In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 0 minutes ago

14 people have recently viewed this property


Croyde, Devon (Ref. 1011303)


Very good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes


  • Icon/Feature/Hot Tub Hot tub
  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor accommodation
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor bedroom
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Cot available
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Highchair available
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

13 Customer Reviews

  • "Mermaids 5 star holiday accommodation A lovely bungalow in Croyde Bay, 10 minutes walk to the beach."

    We arrived to a clean, warm, fresh bungalow. Comfy bed, fluffy towels. High end furniture and fittings. Huge bath, rainfall showers. Amazing hot tub sitting on a decking area in the garden. Side access so when you arrive back from the beach you can change before entering the property. TVs with Netflix, YouTube. We stayed over Christmas and cooked a huge roast, plenty of serving bowls, cutlery, fast hot oven. Communication with Skyes was terrible during the booking but direct communication with owner was friendly, quick and easy. Croyde itself is a quite surf village, stunning beach, walks, sunsets and scenery. Nearby Barnstaple, Braunton, Appledore, Clovelly and Bude all worth a visit. This property is perfect all year round, we are just back from an incredible Christmas winter break. Thank you for having us. 5 salty sea stars

    Reviewed by LornaDec 2021

  • "We were very pleased with the cottage…."

    .the cleanliness, the decor, the position and the facilities that it offered…..especially the hot tub. We really couldn’t fault it at all!

    Reviewed by SherylOct 2021

  • "Great for a family holiday we were 5 adults but never felt cramped."

    Gorgeous beach close by and amenities 10 mins walk .Hot tub great and enclosed garden perfect for dogs

    Reviewed by SandraOct 2021

  • "The Bungalow is in a very good location with good quality fixtures and fittings, but the property was not clean, which is worrying especially in light of the Covid Pandemic."

    Trying to sort out the cleaning issue was time consuming and far from satisfactory especially as the property should have been spotlessly clean in the first place. Seagulls nesting on the roof with newborn chicks were not happy when we out on the decking which made using the hot tub not too pleasant. Although advertised as ground floor accommodation, the property was not as accessible as we thought/hoped, even though we had been told wheelchair users had used the property and there were ramps available. We would not book the property again.

    Many thanks for your feedback and as owners we are hugely disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. We act on everything we hear from our guests in Mermaids so we certainly take your feedback seriously. Disabled Access: Unfortunately, you only let us know that you required disabled access 2 weeks before you were due to arrive. Mermaids has not been designed or advertised as specifically Accessible for disabled guests and the photos do show steps at the property. As we advised, we have had wheelchair users stay with us in Mermaids previously where the ramps have been used successfully but we recognise that access requirements differ considerably in each case. But given your challenges, we have now reinforced our advert to specifically highlight the steps that are shown to avoid any confusion in the future. We can only wish in retrospect that you had spoken to Sykes Cottages at the time of your booking where we could have explained the layout of the house; advised what we had to help you; made alternative provisions for you; or helped you to find an alternative break. I am sorry that we couldn't help you further in this case. Seagulls: We have done all we can to deter seagulls from nesting at Mermaids. Like many of our neighbours in Croyde, we have installed humane anti-nesting spikes as a deterrent but these wild birds always seem to find a way. It is illegal to disturb the nests so we cannot intervene once the nests are established. Unfortunately this is a feature of living near the sea - most of our other guests, like us, value the coastal biodiversity but we regret that you were uncomfortable. Cleaning: Apologies that Mermaids was not cleaned to a standard that you could be happy with - you reported the issues after you had settled into your stay and as soon as we knew, we immediately arranged for our cleaner to come round and rectify the issues for you. We constantly strive to ensure that our guests have the best stay possible and we regret that it was not all that you expected. I do wish you the very best for the future and if you ever do consider Mermaids again, then please do let us know so we can discuss your requirements in detail. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TeresaJun 2021

  • "It was comfortable clean homely enjoyed every minute only came hime a day early cause of the wind and rain"

    Reviewed by AndreaMay 2021

  • "Wonderful place."

    We’ve had an amazing week. We’ve travelled to some incredible places across the world but this week was one of the best we’ve had. Extremely chilled and relaxing. The house is perfect, situated in a great location - so peaceful and quiet. Really nice spec and the jacuzzi is amazing. The cleanliness wasn’t bad it just could have been a little better. Wrappers underneath the sofa seats, dog toy under the sofa and quite dusty. Needed a better hoover. That aside it was just brilliant!!

    Many thanks for your comments and we have replaced the hoover, thank you for letting us know. We will ensure that the sofa is remedied and ensure it is added to the cleaner process that under the sofa and seats are to be checked on every changeover. We're glad you had a nice time and that you found the stay relaxing , peaceful and quiet. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DelMay 2021

  • "Really enjoyed our week at Mermaids which was a lovely well equipped and comfortable property."

