Reviewed by DanielApr 2022

  • "Beautiful house and garden with great potential but some areas we feel could be improved; Property listed as having an aga but not allowed to use it Lights in pool room ceiling not working Plumbing extremely noisy at night disturbing everyone sleep Unable to open ensiute bedroom window so this room became uncomfortably warm Shower in main bathroom didnt work Coffee table in lounge would have been useful Poor cleanliness in kitchen areas such as fridge, bin cupboard, frying pans Single duvet option for twin room Downstairs toilet door was difficult to open (children got stuck twice) Some of these issues were published on previous feedbacks and we were very disappointed that they had not been addressed as a matter of urgency."

    Thanks for the comments and glad you enjoyed the house and the grounds. On your specific points, am very sorry you had some issues, there is a 24/7 number available and Sharon could have helped with most of the issues (including the duvets and the water), specifically the shower works well but you have to fully turn the handle. We will be leaving clear instructions on how to use the shower properly from now on following your feed-back so many thanks again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NickiApr 2022

  • "All fantastic, lovely to stay in such a beautiful house in beautiful location."

    I’ve stayed in many holiday cottages, and this was missing these things to be 5 stars: Checkout at 12 on Sunday. 9 is too early for relaxing weekend. A big TV A cupboard full of jigsaws/board games etc. The shower didn’t get hot, only warm. All the best, Dan

    You were offered the additional 1 and 1/2 hours extra; but unfortunately we do require the check to be this, to be in time to clean the property for the next guest. This time has now been amended to 10am. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DanielApr 2022

  • "We all had a wonderful stay at the Kedges Farmhouse."

    It is large, spacious property with plenty of room for six people. Although some have said the decor is dated we thought that it was very fitting for the age of the property. Large open fires made our evenings very cosy. The garden is immaculate, the weather was beautiful and it was so nice to sit out and enjoy our surroundings. The water temperature is significantly hotter within the en-suite bedroom so most of us shared this bathroom for showering which was not a problem with us at all. The local amenities were a short walk away (country park and public house) both of which were lovely. The housekeeper (Sharon) who was on call 24/7 was very helpful with any questions that we had. Thank you Sharon. We would definitely recommend this property to those who want a lovely relaxing time away.

    Reviewed by TraceyJan 2022

  • "The property and grounds were lovely."

    Really enjoyed using the log fire and pool table. However, all 6 guests experienced cold baths/showers and could not enjoy this facility at all. Also, more pillows for beds were needed.

    I am so sorry to hear about the water temperature. The water timing was set for the evening. The care taker number is available 24/7 and could have easily sorted the problem. However fully appreciate the issue and happy to provide 50% discount on any future bookings. Pilllows have been added thanks for the feed-back! Property Owner

    Reviewed by MelanieJan 2022

  • "This was a fabulous house to stay in for the week, very cosy with the fire and beautiful garden."

    The kids loved saying “hello” to the horses in the bordering field. Kitchen had plenty of crockery, but cooking facilities were a little lacking. There were no big pans and the Aga wasn’t in use, which only left the small electric oven to cook in (quite small). Master bedroom definitely could do with some bedside tables, and the mattress is very soft (personal preference though as might suit some people), but is a beautiful room with fantastic views. Would normally expect a TV in a property like this & although we found lots to do, it’s handy to have one for little early risers! There is certainly plenty of space in the house and is a stunning property. The pool room was a big hit all week and kids loved the little play equipment as well. Would be more than happy staying here again.

    Reviewed by MichelleOct 2021

  • "Beautiful house and grounds, we had a lovely stay."

    Walking distance to the pub and to a Thai restaurant which was excellent. Also lovely cafe very short walk away at the country park. One small thing and it’s more a request, main bedroom could do with bedside tables but it didn’t detract from our stay. The WiFi is not great, but again it’s a minor thing. Highly recommend!

    Reviewed by MichaelSep 2021

  • "Despite the house looking beautiful in the photos, it was quite disappointing and it felt unfinished."

    There weren’t cupboards or wardrobes in two of the bedrooms. The carpets were stained through much of the house. One of the beds was incredibly uncomfortable, it felt like it had been picked up off a dump. A little bit more effort, and things could have been so much nicer.

    Hi there and sorry you did not find the house at its best. Following feed back we have now replaced the bed and also stripped the carpet to its original old wooden floor. All rooms are now fully furnitured. Thanks again for the feed-back! Property Owner

    Reviewed by JonSep 2021

  • "We had a great time in this very characterful property."

    There were a few issues that needed attention such as a leaky bathroom shower which dripped to the floor below. The pool table was in dire need of attention (although fun nevertheless). The towel rails were unable to be turned on independently thus towels didn't really dry out. A waste bin in the bathrooms and lounge would have been useful too. Don't get me wrong this is a lovely house set in very relaxing and tranquil location. Super garden with lake. The log burners had great and welcome usage. We had a fabulous week at Kedges and would return again with a few tweeks in place.

    Reviewed by IanSep 2021

  • "Kedges Farmhouse really is wonderful."

    There are a few teething problems to address - leaks etc but on the whole it was lovely. Sharron is a very helpful housekeeper. Can’t wait to return.

    Reviewed by ZiaAug 2021

Show more

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite freestanding bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC, 2 x double
  • Bathroom with bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Cloakroom
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Dining room
  • Living/dining room with woodburning stove
  • Snug with woodburning stove
  • Games room
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Gas hob and electric oven, Note: Electric AGA not in use, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, dishwasher
  • WiFi, pool table
  • Fuel, power starter pack for woodburning stoves inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot available
  • Off-road parking for 3 cars
  • Enclosed rear garden with lawn, patio areas, barbecue, furniture, play area and deep pond
  • Sorry no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 2.1 miles, pub 0.8 miles
  • Note: No TV yet
  • Note: Children must be supervised near the pond at all times
  • Note: No access to the second floor

The property

St Johns 5.3 miles.

Resting in Wichenford, Worcestershire is the detached, Kedges farmhouse, which dates back to the 1700s.

Bring along your friends and family to this magnificent dwelling, which sleeps up to six guests.

On arrival, you will be greeted with a designated parking area and a garage; unload the car and venture inside this property, which retains a wealth of original features.

Discover the charming breakfast room and get a taste of what this home has to offer; with beamed ceilings and rustic décor; this cottage is certainly rich in character.

Head through to the next room and you will find the stunning kitchen, boasting an island and an AGA cooker; whip up a hearty meal for your loved ones with the excellent facilities that the kitchen offers.

For a night in, locate the games room, possessing a pool table and patio doors to the rear garden, spend some quality time with your family and make a night in fun!

The period property also has a utility room to do your washing, as well as non-working bread ovens to maintain the traditions of this home from home.

The ground-floor is complete with a downstairs bathroom and two more rooms, a sitting room with a log burner and an even larger sitting room also including a woodburning stove, with seats for the whole family; throw a log into the fire and unwind before the glowing warmth.

As the evening grows darker, head upstairs and discover the three bedrooms, all boasting size, beamed ceilings and storage.

One bedroom features a walk-in contemporary bathroom, have a leisurely soak after nature walking around the beautiful village of Wichenford and unwind.

This floor also has a family bathroom with a shower; start your day with a refreshing shower before getting to know your local area.

Enjoy your mornings in the grand garden, where you will find various outdoor furniture, a play area for the children, a barbecue and a spectacular pond.

If you fancy a meal out, walk over to The Mason's Arms, a countryside pub serving home-made meals.

All your necessities can be found at the well-stocked convenience store, just a short drive away from the cottage.

Explore your surroundings and take a short drive to the Tudor House Museum to uncover the town's history or take a scenic walk around the abundance of greenery at the Dovecote National Trust.

For a more lively day out venture into Worcester and enjoy the unique Great Worcester Maize Maze; perfect for a family day out.

Travel to Kedges Farmhouse for a memorable holiday with your loved ones.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £300.

View on map

About the location

ST JOHN'S, WORCESTER

Wichenford 5.3 miles

St Johns, known locally as the "village in the city" due to it's independence up until 1837, is a highly sought-after suburb of Worcester, set a stone's throw away from the vibrant city centre. The bustling suburb homes an array of eateries, including traditional country pubs, quaint cafes and delicious takeaways, along with a number of well-stocked convenience stores, perfect in assisting with any of your self-catering needs during your staycation. The village is in close proximity to the River Severn Bridge, a vital crossing, which linked to Western parts of the country; attracting other towns/cities to trade with St John's. There's a host of exciting sights and attractions worth visiting within easy reach, including The Great Worcester Maize Maze and Worcester Racecourse.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas