Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

10 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 37 View Image Gallery
  • Rocklea Seaside Cottage -  - 1085282 - photo 1
close

Rocklea Seaside Cottage

(Ref. 1085282)

Newcastle, County Down, County Down Show on map

4.8

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (12)
  • views (10)
  • welcome (8)
  • sea (7)
  • lovely (7)
  • comfortable (6)

16 Customer Reviews

  • "This is a lovely house and the setting and views are superb."

    The facilities were everything we could wish for. It is shown as suitable for up to 6 guests, and is ideal for three with the bedrooms on the ground floor. The staircase to the first floor (beds for three more) would be tricky for some people, but the view from there is breathtaking.

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, Richard. I’m glad you found the facilities perfect and enjoyed the stunning views. That’s great feedback about the bedrooms being ideal for 3 on the ground floor. It’s helpful for future guests to realise the stairs to the family room might be a challenge, but the view is definitely worth it! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard4.7Jun 2024

  • "We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful cottage, really lovely and relaxing place."

    Gorgeous views overlooking the sea, very comfortable and convenient to lots of attractions. Welcome pack much appreciated, highly recommend this cottage. One place in particular to visit is Tollymore Forest Park, just a short distance away, it's absolutely magical. Thank you Mary for allowing us to enjoy your beautiful cottage and for all your help and recommendations. Looking forward to coming back at some stage in the future. Terry.

    Thank you, Terry! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. Tollymore is a great recommendation, isn't it? I hope to see you back again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Terry5.0May 2024

  • "The cottage is in a lovely area with beautiful views out of the windows."

    It was very welcoming and comfortable with everything we needed. Ken and Maureen.

    Thank you, Maureen and Ken, for your kind words and for choosing my cottage! I'm delighted you found it comfortable and enjoyed the beautiful views. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ken5.0May 2024

  • "Excellent cottage with amazing views."

    Nothing missing or lacking from the cottage. Very peaceful and comfortable.

    Thank you so much for your kind words and perfect 5-star rating! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage to be clean, comfortable, and well-equipped. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Mar 2024

  • "Fantastic place to stay!"

    The views from nearly every room out to the sea were breathtaking, the kitchen was comfortable and well-equipped, and the proximity to town was convenient. Pulling onto the road was slightly blind and a little tricky, but we didn’t have any issues. Additionally, one bathroom was difficult for our group, but we knew to expect that from the listing. It was such an enjoyable and beautiful cottage that was clean and bright.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your stay at the Cottage, Trey. I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed the breathtaking views, comfortable kitchen, and convenient location. A seaside escape is all about relaxation, and I'm glad the Cottage provided a beautiful and bright space for you to unwind. I completely understand your point about the driveway exit being a bit tricky. Even with the wide gates and traffic mirror, it can be a blind spot. That's why I always recommend, whenever possible, for guests to have someone guide them out onto the road for extra safety. I'm so glad it didn't cause any problems for you during your stay. Thank you again for your kind words and feedback. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Cottage one day! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Trey4.7Mar 2024

  • "The cottage was exactly as described online, indeed in real life it exceeded our expectations."

    The Welcome Pack is a nice gesture. The location right on the water's edge, with full views of Dundrum Bay and St John's lighthouse flashing in the distance, is absolutely fabulous. The cottage is fully equipped for all needs and wants, and is most comfortable for relaxing and sleeping. I really can't recommend it highly enough. The full five stars in my book!

    Thank you very much for your wonderful review, Brendan. It is very much appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Brendan5.0Nov 2023

  • "Great location."

    Lots of local amenities and attractions Lovely comfy well equipped cottage, welcome pack much appreciated Happy to recommend and will return,

    Stephen, thank you so much for your glowing review! I'm so glad you enjoyed the cottage's location, amenities, and comfort. I hope to welcome you back again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Oct 2023

  • "This has been one of the best places we have stayed."

    The location is amazing and, for us, the property was like a home. We felt settled within minutes of arriving. Everything was where we would have expected it to be and nothing was missing.

    Thank you so much for this lovely review, Russell. It means a lot to know that you felt the cottage was like a home away from home and I hope you will visit again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Russell5.0Oct 2023

  • "We enjoyed a wonderful week at Rocklea Seaside Cottage."

    Whatever the weather, the view over the sea is stunning. The cottage is warm and comfortable to just sit and relax, but there are many places of interest to visit within a short travelling distance. Thank you Mary for the kind and thoughtful welcome pack and your helpful advice. We look forward to planning a return visit.

    Thank you, Peter, for your wonderful feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage, especially the sea view. The local area has something to offer everyone, so I hope you'll visit again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Sep 2023

  • "An absolutely beautiful stay in a charming cottage."

    A huge thanks to the owner for the welcome package and her care in general towards us. The cottage is set against the backdrop of the open sea,beautiful sunrises and amazing wildlife. Highly recommended stay.

    Dear Gloria, thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to host you and I hope that you will visit again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gloria5.0Sep 2023

  • "Some areas of the cottage were dusty and in one bedroom we found some ones under pants and socks in a drawer."

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear that some areas of the cottage were dusty and that you found some clothes in a drawer. I take guest satisfaction very seriously, and I apologize that your experience didn't meet your expectations. I've asked my cleaning crew to be more thorough in their cleaning, and I've also instructed them to remove any personal belongings from the bedrooms before guests arrive. I hope you'll give me another chance to host you in the future. I've made some changes to the cleaning procedures, and I'm confident that you'll have a much better experience next time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Frank3.1Aug 2023

  • "We had a lovely relaxing holiday at your cottage."

    The welcome pack was really nice, everything was clean and the towels were so soft, gorgeous hotel quality. We would definitely recommend this very welcoming, homely cottage with amazing views. Suzanne

    Thank you for your lovely comments. I take pride in making sure guests have a comfortable and enjoyable holiday, so it means a lot to hear that you were happy with everything and would recommend the cottage to others. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Suzanne5.0Aug 2023

  • "We loved our stay here and would definitely go back."

    Perfect location with stunning views. Comfy beds and pillows. Kitchen has everything we needed and there was a lovely welcome package. Great communication throughout.

    Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It means a lot to me to know that you had a great stay. I hope you'll come back and visit us again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Jul 2023

  • "Lovely well equipped cottage with fabulous sea views."

    Would highly recommend.

    Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage to be well-equipped and with fabulous sea views. it is certainly a very special place and it is always rewarding to hear positive feedback from guests. I am delighted that you would highly recommend the cottage to others. This is the highest compliment you could give, and I'm grateful for your support. I hope that you will visit again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Jul 2023

  • "A wonderful seaside cottage offering excellent facilities with a helpful and accommodating host."

    Spectacular views but access to the sea is not really possible from the property as the coastline at this point is steep and rocky.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The panoramic views across Dundrum Bay are certainly spectacular but the coastline is steep and rocky at points. For this reason, the rock pools and waterfall are best admired from a safe distance; even experienced wild swimmers wearing aqua shoes with grip find them tricky to exit. A much safer option is the slipway at Newcastle Harbour (just one mile from the cottage) where sea swimmers meet most mornings. In addition, there are picturesque, sandy beaches nearby at Murlough and Minerstown that are ideal for open-water beginners. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Russell5.0Jun 2023

  • "The owner was there to greet us and the Welcome box was magnificent."

    She did research on local music events which were perfect!

    Thank you so much for your lovely comments and I am so pleased that you enjoyed the local music scene! I really hope to be able to welcome you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Francis5.0Apr 2023

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x ground-floor twin, 1 x ground-floor single, 1 x family room with double and single
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with open fire
  • Utility area in garage.
  • Central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer
  • TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road, gated parking
  • Enclosed rear garden with lawn and furniture overlooking the sea
  • Garage with washing machine, tumble dryer and additional fridge/freezer
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Pub and Shop 1 mile
  • Note: There are steps down into the garden and up into the property, please take care
  • Note: There are open-tread stairs in this property please take care
  • Note: There will be a starter pack available for the open fire during the winter months only

The property

Nestled in rural Northern Ireland on the outskirts of the charming, coastal town of Newcastle in County Down is Rocklea Seaside Cottage.

This wonderful, holiday home benefits from a breath-taking location with views of the Irish Sea and the summit of Slieve Donard as well as, off-road, gated parking, an enclosed, sea facing garden and a welcoming interior completed by three bedrooms; the perfect choice for families or friends looking to explore the wonders of Northern Ireland.

Cross the threshold into your new home-from-home and locate the sitting room where the crackle of the roaring open fire greets you, unwind here before heading into the fully-equipped kitchen/diner to prepare dinner.

Sample your culinary creations around the dining table or venture outside to dine alfresco whilst the Irish Sea provides an unbeatable backdrop.

Admire the sun as it dips behind the horizon before heading back inside to wash off the day’s adventure in the shower room ready to slope off to sleep in either the ground-floor twin or single or the family room with double and single on the first floor.

If you can tear yourself away from this idyllic dwelling, take a short drive along the coast into the heart of Newcastle where you can stock up on all of your self-catering essentials at local stores or enjoy a well-earned break from the kitchen with a meal out at Brunels or Villa Vinci which both serve delicious food.

While away your days upon the glorious shores of Newcastle Beach where you can enjoy leisurely walks in the sea air and admire sea vistas.

Keen ramblers can venture inland to Tollymore Forest Park to meander the abundance of walking trails or the brave among you can try to summit Slieve Donard which rewards guests with panoramic views across Northern Ireland.

Thrilling watersports such as banana boating, wet river bouldering, yachting and open water canoeing await in Warrenpoint at Carlingford Lough.

Make unforgettable memories at Rocklea Seaside Cottage.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

About the location

NEWCASTLE, COUNTY DOWN

Castlewellan 4 miles; Downpatrick 12.4 miles; Newry 21.2 miles

Nestled on the coast, overlooking the Irish Sea near Castlewellan and Newry is Newcastle in County Down. The town dates back to 1588 and is named after the castle that was once here at the mouth of the Shimna River; today the town markets itself as the activity resort for Northern Ireland thanks to its fun-filled promenade and beach. Find a variety of local stores in the town along with pubs and restaurants including Percy French Inn, Quinns Bar and Diamond Pats; ideal for when you need a break from the kitchen. Spend sunny days upon the golden shores of Newcastle Beach which boasts fabulous views across the Irish Sea, test out your swing at Royal County Down Golf Club or take advantage of the myriad of walks and through the National Trust, Murlough National Nature Reserve. History is woven throughout the surrounding countryside including the breath-taking ruins of Dundrum Castle, the Gothic Inch Abbey, the Royal Hillsborough Castle and Gardens and the National Trust site of Castle Ward. Venture further afield to reach Belfast which is bursting at the seams with museums and attractions. Explore all this and more from Newcastle in County Down.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter