In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 50 View Image Gallery
  • Little Cotton Farmhouse - Devon - 995344 - photo 1

Little Cotton Farmhouse

(Ref. 995344)

Dartmouth, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (16)
  • property (15)
  • little (13)
  • water (13)
  • farmhouse (13)
  • well (12)

30 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a very disappointing stay at Liitle cotton Farmhouse."

    First impressions on arrival was that it is very tired and in need on TLC. The furniture is well worn and the kitchen rug is filthy. The dining chairs have no cushioning left in them. The beds were too low and very difficult to get out of with a bad back. On the first day we all tried to take a shower but couldn’t get hot water. There was hot water in the taps but because of the high water pressure we couldn’t get the hot to come through the showers .We reported this on the Monday morning and we finally had one working shower by Friday the day before we left. The plumber told us this was an ongoing problem with both the properties at Little Cotton. I certainly wouldn’t go there again and would question why you allow the owner to rent the property in this state. I have had many stays with Sykes Cottages and already have another booked in September. I have always been extremely pleased with the accommodation.

    Reviewed by Ann2.2Jun 2024

  • "Little Cotton Farmhouse is a beautiful farmhouse in a very peaceful location yet only minutes away from Dartmouth."

    There is everything you need to make your stay comfortable and relaxing. Directions to the farmhouse were good but I feel it was a little more than 500 yards down Venn Lane to the turning for the property. It should say when you think you have missed it go a little bit further and you will be there

    Reviewed by Stephen4.7May 2024

  • "We loved our stay at Little Cotton Farmhouse, the location was perfect, close to Dartmouth but still out in the countryside."

    Super dog friendly with a safe enclosed field, facilities inside. Really well equipped with lots of extras especially in the kitchen.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback We are so pleased you (and the dog!) had a lovely holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jenny4.7Sep 2023

  • "After reading some of the reviews we were a little concerned about the hot water situation."

    We were pleased that we had no problems at all and we were a family of six adults. The property is spacious and comfortable and we really enjoyed our stay.

    We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Little Cotton. The hot water is never a problem when used correctly! We hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne3.8Sep 2023

  • "We had the best week away at Little Cotton Farmhouse."

    The house is perfect for a large family. We had booked when it was advertised as 5 bedrooms there was plenty of space for everyone, the rooms were lovely. The kids could play in the garden area and was all enclosed so didn’t have to worry about them running off as the gate was always shut. Nice central location for visiting different parts of Devon. Only things I would say is don’t overpack as there isn’t much hanging space for clothes just a small clothes rail in each room that wasn’t ideal. There are lots of cupboards in the kitchen but all cupboards are full with pots, pans glasses so struggled to put shopping away. Fridge nice and big. Laundry facilities were brilliant. Would 100% come back and stay here again.

    Thank you for your great feedback! We are so pleased you enjoyed the space, especially the garden area for the children. We will look into more hanging space and rearranging the cupboards in the kitchen. Hope to see you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela4.4Aug 2023

  • "Well equipped, clean and comfortable house, ideal for a holiday break close to Dartmouth and easy access to other touring towns in Devon (Salcombe,Totnes, Kingsbridge, etc)."

    Nice ensuite bathrooms and good size kitchen for cooking and dining.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. Please come and visit us again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin4.7Jul 2023

  • "My husband and I have just returned home after a week stay at the property."

    I had read some reviews before we went and have a couple of comments to make. The property is in an excellent location, being on the fringes of Dartmouth. You can walk up to the main road where there are supermarkets, a garage and also the Dartmouth Park and Ride within easy walking distance. The farmhouse is of a generous size. The living area is spacious and well equipped, with plenty of bathrooms and would definitely suit a large party. Everything has been thought of and general state of repair is good. However, when it states the lane is narrow - picture the grass brushing either side of the car - incredibly tight!! The last 200 metres or so has no passing points at all. There is more traffic than you might imagine, having other holiday cottages and businesses nearby. The cottage is probably a mile from the main road. Something to consider. The showers. We tried unsuccesfully to shower on the first night. The two upstairs showers drained so slowly that by the time you get the temperature right, you have to turn it off because it's about to overflow. We did find the downstairs wetroom shower ok, but the water pressure was so high that it was like being pummelled. I can see why the hot water runs out so quickly. I don't know if this can be adjusted. Some instructions on how to work the showers would also be helpful. A previous review mentioned the main oven was not working on the range cooker. We could not get the oven to work either. This left one very narrow oven with only one shelf, which although ok for just the two of us, I imagine if you had a large party would be a big issue. We couldn't get the DVD player to work either. Maybe user error? The outside furniture was very grubby, with spider webs and the glass tables were in dire need of a clean. I did give the round one a wipe over and the cloth was black. The outside area is also looking very tired, with rusting furniture and railings and rotten wood here and there. We both agreed that some plants or summer flower troughs would really brighten it up. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay. The large grassed area beyond the parking spots was great, as were the views across the fields.

