Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

10 people have recently viewed this property

Elworthy Cottage

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 1017060)

4.2

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

8 Customer Reviews

  • "Cosy cottage, buried in the countryside."

    I thought it was perfect… Husband however grumbled about low beams/ doorways.. he’s tall. I don’t think low beams are mentioned in description. I realise this is often the case in old properties. If you like perfect peace and hilly walks, this is the place to go.

    Elworthy is 17th century so as most cottages of that age the ceilings are lower by design, im sorry your husband found them a problem, its more than often an attractive feature which people seem to love. Yes, its very peaceful tucked away in Batson with just a 15min walk along the side of the creek to the hustle and bustle of Salcombe and its lovely beaches, walks, shops and pubs etc. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JeanMay 2022

  • "It would have been good to have the heating on when arriving in cold wet March ..."

    It would have been good to have the heating on when arriving in cold wet March house smelt damp and trying to read 3 different heater Manuel’s within 5 minutes of arrival after a 5 hour drive wasn’t ideal- apart from that house had everything we needed

    The heating is normally left on low so im not sure why that wasnt the case when you arrived. Do hope you made good use of the woodburner and together with the heating the cottage soon became cozy and warm. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ClaireMar 2022

  • "Lovely cottage,and garden, quiet location with scenic 15 minute walk into Salcombe."

    Good parking.

    Many thanks for your lovely comments, we take pride in presenting Elworthy in a clean and comfortable place to stay and to enjoy the beautiful walks and views. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarolineOct 2021

  • "The cottage was idyllic."

    Well equipped and a perfect base for enjoying Salcombe . Quiet surroundings and an easy 15 minute walk into Salcombe along Batson creek ( short steepish hill to negotiate on the way back up to the cottage but the rest of the walk is flat) . Morning coffee on the patio was lovely. The only thing we found was the king-size bed mattress was too soft for us but that's personal preference. The cottage was delightful though and we also hired the shepherd's hut which was very comfortable and cute. The outside loo was a bonus with 5 of us staying . Overall we had a lovely time and without hesitation we will return .

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Elworthy Cottage, it sounds like you had a great holiday. Your feedback has been passed on to the owner who is thrilled with your comments, she has also informed us that the mattress will be replaced at the end of the season. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AnnaJul 2021

  • "The cottage is lovely, idyllically located, lovely and quiet at night time."

    It has a visiting your gran homely feel to it with endearing features. However, no toilet upstairs was a pain, especially at night. The mattress could do with a change. For the price paid, a decent set of curtains wouldn't go amiss. The sofa is old, as well as the pillows. The shower overflows very quickly. A bath would be amazing to soak in. We had to call up and ask for extra bin bags- we had a 6 month old with us and naturally used more rubbish than a couple usually would, but then again if a family of 4 was staying there they would face the same difficulties. Same with the washing up liquid. Why so cheap with the basics? All just seemed a bit budget for the price and we left with the impression that is was a business that was a hinderance to someone rather than what we were hoping it would be; someone's beautifully maintained cottage in the heart of Devon that's both charming and functional. Oh and the bins hadn't been put out previously so when we came to leave the black bin was already full. Still happy with our stay, just a few niggly points that we were reminded of on a daily basis.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are thrilled that you loved Elworthy Cottage, it is in such a beautiful setting. We work very closely with our owners and caretakers so are disappointed to hear the matters you have raised. We have spoken with the owner who takes a lot of pride in her cottage and is saddened to hear you felt her business came across as a hindrance. She has taken your points on board and will certainly look into them. It can be difficult to offer a property to accommodate everyone’s taste as it is such a personal thing. However we really appreciate your review as we can then work to make it the best experience for all. We can only apologise you came across the nigles you did. We are happy that this did not affect your stay and hope to welcome you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AmyJun 2021

  • "Such a beautiful little cottage in a perfect location."

    It had everything we needed and we had a brilliant holiday playing in Salcombe. Thank you

    Reviewed by TaniaMay 2021

  • "Loved staying here, peaceful, cosy, everything you need."

    The beds however were dreadful, all mattresses need changing for new. Otherwise, the property is perfect!

    Reviewed by GillianSep 2020

  • "We have contacted you about the standard of cleanliness and have not had a rely to 2 e mails and one phone call."

    Most disappointing. We chose you after 2 wonderful holidays previously but will not use you again.

    We are sorry that there seems to be breakdown in communication. We have emailed you directly, but have not received a response. We understand that the Owner of the property has also been in touch with you directly to discuss your concerns. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused, and we hope that despite this you were able to enjoy your stay at Elworthy Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DianeSep 2020

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size, with basin and W.C and 1 x twin, with basin
  • External WC
  • Wet room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • The Shepherd's Hut is furnished with a 4' double bed, wc and sink (cold water only)
  • Hot Tub Hire is available (at additional cost) through https://www.salcombehottubs.co.uk/ - Please contact them direct for availability and cost.
  • Electric night storage heaters and woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hobs, microwave, fridge, washing machine, dishwasher, TV and WiFi
  • Bed linen and towels provided
  • Ample off-road parking
  • Lawned garden and patio with furniture and barbecue
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • No smoking
  • Shop 0.9 miles, pub 1 mile
  • Note: An additional cost of £30 per week is required if bringing a dog with you
  • Note: Young children are not permitted on the upper lawn, which is gated.

The property

Situated in Higher Batson on the outskirts of Salcombe is Elworthy, a traditional Grade II listed thatched cottage providing you a home-from-home for your action-packed adventure in Salcombe.

Within the cottage you can find everything you could need to enjoy your self-catered stay.

The sitting room offers a snug spot to unwind, light up the woodburning stove and gather together to enjoy quality time.

The kitchen boasts a dining area where you can delve into a delicious meal prepared in a traditional cottage kitchen, or play board games before heading upstairs to rest.

The bedrooms consist of a king-size and a twin room, an ideal layout for a small family to catch some sleep.

In the morning, jump in the wet room on the ground floor to freshen up ahead of your fun-filled day.

Enjoy a cup of coffee in the pretty garden and take in the views on the patio whilst soaking in the sun or relaxing in the hot tub, which you can hire direct from Salcombe Hot Tubs (at additional cost).

Elworthy is a picture-perfect cottage, ideally situated for exploring the best of South Devon.

Also available is a Shepherds Hut that can accommodate two guests and is furnished with a 4' double bed, woodburning stove and wc.

This can be made available at an additional cost of £150 per week.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

The Shepherds Hut, sleeping 2 guests is available for an additional £150.00
Hot Tub Hire is available (at additional cost) through https://www.salcombehottubs.co.uk/. Please contact them directly for availability and cost.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it