Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 37 View Image Gallery
  • Bell Cliff House - Dorset - 1111805 - photo 1

Bell Cliff House

(Ref. 1111805)

Lyme Regis, Dorset Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (14)
  • location (13)
  • property (12)
  • views (11)
  • stay (10)
  • great (8)

23 Customer Reviews

  • "We have just spent 5 days at Bell Cliff House, and I can honestly say this property is stunning, with views across the bay and town from almost every room, the house had the feeling of being on a ship."

    Waking up with the sound of the waves every morning was a lovely highlight of our stay, and yet you walk out the front door, and you’re in the middle of the town, near all amenities, bars etc. We have stayed in Lyme Regis many times, but this is by far the best property and location we have stayed in, we will be back!. Thank you for a great stay.

    Mrs ThomasFeb 2024

  • "Just spent a week at Bell Cliff House , it was a lovely break We were very lucky with the weather just a shame the long stay car park is a fair walk away and it is quite expensive to park but we did know that before we came."

    It was nice to be able to walk to the pubs and restaurants . We enjoyed our fossilising in Charmouth . We love Lyme Regis and for five adults this was a perfect choice.

    Thank you for your positive review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bell Cliff House, and had a good week in Lyme Regis. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rosemary5.0Oct 2023

  • "All very good however the building overall is looking a little tired and although that adds to the character of the building a tidy-up around the outside (front and back) would be worthwhile."

    That said we had a wonderful time and would certainly recommend this property to others. Thank you.

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we are so glad you had a wonderful stay at Bell Cliff house. We will take on board your comments regarding the outside areas. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard4.4Sep 2023

  • "Lovely place to stay and amazing views, a fantastic space thank you."

    Reviewed by Daniel4.7Aug 2023

  • "Bell Cliff House is beautiful!"

    It is full of character and style and is very spacious and comfortable. We have been visiting Lyme Regis for the last 20 years and have stayed in a variety of accommodation, but Bell Cliff House was a unique experience. Stunning views from every room meant we could enjoy the sea and beach no matter what the weather was doing and watch as Lyme came to life from first thing in the morning to the moon over the sea at night. We enjoyed being right amongst the activity of the town too, with everything so conveniently near. The terrace was such a joy - to be able to sit and have a drink outside and enjoy the sea view in comfort was very special. The sunroom was a lovely place to sit too. The main bathroom was great - the shower was luxurious. However, the other two showers were far less appealing. Perhaps it’s a material shower curtains in a relatively small space? Only one niggle - clear instructions regarding the disposal of rubbish would be very helpful. I noticed from reviews that others have had the same problem. I never found the seagull sacks - I didn’t know what I was looking for, or where. Plus no indication of where to leave the rubbish? Just outside the front door (bearing in mind it gets very busy there as there are shops and a cafe right outside the door!) or near the roadside? In the end we took our rubbish out regularly to bins nearby which was ok but clear instructions would have solved this. We had a wonderful holiday in Lyme Regis - so much to enjoy. Bell Cliff House played a huge part in that, it really is a fabulous place to stay!

    Reviewed by Catherine4.4Jul 2023

  • "The property has a great location, we really enjoyed the sea views, the balcony and easy walking distance to places."

    The wooden spiral staircase & top bedroom were lovely. A few basics which would go a long way to feeling welcome on arrival - Pint of milk in the fridge - Biscuits or cake - A few teabags - 7 dishwasher tablets to provide for daily use - Fresh flowers - Fresh new bed linen - the pillow cases although clean need replacing- heavily yellowed staining - the duvet covers were cream but the sheets were white. The beds felt rather uninviting. A quick check of all appliances whilst cleaning between guests eg The middle floor shower thermostat was broken & could not be used - Sadly this was by far the best shower & we would all have used this one had it been working. The ground floor shower enclosure was tiny and had a curtain across it which is a rather outdated & uncomfortable concept. The shower head could not be fixed to the bracket - I realised this issue when my 2nd daughter arrived Tuesday evening. (This was repaired on Thursday before we left on Saturday) The top floor shower was also a small enclosure with a curtain which results in an unpleasant cold wet fabric. We all used this one shower due to the issues cited above. Batteries for the radio (I bought some & left them for future guests) The dishwasher was registering low Salt & rinse aid but none available to refill No jug in either kitchen. No plastic containers- Tupperware items which are really useful Apologies, I didn’t find the seagull proof rubbish bag until the end of the week.