    Thank you for your very detailed feedback, which will be very helpful to future guests. We are glad you had a good stay especially with the views! The hedges on narrow lanes are cut by the local farmer so we have asked him about this. We believe the instructions for the showers/hot water may have been mislaid, this would have helped you, so our apologizes. The DVD and cooker have been checked and the outside furniture. We hope you with stay again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tanya3.8Jun 2023

  • "No hot water for first two days."

    No instructions to assist to understand the water heating system.I eventually got information from previous reviews that enabled me to understand the control.Shower trays partially blocked and in danger of overflowing during quick shower use.Extractors in bathrooms not working.Everything else was fine.

    Reviewed by Ian2.8Jun 2023

  • "I was so impressed with Little Cotton Farmhouse."

    There was plenty of room for the 9 of us staying there. Lots of equipment in the kitchen and enough room for us to be comfortable in the lounge and bedrooms. The main issue we had was with the hot water. There wasn't enough of it for 5 adults, 2 teenagers and 2 younger children. One evening we had no hot water for baths or showers and had to phone the office for help. It wasn't obvious to us how to turn the hot water on and maybe some instructions left in the house would have been helpful. Also, roads were very narrow leading to the house and we had to reverse on several occasions before we could get onto the main road. Besides that we had a lovely stay.

    Thank you for your lovely comments on our property, we are glad you found it comfortable for your group, its a very spacious house! Since changing to Nest controls, the instructions need to be clearer for our guests which we have done. We have also had an engineer visiting to check the boiler. The property is set in beautiful country lanes, which aren't too busy though. We hope to welcome you all back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane4.7May 2023

  • "Great modern farmhouse property set in a gorgeous location."

    Only a short drive to Dartmouth and the sea/beach. Very well catered for in the way of home comforts. No complaints other than the hot water running out after 3 showers (there was 5 adults) but this was to be expected. We definitely would go back to this property again.

    We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Farmhouse and the location to the local area. As explained before the boiler isn't a comi boiler so water has to heat up and re reheat. We are checking the instructions within the property are clearer. We look forward to welcoming you back! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Norton4.4May 2023

  • "The property is in a good location."

    However, the constant lack of hot water, despite leaving the heating on was a let down. Therefore I wouldn't return to this property again.

    We are sorry you experienced problems with the hot water, there are instructions that should have helped while you were there but the explanation is that Little Cotton is designed to be environmentally friendly. This includes natural composting, meaning zero discharge into sewers and using a heat storage system which uses electricity from renewable sources. Like most heating systems, the heating is simply set on a timer to come on in the morning and again in the afternoon and evening, rather than the heating staying on all day, especially as many guests are rarely in all day. That said, again as with most heating systems, the Nest thermostat has a simple control to simply boost or advance the heating. We would hope this will encourage you to come back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jayne3.1Apr 2023

  • "Excellent property in a very good location,"

    Thank you for your very positive feedback. We have continuing to add and update items through this maintenance period and had guests over Christmas and New Year! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steve4.7Aug 2022

  • "This was a great place to stay for the week with everything you need."

    Only half our party was able to go so loads of space. Easy for park and ride 5 mins walk the lane getting to it is very tight but fine. There is a large fridge freezer in the utility room next to the hot water heater I think it may work better in the kitchen as the room was very hot. I wouldnt hesitate to reccommend this to anyone and its pet friendly.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. Its a great property for large parties (or smaller!) We are looking into moving the fridge/freezer and in fact a fan has just been replaced in it. We hope we can welcome you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Jun 2022

  • "Little Cotton Farmhouse was lovely."

    Very spacious, clean and well equipped. Great area to explore. We used the park and ride ( 10 minutes walk from the house ) to go into Dartmouth

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed Little Cotton and Dartmouth. Hope to see you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elsie5.0Apr 2022

  • "When we arrived the keys were hanging out of the key safe."

    No hot water despite contacting you. Dishes left in the dishwasher. Sofas beyond filthy

    Thank you for drawing this to our attention. An engineer has been to the property and serviced the boiler. The property will receive a deep clean in February. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Suzanne1.6Jan 2022

  • "The property met our expectations, was a little worn and needed a bit more of a clean."

    The biggest issue was the hot water and showers, I think to expect a family of 10 to stagger showers was a bit much. The immersion heater should have been set to accommodate more hot water.

    We apologize for the hot water situation. An engineer has attended the property and serviced the boiler. The property will have a deep clean in February, ready for the new season. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanne4.1Dec 2021

  • "The property is big with plenty of bathrooms, it is well equipt so we had everything we needed."

    It is also in a good location with just a short drive to dartmouth. However, although it was relatively tidy and clean we felt that it could do with a deep clean and some updates to some of the furniture I.e one of the sofas you can feel the wood underneath and instead of using mattress toppers it would be better to replace them with new more comfortable mattresses. In essence you probably get what you pay for and we had an enjoyable stay but I can't say we will rebook in the future unless the property had a revamp

    Reviewed by Gemma3.1Sep 2021

  • "Sofas aren’t that comfy and could do with being a little more furniture for everyone to be able to sit in lounge."

    Reviewed by Nicola4.4Aug 2021

  • "Fabulous stay!"

    When booking for a group of people it's a bit nerve wracking, but no worries with Little Votton Farmhouse, it exceeded our expectations and was fabulous. Good location, just outside the town, but a bus ride is all that is needed, because parking is terrible in Dartmouth, so easy with the buses. But beware on a Sunday buses stop at 7pm! Beautiful, comfy stay and we would definitely book again if we had a group of people

    Reviewed by Penny4.7Jul 2021

  • "Really nice home with lots of space for 6 adults."

    Just a few things that stopped it scoring 5/5. 1. The shower in the back bedroom on the middle floor did not ever get warm. The hot pipe gets hot but the water coming out is luke warm. It might just need the flow adjusting. The bed frames in this room also need tightening as the headboard is very wobbly. 2. More information about the recycling situation would be helpful. In the end we took it all home as there was nowhere that we could find that would take cardboard/ tins or plastic. I don't know if the recycling centre down the road had reduced facilities due to covid (as online it said it took them all). 3. The mattress protector in the top floor double was very lumpy. Otherwise it is a wonderful clean home and in a fantastic location, you can easily walk into town through pretty streets (provided you don't mind it being a steep hill all the way) and Blackpool Sands is a fantastic beach just a few mins drive away. The house is really well equipped with everything you need and easy to cook on scale with the pots and pans provided (just bring your own knives if you want a sharp one but that's to be expected in a holiday rental). Sykes were great and very responsive to any questions we had. Would recommend a stay there.

    Reviewed by Emma4.4Jun 2021

  • "The location and space was excellent."

    Ideal for the 6 guests and our dogs Even so , we were surprised it was a four star listing as the furniture was not in the best of condition and the cutlery , crockery and pans were low quality too. The sofas are extremely uncomfortable!! If the owners were to Listen to other users comments in the visitors guest book and update this farmhouse then we would have Given it a higher ranking.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth3.4Sep 2020

  • "The overall cleanliness was acceptable but there were a couple of aspects that were not."

    This included a bucket of filthy water under the sink, presumably from a leaking sink. This smelled foul when the sink cupboard was opened. In addition, the refuse store had broken eggs and litter scattered around it. The cleaners had also left a bag of dirty towels outside the property which sat there throughout our stay. The garden / grassy area was not really as expected based on the photos. It's more of a car park than an area that can be enjoyed and the children's play area is no longer there, just the trampoline. In general the outdoor areas could do with upgrading - lots of broken paving slabs and loose tiles which are a bit of a hazard with young children. The accommodation and amenities are fine and acceptable but there are areas of the house where an upgrade would be beneficial (e.g. sofas are broken and most of the springs are gone, so not particularly comfortable). The bedrooms and bathrooms are good and we found them to be comfortable and clean. On balance we probably would stay again but there are certainly aspects of the cottage that could do with upgrading.

    Reviewed by Philip3.1Aug 2020

  • "We found the location of Little Cotton Farmhouse, and its basic facilities and accommodation, ideal."

    However, we feel that the furnishings and decoration are urgently in need of refreshment and updating, to the extent that the house is lacking in comfort and appeal and not up to that standard of its 4-star listing. Finally, the standard of cleanliness at the property was poor, falling well short of the standard we had expected from Sykes (we would be happy to provide further information and a photograph if required). This left us very disappointed in Sykes, and feeling that we had most definitely not received value for money. We would love to be able to recommend Sykes to members of our family and friends, however our experience with Little Cotton Farmhouse has left us reluctant to do so.

    Reviewed by Francis2.8Jul 2020

  • "Even allowing for tired furniture it was still brilliant"

    Jun 2018

  • "We ended up spending £100 each which wasn't a problem however, I wouldn't choose to go back to this cottage and would potentially try others in the area."

    Miss A DeeryOct 2016

  • "There were 5 broken light bulbs in the lounge main lights and another 2 broken in the lounge lamps."

    There were also 2 broken bulbs in the Kitchen with no spares available. The sofas were very hard so much so that it felt like a concrete bar was behind your knees meaning that we spent most of the time sitting at the kitchen table. The numerous signs given warnings about low water pressure and the inability to increase the temperature, coupled with the limited capacity of the water tank, resulted in cold showers if more than 4 people took a shower. There were also instructions placed in the showers not to adjust the temperature to anything other than the recommendation as this would result in fluctuating temperatures. Having already advised when booking we did not have a dog with us, we didn't appreciate a sign regarding what to do with your dog especially as it was on the wall down to the kitchen steps. In conclusion we feel that as this property is advertised as capable of sleeping 10 people, it is disappointing. It is expensive and you expect a certain level of comfort and inconvenience and sadly it let itself down.

    STEPHENAug 2016

  • "This cottage proved to be a very practical base for our exploration of the Dartmouth area."

    We were a party of 12, 7 adults and 5 children, one being a baby. The living area and kitchen worked really well together and we had no problems with meal prep and general living. The bedroom arrangements worked well for us, younger children sleeping in with Mummy and Daddy, older ones's having their own. The garden was a really big benefit as it was generally safe and secure, but big enough for serious fun and games, the trampoline was a big hit. The shed of toys was also popular, although some of the toys were in a sorry state. This did not deter the children who liked exploring the toy explosion that was the shed and finding little additions to their games. The football table needs minor repair for the adults but was usable and passed a competitive hour. All in all Little Cotton Farmhouse was a quiet hit with our family, no dramas, no hitches or failures of service, well placed for Dartmouth and it's surroundings. It is worth passing on that you can easily walk into Dartmouth but the walk back is extremely uphill, better to use the bus. If you are cheeky enough go to the Park and Ride car park by Sainsburies, buy a parking ticket there. This entitles your 'carload' to the free bus into Dartmouth and back, easily the cheapest way for a family to do it. A very nice property that we would recommend to others. One silly thing that would make a big difference though, the kitchen knives are not sharp at all, the bread knife particularly is fit only for turning decent bread into pancake shapes. I would recommend future visitors to bring their own knives until you hear from other reviews that they have been replaced. Not a reason to reject Little Cotton at all, but a practical tip from a frustrated bread slicer.

    Aug 2015

  • "Not quite as described - the play area is shared space."

    The downstairs shower did not drain well and caused some flooding into the sun room. There was a fault on the lamps in the lounge giving a mild electric shock to my granddaughter. But the property is well situated with good access to large supermarket and bus into Dartmouth. The children play area is very well equipped. The house itself is well equipped but more food storage space would be good.

    Aug 2015

  • "Excellent property for 3 generation family holiday."

    well equipped for young children with lots of entertainment. Bedding a little old & tired. Bare floorboards make for a lot of noise. Top floor shower not working well. Overall an excellent holiday.

    Jun 2015

  • "Very impressed with all the facilities that the farmhouse offered."

    They have thought of everything, especially for children.

    Jun 2014

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • Three bedrooms with additional two bedrooms on the second floor available on request for an additional charge
  • 1st Floor: 1 x Kingsize with TV and ensuite with shower, basin, heated towel rail & WC
  • 1 x Super King (can be set up as a twin on request) with TV and ensuite with shower, basin, heated towel rail & WC
  • 1 x Childrens Twin with Cabin and single bed
  • Bathroom with bath, hand held shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • 2nd Floor: 1 x King size with TV
  • 1 x Twin (can be set up as a super king on request) with TV
  • Walk in shower room with Electric shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Ground floor wet room with walk in shower and separate WC and basin
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with electric wood-effect stove
  • Snug/sunroom
  • Heating with electric wood-effect stove
  • Electric range oven, electric hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, kettle, toaster, Delonghi coffee machine, iron, ironing board
  • Smart TV, Bluetooth speaker, DVD player and DVDs, selection of games and books, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair, travel cot and stairgate, potty, bouncerchair, bedrail, step and baby bath available
  • Off-road parking in adjacent courtyard for 2-3 cars
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Front patio with tables, chairs and picnic bench
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1.1 miles, pub 1.7 miles
  • Note: You will need to bring your own tea towels, oven gloves and beach towels - these are not provided
  • Note: Dog must be supervised at all times whilst in the outdoor area
  • Note: Super King size bed set up as a twin or the twin set up as a Super king, please contact us

The property

An idyllic family farmhouse resting just outside of the picturesque town of Dartmouth, Little Cotton Farmhouse is a beautifully presented property settled into three acres of land, ideal for exploring the local coast and countryside.

Park off road and unpack with ease; cross the threshold noticing the bare stone features on the exterior and kick off your boots and hang up your coats in the storage area.

Be welcomed into a light and airy sitting room where you can recline on one of the leather sofas and catch up on your favourite TV shows, with a electric wood-effect stove to warm your feet beside in the cooler months.

In the warmer months, open the double doors and let in the fresh countryside air, or head out to a delightful patio, ideal for alfresco dining; there is also a large, grassed area for the little ones to enjoy.

A bright sunroom snug enjoys a quiet space to curl up with a book and a cup of tea.

The kitchen/diner boasts an air of opulence, from the well-fitted contemporary kitchen furniture and large, stylish dining table to the feature fireplace, bare bricks, beams and tiled flooring, this is an ideal space for cooking together as a group and enjoying a heart-warming meal, or watch TV.

Freshen up after a long day of exploring in the ground-floor wet room or first-floor bathroom.

The first and second floors of this property house five tasteful bedrooms (second floor bedrooms available on request), beginning with a king-size with an en-suite, a king-size zip-link that can be set up as a twin on request and a children’s cabin bed with a single bed on the first floor, and on the second floor there is a king-size with a shower room and a twin, and care has been taken to make sure each room is homely and stylish, each one fitted with storage, TV, and Velux windows.

If you can tear yourself away from this truly stunning property, head over to the coastal town of Dartmouth and enjoy a scenic walk along the harbour and River Dart, before indulging in a heart-warming meal at a tasty local eatery or checking out the independent stores.

There are many stunning sandy beaches within easy reach of the property, as well as historic sites including Kingswear Castle and Dartmouth Castle.

Explore the local wildlife at the lovely Little Dartmouth National Trust site or spend a day basking in the sun and surrounded by tremendous views at Blackpool Sands, an ideal spot for walking with your four-legged family member and trying out water sports.

Make a family getaway to remember with a stay at the wonderful Little Cotton Farmhouse.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Totnes 12 miles.

Dartmouth lies on the banks of the beautiful River Dart estuary in the popular and picturesque South Hams area of South Devon. Located within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and close to the coast, Dartmouth is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Devon. It offers a stunning waterfront, ancient narrow streets lined with boutique shops, restaurants and art galleries plus many local events such as the annual Dart Music Festival and the Port of Dartmouth Royal Regatta, along with the Dartmouth Food Festival held every October. There are many interesting cycling and walking routes around Dartmouth, including the South West Coast Path, the Dart Valley Trail and plenty of quiet country lanes. A trip on the Dartmouth Steam Railway through picturesque countryside to Paignton is a must, and so is a boat trip across to Kingswear and on to Brixham, a pretty little harbour town. For those seeking some beach activities, there is a wide choice in the South Hams area such as Blue Flag Award winner Blackpool Sands, and Slapton Sands, both extremely popular and just a stone's throw from Dartmouth. A relaxing location in South Devon.

View more holiday cottages in Dartmouth

The outside area is a shared space with the pet friendly holiday let next door.

Please note second floor bedrooms are available on request for £200 per week per room with the property being able to accommodate 10 people.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas