Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Dorset 7 minutes ago

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 23 View Image Gallery
  • Foxley Cottage - Dorset - 1106484 - photo 1






Foxley Cottage

(Ref. 1106484)

Charmouth, Dorset Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (6)
  • out (4)
  • our (4)
  • little (4)
  • lyme (3)
  • lovely (3)

8 Customer Reviews

  • "What a LOVELY week at Foxley Cottage."

    Wow! We had such a lovely relaxing time by the sea at this gorgeous cosy cottage. Such a comfortable cottage with so much character. It had everything we needed and more and was in loveliest little village. Perfect for our family, we can't wait to stay here again and we will definitely be returning asap! The local beach at Charmouth is stunning with great countryside walks and if you like fossils I don't think there is a better place :) (10 minute walk.) Royal Oak pub has amazing food and does a fantastic Sunday roast (2 min walk.) Newlands holiday park has a swimming pool with jacuzzi and sauna to use just for £5, absolute bargain and great for kids or if you need a little break on your own (5 min drive.) Lyme Regis coastal town also has lovely beaches, restaurants, cafes, pubs (our favourite - the royal standard), all different kinds of shops, aquarium, harbour, arcade, sauna on the beach and amazing rock pools when the tide is out (5 min drive.)

    JoJan 2024

  • "Description should say that this property is not suitable for older people or those with mobility issues."

    Parking is a bigger issue than described, with steep slopes & lengthy walks involved, even in September!. The original description of the second bedroom was incorrect. It can realistically only sleep one person and has little storage space! It was not clear that the second bathroom was downstairs, through the kitchen [another disadvantage for our more elderly friend]. The kitchen is by no means spacious, as described! The nasty smell on entering the property was overwhelming & spoiled the time we were in the cottage. Lyme Holiday Cottages responded to our phone call & sent a man who agreed that it was nasty & gave us aerosol sprays. This was no solution & hardly masked the smell. This needs investigating. Other concerns: 1. No handrails on the steep stairs! Legal requirement???? 2. No handrail on steps up to porch. 3. Front door sticks. Difficult to open from inside or out. 4. Window in small bedroom doesn't open. Others stick. 5 En-suite bathroom door doesn't close. 6 Fan in bathroom doesn't work. 7 Shower height adjustment needs attention.

    We’re sorry to hear that. The images on the website do clearly display the size of the second bedroom as well as the size of the kitchen, leaving guests to make an informed decision whether the property is suitable for them. We do also show on the floor plan below that the second bathroom is accessed via the kitchen downstairs. We are sorry that our efforts to deal with the smell were not satisfactory to yourselves, and we have asked our housekeeping and maintenance teams to investigate and address this. We have also asked our maintenance team to address the other issues you have reported. The Lyme Bay Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by John2.8Sep 2023

  • "The cottage was not aired out so when we arrived it smelt stale."

    The garden furniture was full of cobwebs. There were lots of little moths, woodlice and spiders. The cottage is suitable for a couple with one child or two toddlers not teenagers. There wasn't enough space for clothes for them. The shower in the ensuite did not work properly. No parking.

    We're sorry to hear that the cottage didn't meet your expectations and have asked our housekeeping team to look into these issues. The property is not advertised with parking but does provide details of nearby on street parking. We do show a photograph of the bedroom on the website and it does show how small the room is, thus allowing customer to make an informed decision on sleeping arrangements. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Charmouth. The Lyme Bay Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tasha1.9Jul 2023

  • "Master bedroom full of moths and master bedroom shower next to useless - lack of ..."

    Master bedroom full of moths and master bedroom shower next to useless - lack of temperature even when turned up to full, hardly any pressure and shower head leaking

    We're so sorry to hear that. We can not find any record of you reporting this to us during your stay as we would have arranged for someone to attend and resolve the issues. The Lyme Bay Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tim3.4Jun 2023

  • "Enjoyed a lovely few days in this well-equipped, comfortable and scrupulously clean cottage."

    Our success at finding fossils, however, is open to question. Made full use of our bus passes, with a full day at Lyme Regis. The car parking in The Street is limited, but we found plenty of room in Higher Sea Lane. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Derek5.0May 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay very much."

    The 'Welcome' bag of goods was much appreciated when we arrived. The cottage was very comfortable and clean and all the facilities/appliances that we needed were provided. It was a lovely, relaxing break made even better knowing we would return each evening to such a lovely cottage.

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Sep 2022

  • "The mattress on the double bed wasn't as firm as we would have liked."

    My daughter said the single bed was comfy

    Reviewed by Rachel4.7Jul 2022

  • "Foxley Cottage is a wonderful little cottage with loads of character in the beautiful village of Charmouth ."

    It is perfectly located for the beach or visiting Dorsets various tourist attractions . The accomodation is clean and spacious and has a loveky little courtyard garden to chill after a day out and about and for having a meal and a glass of wine . There is a beautiful pub , The Royal Oak within walking distance and the food is amazing , a fish and chip shop and a bakery and a Nica store , everything you could want . Can recommend the fish and chips . Overall this is a charming cottage in a beautiful Village and we had a wonderful stay for the week . Would highly recommend .

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2022

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lyme Bay Holidays collection.
Lyme Bay Holidays are a large, friendly, local agency established for over 40 years. Specialising in the area surrounding Lyme Regis on the Dorset and Devon border, they cover much of the World Heritage Coast as well as some stunning countryside and attractive market towns and villages.


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite shower-room with walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x single with pull-out truckle bed
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining/sitting room
  • Electric heating with electric fire stove
  • Electric oven, electric hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, hairdryer
  • TV, Sky, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • On-street non-allocated parking
  • Enclosed patio with raised beds and furniture and 4 steps up to a small graveled seating area
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 0.2, pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: Due to the age of the property some sloping ceilings restrict headroom in certain parts of the cottage
  • Note: There are some steep stairs which may be unsuitable for guests with lower mobility

The property

Situated in the seaside village of Charmouth, Dorset, this charming, thatched cottage is an ideal retreat for families.

With easy access to local walks and the nearby beach, Foxley Cottage will make a perfect base for a holiday on the popular UNESCO Jurassic Coast.

A property steeped in history, the cottage maintains many feature typical of a property of its age including ceiling beams and sloping walls.

The sitting room is a cosy retreat where you will find a feature fireplace with gas stove, perfect for the cooler months.

The kitchen at the rear overlooks the courtyard outside and offers everything needed for creating meals to enjoy around the dining table in the lounge.

Outside you will be delighted to find a raised patio area with seating, making a great place for you to enjoy a hot chocolate in an evening.

When it comes to bedtime, there are two bedrooms, a spacious double with ensuite shower room and a single bedroom with a pull out truckle bed.

The family bathroom is located on the ground floor and perfect for enjoying a soak in the bath to warm yourself up after a long day at the beach.

The local area of Charmouth offers many different National trust and countryside walks including the South West Coastal Path which offers walks far reaching coastal views.

Charmouth itself has a good selection of local shops and pubs, including a popular village bakery and a convenience store.

Charmouth beach is a popular spot for eager fossil hunters with its impressive cliffs hiding fossils of prehistoric creatures.

Why not visit the Heritage Coast centre on the beach to find out more about the spectacular area and pick up tips on how to find your own fossils.

Popular days out include nearby Lyme Regis with its famous Cobb harbour, local gift shops, and popular eateries.

With so much to see and do, make the perfect seaside holiday with a stay at Foxley Cottage.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Charmouth is an unspoilt seaside village, set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty with a fantastic beach world renowned for its fossils on the famous Jurassic Coast.

Note: Due to the age of the property some sloping ceilings restrict headroom in certain parts of the cottage

PLEASE NOTE: The second bedroom at this property does sleep two (with a trundle bed) but is small - so it is suggested that this property would be comfortable for a maximum of 3 people over the age of 12.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas