Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 33 View Image Gallery
  • Tythe Barn House - Devon - 997692 - photo 1
close

Tythe Barn House

(Ref. 997692)

Combe Martin, Devon Show on map

4.4

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (7)
  • property (6)
  • bed (6)
  • stay (5)
  • cottage (5)
  • lovely (5)

14 Customer Reviews

  • "A very cosy cottage for a stay near the sea."

    Being next to the co-op is very handy and we were not disturbed by vehicles . The shower room is very nicely appointed and the beds are super-comfy.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Apr 2024

  • "Lovely place to stay ."

    Just needs a couple of things finishing off. Door handle need fixing ( next to stairs) Ochre bedroom door latch fallen off. Wires in master bedroom behind wardrobe getting rid of. Other than that it was a lovely stay, and I didn’t bang my head once !

    We are so grateful you took the time to review Tythe Barn House. It means a lot as we work hard to make sure the house is perfect for our guests. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Feb 2024

  • "A lovely cosy cottage in a great location."

    We are so pleased that enjoyed our home from home and the area. We do try hard to make sure guests have everything they need and we appreciate that you took the time to leave a review. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jan 2024

  • "We really can't understand the negative reviews."

    The house is as described on the website. It is furnished comfortably and as a home, not an impersonal rental. Lots of character. Shout out for the comfy bed! We didn't eat out and I cook properly, so it was a relief to find the kitchen is really well equipped. Handy to have the Coop next door too. We really enjoyed our stay and thank you for the welcome gifts.

    Really delighted you had such a good time and enjoyed your stay. I cook too and am always irritated when self catering accommodation doesn't have the equipment to do exactly that! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison Clare5.0Nov 2023

  • "We thought the property is fabulous."

    And to be honest understated in the advert. Everything is there you could possibly need and so much to do right on your door step. Didn’t meet a single person who was not friendly. The local pubs and cafes are all really good to visit. The drinks and food are totally top class. Our only not so positive observation might be we were presented on arrival with so many instructions it took an age to read them. Also while the ad stated that dogs were welcome the restrictions within the property were not mentioned until we got in. Finally the 9am exit time seemed a little early.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you found Tythe Barn House exceeded your expectations. We work hard to make sure guests have the holiday accommodation they expect. We have now removed most of the information about dogs. It was the standard Sykes information, but as you say just too much! We have also moved the check out time to 10.00. Best regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark4.7Oct 2023

  • "We spent a long weekend down at Tythe Barn House with our dog."

    The cottage was well furnished with beautiful antiques and the kitchen well stocked with utensils and cooking equipment. The beds were very comfortable, and we all slept very well every night. We particularly liked the stone features of the rustic cottage. We ate out at one of the nearby pubs one evening which was easy walking distance and the food was very nice. The village of Combe Martin was very pretty and Ilfracombe and Woolacombe are a short drive away. All in all it was a highly relaxing weekend in the countryside and we will definitely be back.

    I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Tythe Barn House. We do our absolute best to make sure it is super clean, comfortable and well equipped. And yes, we think the area pretty too. Come back any time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jordan5.0Oct 2023

  • "Fantastic stay."

    Cottage was so well equipped and comfy. Will definitely book again next year. It’s convenient for the town, shops and beach. Couldn’t fault it.

    Woohoo! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. And do come back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Oct 2023

  • "First impressions on arrival were good but as the week went on we noticed a few faults."

    The light in the utility room did not work as was the case with the heated towel rail in the shower room. All the carpets could do with a professional deep clean as it looked as there had been numerous spillages. The hot water tap in the kitchen sink was really slow and took an age to fill. As mentioned in another review there was a lot to read on arrival regarding dogs which wasn't mentioned on the Sykes website. The parking space is really tight and the garden furniture could do with being updated as it has seen better days. We found we had to leave a day early as the 9am curfew is a bit mean.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry the light bulb was out. We leave spares for guests as we cannot tell when one will stop working. Our housekeeper always messages guests that if anything is not as you would expect, he will come and fix it. It is a shame that you didn't contact him about the light bulb nor towel rail. Your visit was towards the end of the season, and we have since deep cleaned the carpets. We have also replaced the bistro set. The description on the website does explain that parking is doable, but tight for 2 large cars. Parking is at a premium across the village. We have taken on board your comments about too much information about dogs and removed this. We have also moved the check out time to 10.00. Best regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan3.8Sep 2023

  • "Very nice property."

    Spotlessly clean. Bedding and towels beautifully laundered. Bathroom and shower room very nice indeed. Shower easy to use and efficient. Very well stocked kitchen with everything needed for a fairly large group. Had a couple of minor maintenance queries but they were dealt with promptly. Our only real problem was the area itself, which is not particularly easy for dog walking or pedestrians. We found we had to get in the car and take the dogs out in order to exercise them properly. That said, we had a pleasant stay at Tythe Barn House.

    Thank you so much for your feedback. it really does mean a lot to us. And pleased you enjoyed you stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jacqueline4.7Sep 2023

  • "We were very disappointed with the property, it looked lovely on the website but on arrival was another matter."

    Shabby decor all around, no Dvd player as promised, no evidence of any deep clean, poor hot water fiow in kitchen. Thorough unwelcoming property, won't be staying again.

    Thank for your important feedback Adam. Its a shame to hear that the house did not meet your expectations, especially as this differs greatly from your messages with us during your stay. As the photos on the website show, there are a number of antiques and perhaps traditional furniture is not to your taste? We have a rolling programme of re-decoration and maintenance, so I am concerned you found the house shabby. I apologise about the lack of DVD player; it had just broken and is being replaced, which I appreciate did not help you during your stay. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the property so are very concerned you found it lacking. It’s very unfortunate that you did not let my property manager know in your messages during your visit, as they would have visited as priority. Please do contact me should you wish to discuss this further, all feedback is important for us to provide great stay for future guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adam1.3Sep 2023

  • "In my opinion this property is not suitable for young children or dogs."

    The inside was ok, but things had been missed when the cleaning team that had been in. Has dogs are not allowed upstairs the fabric gates did not stop a cocker spaniel getting up. The outside area was very disappointing the area with table and 6 chairs was small and only just fitted the with walled flower beds around, no extra room and not secure. I had 2 grandson with me and the only place for them and the dog to play was the gravel slopping drive which is shared with another property. The parking spaces is very tight when getting out when 2 cars are parked

    Thank you for your feedback Amanda; we really appreciate it as it helps us to improve our property and future guest visits. I hope that despite the weather being so wet and stormy during your visit, you were able enjoy the area! I apologise that you weren’t able to have your dog in the bedroom and the bed. This is an advertised Sykes condition, which is there for the hygiene and safety of all visitors, bed linen and upkeep of the house. I trust this hasn’t impacted on your review of your experience. Once the driveway gate is shut the patios and driveway are secure, with our neighbours owning dogs themselves this is taken very seriously. We do believe that the photos and description on the website are a true reflection of the property and outside space, and the description clearly states that there are two patios and a shared gravel driveway, which was vacant during your stay. A wonderful secure play park and green is just a few minutes walk away. I am distressed to hear you feel the cleanliness of the property was not up to our exceptionally high standards, should my property manager been made aware of any issues during your stay, they would gladly have rectified as a matter of urgency. If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amanda2.8Aug 2023

  • "The only downside was the outdoor space especially with our dog."

    We had a lovely week very nice cottage.

    Sorry to hear outside space didn't suit your dog. There are two patios and wide flower beds for dogs to explore. And most importantly, once the gate is shut, it's safe. Glad you liked the cottage and had a good week. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maggie5.0Jun 2023

  • "Lovely property and perfect base for exploring"

    I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Teresa4.7Jun 2023

  • "The property was well presented and had more than sufficient china and cutlery."

    The little extras such as tea/ coffee/ biscuits/ cleaning products/ tea and hand towels really made the place feel “lived in” and that the house had been “occupied” rather than just a rental. The only slight negative was that the outside space wasn’t particularly inviting to sit out in.

    I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the outside space. Did you find the larger patio across the drive? It has a pretty flowerbed and table / chairs. Property Owner

    Reviewed by George4.7Apr 2023

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size with TV, 1 x double, 1 x family room with double and single bed
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over
  • Separate WC with basin
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Utility
  • Living/dining room with wood burning stove
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge, with a second large fridge in the utility room, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer
  • Smart TV, TV with Freeview, DVD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot, highchair and stair gates provided
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Secure Gated Outside Space
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking or vaping
  • Shop < 0.1 miles, pub 0.2 miles, beach 1.1 miles
  • Note: Check-in from 4pm, check-out from 10am
  • Note: Property only accepts Sat-Sat bookings between July to September.

The property

Nestled in the delightful village of Combe Martin is this character, stone and brick built cottage, Tythe Barn House.

The original section of the property is part of an old Devon long house and predates C17.

Just a mile from the beach and the South West Coastal path, this inviting retreat welcomes families and friends looking to explore this wonderful region of Devon.

From the moment you enter Tythe Barn House you will be enticed by its charm and appreciate the sympathetic way the owners have lovingly restored the property retaining original beams and exposed stone walls, whilst creating a warm and welcoming home.

It is furnished, with some antiques from the owner’s family, in a traditional and comfortable way.

From the shingle driveway enter through a the gate to the to the utility room, handy for storing coats, shoes and wiping muddy paws.

Allow the designated chef to impress in the kitchen, taking advantage of quality fixtures and fittings from Miele, Bosch and AEG making this a pleasant place to prepare meals.

The kitchen is well equipped with crockery, pots and pans and even a large roasting tin should you wish to cook a large Sunday roast.

There is a kitchen table for 6 people, perfect for breakfast and sofa where you can curl up with a book.

Moving through, the sitting room is a great social space in which to relax, chat, watch TV or simply enjoy the delights of the wood burning stove.

Separated from the living room by an exposed archway and a step, the dining room easily accommodates 6 around the table for those enjoyable meals with family and friends.

Carpeted stairs lead up to the bedrooms, including the master with king-size bed and TV, a family room with double and single bed and finally a double.

Upstairs, serving the bedrooms are a bathroom with bath and electric over bath shower, a separate toilet with basin and a further shower room with toilet and basin.The garden comprises a shared access gravel driveway, which leads to the neighbours who own the other part of the Devon long house, abundant mature flower beds and two stone patios which catch the sun.

There is parking for two cars, although large cars will have to juggle to park.

There is no grass so, we suggest for children and dogs who want to run and play ball games, walk to Cornell’s Park at just over 500m, which has children’s play equipment and grass for dogs to sniff and play.

The small patio outside the utility room has a small bistro patio set, perfect for a coffee.

The larger patio, across the drive, has a table and chairs for 6, a sun parasol, a table and bricks for a disposable BBQ, just ideal for relaxing or al fresco dining.

It backs onto the neighbouring Coop, so, at times, we regret you may be disturbed by the car noise.

Explore Combe Martin with local convenience stores to stock up on essentials, eateries such as the historic Pack of Cards Public House to enjoy a hearty meal or have an evening drink on the seafront at the Focsle Public House whilst watching the sunset.

It is just over a mile to the beach, offering beautiful rolling scenery from the highest point on the Coast Path to the lapping water’s edge of the Bristol Channel Those looking to get their steps in can venture along the South West Coast Path, taking in the coastal scenes all the way to Ilfracombe, popular for sport enthusiasts where you can cycle the Tarka Trail or visit the Museum and Aquarium.

With all this, plus the delights of Barnstaple and Croyde easily accessible, there’s plenty to enjoy whilst holidaying at Tythe Barn House.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

COMBE MARTIN

Ilfracombe 5 miles; Woolacombe 12 miles; Barnstaple 13 miles.

At the point where the Exmoor National Park and the North Devon Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty meet, is where you'll find Combe Martin. This small seaside resort, with all of the necessary amenities, is a great attraction to locals and visitors alike. Combe Martin has a very popular beach; the sheltered cove is perfect for rock-pooling and it is a popular paddle boarding bay. The village also boasts its own Wildlife and Dinosaur Park! Combe Martin is home to the historic Earl of Rone festival held in May each year and has an annual carnival in August. This is an ideal base for touring, and discovering the delights of North Devon, with Lynton and Lynmouth, Woolacombe, Croyde Bay, Saunton Sands, Ilfracombe and Barnstaple all within easy reach. There are also numerous National Trust properties and gardens waiting to be enjoyed. Surfing at Woolacombe is among the best in the South West, while the South West coastal path passes within a mile. Combe Martin is a great base for enjoying a seaside getaway, with something to keep everybody entertained.

View more holiday cottages in Combe Martin

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Christmas