    The location was great very quiet and yet only a 10 minute walk to Croyde beach. Only constructive comments would be : a) The fridge freezer was extremely noisy I am not sure this is normal b) Proper wine glasses would be welcomed c) Flat screen TV in the main bedroom would be a great addition Would thoroughly recommend to others

    Many thanks for your feedback, we have now added wine glasses to the property and have checked that the fridge/freezer is operating correctly. We also took your feedback on board regarding the TV and so to enhance guests' experience we have now added a flat screen TV to the bedroom. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JohnOct 2020

  • "The house itself is very nice as is the garden and the hot tub."

    And it’s a nice walk to the beach. The thing which really let the property down was the moldy shower floor in the main bathroom; I have honestly never seen anything like it. We aren’t talking a little bit of mold in the corners; the entire shower floor is covered in black mold and we were unable to use it for our stay. It wasn’t pleasant at all. I didn’t think the house was cleaned to a very high standard particularly as we couldn’t check in until 6pm and had to check out by 9am because of extra cleaning. With Covid 19 around it is obviously not ideal. There was toothpaste over the top of our bedroom cabinet and the sink in main bathroom not clean looked grubby in the corners. The hand soap in the kitchen has been watered down and the main bathroom and kitchen windows didn’t open. The garden is nice and well kept however the furniture is very old and worn. There was only one sun bed as the other had broken slats and was unusable.

    We are saddened and disappointed to hear that you felt let down with various aspects of the house, particularly cleaning. The housekeeping team are working around the clock at the moment in very difficult circumstances but that is no excuse for such drop offs in hygiene and cleaning standards. Your feedback was an unpleasant surprise to us - we have been really pleased with the cleaning team who have taken every possible precaution during the pandemic. They are very highly rated and are independently checked regularly: they sanitise absolutely everything at changeover and even provide additional industrial cleaner/sanitiser for guest use if needed. We have also asked for the mould issue you mentioned to be specifically investigated (again this was a surprise but we will act to rectify). We also highlight on the first page of our guest book that if you are unsatisfied or have any problems then please call the housekeeper who will always react ASAP - they are on call on a 24hr basis (the housekeeper's number is also on laminate display in the kitchen). We can always respond promptly to help rectify issues such as these if guests call and alert the team as early as possible. And of course Sykes have our details (as owners) so we can be informed straight away if needed. But that does not make up for the poor experience you had - we and the housekeeping team are now fully aware and will work much harder to improve quality. Thanks again for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JamesAug 2020

  • "Lovely house and would return."

    It would have been nice to have some wine glasses in the kitchen. Also it would have been nice to have a tv on the wall in the kitchen/dinning room. A wardrobe would have been nice in the 3rd bedroom. Pillows could do with being firmer. This is constructive feedback. I would love to stay at this house again as location is perfect for beach and Croyde.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mermaids and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would return! We did think about putting a TV in the kitchen diner but opted to preserve the tranquility of the space instead. However we have received similar feedback about the master bedroom so for next season we will install a third TV on the wall facing the bed. Also - wine glasses - we decided to use "stemless" wine glasses to be a bit fashionable and to minimise spillages / breakages (particularly with light coloured decor!) but on reflection we've had a chat and agree that wine tastes better out of a glass with a stem so we will definitely get some new ones over the next few weeks. The wardrobe - this is such a shame as this little room is usually laid out as a "retreat" with lovely books and things but we can't currently have any of this stuff out so it does look a bit bare. And finally pillows - we will get some firmer pillows so that the housekeeper can respond and change them if needed; (and of course we would hope to prepare Mermaids with firmer pillows for when you next visit)! Thank you again - stay safe and we hope to see you again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by PhilomenaJul 2020

  • "Pictures dont do it justice."

    Lovely house, lovely area.

    Reviewed by JulietteFeb 2020

  • "I was surprised there was NO washing machine?"

    . I am disabled and the walk to the beach seemed longer than the 300 metres advertised, however I appreciate that this may be an estimate only.

    Thank you very much for your feedback - we really value your comments as we seek to continually improve. You mentioned that there was no washing machine -the brand new washing machine and tumble drier are actually in the garage, with easy access to the side of the house. But that wasn't made clear in the guest book (as it's not immediately obvious) so we will update the guest book as soon as we are next down. You also mentioned that the shops were further than the 300m advertised which was difficult as you are disabled - the advert says 0.3miles - but it's actually 1/3 mile and down a hill so it must have been difficult for you. Please accept our apologies that this was not clearer and that it dented your experience. We will update the website to be clearer on this. We are sorry that you felt that we came up short on these points but hope that you will visit us again soon. And we do have a note at the front of the guest book that has the contact details of the housekeeper if you have any issues or difficulties if you do come and visit us in the future. Many thanks again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by AnnaFeb 2020

  • "Mermaids was absolutely everything we could ask for."

    The welcome pack was a very nice surprise. Mermaids felt homely and had lovely modern fixtures and fittings. The quality of the towels and bedding were excellent. The hot tub was lovely to relax in after long walks each day. We would recommend Mermaids and would also book through Sykes again. Thank you for a very stress free relaxing break.

    Reviewed by ClaireFeb 2020

  • "Very comfortable stay, lovely house in every way, enjoyed the hot tub, views of sunset over sea, beautiful walks and beaches."

    Superb pubs within walking distance, a lovely part of Devon.

    Reviewed by CarolineJan 2020

Show more

The property

Mermaids rests in the seaside village of Croyde.

Peaceful and private, this very well appointed 3 bedroom detached bungalow is perfectly located for easy access to the dramatic coast, the regional attractions and the popular local amenities.

It is 5 minutes’ walk to the village pubs, restaurants and shops and a moment’s stroll to one of the UK’s best beaches.

Finished to a very high standard with oak flooring throughout; oil fired programmable central heating; and décor that has recently been updated by a local interior designer, the house is modern and stylish – you will want to stay longer!

The clean contemporary kitchen / diner is the perfect place to prepare and enjoy your meals together.

With slate tiled flooring, it comes equipped with a range of appliances, oak work surfaces and modern gloss cream units; it is fully stocked with everything you need (even including an ice-bucket for those special occasions!).

The kitchen / diner opens out onto a large floor-lit wooden deck that captures endless sunshine throughout the day and boasts views that extend to the sea and the beautiful North Devon coastline.

The deck is perfect for BBQs and summer social occasions or just to lounge on one of the sun-beds whilst enjoying the calm surroundings.

The gardens are enclosed and gated so if it all gets too much you can relax and unwind in the hot tub!

The lounge is restful and cosy and snug in the colder months.

The TV, DVD and iphone compatible stereo will help to keep you entertained on those occasional rainy days!

Light, airy and refreshing in the summer and cosy and warm in the winter, Mermaids is perfect for families to feel right at home with the flexible accommodation arranged over three bedrooms (one of which has an en-suite).

Each bedroom has been tastefully furnished with soft bedding and oak furniture to store your personal items.

Flexible and adaptable, two of the bedrooms can be arranged to suit either twin or double bed configurations and one bedroom can even convert to a children’s playroom if needed.

The master bedroom features a modern en-suite shower room.

And the remaining bedrooms are served by a spacious family wetroom / bathroom that boasts a double walk-in shower and a separate, free standing bath tub with in-floor candle-style lighting.

Perfect to soften the mood along with those luxury bubbles!

The location of the property is enviable: it is just a short 5 minute stroll to Croyde’s beautiful beach.

Croyde Bay has everything: internationally renowned surf, fine golden sand, wonderful dunes, blue seas and interesting rock pools on both sides; it is lifeguarded in the summer months; and dogs are welcomed to the beach out of season.

Croyde village has a fantastic range of amenities including many eateries; a selection of independent shops; a regular local artisan market; pubs and bars; and children will love the Cascades fun pool in the local beach resort.

Not only is the property ideally situated within the village, it is also great for exploring the spectacular North Devon Coastline.

Walkers will love the National Trust coastal footpath which is easily accessible on foot; the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site is really close by; and the Saunton Golf Club is a 10 minute drive away.

More stunning beaches (such as Putsborough, Woolacombe and Saunton Sands) and beautiful Devon villages (such as Georgeham, Combe Martin, Lee and Berrynarbor) are on the doorstep.

Trek along the South West Coast Path from Braunton to Instow and you may even see wild otter and salmon as you join the Tarka Trial along the estuary of the River Taw.

Mermaids at 9 Lane Head Close is a wonderful, relaxing base with so much to explore in the surrounding area.


  • All-ground-floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite shower, basin and WC; 1 x double/twin; and 1 x twin/day-bed
  • Bathroom with bath, walk in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room.
  • Oil central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, American style fridge/freezer, dishwasher, tumble dryer, washing machine, coffee machine
  • Wifi
  • 3 x Flat screen TV, located in lounge, childrens' room and main bedroom
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Off road parking for three cars
  • Enclosed rear lawned garden with decked veranda, seating and Hot tub
  • Please note there are three steps from the decking to the sloped garden (picture 1)and a step from the decking to the hot tub area (picture 22)
  • 2 well behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shops, pubs and restaurant 0.3 miles away and down a fairly steep hill
  • Beach 0.3 miles
  • Note: The washing machine and tumble drier are in the garage
  • Note: The property has a convenient garage to store bikes, surf boards and beach gear etc
  • Note: There is a Good Housekeeping Bond of £300 for this property
  • Check in is from 4pm

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £300.

View on map

About the location


Saunton 2.5 miles; Woolacombe 4.5 miles; Barnstaple 10.6 miles.

Croyde is a pretty coastal village situated in North Devon, lying on the South West Coast Path near to Baggy Point, owned by the National Trust. It is a popular destination for holidaymakers with several small campsites, a small retail area and two larger holiday parks, bringing in a happy flow of tourism to replace its once agricultural roots. Croyde is a popular choice for the young surfing community at Croyde Bay, offering various waves due to the shape of the bay, not one for the faint-hearted! Nearby are the popular areas of Woolacombe, Putsborough, Georgham and Saunton Sands, making Croyde the perfect place to uncover all the wonders of North Devon and beyond.

Region Information

Note: There is a Good Housekeeping Bond of £300 for this property.

Please advise of bed configurations as soon as possible once you have confirmed your booking.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it