Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 8 minutes ago

Brierdene

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 995274)

Sykes rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Open fire Open fire
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Cot available
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Highchair available
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi
  • Icon/Feature/Pub Near a pub < 1 mile

Reviews

Group 2 Created with Sketch.

2 Customer Review(s)

  • Mrs Maslin

    “After requesting the high chair and travel cot be made available prior to arrival, this did not to happen.”

    ...

    Upon arrival at the accommodation, with a toddler in tow, we had to search for both the travel cot and high chair. The chair was located under the bed which we then proceeded to put up straight away due to our toddler being restless needing sleep after a lengthy journey down. We continued the search for a high chair, which after some time we found on the 2nd floor! Which we then had to take down 2 flights of stairs, one being rather narrow and steep from the loft bedroom which wasn't ideal. We set this up in the kitchen where we thought it would rightly go and was very shocked at the state of it; the high chair was filthy with stains and food still left on from the last meal and potentially from meals prior to that. Luckily we had brought disinfectant spray and cloths so after digging those out from the luggage, begun to clean it. It wasn't until a couple of days into the stay that we found the 2nd floor bedroom bin not emptied. And in addition to this, the 1st floor bathroom toilet brush was not clean to say the least. I will spare you the findings on the brush/holder. It was disappointing to find the coasters in the living room sprinkled with crumbs, which made us question if the place had actually been given a clean at all before we arrived. Personally, I would have liked to have had curtains in the living room, especially with this being on road/pavement level and therefore lacking privacy without them. We found it to be cold when sat in the chair in the window in the evening, without the curtains there acting as a barrier. We had spent more time inside the property than we usually would, due to the covid restrictions and was disappointed to find it not completely up to the standards a reasonable person would expect. However, couldn't fault the location but for the price we paid I would have expected the above points not needed to be raised.

    - Mrs Maslin, May 2021

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, although we were concerned to read that the property was not satisfactorily presented prior to your arrival. As you will appreciate, we work very hard with our owners and housekeepers to ensure high standards of cleanliness are maintained, so it is very disappointing to read these comments. Your feedback has been passed on to the housekeeper/cleaner concerned. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please know that if you had made us aware of these issues during your stay, we would have done our best to rectify them at the time. We do hope that you had an enjoyable holiday in spite of the issues raised and look forward to welcoming you back to Salcombe in the not too distant future Property Owner

The property

Brierdene is situated in a relatively quiet area of Salcombe, yet only 5-7 minutes’ walk into the town.

The harbour and estuary, is very close by, whilst the beautiful beaches of East Portlemouth and Millbay can be accessed via a small passenger ferry that runs from the town all year round. To the front of the property is a cosy sitting room with double leather sofa, ‘love’ chair, additional armchair, and feature gas fire (not in use), TV and DVD player.

Access to a small cloakroom with W.C and wash-hand basin. The bright and well equipped recently refurbished kitchen has a four-ring halogen hob, oven and microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washer/dryer.

French doors open from the kitchen to the terrace and sunny garden to the rear.

The dining area features a fireplace with wood-burning stove. There is a master bedroom on the first floor with a King-size bed.

Second bedroom at this level has a double bed .

Top floor (built into the roof space) is a good sized twin bedroom with two single beds, TV (DVD only), shower and separate w.c./basin.

In addition to the shower above there is a bathroom on the first floor, with bath, rainhead and hand-held showers (over). Outside there is a delightful level terrace with table, chairs and parasol.

Steps lead up to a raised decking area with garden furniture, and beyond to an area of sloping lawn.

BBQ available.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x King-size, 1 x double, 1 x twin with fitted shower and separate w.c./basin
  • Kitchen/dining room
  • Separate sitting room
  • Cloakroom with w.c
  • and wash-hand basin
  • Family bathroom on the first floor, with bath, rainhead and hand-held showers (over), wash-hand basin, w.c
  • and heated towel rail.
  • Gas central heating
  • Fridge, freezer, washing machine, oven, hob, dishwasher, microwave,toaster, kettle. Wifi available. Bed linen and towels provided Baby friendly, travel cot, high chair, changing mat, childrens cutlery/crockery. To the rear of property is a level area of terrace with table and chairs and parasol
  • Raised decking area
  • BBQ available. Off-road parking directly off Coronation Road for one car
  • Additional/alternative parking is usually available in the nearby long-stay car park.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

Region Information

The whole property has been refreshed for the 2020 season