Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

15 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 6 View Image Gallery
  • 1 Old Mill Court - Devon - 1089103 - photo 1

1 Old Mill Court

(Ref. 1089103)

Brixham, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • clean (11)
  • stay (9)
  • parking (9)
  • good (8)
  • our (8)
  • bed (8)

17 Customer Reviews

  • "Property very clean, extremely comfortable, well equipped and convenient."

    Parking good and safe. We really enjoyed the stay here. Just a couple of suggestions, there is no booklet on how to turn heating on if the weather turns cold. Also there is no information supplied advising visitors what to do with used bed linen and towels at the end of their stay. In number 4, there is an instruction to put the used linens in a basket at the top of the stairs, but we could find nothing in number 1. Also there is no information on rubbish disposal and recycling in the property. This is an easy remedy to take action on.

    Reviewed by Lyn5.0Oct 2023

  • "We have really enjoyed our stay at this property."

    It was well equipped, had everything you needed. It was clean and everything worked

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2023

  • "A lovely little house in a good position to walk into Brixham town and harbour."

    Comfortable beds and furniture. However it could do with a deep clean and some maintenance. Door lock loose. Kitchen door catching on flooring Twin bedroom lights fitted with dimmer switch with wrong bulbs needs urgent attention Blind in twin room still broken as reported in previous feedback. This is the first rental we have been in with no welcome pack. Not even any toilet paper.

    Reviewed by Martin3.4Jun 2023

  • "First impressions not good."

    Outside full of weeds. Bird poo all over door and windows. Had to wash bench before we could sit on it. Inside really nice everything you needed. But wanted a really good clean. Bedding smelly wasn't fresh. Could be made a really nice cottage situated perfect area.

    Reviewed by Carol2.8May 2023

  • "Just to stay parking not good for a larger car."

    All area could do with a good clean hand rails,doors front and backs are readily bad tiles need a good clean. Had to use half a pack of cleaning wipes the first day but still had a good stay.Big shout out to Davids chippie across the road best fish and chips ever and lovely service.

    Reviewed by Arthur Steven2.8Apr 2023

  • "2nd time at cottage owner has made a few changes decoration wise and it looks so ..."

    2nd time at cottage owner has made a few changes decoration wise and it looks so nice it's a loverly cottage really comfortable clean and tidy so central will definitely go back for more weeks holidays

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0Mar 2023

  • "On arrival at the property we found the dishwasher running with a full load and when i unloaded the dishwasher I found I then had to re wash pans from the previous rental with food still stuck to them, this is the first time we have ever had to do this would have thought all items should have been put back in cupboards."

    We also found one of the bedside lights in the double room not working, the cooker hood light not working and the outside door lock was loose which caused problems when locking. Upon leaving when we emptied the bin and the liner was such poor quality it split alll over the floor and there were no spare liners supplied to put the contents in. We so lucky there were no other cars in the parking as it is very tight for a larger car, on the plus side the property is in a good position and if some of the items above were addressed we would not have had any problem

    Reviewed by Patricia3.8Mar 2023

  • "Lovely cosy place to stay, and in walking distance of shops and Harbour."

    Only tiny niggle was parking was a bit tight for a large car. Would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Anne4.7Jan 2023

  • "Had a lovely stay."

    Everything that we needed was provided. The cottages are slightly set back from the road so you do have to watch for the turn into the Court the first time. But off street parking and welcoming neighbours are a bonus. We loved the cottage and would definitely recommend it. Look forward to returning.

    Reviewed by Joyce5.0Jan 2023

  • "Our stay at the cottage was comfortable and very relaxing we found cottage very ..."

    Our stay at the cottage was comfortable and very relaxing we found cottage very clean and well equipped lovely court yard with bench and seats attached and recliners provided town centre access is a easy flat walk and car parking space provided we found it so good we have already booked another week next year a lovely place to stay highly recommend enjoyed every minute

    Thankyou for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0Sep 2022

  • "We stayed at the property for a week at the end of June and had a lovely holiday, we would book the same property again in future."

    I was concerned with some of the previous reviews but I think actions have been taken to address previous comments. The beds are comfortable, we have a 2 year old and conveniently one of the singles you can drop the legs on to be a floor bed (designed to slide under the other) so that was great for us. Towels are included but we took our own too, the shower pressure was good and temperature was consistent and the heating worked though we only used it one cold evening. Plenty of equipment in the kitchen to cook including freezer, dishwasher and washing machine with folding airer available, only 1 tea towel supplied. The TV in the living room is a smart TV and there were some games so entertainment if the weather isn’t so great! Wifi was fine for us. The location is very good, just a short walk to the quayside. We ate at the nearby pub the birdcage & brunch place the larder which were both good and favourite meals by the quay were outside at Rockfish/Albero/the prince william. Parking was fine for us as we have a relatively small car (Seat Ibiza) but if you have a large estate/SUV it would probably be too long and impede the access for other houses & all adjacent roads seemed to be permit only so could be an issue. We had a few small issues that I left a note to hopefully be actioned before the next person, the shower drain needs to be unclogged as slow to drain, we tried to get some hair out on arrival but needs attention and there were ants that were in the living room likely getting in through the gap by the front door but we didn’t want traps/poison whilst we were there due to our curious toddler & likely an unavoidable summer problem. The blinds open/close slats but most need to be fixed to also lift up, didn’t bother us as only really in the house at night but meant it was too awkward to open windows as was worried I’d damage the blinds further by trying. We have bought tea, coffee, sugar, hot chocolate, washing up liquid, antibacterial spray, all purpose cloths & washing pods which have been left but would hope that in future soap, washing up liquid & cleaning products are provided as standard as a small gesture to help keep the property clean.

    Reviewed by Jack4.4Jun 2022

  • "After travelling approx 300 miles there was no welcome pack."

    This is the first time we’ve never had one one which is a real nice hair dryer ,no hooks on bathroom door &bedroom doors no were to hang any thing .the towels were wet through before you had finished getting dried we had to go out and buy some more No food bags for bin was using carrier bags. didn’t know wen bin men came .could do with small side table for wen u sit in the first chair ,one tea towel to last a week ,no cloths to wipe shower down and hand basin ,no visitors book and no information pack docs hospital,vets numbers’s a lovely cottage my husband and my self enjoyed our stay it suited us the beds wer comfy it’s a shame of all the complaints .it smelt lovely wen we entered the cottage really fresh and it lasted a few days . So if you get all the jobs done you will be on to a winner .

    Reviewed by Harry3.8Jun 2022

  • "The fridge packed in but was replaced very promptly."

    No fault of the owner. Just one of those things. The only thing that needs sorting is the fire alarm which is too sensitive and is set off by anything being used eg cooker, toaster. Great location. Safe for pets and kids. Off street parking. Close to all local amenities

    Thankyou for you feedback, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Jun 2022

  • "We abandoned our holiday."

    Firstly I want to leave a honest review. The place was hard to find,it's tucked away in a side access of a main road, the area is very run down, very depressing looking. Almost turned round to go home, we tried contacting owner,for better directions left voicemail. No reply. After finding it, greeted with shabby courtyard ( weeds,stuff dumped,dead plants) The property is nicely decorated/furnished but smelt damp upon entering. Although fairly clean a good deep clean is needed, dust/crumbs under beds,kitchen cupboard handles sticky and oven hob was covered in grease. Furnture needs moving in lounge to clean properly,Old newspapers from previous guests. Beds fairly comfortable. Not working light bulbs in hallway and cracked window. Missing blinds in lounge. Broken window catches in twin room and a plug in bug deterrent very worrying. The last straw was the heating was not working, place was damp and cold,shower screen leaked, shower ran hot/cold not a nice experience. I took my mother away for a treat after serious illness, she now has a chest infection probably due to damp conditions/cold. Parking was also tight just be aware if you have a large car,my car overhung space restricting access to other people. I can see the owner is trying to let the property in good faith but just too many negatives so we left early. Reported to sykes.. awaiting responce. Very disappointed

    Reviewed by Debbie2.5May 2022

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 1 Old Mill Court."

    We were blown away by how pretty the cottage was. Inside the property it was clean and spacious and had everything we needed. Towels were also provided. The property is situated 5 minutes away from the town centre and 10 minutes away from the harbour. Across the road is one of the best fish and chip shops I’ve ever been to (David’s). The property had everything we needed for a lovely stay, there was even a couple of crab lines which we thoroughly enjoyed using! We will definitely be staying here again

    Thankyou for your feedback, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Garion5.0May 2022

  • "Arrived after 4hr drive, wanted a shower, No Towels, why would you not provide towels when especially they are on your photos in the bedrooms on all beds, then guess what, no hot water."

    The boiler had a fault on display meaning no pressure, this was reported from one of your guests some weeks ago.I messaged the number given on the email regarding towels but he said he was on his honeymoon and to contact sykes.I also asked Steve If there was a iron at the property, no he said, I think it's been taken. So we bought a cheap one as our son needed our iron at home. Guess what, a iron was in the cupboard, fuming I was. I did ring sykes, the guy said customer relations would ring me, still herd nothing, this was Sunday 17th April. Not sure when the kitchen was cleaned for us arriving as their was crumbs on the work surfaces and dried food on the oven handle. I then went in the freezer to put our ice packs in and their was 2 tubs of ice cream, one half eaten and a new one.The freezer door was not properly attached so my husband found a screw driver to fix it, No blind on one of living room windows, broken and left in the cupboard, why not get it fixed.Tall lamp broken on the light fitting making the shape all wobbly. We took the deck chairs on the courtyard the next day, broken glass in between the slabs with screws scattered around on the floor, not looked after at all, plants dead in tubs, weeds everywhere. Not even a sweeping brush to clean the area to make it look respectable.One broken mop in cupboard, I did try my best to use it as I like to keep my accommodation clean but difficult when nothing is provided. No information what's so ever regarding the property, to do with the bins, no bin bags provided. I could go on and on about things. We go in cottages all the time, I have never had to complain. This is our first time booking with sykes as well, not impressed.

    Lots of our guests travel a long way to enjoy Brixham and our cottage. Unfortunately, you assumed there was towels even though this wasn't advertised. I can now confirm that guests are provided with towels. Unfortunately, Sykes had provided you with an incorrect contact number, which wasn't your fault. I responded 5/6 times out of politeness and trying to be helpful as you had questions before your arrival, I then referred you to Sykes to ask any further questions. I can confirm the property has been fitted with a brand new boiler. I am shocked to read the rest of this review, as it is highly inaccurate. The kitchen was clean and pictures were taken prior to your arrival. The fridge and freezer is in fully working order and was clean upon your arrival. There was no glass in the courtyard and there was a dustpan and brush in the unlocked outdoor storage unit. Bin bags were and are provided for each stay. We did find the lamp shade was broken in the living room, which had been sellotaped back together, after your departure. The accuracy of this review is truly upsetting. I know that 99% of our guests aren't like this, which is why we love holiday letting. Just to confirm, Old Mill Court has a new boiler and now provides towels. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David3.1Apr 2022

  • "We still have not heard back re boiler breakdown."

    We cut our 4 day stay as did not want to wait in for boiler repair, as far too cold to sit in and wait and our plans for Monday ruinedas we were unable to shower or bathe and not likely to go out for planned lunch without. As soon as we could Monday rang mobile caretaker number No reply and emailed Sykes and then spoke to Chloe. At end of day we could just have left it and then it would have impacted on next guest vacation.

    Hello, I'm sorry to hear this. Unfortunately Sykes didn't inform us (the owners) of the boiler breakdown until after you had departed. As soon as we found out we instructed a plumber to visit the property. We were informed that the boiler needed to be replaced. I understand that this was highly frustrating. As I'm sure you can imagine, the boiler 'packing up' rarely happens. I apologise for the impact this has had on your holiday. We have had a brand new boiler fitted. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Mar 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Living/dining room
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher
  • TV with Freeview, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 1 car
  • Front courtyard garden with furniture
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.1 mile, pub 0.2 miles, beach 0.7 miles
  • Note: Check-in from 4pm and check-out by 10am

The property

1 Old Mill Court is a pretty terraced cottage just a short walk from Brixham harbour in Devon.

Providing ideal family accommodation with easy access to explore this lovely part of the country, with its bustling activity on and off the water, this cottage offers handy off-road parking in a fantastic location.

A few steps up take you into the hallway, leading you to a fully-equipped kitchen; the space is fitted with everything you need including a kitchen table and chairs, making a great spot for some breakfast in the morning.

There is a spacious sitting room with a further dining table and chairs; a great place to enjoy some lovely home-cooked meals after a day of discovering the local area, or relaxing in front of the TV after a day of walking.

Upstairs are two well-presented bedrooms, a double and a twin, where you can get some rest, both served by a family bathroom.

Outside is a compact courtyard at the front, making a great place to start your day with a cuppa whilst planning the day's activities.

Within a short walk takes you to Brixham Harbour which is proud to have one of the largest fishing fleets in the UK, where every day over 100 fishing boats land and sell their catch at the local fish market on the quayside.

Close to the mouth of Brixham Harbour is Breakwater Beach, one of the cleanest beaches on the English Riviera.

Further afield, why not take the ferry to Dartmouth or Torquay, which both have a good reputation for fashionable restaurants, interesting boutiques and of course, all the amusement and activity along the waterfront?

Alternatively, you can take a boat trip and cruise up the River Dart to Greenway, Agatha Christie's former holiday home, and spend the afternoon in the lively market town of Totnes.

Whatever you decide to do, you will surely be spoilt for choice in this wonderful coastal resort of Brixham to enjoy at any time of the year with 1 Old Mill Court as your base.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Dartmouth 5 miles; Paignton 6 miles; Torquay 8 miles.

Brixham is a working fishing harbour located on the southern side of Torbay, the area known as The English Riviera, famed for its sunny mild climate all year round. The focal point of the harbour is a life size replica of The Golden Hind, Sir Francis Drake’s ship. The prettiest part of Brixham has small cottages in hilly narrow winding lanes leading to the harbour where all the activity is centred. Home to Britain’s largest fishing fleet which regularly lands their catch in the harbour, Brixham fish market sells to major restaurants in the UK. Brixham is the ideal destination for a traditional holiday with many family attractions around Torbay including two Blue Flag beaches, Paignton Zoo and many regattas and maritime events throughout the year. There are a host of safe cycle trails in the area, the South West Coastal Path and some of the best golf courses in the region. A good mix of relaxation or action, to suit all ages, where you are never far from the sea.

View more holiday cottages in Brixham

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Christmas