    Response from owner: Thank you for taking the time to submit your feed back on your stay, and for your positive words on Bell Cliff house, and it’s location. We are very proud of our property, and are glad you had a very nice stay, please be assured we will take on board your well meaning comments regarding basics for overall stay experience. The temporary fault with the shower (one of 3 in the property) has now been fixed., it’s worth also mentioning the property unusually for one of its size does also have two fully equipped kitchens. In regards to house keeping. and general upkeep of the property, we will be taking up your comments with Lyme Bay Holidays. Kind regards Owner rightly mentioned this is one of Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen2.8Jul 2023

  • "Well furnished and comfortable, the house suited our needs very well."

    Great location in the centre of Lyme Regis but obviously, lack of parking, except the main car parks, is a drawback but we knew what to expect. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and enjoyed the proximity to the beach, pubs, restaurants and bars.

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Bell Cliff House, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0Jun 2023

  • "Beautiful house and stunning location for a family holiday."

    The house is very well equipped and comfortable.

    Glad you had a nice stay at Bell Cliff house, and thank you for the positive review. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Debbie3.8May 2023

  • "Fantastic property and location."

    Views are stunning. We had such a great week.

    Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, and had such a great week. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tamsin5.0May 2023

  • "We had the most fantastic stay, what a lovely property- the views are just stunning , the place was well kitted out, comfortable , spacious and had a real homely feel."

    We note that previous people had not located the fridge freezer, it was behind the kitchen door!! We will be back as definitely the best house along the seafront for views!

    Thank you for such a lovely review, we are very happy that you had such a great time at Bell Cliff House, and enjoyed your break in Lyme Regis. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carrie5.0May 2023

  • "Fantastic location and views"

    Thank you for the positive review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.7Mar 2023

  • "What a beautiful home to stay in."

    We had an incredible weekend - so very relaxing. The house is inviting and comfortable with everything you need. The only 2 improvements would be :- take out the Bosch cooker ( that no one can use ) and put a fridge there as it was inconvenient going up and down the stairs. And - please put mirrors near sockets with a shelf for ease of getting ready to go out - an oversight in so many places we’ve stayed. But honestly - we will definitely be back - we absolutely loved it. Outstanding.

    I'm delighted that you had a fantastic stay. Thank you for your suggestions which will be taken into consideration for future improvements. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Mar 2023

  • "Bell Cliff House was nothing short of wonderful, it was comfortable, spacious and well equipped."

    The location could not have been better, being right in the town centre with exceptional views of the coastline and sea.

    That’s a very nice review, thank you very much! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Bell Cliff House and time in Lyme Regis. We hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Phillip5.0Mar 2023

  • "This is a stunning, spacious house in a superb location."

    We had such a brilliant week in Lyme. The views are breathtaking out of every window and we loved having the sea and town right on the doorstep. The decor of the house is simple but stylish and really adds to the character and charm of Bell Cliff house. Few minor niggles which basically came down to lack of instructions provided. Examples are; The bins, what about recycling? Where to find/put the Seagull sack (not clear but guessed on doorstep), the heating/hot water (not clear when it was set for, or if possible to change it, found the thermostat in the lounge and used that), Bosch oven in kitchen, could not get to work despite using manual, did not matter as used Aga (had to set time on clock to get bottom oven to work) Can you use Woodburner? Asked this before holiday but no reply given, was warm and cosy enough without it. House was really clean on arrival and this is impressive as a big property. Some windows could do with a clean but must be tricky to get too. We had to sweep balcony, as covered in pine needles from Christmas tree but then we were so lucky in February to have amazing weather warm enough to sit outside!

    Thank you so much for your positive review regarding your stay at Bell Cliff House, and for pointing out any minor niggles that we can improve upon. we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and holiday in Lyme Regis,. We hope to see you again soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wendy4.4Feb 2023

  • "A most beautiful place, and an absolute pleasure to stay."

    Stunning property - with stunning views from virtually every window. Hope to stay again and wouldn't hesitate recommending the property to others. Completely fabulous location - beach and town on your doorstep. It would be good if there was a parking permit to go with the stay, but that's the only downside.

    Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review on your stay at Bell Cliff House, and Lyme Regis, It’s very appreciated. We look forward to you staying again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robin5.0Dec 2022

  • "Very comfortable and well equipped house."

    Good position.

    Reviewed by Pauline5.0Nov 2022

  • "What an amazing property, homely yet cosy with lots of space and very well equipped."

    We had a great holiday enjoying the sights and sounds of Lyme Regis. The beautiful balcony with its view is breath taking and allows older members of the party to enjoy Lyme from the comfort of the house. I have been coming to Lyme for over 50 years so I know it extremely well, but never stayed in such a great location on the high street which was excellent with all amenities close. Thank you for a great holiday, I look forward to the next time.

    Thank you for taking the time to submit such an in-depth and positive review of your stay at Bell Cliff House, you comments are very appreciated!, especially coming from someone who knows the town so well. We are very pleased that you had such a great holiday!, and look forward to you staying again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paula4.7Oct 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay - the location and the house is a complete gem."

    We think you have furnished and decorated it with style and empathy. We will be back. Faye and family

    Thank you for such a lovely review!, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and really appreciate your compliments regarding Bell cliff house and it’s location. We look forward to you staying again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Faye5.0Oct 2022

  • "This property needs a good face lift!"

    The position was fantastic which is why I chose this booking but there were quite a few things that didn’t meet expectations. Defiantly need a hand rail fitted to the wall of the bathroom off the living room., couldn’t find any instructions as to how to turn the heating on, no full length mirrors , NO parking ! A loading bay is mentioned but that is ridiculous , just not practical . Only 1 balcony was in use , the other was blocked off as it’s in a poorly state..

    Thank you for taking time out to submit your review of of our property Bell Cliff House, we agree the location is indeed spectacular. Lyme Regis is an historic town, parking can be tricky for many properties in the area, There is however an hour loading bay literally a few steps away, first come first serve, as well as an hourly/day car park below, a car park behind Tesco on the main road, and a larger more long stay car park at the top of the hill, the property is lucky enough to have “one” terrace which has some of the best views of lyme regis and beyond,. The other you may be referring to is next doors roof. We will take on board your comments regarding a hand rail and .heating instructions, these observations aside We hope you had an enjoyable stay in Lyme Regis. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marie2.5Oct 2022

  • "To be honest we could not fault it the over all experience was just amazing, very homely spacious warm and welcoming."

    To wake up every morning and sit on the veranda with a cup of tea watching the bay was an amazing experience, we have been renting holiday cottages for years and bell cliff house is definitely in the top 5, we will definitely be booking again very soon. 10/10. (Well done) ❤.

    Thank you for taking time out to post such a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Lyme Regis. As owners we are very proud of Bell Cliff house, and want who ever stays there to enjoy it as much as we do, We look forward to you staying again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marcus4.7Oct 2022

  • "We had the most wonderful stay at Bell Cliff house, and will definitely be returning to lyme regis soon, When you step in off the main Street to this treasure chest of a house you automatically feel at home, the views in the property must be some of the best in Lyme Regis!"

    Panoramic from every angle. it almost felt like you were part of the beautiful seascape! The light beamed through every inch of the house and the sound of crashing waves was so relaxing! We were very impressed with the style, decor and features of this beautiful old house, warming touches of detail all around including nautical features which brings a real ocean touch to the property. Great kitchen facilities so we could enjoy our breakfasts at the house with and actually a few dinners in, although we did make the most of the superb location where there were lots of great restaurants and pubs, The location is so central and has some great walks to experience along the coast. No Parking attached but we found some very close by, although I imagine this would be busy in high season, alternatively a car park for longer stays was up the hill and reasonably priced. We are sure to return to this gem of Lyme Regis!

    Hayley SOct 2022

  • "Idyllic location Think it is very expensive for its current state needs some work and attention to be able to sell £2000 a week stay NOTES * smells very damp, musty and old clearly had old carpets ripped up and given a lick of paint but needs a deep clean as still very dusty * damp musty smell made all our clothes and bedding smell * we had to light candles everyday to try and remove the smell during our five night stay * paintwork is not good in places has not been thoroughly or professional completed * upstairs bathroom still unfinished and needs good clean * all windows need cleaning - obvs seagulls and pigeons there but needs regular cleaning for each stay * front door step mats and front door need cleaning before each arrival of poop and feathers and made to look more inviting and clean * all internal paintwork needs a good cleaned and the outside balcony/patio area is filthy needs cleaning up * Kitchen floor was sticky and dirty on arrival * fridge in upstairs kitchen needs defrosting and cleaning has a funny smell in it which contaminated butter and other food placed in the fridge * No full length mirrors in any bedrooms of any plug sockets for hairdryers etc would be useful."

    * Anti slip required on the second floor bathroom steps * Microwave would be useful * Tongs for cooking and wooden spoons and ice cube trays, bread knife * TV reception very poor message keeps coming up on the screen poor aerial connection needs checking * IKEA furnishings ok but feel cheap given the property size and cost * cheap foam pillows / mattress duvets are uncomfortable and do not feel very luxurious * Extra bed linen / blankets spares required items provided are too small and not effective if you need to keep warm * no additional toilet rolls available had to buy some * Lock inside of entrance doorway has no key * Curtains in sitting room - do not shut properly, hanging off not enough hooks and blackout curtain behind is moldy and stained very badly * outdoor chairs and a table on the balcony would be nice * Clear instructions on where to leave rubbish bags, no seagull proof bags provided and no indication of where to put rubbish on departure except on the roadside ? where ? * tumble dryer or clothes dryer rack would be useful for wet washing Generally the property needs some attention Seems to have been refurbished on the cheap and no luxurious or personal touches all seems IKEA price tag items Lacking finishing touches Old fashioned furniture needs cleaning to get rid of musty old smell Needs freshening up and given a good deep clean

    Thank you for taking time out to submit your review, Bell cliff house is indeed idyllic! And we hope irrespective of the improvements you have pointed out that you had a lovely stay in Lyme Regis, as proud owners we will take on board some of your comments going forward, and alongside Lyme Bay Holidays implement where felt necessary. In regard to furnishings, we have two types of pillows on offer at the property, hypoallergenic and feather. The furnishings are mainly personal items made up of luxury vintage brands including Ercol day bed, Ercol dining chairs and Parker Knoll rattan sofa. William Morris curtains, Aga stove and children’s guest bed by Loaf. All mattresses and linen are brand new. The house is 250 years old with original features such as floorboards and window shutters, prior to letting we have lovingly redecorated and painted throughout almost entirely with Farrow and Ball paints. As well as this all pre and new carpentry has been carried out by the same specialist joiners in Dorset who worked on the house with a renowned local architect. We look forward to you hopefully staying again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie1.9Sep 2022

  • "Horrible damp/ drain smell in property."

    Maybe a leak somewhere under floor boards or damp? Other than that great property but why two kitchens??

    I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at my property although am very sorry to learn about the damp smell. This isn't something which has been problem before, so I was surprised to read this as there hasn’t been any damp evident in the property before. I have asked the maintenance team to investigate this so thank you for letting me know. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anna5.0Aug 2022

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lyme Bay Holidays collection.
Lyme Bay Holidays are a large, friendly, local agency established for over 40 years. Specialising in the area surrounding Lyme Regis on the Dorset and Devon border, they cover much of the World Heritage Coast as well as some stunning countryside and attractive market towns and villages.


  • Over three floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x second-floor king-size with en-suite bath, shower over, basin and WC, 2 x double
  • 2 pullout single beds in living room suitable for children
  • Bathroom with bath, walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Snug
  • Sun room
  • First-floor kitchen/diner
  • First-floor living room
  • Central heating
  • AGA cooker with gas hob, electric oven, gas oven and hob, fridge/freezer, washing machine and 2 x dishwasher
  • Smart TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Roof terrace with furniture and sea views
  • One small to medium well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop, pub and beach 0.1 miles
  • Note: Children must be supervised at all times due to balcony and steep steps
  • Note: Various level changes and steps throughout the property, please take care
  • Note: Limited head height in en-suite bathroom, please take care
  • Note: This property is only suitable for a maximum of 6 adults and 2 children, with two pull out beds available in the living room, suitable for children only
  • Note: the log burners are not in use

The property

Nestled at the heart of Lyme Regis in Dorset is the spectacular Bell Cliff House.

This idyllic holiday property provides breath-taking and far-reaching sea views from all rooms.

Within close proximity to the town’s local amenities and retaining a wealth of charming character features such as stripped wooden floors, exposed beams and original panelling this 3 bedroomed property can accommodate up to eight guests and is perfect for a family coastal holiday.

After a fun-filled day by the coast, climb the stairs to the living room and unwind on the plush sofa in front of the Smart TV while marvelling at the stunning vistas over the English Channel.

Enjoy a home cooked meal in the fully-equipped kitchen/diner while reminiscing on the memories you have created.

Later, head down to the ground floor and enjoy the sunset from the sun room or rooftop terrace where you can admire the views over the famous Cobb Harbour and beach.

A separate snug offers a great spot to relax with a book or rest up before another fun-filled day at the coast When sleep calls, there is a choice of three bedrooms located on the first and second floors, with two pull out single beds available in the living room, suitable for children only.

In the main part of the property there is a double bedroom on the first floor serviced by a spacious bathroom or climb further to the second-floor king which boasts an en-suite bathroom and skylights with expansive views.

The other bedroom is a small double, is located above the smaller of the two kitchens and has use of a ground floor shower room.

Bell Cliff Houses lies paces away from the local independent shops, pubs and restaurants including Rock Point Inn and The Pilot Boat which are great places to treat your loved ones to a delicious meal.

Take your buckets and spades to the sandy beach and watch as the kids splash in the sea while you indulge in a spot of sunbathing, on a clear day you can see across to Portland and Chesil Beach.

Lyme Regis also houses a marine aquarium with a variety of local sea life and chances to hand-feed mullet.

Be sure to visit Lyme Regis’ fossil beaches and try your hand at fossil hunting for truly unique glimpses into the past.

Learn more about the area's history at Lyme Regis Museum or travel to Charmouth to visit its heritage centre and enjoy fish and chips on the beach.

The South West Coastal footpath gives a wealth of walking and hiking opportunities that reward visitors with stunning views across the Jurassic coast and countryside.

Bell Cliff House is perfectly located for a memorable family seascape in Dorset.

Note: Two pull out beds available in the living room, suitable for children only

Note: Children must be supervised at all times due to balcony and steep steps.

View on map

About the location


Charmouth 3 miles; Axminster 6 miles; Bridport 10 miles; Sidmouth 16 miles.

The delightful seaside town of Lyme Regis has much to offer its visitors, boasting a maze of narrow streets filled with craft and antique shops, galleries and cafes. Take a stroll along the world-famous Cobb causeway overlooking the ancient harbour, where fishing trips can be enjoyed, or try your hand at fossil hunting in the area. The scenic coastal path offers excellent walking opportunities and spectacular views of the stunning Jurassic coast, whilst the gently shelving sands and sparkling waters of Lyme Bay provide the perfect place in which to relax and unwind. A holiday destination to savour!

View more holiday cottages in Lyme Regis

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas