4.1★ (24 ratings) Sykes rating Sleeps 4 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms 1 Pets No Show on map Features Broadband / WiFi Seaside Garden / Patio Dishwasher Pub/shop < 1 mile Reviews & Ratings Accuracy of the listing Cleanliness Comfort Facilities 24 Customer Reviews "The boathouse was lovely , the steps were difficult , the bins were not picked up as completely full still from previous occupation, kingswear has 1 pub that doesn't serve food , 1 shop the rest was all closed down, parking expensive, post code sends you to the wrong place altogether, South Devon was not great everywhere you go you get charged the beach was not sand but all small stones and cost£6 , everything was for the tourists to be ripped off , English riviera dirty,loud ,rude people don't go there horrible, paignton different altogether nice, the zoo don't bother £45 for 2 and Hardly any animals lots of empty enclosures mainly just birds in bad need of repair very run down." Dartmouth dull and just cafes that all seem to close at 2pm. 1 visit was enough. South Devon will never return. We are happy to hear that you liked The Boathouse. We do warn people about the steps, but hope that the spectacular views at the top are worth it! And we’re glad to say we have made improvements to the last few steps to ease your way. We are very sorry about the rubbish not being collected. That was an error on our part and has been fixed so as not to happen again. The Steam Packet pub has just been bought and is having a bit of a makeover. It will The Property Owner Reviewed by KeithJun 2022 "I would like to extend my thanks to the owner of the cottage, we had a lovely stay and were delighted with the cottage." The views were amazing, can't beat having dinner out on the decking and watching the sunset with drinks later on! Inside, yes the cottage isn't perfect, it's an old building but I think they have made the most of it, heating works well and the kitchen is modern and had pretty much everything we needed for our stay, better equipped than any other accommodation I've ever stayed at! Yes there are steep steps as described in the listing, you get used to them after a few times going up and down, parking we found plentiful nearby on other roads without having to pay for the official car park. All in all this place comes highly recommended! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We’re particularly pleased to hear that you appreciated The Boathouse for the best that she offers. Property Owner Reviewed by AaronMay 2022 "The only positive thing about this property is the view which to be honest can be seen and enjoyed by many points locally." I was aware of the 80 steps leading to the property but did not appreciate how steep and treacherous they are. I would suggest including images of the steps on the website, The cottage is shabby and have seen this advised in reviews from last year with assurances from the owner that this will be addressed , sadly this obviously has not been. The mattresses are cheap , substandard and totally uncomfortable so much so that we resorted to taking turns to sleep on the sofa. The quilts are flat and need replacing. There was a cracked / broken pane of glass in the back door and the fridge shelf broken - I reported this on arrival. This should have been reported and repaired / replaced prior to my arrival. I even had to clean the kettle before I could use it as it was caked in debris The back garden is unusable as confirmed in the handbook supplied at the property. There is a very small tv in the living room and no TVs in the bedroom. There is a nail sticking up on the floor of the front bedroom in front of the dressing table which I cut my foot on. The bathroom has signs of mould around the tiles. The shower whilst usable is aged and requires replacement. You are renting this cottage on a view which as I say can be seen from much better areas and viewpoints. I have taken pictures of the cottage and am happy to share these with you Totally dissatisfied and disappointed I would not recommend this cottage to anyone at any price. Totally overpriced for a substandard property Much better options available locally I would like a refund for this weekend break as not as advertised or portrayed and was mislead on the what is a substandard property We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. All our guests enjoy the spectacular views from the cottage. We hope you had opportunity to appreciate the views in the four hours you had from arriving prior to the advertised arrival time. We’re sorry you thought the size of the television wasn’t sufficient. We believe it is appropriate for the scale of the cottage. We do not advertise televisions in the bedrooms, and have not had any requests to install them. We cannot agree with you about the state of the cottage. The carpets are almost brand new, having been fitted late last year. The exterior was repainted in March of this year. We have never had complaints about the mattresses. We offered to attend to the minor issues regarding the back door and fridge, but understand that you declined. Property Owner Reviewed by TeresaApr 2022 "I think the number and steepness of the steps to the property should be made much clearer on the booking information." I missed this until after I had booked and paid. This property is not suitable for anyone with a disability or inability to climb those steep stairs. Having said that, it is a lovely property with marvelous views. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We do take care to ensure that our descriptions are accurate. In this case the 80 steps are mentioned in three separate places on the website listing, including one in red text at the foot of the listing which flashes up again at the point when a customer clicks through to the booking page. We would always encourage any guests with mobility queries to get in touch with our Reservations team prior to booking to ensure they choose the best property to suit their requirements. Property Owner Reviewed by JanineNov 2021 "Fantastic! For the first time in years a truly relaxing holiday in a wonderful house set in an equally great location." If I was told to stay forever, no problems with all of us! The house is superb, a real home with everything you need and the view is amazing. Just sit in the window sill and watch the world go by. Million Dollar question. Would we go back? A big yes and in the planning already for next year Reviewed by MarkOct 2021 "Loved the location and the view from the outside seating area was superb." However we feel the cottage needs some tlc. Maximum price charged for what we felt was minimum input compared to other places we have stayed at. It would not take much money to really smarten the place up and enhance the holiday. The glasses were chipped, carpets needed cleaning and random stuff left in drawers and wardrobe which I have to say smelt musty and was dirty. The place needed a good clean. Luckily for us the weather was good and we used terrace for all our meals. The view from the terrace was heavenly. Thank you for your feedback and for bring these points to our attention. We have passed your comments to the property owner, who after a very busy season will arrange for a deep clean of The Boathouse. Glasses will be checked and replaced during the next changeover. Despite the issues encountered we are pleased you had a good week weather wise and were able to enjoy some alfresco dining! Property Owner Reviewed by JamesSep 2021 "Loved climbing the steps to the cottage , keeps you fit !" Didn’t like finding a piece of toast on the kitchen table from previous guest . Everything else was fine . Enjoyed our holiday , miss the view already . Increase in price for next year is disappointing . Reviewed by RichardAug 2021 "When we arrived, the key safe box was very stiff to use and really struggled to get the key out." There was a large bag of rubbish left outside the property that the seagulls had got to, so there was debris scattered everywhere. We had to pick up all the mess and contact the caretaker to sort this. There claimed to be a seagull proof bag for rubbish and there wasn’t. There was a small metal bin at the back of the property and this should be much bigger to account for a week’s worth of rubbish. Ideally a second bin could be placed there to put recycling in. Surfaces inside (countertops, bannisters etc) all sticky and I spent some time cleaning everything. The crockery, pans and cutlery weren’t clean either so put everything through the dishwasher. In the kitchen, there was very little storage space for your own food and drinks and it would be great if some cupboards could be freed up for this. Once we had sorted out these initial issues, we did have a lovely week but disappointed to see that the price for the same property has increased significantly for the same period next year, so won’t be returning. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Boathouse. Thank you for your observations about the cleanliness. We aim to maintain a high standard of COVID safe cleanliness throughout the property, and have taken your comments to heart. Changes to rubbish collection arrangements by the local authority have caused temporary problems. We are sorry that you were inconvenienced on your arrival. However, we are happy to inform you that we have engaged a dedicated weekly rubbish collection service and a secure, seagull proof box outside the property. Property Owner Reviewed by RobertJul 2021 "My husband and I have just returned from The Boathouse Kingswear, it is a lovely little cottage exactly as described." We had variable weather during our stay and got soaked one afternoon, the radiators didn’t seem to be working but a fan heater had been supplied so with that and the heated towel rail we were able to dry off our wet things. Cottage has great views over the train and shipyard it was lovely having a glass of wine on the decking just watching the yachts. Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive comments about The Boathouse. With regard to the radiators, we have now checked these and they are definitely working. We do leave the instructions for their use in the Guide to the Boathouse which we leave for guests in the property. Property Owner Reviewed by BeverleyJul 2021 "Whilst we knew about 76 steps, the steepness was not mentioned." The village store is now shut, so there is nowhere to buy groceries in Kingswear. The estate agents has also shut. Directions were confusing, suggesting that the Boathouse is on the same road as the Marina carpark. It would be more helpful to say that you need to take the one-way road out of Kingswear and come back down Fore Street. The sign to Hillside Crescent is too small to be read from the car. Eventually, we asked a pedestrian for directions. Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback, the owner of the property has confirmed the small grocery shop in Kingswear has unfortnately closed, however there are a good selection of shops at nearby Dartmouth. We are sorry you found the directions confusing, we have been through them with the owner who confirms they are accurate. Property Owner Reviewed by BobApr 2021 "Great cosy cottage with outstanding views." Reviewed by LucindaOct 2020 "The house was lovely but it looked a little tired." Even though there were 76 step to this property we soon got use to the climb up, but it would be an idea to state that this was the case in the first instance on the advert. Thank you for your feedback. The website clearly states the number of steps in the second paragraph of the property's description, to ensure that guests are aware of this prior to making a booking. We hope that you enjoyed your stay at The Boathouse and that we may see you again in the not too distant future. Property Owner Reviewed by KateSep 2020 "Steps really are a challenge but worth the view." Reviewed by ValSep 2020 "The kitchen appliances were substandard." The frying pans were scratched, full of rust, so not usable. The kitchen table was too small to use properly with a family of 3. The view is unique and the biggest plus of the Boathouse. The outside terrace sets were great and we could eat outside in great comfort. The Owners are delighted that you so enjoyed the view and the newly laid terrace and dining facilities. Your comments regarding the kitchen equipment are contrary to comments by other guest stating that the kitchen is well equipped. There are plenty of saucepans and frying pans. At the end of each season any damaged equipment is replaced.Thank you for taking the time to help us maintain excellent standards. Property Owner Reviewed by IngridAug 2019 "Wonderful house with amazing views." Steps keep you fit. Everything you need is provided. Thank you very much. Reviewed by GrahamAug 2019 "Oh God these steps!" !! Never again! 77 steps! And the parking ? 56? I was happy with how well equipped the kitchen is. The view is amaaazing !! I don't think you can get better anywhere else. There could have been more effort in cleaning. cobwebs, hair in sink,untidy back garden, dust, dust, dust.we are allergic to dust so we had to pack on allergy pills. The sofa kept sliding from under us. I think it is more suitable for couples looking for a getaway than family with kids. the community is very friendly especially the estate agent downstairs. We are delighted you found the view amazing. The website clearly states the number of steps to ensure that guests are aware that the property isn't suitable for guests with mobility issues. Our cleaners regularly get full marks.We apologize if some areas were below their normal standard during your stay. In 2019 the front decking, which overlooks the River was renewed. In 2020 the rear garden will be refurbished. Property Owner Reviewed by KokoJul 2019 "Our stay couldn’t have been more perfect." The house is so beautiful and the views are outstanding. We can’t wait to return. Even with two little ones - the steps were never an issue and well worth it when you get to the top! Reviewed by ElizabethJul 2019 "Absolutely loved our week at the boathouse." The house was perfect for us and we'd love to come back. Yes the steps are steep but it's worth it for that spectacular view! The only down side was no parking and unfortunately we incured a really hefty parking fine at the Marina. Otherwise a great stay. Reviewed by HollieJul 2019 "Second time staying here, still love it, & have booked again." Yes, the 70+ steps are a challenge, but it’s cheering to note how it does get easier as the week goes on. The view over the river is a constant source of delight - binoculars recommended for a closer look at the boats. The steam train is also fun to watch in & out. New decking & furniture this year was a nice surprise, but watch out for splinters if barefoot! The cottage is very generally extremely well equipped but a few more mugs would be welcome. Beds very comfortable. We found out much too late about the multi-trip lower ferry passes - instead of £3 round-trip per person, you get 40 trips (20 round-trips) for £25. They are per trip, not per person, & don’t have an expiry date. Reviewed by JanMay 2019 "In the property details on line it should clearly state that it will cost £56 per week to park at the marina, there is no other parking, as this can add a lot to the cost of the holiday if people are on a tight budget." Part way through the week I heard someone else say that you can get a pass for the car park at the marina on line offering 7 days parking for the cost of 5, if this is the case then it should tell you this in the on line property details. The lights near the top of the steps up to the property were not working. The last section of steps up to the property need to be repaired as they are very uneven. Some of the pans in the kitchen were dirty. The kitchen floor by the back door needed a good clean. The small rear garden needs improving. The new decked area at the front was really good. The view from the property is fabulous. The shower was not very good. Reviewed by IanApr 2019 "Fantastic little town." People were really friendly. Easy to get anywhere without using the car. Cottage was so comfortable with a wonderful view. Steps to the cottage were a bit of a workout but ultimately did us good - I think. Only downside was the parking,it cost us £56 to park in the marina car park for the week. Reviewed by TimJun 2018 "The cottage has everything you need." When you get to the top of the steps the view is superb well worth the climb. Reviewed by JacquelineJun 2018 "The cottage was wonderful, VERY clean, extremely comfortable, thoughtfully and extensively equipped (more so than any other cottage or holiday flat I have ever booked)." My sister in law (Mrs Linda Rickard) and I could not have enjoyed a better time and we were both hugely impressed by the kindness and helpfulness of everyone we met in Kingswear. Full marks to you and I can confirm we have both been singing the praises of our wonderful week in The Boat House. If I were to make any constructive comment to you I would suggest that the access steps should be mentioned on your website. We knew about them before we booked but only because I read all the reviews printed. Also, we were slightly disappointed that despite leaving 2 messages for Donna on the phone number listed on our booking confirmation, we received no contact in response. We were unable to open the key safe (having both made many attempts to do so) - Linda Rickard has a similar key safe at her house - and we are so grateful to the charming gentleman who so kindly came to our rescue. It may be that Donna's phone does not have voice mail and does not accept text messages but I assumed that my mobile phone number would have shown up as a "missed call" Perhaps that was not the case. However, the above was a very minor blip in an otherwise fantastic holiday. We both certainly hope to repeat the visit though perhaps we would have to look at something with slightly less steps next time around as we are not getting any younger!! :-) May I also point out that we did read the "instructions" for waste removal which asked visitors to place all rubbish in the "seagull proof" sack outside the back door. There was no sack so we disposed of all recyclable items in the bins provided on the Banjo and we took all other rubbish back with us. Thanks so much With very best regards, Patricia Brown Linda Rickard I will click "yes" to publishing our feedback PROVIDED our personal details, addresses etc. are not used. Reviewed by PMay 2018 "The views from the cottage were wonderful and trips to Dartmouth to eat out were a real treat too." We also explored more of the area and had some nice, if arduous walks behind Kingswear. Beautiful part of the world! Reviewed by JessicaApr 2018 Show more This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection. Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday Summary Two double bedrooms (one king size) Bathroom with 4’4” long bath, shower over, WC, basin Downstairs sitting room with wood burning stove Kitchen with dining area. Electric panel heaters with wood burning stove Microwave, fridge-freezer, washer-dryer, dishwasher, TV with DVD, WiFi, Phone, Fuel and power inc. in rent Bed linen and towels inc. in rent Parking is available in a public car park nearby (roughly £50 for the week, you can apply online for a reduced price) 80 steps from the road up to the property Sorry, no pets and no smoking Pub less than 1 mile from property Note: Access to The Boathouse is via 80 steps, small children should be supervised. The property Right in the lovely heart of Kingswear is situated this 18th century terraced cottage. With fabulous views along the River Dart and to Dartmouth, it is excellent accommodation with masses for families or couples to do in the area. The view is due to its elevated location, since you climb nearly 80 steps up from the road and, in true 18th century style, pass along in front of the neighbouring doorways to your front door. The sitting room is cosy with a traditional wood burning stove and those great views. Enjoy cooking fresh local seafood and eating in the kitchen, with its back door opening on to a little courtyard. Steep stairs head up to the two double wood-floored bedrooms, one with river view. Outside the front door, enjoy meals or drinks on your decked terrace over two levels, the perfect spot for the view, especially at the end of August when the Dartmouth Regatta unfolds in a blaze of glory. There are shops and pubs to explore in the village, plus a ferry to take you over to Dartmouth with its fascinating town life. With crabbing, walking, boat and steam train trips, Agatha Christies house at Greenway and beautiful Blackpool Sands to enjoy, you can never be bored at The Boathouse. This is a lovely location. Floorplans 1st FloorGround Floor Kitchen / Dining Living Room Bathroom Double Bedroom Double Bedroom Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100. View on map About the location Kingswear Dartmouth lies on the banks of the beautiful River Dart estuary in the popular and picturesque South Hams area of South Devon. Located within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and close to the coast, Dartmouth is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Devon. Region Information Cornwall Holiday Cottages Devon Holiday Cottages Dorset Cottage Holidays Somerset Holiday Cottages Note: One bedroom has access to one side of bed only. Sorry, no short breaksNote: Access to The Boathouse is via 80 steps, small children should be supervised.