Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 35 View Larger Image
  • 25 Burgh Island Causeway - Devon - 994895 - photo 1

25 Burgh Island Causeway

Bigbury-on-Sea, Devon (Ref. 994895)


Very good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map


  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

49 Customer Reviews

  • "The location is stunning and this is the fourth time we have stayed at the apartment."

    However we felt the large increase in price from the previous year was not justified as the property has become a bit tired in a number of areas. Certainly not as luxurious as it was in previous years.

    Reviewed by PaulJun 2022

  • "This was our second visit to this apartment."

    I was disappointed with the level of cleanliness on arrival. The bathroom had significant toothpaste splatter, mirrors a bit smeary, cutlery and utensils needed re-washing and table cloths had old sticky food on the edges (not the table top). We had forgotten how uncomfortable the mattress was. If you invest in a good bed base and mattress combo like a high spring count Harrison Spinks and sprung divan, subjectivity is removed from the mattress debate. Also, it would be lovely to have a lounger on the balcony or at the very least comfortable furniture. The beds, dining furniture and balcony furniture have all been chosen on the basis of being practical and easy to clean rather than comfortable. Cake, whilst a nice touch, is not great if, like me, you are diabetic. Wine is cheap and only good for cooking. Sorry to be harsh. Better to either omit cake and have better wine or omit both and offer a cream tea voucher for the cafe downstairs. All in all, the apartment feels like it’s just ‘going through the motions’ and needs a bit of updating and making more comfortable.

    Reviewed by LorraineJun 2022

  • "Our second stay, enjoyed as much as the first time."

    Only problem was the internet going down for four days.

    Many thanks for your feedback we are so pleased you enjoyed your second stay at 25 Burgh Island Causeway. We are sorry you were without Wi-Fi for four days, unfortunately there was an unavoidable fault on the line. BT Engineers have now resolved this issue and the Wi-Fi is working, we can only apologise it wasn’t for your stay. We do hope we can welcome you back for a third time in the not to distant future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BryanMay 2022

  • "We have stayed at this place before in 2017, great location and wonderful views and access to beach, the apartment is getting tired and could do with a little updating."

    Main bathroom very dated. Stayed in another apartment in 2018 and it ‘s bathroom was much better, having said that number 25 is a comfortable place to stay. Just an observation rather than a criticism.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are thrilled you loved the location, and we agree, the views from the property are spectacular. We are disappointed the hear that you felt the apartment was getting tired, as I’m sure you will appreciate the owners work hard to maintain a high standard. We will of course pass your comments on to the owner. We are glad you had a lovely stay and are very pleased to see you have booked 25 Burgh Island Causeway for next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DerekMay 2022

  • "Such a comfortable and well equipped apartment, we felt immediately at home."

    Having things like a dishcloth, washing up liquid, hand soap etc was really helpful and of course the welcome wine and cake was lovely touch. With lots of towels, bedding and cushions it was very well provided for. We couldn’t find a colander but otherwise the kitchen had every utensil you could think of! Attractively decorated and with a few books, games and DVDs it was incredibly welcoming and functioned perfectly for a young family. The one drawback was the main bed which was a bit too soft for our comfort. That said our young children have never slept so well every night on holiday as they did in your apartment so for that we were thrilled! The location of course is stunning and living the adventures of the causeway was a wonderful attraction, we spent hours on the beach and breathing in the amazing views from the apartment. An afternoon jaunt over to the characterful Pilchard Inn was also a highlight. Having the pool downstairs was great and although it needed booking, having that exclusive usage was a bonus. Matt in the club was lovely, really accommodating and helpful. Overall, this holiday felt like a real escape from home and daily stresses for us all. We will without doubt be booking again next year. A perfect Easter break in a lovely holiday home. Thank you!

    Reviewed by MichelleApr 2022

  • "A really lovely flat with a sensational view."

    Very clean and very comfortable. The location couldn't be better for the beach, private parking and for the Bigbury Tea Garden just above with excellent food. The kitchen was well stocked with equipment and appreciated the wine and cake (and bottle of milk) left for us. I would have liked to recycle more - didn't realise the outside bins allowed this until day we left, maybe add further bins in the flat to encourage this. All in all, we had a relaxing break. Even if the weather is wild, the view and the sea will calm and soothe your soul.

    Reviewed by MoragMar 2022

  • "Lovely views, nicely equipped apartment."

    The only thing that perhaps requires improvement is the pressure of water supply at the taps. Thank you so much for the welcome pack and the facilities.

    Reviewed by RatnadeepDec 2021

  • "Had a great time."

    The apartment was very nice and had everything we needed. The view was spectacular.

    Reviewed by GarryDec 2021

  • "The apartment was beautifully and tastefully furnished and well equipped."

    The welcome bottle of wine and biscuits were a lovely touch. Can't wait to go back. The views of the beach and Burgh Island were fantastic.

    Reviewed by HelenNov 2021

  • "The property was as advertised, a lovely location to see, the apartment was fully equipped with everything you could want."

    We hope to go again soon.

    Reviewed by StephenNov 2021

  • "The unique positioning of the apartment block: as close to the foreshore as it's possible to get and right opposite Burgh Island and its Hotel with sea tractor doing regular passages through the sea when tide covered the causeway was the highlight of the visit."

    A really great place to simply 'chill out' on the balcony without feeling the need to venture out very far at all. A better than average welcome gift and, finally, number 25 is one to return to.

    Reviewed by RogerSep 2021

  • "Very comfortable apartment."

    Stunning location. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by PaulJun 2021

  • "This is our second visit to this property."

    I genuinely can’t imagine a more perfect view anywhere else. It was a joy to get up in the morning and look out of the window over the sea. The roads to access local towns were extremely narrow, which I personally found quite stressful. We were happiest however just staying put. The takeaway service from the cafe downstairs was excellent. The Pilchard was a 2 minute walk. It was peaceful, beautiful and relaxing. One very minor gripe- the rip in the sofa arm should really be sorted out. But that certainly won’t stop us booking again. We love it. And we are people who don’t make a habit of going back to the same place twice.

    Reviewed by SallySep 2020

  • "An excellent apartment in a wonderful position, the facilities in the apartment were as expected but we were a little disappointed that the pool and gym were not available."

    Reviewed by BryanSep 2020

  • "Beautiful flat in great location."

    Slightly disappointed that the pool was closed despite other pools being opened, however this is not the owners fault. Would highly recommend

    Reviewed by LynseyAug 2020

  • "It was a fabulous appartment in a wonderful location."

    The views were stunning, even on a stormy day!

    Reviewed by ElaineMar 2020

  • "We loved the apartment."

    Couldn’t fault it at all. Highly recommend it. My only niggle with these apartments now is the pool temperature. It was freezing when we were there again. We did say something but were told nothing could be done! It’s such a shame. It’s a very uncomfortable swim with young children. The kids don’t care but us parents are freezing.

    Thank you for your feedback on your recent holiday. We’re so glad to hear that you liked the accommodation. We have spoken with the block management, who have full control on the maintenance of the swimming pool. They have advised that the temperature is maintained at 28 degrees which is the standard temperature for commercial pools; but we are sorry that you found this to be too cold. Thank you again for taking the time to give your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RachelFeb 2020

  • "It's always good to see that improvements have been made to a property that you have visited before."

    This time new mattresses had been provided throughout the flat. This was a great impreovement and much appreciated.

    Reviewed by SusanSep 2019

  • "A location we,ve never knew or been too ."

    Brilliant views,quality of fixtures in the apartment . this is a lovely apartment with the wow factor.

    Reviewed by NicholasSep 2019

  • "We could see it looked very nice but the reality was fabulous."

    Large, view to die for, sunny balcony, amazing welcome cake, coffee, tea and milk, well equipped and very comfy. Loved it. Thank you!

    Reviewed by EmilyJul 2019

  • "Lovely apartment, amazing views, a Burgh island tractor ride a Must, what fun!"

    Walks and Coastline scenery perfect, Thank you owners, would love to be able to come again.xxx

    Mr SheehanJul 2019

  • "Lovely apartment, amazing views, a Burgh Island Tractor a must, what fun!"

    Walks and Coastline scenery, perfect.Thank you owners, would love to be able to come again.

    Mr SheehanJul 2019

  • "Apartment was amazing, location stunning."

    Only negative feedback is that the springs on the bed were coming through and therefore a really uncomfortable sleep. Several other people left the same feedback in their visitors book. Came home with back ache due to poor bed quality.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you loved the apartment and apologise that you found the bed uncomfortable. We informed the Owner of your feedback and as a result are getting a new mattress. We hope to welcome you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NickyJun 2019

  • "Great place even in the stormy windswept weather conditions during our stay."

    Fantastic with views across to Burgh Island. Bar, restaurant, swimming pool, gym and sauna really good added bonuses

    Reviewed by JohnMar 2019

  • "A really special place to relax and we have been watching the sunset on the balcony is amazing."

    (especially with a G & T). Sand, sea and view wonderful.

    Mar 2019

  • "Great holiday, even with the not so good weather!"

    Fantastic apartment would definItely come back. Will miss waking up to that view!

    Mr And Mrs RockallMar 2019

  • "WOW, what views and so peaceful."

    Great swimming. Thank you.

    Mr And Mrs McneilMar 2019

  • "Enjoyed the spectacular walks on the beach and even surfing lessons."

    The sloop for an evening meal, very relaxing and enjoyable and hope to be back at 25 the causeway soon

    Mar 2019

  • "The view from the property is outstanding."

    When you feel that you could live in the place you have booked, it immediately feels like home away from home. We had booked to go back before our first visit, all due to the amazing photos on the website. The place turned out to be exactly as we wanted it. An added bonus was having the facilities of the Club which we used daily, the swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and somewhere to have a drink and a meal.

    Reviewed by SusanJan 2019

  • "The apartment is very well equipped, the only small issue we had was with the cooker, the oven didn't seem to cooking the food thoroughly, it's as the fan oven wasn't working correctly."

    Other than that, great place to stay, loved walking across the sands to the Pilchard Inn, the cafe downstairs was great for breakfast and for dinner options as well. However, directions on how to get to the cafe and pool would be useful. I had to ring down to the cafe to get instructions from the staff there, luckily I had a mobile signal. Other than those 2 small hiccups, great stay and look forward to coming back soon.

    Thank you for your review and kind words in respect to your stay at 25 Burgh Island Causeway.We are delighted that you enjoyed it. The oven has been addressed and directions to the Leisure club and cafe are in place. We hope see you again soon. The team at Coast and Country Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by WayneJan 2019

  • "Very comfortable, very clean."

    Very well stocked with utensils etc. Amazing views! Was a perfect place to stay for our holiday

    Oct 2018

  • "Wonderful location."

    Beautiful, clean, well equipped apartment. Easy to park.

    Mrs Linda KinlochJul 2018

  • "Had the same apartment for a few years now."

    Wish it was a purchase not a week's hire.

    Jun 2017

  • "Lovely, clean and modern apartment in great location ."

    Mr Peter MillierMay 2017

  • "Good, yes, but it could be excellent."

    The location overlooking Burgh Island is superb - difficult to imagine a better view - so no problem there. However, the apartment is "tired" - still functional and comfortable but not in the excellent category. For example, the patio doors do not lock (handle and lock broken); the dishwasher has a part missing that controls the dispensing of the washing chemicals; items in the fridge get covered in condensation (door seal failure?); the wi-fi stops working for a half-day or day at a time (long-standing known problem); the flooring needs attention. But I don't want to be overly negative. The accommodation is spacious, the kitchen well equipped, the beds comfortable, the bathrooms are good, dining area and sitting room areas are well furnished. The reception staff are friendly and helpful and when I complained about the second wi-fi failure they arranged for the maintenance staff to give me the wi-fi code of a neighbouring apartment. I'm hoping a refurbishment will fix the sort of problems I mention above. It needs to be extensive and go beyond only replacing the patio door which was mentioned in another feedback.

    PeterLSep 2016

  • "Apartment needs attention."

    Marks on walls still there from last year. Dripping tap in Kitchen area, again like it last year. Patio doors don't lock. We were told last May all apartment doors were being renewed in September 2015. Given the same story this year. Wooden flooring/ threshold needs repairing on the way into the bathroom, master bedroom. Like it last year, even worse now. Beautiful location but for the price being charged, especially in the high season it could be so much better.

    Jun 2016

  • "Always wanted to stay here not disappointed wonderful apartment"

    JANApr 2016

  • "Excellent"

    D WaddingtonMar 2016

  • "Superb Location, Apartment is very well heated ensuring a great stay at any time of the year and has everything you need including a small but effective welcome pack, The team at the resort could not do more for you and were very welcoming unfortunately the Swimming pool a little cold."

    PAULMar 2016

  • "Lovely apartment with lots of room."

    Well equipt. Nice pool and really lovely food provided in the cafe. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Mr R CunninghamOct 2015

  • "2nd time we have stayed in this apartment, as always very clean, tidy and everything supplied you need for a very enjoyable holiday."

    We will be booking again for next year.

    May 2015

  • "Wonderful apartment"

    May 2015

  • "Wonderful apartment."

    Needs sharp knives, larger pans, washing up liquid and bin liners

    Feb 2015

  • "Minor hiccup with sliding door security, fixed promptly by friendly maintenance manager."

    Would be helpful to have the electric oven instruction book.

    Sep 2014

  • "For a high end property it was not well equipped in the kitchen."

    For example there was only one kitchen knife (blunt) and no carving knife, only a bread knife. The apartment would benefit from a information booklet and working out how appliances worked was left to rummaging through a drawer and using, for example, the previous owner's instructions on how the curtains worked in the sitting room. One of them, didn't.

    Aug 2014

  • "Very good accommodation."

    My wife had an accident with the shower and she injured her foot badly. This did have an impact on our holiday as she was unable to walk properly for the rest of her stay. The Reception at Burgh Island Causeway were very helpful and quick to respond. The shower was repaired the next day.

    Aug 2014

  • "A lovely apartment in a superb location"

    Jun 2014

  • "Property was lovely and the staff in the reception area were very helpful and friendly."

    May 2014

  • "Lovely apartment, gorgeous views and location."

    Could do with a few sharp knives for those of us who dine in!

    Apr 2014

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • Two bedrooms, both en suite (bath, shower over, wash-hand basin and w.c / shower, wash-hand basin, bidet and w.c): 1 x King-size and 1 x twin beds
  • Open plan living, kitchen and dining room, with doors to a furnished balcony.
  • Allocated parking for 2 cars in a private, secure car park
  • A travel cot and high chair are available by arrangement
  • Four-ring electric hob, electric oven, microwave oven, integrated fridge/freezer, washer/dryer and dishwasher
  • Electric heating throughout including underfloor in both en suites - instant hot water via immersion
  • All duvets, pillows, bed linen and towels are supplied. Telephone in property Wall-mounted TV and DVD player
  • Wifi.

The property

The exclusive Burgh Island Causeway development in Bigbury-on-Sea is situated in a superb coastal location, with quick access to the sandy beach.

Enjoy walking the South West Coast Path and exploring beautiful beaches and breathtaking coastline.

Flat 25 is located on the top floor of the...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Modbury 6 miles; Plymouth 12 miles.

Bigbury-on-Sea is located in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and is ideal for family holidays. Dusted with sand and lapped by shallow waters, the beach offers safe fun for groups particularly if you’ve got children in tow. In addition, Bigbury-on-Sea beach is dotted with rock pools, so there’s plenty of entertainment for budding marine biologists. There’s also a wide and varied selection of watersports available to visitors who prefer their holidays to feature a little adrenaline rush. Windsurfing and kite-surfing are popular here, with hire facilities located right on the beach. To give you some peace of mind, there are lifeguards present at Bigbury-on-Sea beach during May to September and the beach also has a first-aid room. You can even take the dog onto the beach, although they are restricted to certain areas during the summer. Bigbury’s most famous landmark is Burgh Island, which overlooks the beach itself. The island is accessible at low tide, when the waters reveal a causeway that links it to the beach. However, when the tide is in you can still reach the island by hitching a ride on the popular and unique ‘sea tractor’. Burgh Island boasts an award-winning hotel, elegant and rather genteel, it’s an ideal romantic retreat for couples. Explore the South Devon coast with its fabulous sandy beaches and its breathtakingly beautiful coastal path or simply take time to visit some of the charming estuary towns and villages dotted throughout the area, such as Salcombe, Kingsbridge and Dartmouth. The city of Plymouth and the wild open spaces of Dartmoor are also both close at hand.

View more holiday cottages in Bigbury-on-sea

Region Information

NOTE: Note: Leisure facilities open from 10am every day (except christmas day). Note: The gym or sauna does not accept children under 14 years of age.

All guests receive free membership to the newly refurbished Burgh Island Causeway Leisure Club. Facilities include indoor kidney-shaped swimming pool, spa pool, well equipped gymnasium (treadmill, steps, cycles, rower etc) and sauna.

No mobile signal at Burgh Island Causeway or in most of the village. There is, however, a land-line telephone at the property.