Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 18 View Image Gallery
  • Exe Valley Lodge - Devon - 1069869 - photo 1

Exe Valley Lodge

(Ref. 1069869)

Bampton, Devon, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • hot (10)
  • tub (9)
  • hot tub (9)
  • property (7)
  • sykes (6)
  • owner (6)

15 Customer Reviews

  • "We stayed mid September,had to ring Sykes with a few problems, we didn't contact the owner after reading review's they said they had personally checked the property so didn't feel it would be resolved."

    Obviously their standards aren't very high. We weren't going to write a review but on reading review's since nothing has improved. main bedroom:Dirty tissues.cotton wool,and other things left in draws cupboards and under the bed. smelly wardrobe,broken tap in bathroom. Main bathroom: Hot water tap not working,shower smelt of urine,fumes coming back in the vent from boiler this could cause carbon monoxide poisoning. Kitchen: Cobwebs,food in dirty cupboards, chipped and cracked crockery and cooking utensils,toaster full of crumbs,kettle full of water,no proper bin,nothing matching,cobwebs in glasses,had to wash what we needed to use. Sitting room: Broken blinds,no internet box just the lead,smelt of dogs and dogs hair all over carpet,ripped curtain,dirt under cushions on sofas. Outside: Slippery entrance, uneven slabs that send water up your legs when you walk on them, no dust bin or recycling bins. Badly sign posted we ended up on a farm a few miles away where a lovely lady gave us directions. This could be a much better place in different hands.Needs a good deep clean and D.I.Y done. There is no attention to detail which is needed.

    Reviewed by Deborah1.6Sep 2023

  • "Had to give one star because it won’t except feed back but not worth even one star."

    Lodge not what is advertised on Sykes, contacted owner who blamed Sykes, surely if it’s your property you would check details are correct? dirty and smells damp. Left two days before check out. Food left in cupboard, washing up on draining boar, water in kettle. Sink doesn’t retain water. Hot water tap in shower room faulty. Cobwebs.Jets in hot tub broken. No enclosed garden as advertised which is why we booked.have photos if needed.

    Reviewed by Kevin1.6Sep 2023

  • "If I ould I would give it no stars Property not as discribed on website and blamed Sykes for the oversite."

    Property had not been cleaned properly, she blamed contract cleaners Lack of general mainterance, cupboard door hanging off, blind broken, plus other nummerous problems blamend previous family but on checking feedback when we got back cupboard door mention in April,electric check possibly out of date early July, Hot Tub not checked all week and control pannel loose.

    Reviewed by Rhian1.3Sep 2023

  • "It is true as everyone says that the proerty was quite dirty."

    Hot tub was dirty as well. Beautiful spot and easy to find.

    Reviewed by Gyopar2.5Aug 2023

  • "The place was falling apart."

    Shard things sticking through the carpet. The hot tub was filthy both of them... went to use the bbq one night looks like it's never been cleaned. Dog poo laying around every where. Was a joke you could even charge someone that much money for some where that's never had any maintenance

    Reviewed by Dane1.3Aug 2023

  • "Had a brilliant and relaxing stay!"

    Slight difficulty finding the location but a quick text and call to The owner fixed that! The lodge it self was brilliant and had everything you’d need for the stay. The landscape was picturesque and the local village was lovely to visit! Will absolutely be returning! T

    Reviewed by Luxmi4.1Jul 2023

  • "The views from the cabin were beautiful & the area is really nice, perfect if you want a quiet weekend away."

    Would 100% recommend, especially the hot tub! Great weekend worth the money

    Reviewed by Jake5.0May 2023

  • "Lovely static caravan in a really picturesque spot next to a wooded area."

    Hot tub is a good size and everything in the caravan works as you'd expect. Wifi good enough to stream TV and the local pub is dog friendly. Some reviews complained about cleanliness, which was definitely not the case, it's just not a brand new caravan! Would definitely come again.

    Reviewed by Roger5.0May 2023

  • "We got upgraded to Primrose and it was excellent."

    Reviewed by Chay5.0May 2023

  • "Lodge was in a dilapidated condition with cupboard doors off the hinges, bedframes broken, doors not closing properly."

    Cobwebs and dusty overall. Do Sykes check if the property is in a fit condition before listing it??? Wifi and TV signal was on and off. Hot tub was dirty filled with bugs, leaves. Terrible state, very unhappy.

    I'm sorry to hear your feedback here. But each property is checked before rentals and there were no doors off hinges, bedframes broken or doors not closing properly? We have checked this several times now. Usually if there are any issues Sykes will call us to resolve the issue. Yet no call was received by you through out your stay to either Sykes or myself? You mention the TV and wifi was on and off yet no call was made to us? You also state the hot tub had bugs and leaves in - yet no call was made to either Sykes or myself? We are more than happy to resolve any issues but feel if we are not made aware of any issues then we can not resolve them. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sonia1.3Apr 2023

  • "Original property was too wet so owner called and offered a free upgrade."

    Communication was excellent, really helpful. Location is beautiful and accommodation was lovely. Definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Richard4.4Mar 2023

  • "The location was stunning and peaceful but the pictures are misleading the property was not as fresh as the pictures and the place looks run down."

    There were flies everywhere in the front room and spiders and cobwebs throughout. The oven and shower were disgusting and the shower head and hose was covered in grime and the toilet door in the master bedroom didn’t even close, we also had damp bedding and stained mattresses. We booked this property for a hot tub and even confirmed with the owner the hot tub would be working before we got there and when we got there the hot tub did not work, we messaged and phoned the ‘emergency contact’ but we did not get a response until the next day which thank god it wasn’t an actual emergency and that my partner new what to do when the boiler wasn’t working as the place would of been freezing. This was meant to be a treat to spend New Year’s Eve and we left after one night and absolutely will not be returning ever. We were also promised a discount on the fact the hot tub was not working but we’re yet to hear from Sykes.

    Reviewed by Ayesha1.6Dec 2022

  • "Exe Valley Lodge has a beautiful setting."

    There are great views from it`s elevated position. The property is showing it`s age. It was comfortable but lacked some minor details like oven gloves,washing up liquid and scourer,saucepan lids and hair dryer. Better signage from the road needed. The hot tub was a bonus as it didn`t appear on our booking.

    Due to covid we do not provide gloves, washing up liquid or scourers for health and safety reasons. There were saucepan lids there but you would need to let the owner know if items have been misplaced. No reports of anything missing were reported into skyes. IN regards the signage on the booking there is a link by what3words sent to all guests this would of brought you to a few feet on the exact location - am realy pleased you enjoyed the views it really is a stunning setting. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John3.8Jun 2022

  • "We arrived roughly an hour early, the lodges where not very well advertised making it hard to find, when we did find our lodge the owner was on site and friendly letting us enter early, however they where just laying red stones on the steep drive to level the ground, unfortuantly the colour red transfered to anything that touched it, feet, paws,wheels etc."

    . Maybe there could have been a more suitable time ? On arrival the lodge looked lovely and what we had been looking for great views and comfort. Unfortunately the cleanliness did not meet our expectations, dirty microwave, dirty pots, cob webs on light fittings and above the hob, mould on fridge seal and in the freezer also mould on the back of the curtains and in the shower, the vents hadn't been cleaned either. The sofa's where comfortable and clean however on the main bed you could feel the springs in the mattress. There was a error on the boiler when we arrived which we had to call sykes cottages and they gave us the owners number, to be fair to the owner called us back and fixed the problem very quickly, maybe a little contact and information pack could help in the lodge ? Overall the lodges where in a lovely location and we used as a base well but the standards in the lodge needed more attention to detail. We have camped/glamped and used caravans for the past 15 years but this was by far the dirtiest.

    Thank you for your feedback the issue being is you arrived 4 hours early when maintenance was happening and did state it would be better to come back at the agreed check in time at 4pm to which you choose not to. I explained we had just done the drive way but if you had come at the correct time this would not of been an issue. In regards to the information pack there is always an information pack provided to all guests when they visit so am not sure why you did not receive this? If there was a cleaning issue the usual process is to call Skyes and we would of offered a re-clean - we have never had a review like this before. On checking with Skyes there was no call in from yourself in regards a cleaning issue or any complaints by yourself which seems strange - I feel if there was a real issue I believe you would of reported this. I have cross checked this with Skyes and you made no complaint at all on the cleaning issue - if you had, I would of done my utmost to resolve the matter. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marc2.8Apr 2022

  • "We had a very relaxing break."

    Considering the circumstances great value. Beautiful views. Would gladly stay again. Cheers

    Really pleased you had a relaxing holiday and enjoyed the beautiful views here. Hope to welcome you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen4.7Jul 2021

Show more Hide all


  • All-ground-floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite with walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with shower over, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area.
  • Gas central heating with electric fire Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, TV, WiFi
  • Fuel, power in rent
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking
  • Garden with lawn, patio and furniture, Hot tub
  • Fire pit & BBQ
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • 2well behaved dogs welcome, there is 10 acres of land with a river to walk through and is dog friendly
  • Shop, Pub & Town within 1/2 Mile

The property

Tucked away in the luscious green scenery of the Devonshire countryside, Exe Valley Lodge is a pretty single-storey property, perfectly suited to a small family or a group of four.

Resting just a pleasant drive away from the glorious landscapes of the Exmoor National Park, guests can look forward to an unforgettable adventure with so much excitement resting right on your doorstep.

Return to the warm and homely ambiance of the open-plan living space and cosy up on the sumptuous sofas and discuss the day’s most memorable moments.

Move your way into the open-plan living space where you can join friends at the dining table and crack open a bottle of wine, whilst watching the chef of the group take to the well-equipped kitchen to rustle up a delicious feast for all.

Two fabulous bedrooms await you; a spacious double benefitting from an en-suite shower room and a charming twin with use of a light and sophisticated bathroom.

Make the most of hot summer days as you soak up the sunshine out on the patio.

Discover the many hidden gems of the Devon countryside with a stay at Exe Valley Lodge.

This property can be booked with Ref: 1069872 together sleeping up to 8 guests.

New Park Lodges

Two idyllic lodges nestled in quaint and rural village of Bampton, within the glorious open fields of the Devonshire countryside. Renovated to a high standard, this couple of characterful lodges offer a scenic backdrop for any type of holiday, whether travelling with family or a group of friends. Each lodge is complete with a full-fitted kitchen, an enclosed rear patio and ample off-road parking, answering all of your self-catering needs. The town of Bampton can be found hosting a plethora of amenities such as a well-stocked convenience store and a bustling local pub where you can delight in a fun-filled evening wining and dining in the popular restaurant. Exmoor National Park rests right on your doorstep, boasting many breath-taking woodland walks and landmarks such as Wheal Eliza Mine, Cow Castle and Douglas Fir (England's Tallest Tree), not to be missed. There are also a number of wonderful attractions for the whole family to enjoy, including Webbers Post, Exmoor Owl & Hawk Centre and Watermouth Castle. Two homely lodges from which to enjoy an unforgettable escape to Devon.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Dulverton 6 miles; Tiverton 7.5 miles.

Bampton is a wonderfully peaceful Devon village situated in a wooded valley on the banks of the River Batherm, a tributary of the River Exe, close to the Exmoor National Park. Bampton offers lovely Georgian cottages and houses, a good range of shops and is famous for its floral displays, pony fair and folk festival. The towns of Dulverton and Tiverton are close by and offer plenty of amenities, plus there are many country pursuits on offer in this rural area, including fishing on the two reservoirs at Wimbleball and Clatworthy, Exmoor safaris through dramatic windswept moors, walking the Exe Valley Way, horseriding across the moor and cycling along the Lowman Way. Further afield is the beautiful North Devon coastline with stunning walks, small coves, sandy beaches and views across to Wales. Bampton provides an ideal base for exploring North Devon and the Exmoor National Park.

Note: Every Friday morning a gardener will be attending the property to mow the lawn

From the 21st August 2021 - This property will be Pet Free

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas