Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

12 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 17 View Image Gallery
  • The Cart Linhay - Devon - 976121 - photo 1
close

The Cart Linhay

(Ref. 976121)

Bideford, Devon Show on map

4.8

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (21)
  • lovely (18)
  • pool (17)
  • our (17)
  • well (14)
  • comfortable (13)

43 Customer Reviews

  • "It was generally a nice place, and a good jumping off point (loved the lights at Bideford on a high evening tide)."

    It probably would have been nicer if the weather had been better and we could have enjoyed sitting in the garden, especially as the views out of the property were primarily across the farmyard/ carpark, and when the curtains were open it felt a bit public. However, there was no period when we felt unwelcome or resented, being on someone else's home turf. The family information in the welcome booklet could have assumed less local knowledge, but generally it was helpful, and there was plenty of material to suggest enjoyable days out. Neither the bath nor the sofa seem designed for the larger person, we found the latter not very comfortable. Beds were very comfortable, and plenty of spare bedding etc, and thought for night-time safety was good. Plenty of crockery in the kitchen - probably too much; in common with many self-catering places, there wasn't enough cupboard space for the food we brought with us, and some items that we would never have used unless we had brought a fully stocked larder with us seemed unnecessary. Important information for future visitors would be to bring the codes of their viewing subscriptions with them. Viewing iPlayer was fine for us, but it was frustrating not to know beforehand that we could have been keeping up with other things.

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. I appreciate the comments on viewing subscriptions and we will build this into future pre arrival guest contact which is currently under review. I am glad you found the beds comfortable and I am sorry you were not able to take advantage of the garden and picnic area next to the pixie house as the weather was not very good at the end of September. The amount of kitchen equipment is always a balancing act and I agree that there is a lot of china and cutlery but the aim is to ensure that guests can have a full load in the dishwasher and still have a meal so there are two full sets as often we have a full house with families often cooking full meals and even baking cakes. When I do the annual inventory which is a winter closure job however I will look again at the way the kitchen equipment is stored to see if its possible to create more food storage space. Finally I can confirm that the bath and sofa are standard size so I am sorry you didn't find the sofa comfortable. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.1Sep 2023

  • "Fabulous stay, thank you - everything we needed and more!"

    Thank you for your comments. It was lovely to meet you all and we hope to see you again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Victoria5.0Sep 2023

  • "Property was as described comfortable and clean in a lovely location , heated pool a great addition would have been good to use in morning although understand why this is not possible."

    Thanks for your review. I am really surprised about your comments regarding the pool. It is always open and available for 6 hours a day and as we explain in the information file and on the sign next to the entrance (with a phone number and email address) it is also available at any other time if guests ask the evening before . We are also around and about the yard every day and are happy to help. The only reason we no longer open automatically at 10 is due to a general lack of demand as most guests prefer to use it after lunch and keeping the solar cover on for longer means the pool is warmer when its used however it is available from 10 or even earlier (for pre breakfast swimmers) every day if we know its wanted. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Chris4.7Aug 2023

  • "In my opinion the pool is closed unreasonably early for a summer holiday destination - we really weren't able to use it much at all which was a real shame."

    The owner was quite combative with us about it too, we went out with our kit on not realising it was shut and she came straight at us with "ITS CLOSED! DIDN'T YOU READ THE SIGN?!". Well, no we didn't read the sign yet, because we had only just opened the door to our accommodation and set one foot outside, and we had no reason to expect the pool would already be shut on the one sunny evening of our whole holiday. When we pushed back, she claimed the problem with opening it later was that sometimes there are little kids in our accommodation and they might be asleep by 7. Well of course, there weren't any kids, because *we* were staying there, and we were going to be quiet and out of the pool probably by 8. For goodness sake, all we wanted was to have one quick swim after dinner. It was really mean to bar us from using it, and she was rude and argumentative about it from the off. I felt very put out because I spent extra on a holiday in order to get a pool, and we couldn't really use it. My daughter was very upset and the feeling of bad blood kind of spoiled the holiday for me. The beds in the second room are genuinely awful, the absolute worst we've ever had on a holiday, we ended up putting the (also very cheap and uncomfortable) mattresses on the floor. A lot of the furniture and kitchen utensils are as cheap as it's possible to buy. The TV is prehistoric and barely works, none of the smart features are functional at all. I wouldn't recommend staying there unless you REALLY want a pool and only intend to use it during the day. If you've got small kids and plan to be finished with your day by 7 maybe it'd suit you. We certainly won't be going back. The advert should be honest about the pool closing time instead of vaguely saying "10 - evening".

    Thank you for your feedback which we found very interesting. Firstly I am glad we could help you out the day after the problem you described by curtailing a family lunch with friends on receipt of your phone call to return home to let you into the cottage at a time to suit you as you had locked yourself out. Safety of guests when we provide a swimming pool and are located on a working farm is extremely important and as you know the first thing we ask guests to do is read the information file especially in relation to the pool. We also provide this information on signs located next to the pool entrance. I am so sorry that you were unable to use the pool at 8 pm two days after arrival and when you had already been in the pool on the previous evening because you had missed both the signs and the file. You were clearly upset and disappointed for the person staying with you who wanted a swim and we fully understand why but I am pleased that you were able to use it later in the week. Your suggestion that the pool should be open 24/7 as you had paid for it was not however possible to accommodate as the pool has to be covered and locked in the dark not just for safety but to ensure a comfortable temperature for guests to use during the day. I also understand your comments about the fact that different groups have different needs but when a facility is shared including with a property not immediately on site it is not possible to open at different times on different weeks especially as opening and closing is not an instant process but requires safety checks etc, the availability of a member of the family and hours of daylight change over the season. We are more than happy to open the pool early and keep the pool open in the evening when there is adequate daylight on request or if guests are already in the pool as explained in the file and on the signs and we provide contact details for this purpose as well as being out and about on the farm during the day so someone is always available to speak to. The second issue you have raised is surprising when compared to the comments of other guests. I am sorry that you found genuine antique furniture, Cintique chairs, a Visprung mattress, Portmerion china and Viners cutlery cheap but in light of this comment I will review everything as part of the annual inventory check and arrange for the mattresses to be independently assessed for comfort. I am also sorry you had issues with the TV which was checked as part of our comfort and safety check before your arrival. If you had mentioned it at anytime during your stay then we would have been happy to check it out again or even provide an alternative television if necessary. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dave2.5Jul 2023

  • "We felt sorry for the beige carpet and despite our best efforts and changing our shoes at the door, it still managed to get dirty."

    We vacuumed before we left and it recovered quite well. Not ideal for a working farm! Perhaps a hard floor and some rugs when it it replaced? We found the shower very bijou especially if your mobility is not very good. I do not know what could be done except to get rid of the bath, but that would not please everyone. Overall the place was very nice.

    Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. Although the carpet is very forgiving and cleans very easily we do intend to replace it with a hard floor hopefully over the winter. I hope the shower wasn't too challenging but we had to use exisitng walls when we did the conversion and this mean't that to be able to accommodate a shower and a bath the shower had to be fairly small. We did consider removing the bath for a larger shower when the room was totally refurbished but many guests especially in the summer have very small children for whom a bath is so much simpler to use and a bath over a shower is hopeless if there are any mobility issues as well. In these old buildings it's always a compromise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jean5.0Jun 2023

  • "Our third visit and certainly not disappointed, as always really clean comfortable accommodation."

    The swimming pool was certainly welcome as we enjoyed the Devon sunshine. Rosie enjoyed her visit in the secure garden. The hosts as always on hand but discreet.

    We are so pleased you had another enjoyable holiday and look forward to seeing you all next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2023

  • "My Wife and I had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay and the hosts were very helpful ."

    David

    We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday. Thank you for taking the time to give feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2023

  • "A stunning base to explore a beautiful part of the country."

    Everything you need is here. Wouldn't hesitate to book again

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark5.0May 2023

  • "Very clean and tidy cottage."

    Well equipped kitchen and bathroom. Situated on a working farm with friendly but unobtrusive owners. I would certainly recommend it for a peaceful North Devon break

    We are so glad you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Apr 2023

  • "Very spacious and comfortable."

    Thank you for your comments Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Sep 2022

  • "Clean, comfortable and quiet."

    Great location, friendly owners, the Pool was a great asset for the Boys who could not wait to get in when we returned from the beaches in the evening. Would thoroughly recommend and will return. Thanks for a great week

    Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We are very glad you had a great stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Jul 2022

  • "Lovely cottage with everything you need for a relaxed stay."

    Swimming pool was a real bonus.

    We are really pleased you had an enjoyable holiday and liked the pool Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Jul 2022

  • "The property is located just outside Bideford which itself is a nice town."

    The Cart Linhay is a well equipped and lovely place to stay and close to a lot of North Devon’s coastal resorts. The owners are really nice and made us feel very welcome and my wife enjoyed the outside pool. In hindsight, the only thing I would have changed was the week we went as the week after we returned home a heatwave struck the UK. As a place to stay I would highly recommend it for an enjoyable and relaxing stay.

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Jun 2022

  • "Perfect place to stay, very comfortable cottage, central location, just a short drive to beaches and many places of interest."

    We felt welcomed and the owners were very friendly. Swimming pool a definite bonus. highly recommend. Thank you

    Thank you for your very positive feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mike5.0Jun 2022

  • "Second stay at this lovely cottage."

    Beds really comfortable, everything clean and tidy. Enclosed garden great for our little yorkie, although the sheep might not have been so keen about her. The use of the pool was good in the hot weather, thankyou. Will certainly be looking to book again.

    Thank you very much for your comments. It was lovely to see you all again and look forward to seeing you in 2023 Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2022

  • "A great week and comfortable stay!"

    thank you.

    Very nice to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Thanks for the positive feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Benjamin5.0May 2022

  • "Very quiet comfy cottage."

    Owners very helpful. Very easy to look after. My husband has some physical issues and he coped very well. Loved the near by villages on the estuaries. Easy walking , quiet, and pretty. Didn’t have to drive far all week.

    Lovely to hear that the cottage suited your needs and hope to see you again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jenny5.0May 2022

  • "Lovely place would highly recommend and lovely hosts too :-)"

    Thank you very much for your lovely feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jan 2022

  • "We had a wonderful stay in the cottage."

    Our dog loved the walled garden and the cottage was beautifully appointed and very comfortable... We felt very much 'at home and will definately visit again soon.

    Thank you very much got your lovely comments We look forward to seeing you again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mike5.0Oct 2021

  • "The cottage is lovely situated off the busy farmyard."

    It was fitted out with nearly everything you might need, except, and this is only a little thing, no storage or hooks to hang coats etc especially after a wet walk! The cream carpet was a bit scary with a dog, wellies and muddy farmyard, but fortunately we brought towels that we could lay over the carpet at the front and back door. It was advertised as dog friendly but on a farm of 100 acres there was not one area that you were allowed to let your dog off the lead. So we were disappointed that we had to drive anytime we wanted to a give our dog a run. Unfortunately for this reason we would not come back to this property.

    Thank you for your comments. We are so sorry that you were disappointed with aspects of your holiday. Our farm is split over two sites with the majority of the work taking place at the other site so although we can be busy sometimes this is by no means constant. It’s a fine balancing act to ensure the experience of staying on a working farm with the ability to see the sheep with the very occasional disruption to guests, this entails. We are always trying to improve this and as you may have noticed we are currently creating a new gateway so that in future sheep will generally not be taken through the yard but will bypass it completely. We appreciate your suggestion of putting in some additional coathooks for walking gear as this has not been suggested before. We have now installed these and also put a boot box outside so that guest do not have to bring muddy boots indoors if they don't wish to. I am sorry that you did not feel comfortable with the cream carpet, but we find the integrated scuff mats work very well and the carpet itself is bleachable, so cleaning is not really an issue. The yard being concrete also helps although it can get muddy in some places in heavy rain. Finally you have raised concerns about whether we are dog friendly. We hope all guests including canine ones have a good time and the Cart Linhay and a number of our other cottages have large, enclosed gardens with additional access to over 100 acres for dogs on a lead, a huge bonus. Dogs however find livestock especially sheep fascinating and nationally injury to sheep and lambs even if caused by a friendly dog chasing a pregnant ewe is a huge issue. Indeed, we as a family have suffered a number of dog attacks from dogs who have not been on a lead resulting in some cases with the sheep having to be put down. The last thing we would want is for a guests pet to be involved in one of these incidents. Neither would we wish a pet to be injured should they choose to ‘play’ with a ram. They in particular will stand their ground and frequently weigh as much as a full grown man. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jeanette3.8Oct 2021

  • "Lovely cottage with secure rear garden for our dog."

    Comfortable furnishings and well kept. Lucky to be able to make use of the pool. Well organised in terms of Covid.

    Reviewed by David5.0Sep 2021

  • "The property has a great location for the lovely beaches in North Devon and the swimming pool was a great hit with the kids and adequately heated for all to enjoy."

    Reviewed by Jeremy4.1Aug 2021

  • "Fabulous location and farmer Richard is very accommodating."

    The farm is gorgeous, loads of sheep everywhere but they're not really noisy at all. We had our own enclosed garden with picnic bench and washing line for our use. The pool was warm all week. The location is perfect for getting out and about although you do really need a car.

    Reviewed by Alexis5.0Jul 2021

  • "Ideal location, owners very friendly and helpful, enclosed garden was excellent, Flossie the dog loved it even though she was distracted now and again by sheep coming to the gate, all good fun, all in all a very enjoyable week in The Cart Linhay, the weather was very good, really lovely area of Devon, the huge beach at Instow was great fun, would highly recommend this cottage."

    Pete, Maggie and Flossie the Cavalier King Charles Spaniel

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Jun 2021

  • "We had a lovely holiday staying at Cart Lynhay a beautiful cottage on a farm, everything was spotless, nice comfortable beds, lovely lawned garden for our dog to roam around in and not too far from lovely beaches, we also enjoyed the great swimming pool which was very clean."

    Would definitely book another holiday at Cart Lynhay.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jun 2021

  • "Had a lovely week at Pillhead Farm Good facilities Everyone throughly enjoyed themselves even the dog!"

    Reviewed by Helen4.7May 2021

  • "The cottage was clean, well appointed and, for us, a perfect location."

    We love the country and to be in amongst the sheep, the farm, the lovely countryside and seeing how hard everyone worked on the farm was a great experience. The owners were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They even apologised for the noise of the tractor passing by! It is a farm after all! We loved it and hope we can come again.

    Reviewed by David5.0Apr 2021

  • "It would have been helpful to have an “information” printed sheet with where nearest food shop was, veterinary practice/phone no."

    Doctors/phone no.as has been in other holiday let’s.I know the owners lived next door,but were busy farming. Also the bed linen on the double bed had very obviously come straight out of the dryer and put on the bed in its exceedingly creased state, not nice at all. Otherwise the cottage was beautifully fitted out and very clean and cosy. We would book again.

    Thank you very much for your comments, we’re really pleased to hear how much you liked The Cart Linhay and that you had a good stay. We’ve spoken with the owners about the points you mentioned and they have asked us to pass on that they are very sorry you were disappointed not to find a file giving you details of the local doctors etc. Since the start of the pandemic they felt that this high usage item was an unnecessary risk to guests. They are disappointed that this affected your holiday though as it was simple to remedy and if you had only mentioned it to them, they would have been more than happy to make this available to you. They are also concerned that you felt that the bedding hadn’t been ironed but merely taken out of the tumble drier and put on the bed. They don’t use a drier for bedding for environmental reasons (unless there is absolutely no option) and can confirm that every single item of bedding in all the cottages is ironed in house using a Blanco press. The majority of the bedding is Egyptian cotton and whilst it’s beautiful to sleep in, it’s not always easy to get a smooth surface when ironed if it’s gotten too dry on the line. We’re really glad to see you’d be happy to book again and we look forward to welcoming again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barbara4.7Apr 2021

  • "An excellent choice of accommodation as we had a disabled person with us."

    Cottage was very well equipted and at the present time we all felt very safe and comfortable there.

    Reviewed by Pauline5.0Oct 2020

  • "Good for my husband as he has mobility problems."

    Felt very safe in the present circumstances

    Reviewed by Jennie5.0Sep 2020

  • "Thanks again for a great stay, cottage was perfect."

    I’d recommend having some fly spray or strips available in the house but otherwise everything was accounted for. Pool was very cold but got to use it a couple of times despite not amazing weather which was great. We really enjoyed our stay and will highly recommend to others. Thanks.

    Reviewed by Chris4.4Aug 2020

  • "I couldn't fault the cottage it was a lovely quite place in the countryside, but not far to go to get to shops"

    Reviewed by Shaun5.0Aug 2020

  • "A great place to spend a holiday."

    The cottage was really nice with it’s own garden and the pool was a bonus. The cottage was fully equipped for all our needs and with a good instruction book detailing how to use the household equipment. It is a working farm but there was never any problems with noise os access and the owners took the time to have a chat. I would recommend this cottage for a good relaxing holiday.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Aug 2019

  • "The property Cart Linhay is second to none."

    The owners are extremely friendly, the location is to die for, the facilities are incredible and the weather was sensational. Can’t praise it enough

    Reviewed by Wayne5.0Jul 2019

  • "We found the holiday cottage to be well appointed with everything you need whilst on holiday plus it is in a good location for touring N."

    Devon. The owners were very helpful, friendly and supplied cup cakes and milk for our arrival.

    Reviewed by John5.0Jun 2019

  • "I loved the location of the property and that it had a swimming pool."

    I only marked down on comfort as found the sofa a little uncomfortable but that may have been me. It was very well equipped cottage and overall was home from home. Our dog also approved of the garden. The owner, Richard and his wife were also very welcoming. It was so good that we will definitely return.

    Reviewed by Lisa4.7May 2019

  • "Was very impressed that items such as kitchen roll,toilet rolls, dishwasher tablets and washing machine powder all available in cottage and how clean it all was!"

    Reviewed by Penny5.0Apr 2019

  • "This is our second stay at Cart Linhay, and we were pleased to find it in a similar condition to as we left it, that is excellent."

    Reviewed by David5.0Mar 2019

  • "This is a lovely place."

    Simple and unfussy but perfect for up-to 4 people who would like to be somewhere in the South West that has great access to main roads but is also be quiet and properly rural. A quiet country lane and yet a large Tescos not 1 mile away - very convenient. All facilities were present and well kept - the kitchen was well equipped, we enjoyed some of the DVDs, the bathroom was smart and clean and the pool warmed and cared for. Farmer Hill is a friendly farmer (as is Mrs. Hill), which isn't always a farmer attribute. Visitors should be aware this is an operating farm, with sheep and sheep emissions - but it really wasn't that intrusive. The main room is pet-friendly so if you're not a fan of other peoples dog's smell on chairs perhaps pack your Febreeze. There's no bed like your own bed, but it wasn't so bad really. Thank you Mrs. & Farmer Hill. Enjoy your time in Devon!

    Reviewed by Stephen4.4Jul 2018

  • "We love this place, it has everything we need, the people are lovely and nothing is too much trouble."

    We have stayed here before so it met expectations but if it was the first time it would’ve exceeded expectations!

    Reviewed by Sarah4.4Jul 2018

  • "This cottage is great for those looking for a rural retreat but with good access to amenities (Tesco circa 10 minute drive) and beaches (Westwood Ho!"

    circa 15 mins drive). The farm is a working farm with sheep (and lambs when we visited), ducks and chickens, which adds to the appeal. The cottage is simply laid out but well equipped and the enclosed garden a real bonus for the dog (or small children). You're free to roam the farm fields which made for some lovely evening walks with great views across the valley. Richard and his wife are on site should you need any help - they're super friendly and welcoming, but also give you space to enjoy your break. We didn't use the pool but I could imagine this being fab fun in the summer. Overall this cottage ticked all our boxes and we would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Adrian4.7Jun 2018

  • "The Cart Linhay is very comfortable and well equipped."

    The Hill family are very friendly and Richard too time on our arrival to show us the accommodation and how everything worked. The photos on the web site are accurate. We were very lucky with the weather, had it been wet I would worry about the beige carpet. We had a lovely time.

    Reviewed by David5.0May 2018

  • "Richard was warm and welcoming and showed us around the property on arrival, explaining everything that we needed to know, before leaving us to it."

    The cottage was lovely and clean and we were welcomed with delicious homemade cupcakes. The garden was perfect for our small children and dog, as there was enough room for them to run around but it was secure so that none could escape! The owners have stocked the cottage really well so that there was never a time that we needed anything that wasn't available. Beds were all super comfy and we all slept very well. The cottage is close to local amenities and a short distance from loads of great days out and attractions. A super little place that we hope to return to in the future.

    Reviewed by Zoe5.0Mar 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday

Summary

  • One level
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, separate shower, WC, basin
  • Sitting room with dining area
  • Kitchen
  • Central heating
  • Microwave, fridge, washer-dryer, dishwasher, TV with DVD, WiFi, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent (bath and hand towels provided, not bath sheets), please bring your own towels for the beach and pool
  • Cot and highchair available on request
  • Off road parking for two cars
  • Enclosed garden with outdoor heated pool
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome, £20 per dog per week, sorry no cats
  • No smoking
  • Note: Outdoor heated swimming pool, shared with other properties on-site, (15' x 30' x 4' to 5' deep) with paddling pool (10' x 9' x 1'6" deep), available from the Friday immediately preceding the last bank holiday in May to the first Friday in September, 10am-evening
  • Note: Check-in time is 5pm
  • Note: Due to swimming pool, children must be supervised at all times
  • Note: There is no smoking allowed onsite except within the designated smoking area
  • Note: Unfortunately electric cars cannot be charged on site but there is a charging point 4 minutes drive away (Tesco)

The property

On a 130 acre working sheep farm on the side of a valley two miles from Bideford is this single storey cottage, one of four converted from barns.

With extensive grounds and a shared seasonal outdoor pool, this is welcoming accommodation for families.

Head up a couple of steps into your sitting room, a relaxing space with TV, a dining table and a door to the garden.

The kitchen is well equipped for preparing delicious meals from fresh Devon produce.

The two bedrooms are light and bright and share the smart family bathroom.

Outside is the brilliant outdoor pool, solar heated and with a handy paddling pool for the little ones.

When you've done your lengths, stretch out on the sun terrace loungers whilst the children play in the orchard.

Enjoy alfresco meals in the private enclosed garden to the side of the cottage which has great valley views.

Beyond the cottages are paddocks to roam on this traditional working farm.

You can also walk or cycle on the fabulous car-free Tarka Trail starting from Instow, or why not catch the boat from Bideford to Lundy Island?

Bideford is an interesting old town to explore, with its pannier market and heritage railway, or maybe try some bird watching along the picturesque Torridge estuary.

Pop your boards in the car and head to Westward Ho! beach to catch some waves and there are more excellent surfing beaches at Saunton and Woolacombe.

The Cart Linhay is a characterful cottage on a lovely old farm with great coast nearby.

Pillhead Farm

This pretty group of five cottages, all but one with its own private sunny garden - the perfect spot to enjoy an alfresco supper or a lazy breakfast whilst you plan your day, is in rural North Devon at Pillhead Farm, a working sheep farm. The cottages have been furnished to a very good standard providing the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of life and the ideal location to make some glorious holiday memories. The beach is just three miles away, whilst the shop and restaurant are located within 1 mile; these properties can be booked together to accommodate up to 23 guests. Outside you will discover 130-acres of extensive, natural grounds and a fabulous heated swimming pool and a small separate pool designed for the toddlers all set around a sunny terrace with loungers. The pretty beach at Instow is just 3 miles away, or the wide golden sandy beach of Westward Ho! which is popular with surfers is 4 miles away. Walkers can join the coastal path, or alternatively, cycle or walk the famous Tarka Trail which passes close by. The delightful port town of Bideford has a good selection of town amenities and a weekly market. Garden lovers will appreciate the nearby RHS Rosemoor and Docton Mill. There really is something for all the family to explore, including The Ultimate Adventure Centre, The Big Sheep and The Milky Way adventure parks, not to be missed. Take a boat trip to the nature reserve at Lundy Island, or uncover many of the fishing villages, including nearby Clovelly (National Trust), and Hartland.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

BIDEFORD

Westward Ho! 3.3 miles; Appledore 3.7 miles; Instow 4.1 miles; Clovelly 11.4 miles; Saunton Sands 16.8 miles; Bude 25.3 miles.

Bideford is an historic maritime town on the River Torridge in North Devon. There has been a settlement at Bideford for over a thousand years and it has been an important port throughout its history. Today, Bideford is a thriving town with a fine selection of shops (including individual shops), cafes and restaurants, a park and the Atlantic Village Outlet Shopping Centre located on the outskirts of the town. Bideford is in a fantastic location to explore the surrounding area. It is just a few miles from Westward Ho!, which is dominated by two miles of spectacular coastline and proudly retains the prestigious Blue Flag award year upon year. Its sandy beach, backed by a unique pebble ridge, attracts visitors from all over the country and offers fantastic bathing and watersport activities. Just beyond the pebble ridge is Northam Burrows Country Park, which lies in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and has 253 hectares of grassy coastal plain with salt marsh, sand dunes and grasslands. The country park is also home to England's oldest golf course. The South West Coastal Path and the famous traffic-free Tarka Trail are close by, providing magnificent walking and cycling opportunities. The award-winning Big Sheep all weather family attraction and the Ultimate Adventure Centre are approximately a mile down the road, with the Atlantic Village Outlet Shopping Centre and Supermarket a couple of miles away. The delightful quayside village of Appledore and the pretty beach at Instow are both just over three miles away, whilst the traditional market town of Barnstaple is just ten miles away, and the picturesque fishing village of Clovelly, with its quaint cobbled streets, is eleven miles away. The North Devon coast also boasts numerous outstanding beaches, many within easy reach, including those found at Instow, Saunton Sands, Croyde, Woolacombe and Bude. This is an area of breathtaking beauty, with plenty to see and do for all ages.

View more holiday cottages in Bideford

Note: Seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool and paddling pool, available from the Friday immediately preceding the last bank holiday in May to the first Friday in September.

Note: Unfortunately electric cars cannot be charged on site but there is a charging point 4 minutes drive away (Tesco)

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter