In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 26 View Image Gallery
  • 24 Burgh Island Causeway - Devon - 976264 - photo 1


Ground Floor

Kitchen Hall Dining Area Living Room Balcony Double Bedroom Ensuite Bathroom Twin Bedroom



24 Burgh Island Causeway

(Ref. 976264)

Bigbury-on-Sea, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Sauna
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • apartment (31)
  • lovely (21)
  • well (20)
  • bed (19)
  • our (16)
  • location (15)

55 Customer Reviews

  • "Really lovely apartment with fantastic views, very relaxing and great to have the pool, restaurant and also the lovely welcome pack, thank you so much!"

    We have stayed at this apartment twice and had 2 really lovely relaxing weeks with great walks, the dog loves it too, sitting on the balcony if not on the beach! : ) There is a small supermarket shop at the Holiday Park in Challaborough (a short walk away) although the prices are quite expensive as you would expect, being the only food shop in walking distance. The only personal gripes were the new settees, not very comfy if you wanted to 'lounge' around, the en-suite bathroom in the double room is a bit 'tight' (but lovely none the less) the other bathroom definitely has a certain 'aroma' though has been done out beautifully, the double bed is a small double and if you prefer a certain type of pillow then I would suggest you bring your own, as preferences vary ; )

    Reviewed by Terence4.7Apr 2024

  • "Excellent location and fantastic appartment."

    We felt Very much like this was a home from home and enjoyed our stay tremendously. Please note the advisory on the shower not draining as this may cause water damage if it gets worse and from a safetfy view please fix the chairs in the dining room as quite a few are loose and falling apart. By no means did these two thing detract from our lovely stay at Burgh Island Causeway

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback following your stay at 24 Burgh Island. We have spoken to the owners who are currently staying at the property, who have advised they have had no issues with the shower not draining/overflowing, however to ensure future guests have the best holiday experience possible a maintenance man is due to visit to apply a lip across the entrance to the shower which will in effect put a stop to any water overflowing into the bathroom. The chairs have also been looked at and whilst they are not 'falling apart' the seats have been professionally tightened and secured to the chair frames. Despite the points raised we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Heidi5.0Mar 2024

  • "As commented on by some previous visitors the single beds were not very comfortable and the double bed would have been better as a king size,."

    The shower tended to overflow.

    Reviewed by Peter4.7Mar 2024

  • "We had a wonderful time but a few things could be better."

    A bigger bed with a firmer mattress would be appreciated. The bedroom window is locked and we couldn’t find a key. This meant we couldn’t open the window and we always sleep with a window slightly open. The room became stuffy and we didn’t sleep too well. The oven needs cleaning. A shower curtain or screen in the twin bedroom en suite would be helpful. When we arrived we found staining across the bedroom carpet. When we read the visitors book we discovered that the previous occupants had had a problem with an overflowing shower so assume this to be a water stain. We reported it to sykes cottages and they dealt with the problem quickly. Thank you for that and to the owner for refunding us £25. Apart from the issues mentioned above we found the apartment lovely and it is one of the best equipped places we have ever stayed in.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. We are glad that you had a good time. It does state on the website that the bed is a double bed. The mattress is a relatively new mattress and several people have commented on it being too firm, beds are a matter of preference, so difficult to find one that suits everybody. We have asked our housekeeper to take a look at the oven. We will purchase a shower curtain for the shower in the twin bedroom ensuite and will fit it when we are next at the apartment. We are glad that you enjoyed the apartment. It is in a very special location with amazing views. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carole4.1Mar 2024

  • "Entrance door needs attention but woul stay here again as was a great holiday"

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. The main entrance door to the apartment block is part of the ongoing maintenance schedule for the apartments and is due to be painted soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Frank4.1Feb 2024

  • "Wow wow wow!"

    !! Everything was amazing! The apartment is incredible, super comfy bed, well stocked kitchen, lovely bath and shower facilities. Even stocked with toiletries! The area is also outstanding! We loved a walk on the beach each day and plenty of places to drive to if you fancy a day out. We will definitely be back. And thank you for the treats on arrival.

    Reviewed by Charlotte5.0Dec 2023

  • "Second year we've stayed here and we're just as besotted with it as we were the first time."

    Excellently equipped and stunning location.

    Reviewed by Adrian5.0Nov 2023

  • "The double bed was very uncomfortable so we slept in the other bedroom which had two single beds ."

    This was disappointing as the second bedroom was not so nicely furnished.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. The double bed has a medium/ firm mattress and is only a few years old. We appreciate mattresses are a matter of personal preference and that they won’t always suit everyone. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lance4.1Nov 2023

  • "We have stayed in several of the properties at the causeway but this year we have also acquired a dog."

    This was one of the best we have stayed in. Clean and was lovely. The only criticism would be the beds which could be a bit more comfortable and a bigger one in the main bedroom. We all loved it and so did our dog Winnie. Thank you also for the welcome gifts

    Reviewed by Helen4.1Sep 2023

  • "The view is excellent."

    The apartment is well equipped and the bathrooms are nice. The cake, wine and pint of milk on arrival were a nice surprise and appreciated. The only downside was the master bedroom. The bed is a double and my husband is 6ft and I'm 5ft8. It was a struggle to sleep well. A king-size bed would fit if chest of drawers and one bedside cabinet removed as plenty of space in the wardrobe for clothes. Otherwise, a lovely apartment.

    Reviewed by Alan4.1Sep 2023

  • "The shower in the en suite of main bedroom drained on to the shower room floor so we only used it once."

    We used shower in the bathroom but this was awkward as there was no shower curtain or shower screen.

    Reviewed by Pamela3.8Aug 2023

  • "Arrived 23rd June 2023 and left 6th July 2023."

    Since our first visit to this apartment it has had a makeover and it has a wonderful homely feel with all mod cons and we really did not want to leave after a fortnight there. It was great to sit on the balcony during first week as part of the heatwave, the second week not so hot but still relaxing sitting on the balcony. Where else could you relax like you can here and also went home with a lovely tan that you would find hard to beat even abroad. It was so quiet you hardly knew anyone else was there and this suited us down to the ground. Did very little during the fortnight and did not feel the need to do so in such a lovely appointment, but this was what appealed to us when booking - a completely stress free environment. Our Yorkshire Terrier loved the beach and so did we without having to walk too far and he too appeared to sulk when we had to leave to go home. Felt very safe in the gated complex even after midnight when taking our Yorkie for his last walk before bed around the car parking area. We look forward to returning hopefully next year. The bottle of wine and cake were a lovely touch and not expected. All in all very difficult to fault. Colin.

    Reviewed by Colin4.7Jun 2023

  • "A great all round experience"

    Reviewed by Sonja5.0Jun 2023

  • "Lovely apartment, pictures don’t do it justice."

    Perfect for our needs. We have stayed many times in a few of these apartments over the years and they are always top class. Views are always stunning come rain or shine. Small pool was closed, but not the owners fault and I’ve never known it happen before (except covid). Lovely private cafe on site which is perfect for our needs. Matt and Brian are always very helpful with their menu. Booked again for next year already. Big thanks to the owners.

    Reviewed by Annette5.0May 2023

  • "The apartment was superb and a credit to the owners with a wonderful view from the balcony."

    There are two parking spaces rather than the one advertised which had I known would have saved me an extra 130 mile drive. Gripes, I understand the swimming pool was out of order during our visit and unless you booked ahead for the café with a very limited evening meal menu you have no chance. given there was only one person doing the cooking and serving this left empty tables unavailable. I feel rather mean with those two gripes because they let down a wonderful apartment in a fantastic position. Would I book again? ABSOLUTLY

    Reviewed by John4.4May 2023

  • "Well done to the cleaners , never stayed in such a spotless property before."

    particularly the bathrooms. Overall we had a great time , the apartment had everything we wanted. If I was being super critical the tv was not a smart tv and the apple link which was mentioned needed you to have an apple account , but hey who wants to watch tv when you have such super views. We will return

    Reviewed by David5.0Apr 2023

  • "The location was lovely."

    The apartment is well appointed, equipped and spacious. Parking and amenities were spot on. However, the double bed was uncomfortable which meant one of the other single beds had to be used, this too was uncomfortable and too low. The bedding was below the standard expected ie old, musty and unpleasant. The pillows were without support and felt grimy. All of which meant sleeping was an unpleasant experience. We left one day earlly.

    Reviewed by Penny3.1Apr 2023

  • "The apartment has good facilities which were appreciated and some nice finishing touches."

    The dishwasher was extremely old and none of the buttons worked so it was permanently set to a wash which we were not sure of. The cupboards were not cleaned properly on arrival and other areas were not cleaned to a professional standard. The worst part was the bed in the main bedroom - this was so uncomfortable we had to leave after 5 nights ( booked for 7) as we could not face another night with no sleep- a massive disappointment as we came away extremely tired and stressed which was supposed to be a relaxing holiday.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are very sorry to hear of the issues you raise, which are in stark contrast to many other positive reviews we’ve received for the property. As you’ll see to date, comments on the properties cleanliness have been complimentary. We’ve spoken to the owner who disputes your statement on cleanliness and feel these comments are unfair and unjustified. Beds are personal preference and we are sorry you found them uncomfortable, again not something that has been mentioned previously. The owner takes their letting of number 24 very seriously and they pride themselves on giving good holiday experiences – this is reflected in the feedback we have received and we have every confidence this will continue to be the case moving forward. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jason2.8Apr 2023

  • "We are all over 6 toot tall ."

    We loved the flat and the facilities particularly the cooking provision. The design choices fitted in really well with the art deco setting. I liked the low lights in the bathroom which were on a movement sensor. Everything was clean and fresh. I would have liked a couple of brighter lights in the main living room but the lighting was very pretty. We would have liked bigger beds because of our height. We have booked another flat in the complex for next year with King size beds, but that’s the only reason we didn’t book the same flat for next year.

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Feb 2023

  • "Beautiful apartment with an even lovelier view."

    I don't think we've ever stayed in a better equipped or furnished holiday let than this one - they even had dog bowls and throwy ball things as well as coffee, olive oil, salt and pepper (all usually absent) and many other things we've come to accept in the past we need to buy ourselves. A delicious cake and bottle of wine on arrival was even more welcome and the two dogs loved their morning beach walkies (runs, chases, eating seaweed, etc). We particularly liked the enclosed car park so we could walk the bogs in the dark evenings in 'private' and feel safe. The view was second to none, especially when you consider that the Burgh Island Hotel guests only got to look back at us whereas we had a 100% better view. If they'd have us we'd definitely love to stay again. We left saying how great it would be to spend the Christmas break there but sadly that'll have to wait for another year or so.

    Reviewed by Adrian5.0Nov 2022

  • "Well equipped and comfortable."

    We love the location in the complex - best view and easy to get bags from the car park. The bed linen is very tired - we have stayed at least twice before at this apartment and the only thing letting it down is duvet covers with fastenings missing (accept that only looks scruffy) and also rather rough and “pilly”. Otherwise, we love it and appreciate being able to take our dog.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will be replacing the bedding in the new year, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Denise4.4Nov 2022

  • "The apartment has everything you need for a comfortable holiday we particularly appreciated the coffee maker and Apple TV."

    There are plenty of opportunities for windy walks from the door returning to read on the balcony and enjoy the wonderful view. We had a lovely stay, thank you.

    Reviewed by Scott5.0Oct 2022

  • "Extremely well furnished and decorated apartment ."

    Both bathrooms were amazing. Only thing in shower water runs over the edge of shower floor and that makes floor very wet. The only other thing was there wasn’t a smart tv and did think there should be one. Other than that couldn’t praise and recommend the apartment more.

    Reviewed by Sylvia4.7Oct 2022

  • "Our 4th time staying at 24 Burgh Island."

    It is our favourite place to completely chill and enjoy the view

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Oct 2022

  • "Excellent apartment - we’ve stayed there before more than once."

    We think kitchen facilities could be better: eg kitchen scales and egg cups. One or two casserole dishes? An extra hour in the morning to clear out on the day of departure- especially when it involves elderly people, children or pets - would be really helpful.

    Reviewed by Robin4.4Sep 2022

  • "Loved the property and the Decor."

    Lots of lovely touches like the complimentary toiletries and coffee machine, also the welcome bottle of wine and cake. Just a couple of things that could improve it. Really needs a knife block. Had to rummage around the utensil drawer looking for one and there were lots of sharp knives just loose with the other utensils. The other thing was the bed linen felt really rough and bobbly. Not sure what composition it was but don’t think it was cotton. Other than that the property was great and really enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Julia4.1Sep 2022

  • "Lovely apartment, elegant interiors but very comfortable & dog friendly, especially the wood floors v the sandy paws."

    It would be good to have had cushions for the balcony chairs. The housekeeping is superb. Well done all, I’ll be back.

    Reviewed by Sonja5.0Jun 2022

  • "View and location spectacular."

    Feel as if we have been in a bubble of sea, sand and sky for a week! Apartment clean, comfortable (although beds are small) and well equipped kitchen. Shower wonderful but not taken with the decor in the bathroom or the colour scheme in the living room.

    Reviewed by Josephine3.8Jun 2022

  • "We had a fabulous time and the property was superb We have booked for next year Thanks Tony"

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0May 2022

  • "An amazing apartment - everything we needed, great location and incredible views!"

    Perfect place for a restful break away.

    Reviewed by Bruce4.1Apr 2022

  • "A lovely, well appointed property and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay."

    Very clean, cosy and warm, although for most of the week we were blessed with beautiful weather for the time of year. Loved the shower room ! Really hope to be back before too long. Thank you

    Reviewed by Maureen5.0Mar 2022

  • "Great property and great location."

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Oct 2021

  • "No mattress protector on the double bed."

    The bed linen was not nice and crisp it was really dated. Will also send a photograph of the apartment when we arrived.

    Reviewed by Garry3.1Sep 2021

  • "Very helpful on-site employees - caretaker and cleaning services"

    Reviewed by C J4.4Jul 2021

  • "Apartment was large, comfortable and well furnished although perhaps not to everyones taste!"

    Superb views over the causeway, beach and Burgh Island. Two bedrooms, one quite small, both have en-suite bathrooms which was very nice. Kitchen was very well appointed and had everything that you could possibly need. Overall the complex was very good with designated car parking spaces. The swimming pool was a little small but a nice change from the cold sea! For those not familiar with the area, the road off the main road is very narrow in places which, is an experience. Really enjoyed our stay, we would happily stay again.

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Jun 2021

  • "Sykes are quite the most shambolic un-customer friendly company I have ever dealt with."

    Apt 24 is very tired and needs updating. I feel sorry for the owners because the are paying for cleaning and maintenance and its simply not happening

    Thank you for completing your feedback. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with our service. We have spoken with the owner regarding the points you raised who did not understand the issues you encountered as no reports were made to her during your stay, had she been notified of any issues she would have been more than happy to try and rectify them for you. You will see from all previous feedback that the owner prides herself in providing a spotless property with consistent good reviews. Despite the points raised we are pleased to see you have booked this apartment again for the next 2 years and look forward to welcoming you back to number 24. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine2.2May 2021

  • "The fantastic view!"

    being able to sit outside on the balcony and the beautiful furnishings inside the apartment, they show that the owners have lovingly furnished the apartment, such a joy to stay here and would book to go back again this year if there was any vacancies, but as with all lovely places like this they get booked up very quickly! Also having the pool to ourselves via a booking system was superb plus the little cafe serving all manner of yummy goodies. This is a real gem of a place, all credit to the owners and the management company.

    Reviewed by Terence5.0May 2021

  • "We had a nice time albeit dreadful weather and facilities being closed (gymn and pool) and the restaurant closed on Wednesday due to the November lockdown."

    The closure of facilities was compensated with 20% discount which it was reasonable but nothing was offered for the restaurant closure or having to leave earlier due to lockdown. Instead we were advised we could stay and finish the holidays. Location is very good, views outstanding, comfort good, would have loved to reschedule the remaining days to add to a further week in the future if given the option.

    Reviewed by Consuelo3.1Oct 2020

  • "It was unfortunate that the pool and gym were closed as together with the pet friendly listing this was a major consideration for choosing the site."

    Luckily the weather compensated and other exercise could be taken. The site is very well appointed even if the car park allocations are somewhat bizarre, so much so that despite the uncertainty with the current health crisis we have rebooked for April next year.

    Reviewed by Mark4.4Sep 2020

  • "Property was the high quality we expected with outstanding view over the beach and Birgh Island."

    Rooms were spacious with every appliance you have at home. Security was reassuring with gated parking area and Door entry systems To the block of apartments. Lovely quiet atmosphere and got really lucky with the weather considering we had two weeks towards the end of September. Not ideal for anyone wanting nightlife as Property was miles from anywhere with narrow country lanes to drive through but we loved it and will return in the future. Colin and Nicola Hill.

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Sep 2020

  • "I was very pleased to see that you pro-actively gave a 20% discount due to the COVID restrictions on gym and pool."

    Your approach was very welcome especially that we didn’t have to ask for a discount, you gave it pro-actively. This shows a high regard to customer care and Created huge goodwill with us. We will be booking with helpful holidays again soon !

    Reviewed by Gary4.1Aug 2020

  • "Lovely apartment in the most idyllic location."

    The apartment is well equipped. Lots of space and lovely and quiet - hope to go again in the future.

    Reviewed by Rachel4.4Jul 2020

  • "Great apartment in a great location"

    Reviewed by Robert3.8Feb 2020

  • "Would have been good if the heating had been on when we arrived as the apartment took a while to warm up."

    Otherwise great location, well equipped, no problems.

    Reviewed by Christopher4.7Jan 2020

  • "We arrived to find a lovely cake and milk waiting for our use."

    .. a very thoughtful gesture. The Apartment is equipped with everything you would need for a lovely holiday. Very spacious lounge and kitchen. Lots of useful items in cupboards including some beach items in an outside balcony storage area. Good quality towels and bedding and nicely furnished. The Apartment was nice and warm when we arrived, there is an absolutely beautiful view of the sea and Burgh Island from the balcony which can be seen from inside the Apartment as well. There were 4 of us and each of us found it really difficult to leave!! (4 grown adults almost crying and saying "Do we have to go?!!" ) We would definitely recommend to anyone this would be a lovely place to stay. Look forward to coming back sometime when that can be arranged.

    Reviewed by G5.0Nov 2019

  • "Hi team. We have just retuned from our break at you’re lovely apartment."

    Although we both had stinking colds and the fact that it was windy and raining most of the week, there was no place we would rather of been. Very relaxing and stunning views. Thank you Cheryl and Grant.

    Reviewed by Cheryl4.7Oct 2019

  • "We have spent five weeks in this apartment since October 2018 to May 2019 and have had five or six previous visits, small jobs that required attention have not been repaired and I will detail them so that your inspectors can check when they next visit."

    ( a feedback from them to me would be very welcome). Bedroom 1.Curtains very thin and badly frayed in places,bed linen of extremely poor quality,we were left two bath towels badly frayed at the edges having requested bath sheets.Wardrobe clutter with owners belongings and doors unable to close properly very little hanging space.Bedside lights have to be turned on and off at the main switch as the cord switch was broken. Main bathroom shower fitting came off each time of using and the smell of drains in there for the whole week was obnoxious......which also filtered through to the rest of the rooms. KItchen area very dated and utensils were of poor quality,nothing was left for cleaning toilets basins shower etc.,the kitchen sink cupboard was full of junk I.e old rubber gloves paper bags etc. SItting and dining alright but well dated. Bacony furniture small wooden tables and chairs nothing to lounge on,to enjoy the most marvelous view possible. Cleaning cupboards were full of junk I.e. Three squeegy mops that didn't work no sweeping brush( that was left broken on the balcony) poor clothes airier and ironing board. 2nd bedroom.. A total disgrace wardrobe full of blankets high chair a bag of something? that prevented the door being able to be used,the beds were old and we certainly could not have invited guests to join us for the week.....curtains and linen again very mediocre. 2nd bathroom passable but very antiquated but there again the smell of drains You may wonder why we return? We love the position that it holds and also the fact that it takes dogs albeit their rate is a premium when they don't use any facilities.You will see from your records that we have booked again for next May but certainly things need to improve before that date.

    Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased that our maintenance team were able to clear the drain. We will of course check that any clutter is removed from the property and that any worn linen or towels are replaced. We are delighted that so many of our previous guests have left very kind comments after their happy holidays in our apartment, and that they have chosen to return many times. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Georgiana2.5May 2019

  • "Really good week in comfortable apartment,lovely location and nice to have a pool and cafe onsite."

    Never tire of the view from balcony,but more comfortable chairs would be a bonus

    Reviewed by Peter3.8May 2019

  • "We had a wonderful week here with our dogs."

    The view from the lounge is absolutely perfect so even when the weather wasn't good (we arrived at the same time as Storm Hannah) the view still was. It was great to be able to watch the tide and that gave us maximum time on the beach with the dogs. It took us a couple of days to find out how to get down to the facilities at the Complex and they are absolutely great. The staff there are extremely obliging. Another change we've found this year is that people are welcomed at the Pilchard as well as a result of the island being under new ownership.

    Reviewed by Kath5.0Apr 2019

  • "By far the best accommodation was have stayed in!"

    Stunning location!

    Reviewed by Pauline5.0Apr 2019

  • "Excellent apartment, more expensive than we would normally pay but we could see why and as a result spent more time in the apartment than we would have normally."

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Mar 2019

  • "Fantastic break Lovely apartment with everything you need Location and view ..."

    Fantastic break Lovely apartment with everything you need Location and view cannot be better The club facilities and on site cafe are a real bonus The cafe team made you feel very welcome Only small gripe/suggestion would be a shoe rack near front door for sandy/dirty shoes

    Reviewed by Jim4.4Feb 2019

  • "This was our fifth visit to BIC Apt."

    24 which says it all really! We love it there. The Apt is comfortable and homely and we always feel welcome. It has everything one needs on holiday however, a sun umbrella for when it is sunny all day would make the balcony more usable. The Apt has a land line telephone with an honesty box, which a very important extra as the mobile signal is almost non existent in B-o-S. The location is stunning in winter or summer. A place to refresh ones soul. The BICClub is welcoming and this year in particular we felt that it had taken on a more professional feel without losing its intimacy. The menu is good and food cooked and presented extremely well. The gym and pool are excellent. Certainly a place to unwind and come home refreshed.

    Reviewed by Lorna4.1Jun 2018

  • "Our third time to Apt 24."

    It is always lovely to go there. And the newly refurbished balcony area is excellent. A great improvement. The views are just amazing. A restorative experience.

    Reviewed by Cynthia4.4Jun 2018

  • "This apartment is very tired."

    Lots of things need updating. The lack of satellites TV is also unusual at the Causeway. I won’t use this apartment again.

    Reviewed by Christine1.9May 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday


  • One level
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with TV and en suite bathroom with bath, shower over, WC and basin, 1 x twin with en suite shower room with shower, bidet, WC and basin
  • Open plan living space with seating area, dining area, kitchen and glazed doors to balcony
  • Shared use of leisure facilities and restaurant/bar within the building.
  • Night storage heating
  • Microwave, fridge-freezer, washer-dryer, dishwasher
  • TV with DVD, Apple TV, WiFi, Phone, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available on request
  • Off road parking for one car in a reserved parking space
  • Shared use of indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome, Sorry no smoking
  • Pub less than 1 mile from property
  • Note: Check-in time 4pm
  • Note: Leisure facilities open from 10am every day (except Christmas day)
  • Note: The gym or sauna does not accept children under 14 years of age
  • Note: The club restaurant/bar is open 10am to 9pm during the High Season, reservations recommended (for all other times of the year, please contact the Leisure Centre for opening times)

The property

Apartment 24 is a top floor apartment with the fabulous views to south and west and big glass doors opening to a good sized balcony with table and chairs.

The bright, stylish open plan living space has sofas on which to relax and watch the TV, a dining area and a fitted kitchen area.

To the rear are the en suite bedrooms, comfortable and quiet.

With the beach so handy and the leisure centre and restaurant/bar to enjoy, this is an ideal coastal holiday location.

Burgh Island View Apartments

Just 20 yards from Bigbury-on-Sea's big and splendid sandy beach, looking to Burgh Island Causeway, are 29 stunning, high quality apartments, of which we let a number. Within the same building are excellent leisure facilities and a restaurant. The views over the sea to the south and west, and at low tide of a vast expanse of smooth washed yellow sand reaching to Burgh Island, are outstanding. The island's jolly pub, The Pilchard, is fun to visit (long-legged sea tractor at high tide). All the apartments, which are privately owned and individually furnished, have those sensational views, and are wonderfully light, with large, airy open-plan living/dining/kitchens and glazed doors to balconies or terraces. The smallish bedrooms, at the back (without views), have good quality en suite bath or shower-rooms. The apartment building is three-storey. Most apartments have easy access (short walk from parking and between 5 and 9 steps down to the lift). The ground floor (still high above the beach) apartments have big terraces, the first and top floor apartments have very good-sized balconies. The leisure facilities, which are free for guests to use and open from 10am every day (except Christmas Day), include a fine indoor swimming pool (40' x 20' x 4'6"), spa pool, well-equipped gym (treadmill, steps, cycles, Concept II Rower and other instruments of torture) and sauna (no children under 14 in gym or sauna). There are changing rooms, a shower and disabled loo. The Club restaurant/smart bar, is open 10am to 9pm during the High Season, reservations recommended (for all other times of the year, please contact the Leisure Centre for opening times), serves excellent food throughout the day, with a popular dinner menu which varies daily and themed evenings. You can also order meals to take to your apartment. The comfy lounging area has sofas and WiFi, and the sunny outdoor terrace faces the sea.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Modbury 6 miles; Plymouth 12 miles.

Bigbury-on-Sea is located in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and is ideal for family holidays. Dusted with sand and lapped by shallow waters, the beach offers safe fun for groups particularly if you’ve got children in tow. In addition, Bigbury-on-Sea beach is dotted with rock pools, so there’s plenty of entertainment for budding marine biologists. There’s also a wide and varied selection of watersports available to visitors who prefer their holidays to feature a little adrenaline rush. Windsurfing and kite-surfing are popular here, with hire facilities located right on the beach. To give you some peace of mind, there are lifeguards present at Bigbury-on-Sea beach during May to September and the beach also has a first-aid room. You can even take the dog onto the beach, although they are restricted to certain areas during the summer. Bigbury’s most famous landmark is Burgh Island, which overlooks the beach itself. The island is accessible at low tide, when the waters reveal a causeway that links it to the beach. However, when the tide is in you can still reach the island by hitching a ride on the popular and unique ‘sea tractor’. Burgh Island boasts an award-winning hotel, elegant and rather genteel, it’s an ideal romantic retreat for couples. Explore the South Devon coast with its fabulous sandy beaches and its breathtakingly beautiful coastal path or simply take time to visit some of the charming estuary towns and villages dotted throughout the area, such as Salcombe, Kingsbridge and Dartmouth. The city of Plymouth and the wild open spaces of Dartmoor are also both close at hand.

View more holiday cottages in Bigbury-on-sea

Note: The Club is open from 10 am daily and offers a selection of hot and cold food and a wide selection of beverages. Booking is advisable for the restaurant during high season and weekends.
The Leisure Club includes the indoor swimming pool and gym and is also open daily from 10 am, booking is not required. The sauna is not currently operational.Please check The Club's closing time as this may vary depending on the time of year.

Note: For the foreseeable future the Leisure Club, cafe, bar and swimming pool will be closed on a Monday due to medical reasons

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas