4.3★ (21 ratings) Sykes rating Sleeps 4 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms 2 Pets No Show on map Features Garden / Patio Pub/shop < 1 mile Washing machine Dishwasher Seaside Broadband / WiFi Reviews & Ratings Accuracy of the listing Cleanliness Comfort Facilities 30 Customer Reviews "Roof leak in consevatory, apparently long staning problem" Many thanks for your feedback. We passed your comment onto the owner, since then the conservatory roof has been repaired and no longer leaks. Thank you again and we hope you had an enjoyable stay at Bell Cottage. Property Owner Reviewed by MarkOct 2021 "Lovely cottage and it’s definitely the views you pay for , amazing from every window." Very quirky.No shower is a bit of a pain, especially with cost of rental. The cottage is not suitable for disabled or anyone not good with stairs as toilets on lower floors , they are narrow and steep in places, The cottage although recently painted could do with a good clean, kitchen cupboards and draws awful and window seat filthy with spiders, clean were you can see and clean comfy bed. Lower bedroom cold and damp, didn’t want to sleep in there. Prices have doubled for next year ? Not inflation, extortion.This when you have no parking on site , you do get a pass for carpark 10-15 mins away which for able bodied people like us is fine, But the carpark gets very busy and often unless you come back late in day have no spaces. In a beautiful quiet position despite main road very quiet and well equipped other than showers. Reviewed by JulieSep 2021 "Our third stay in this cottage which we always enjoy with the excellent position overlooking the estuary." Sadly on this occasion the cleanliness in the kitchen left something to be desired and we found a dirty top oven and a disgusting oven cooking tray covered in deep grease and which we complained about first thing on the Monday morning with supporting photos. The cutlery also did not look sparkling clean and needed rewashing. Looking to possibly book next year we were astounded at the out of this world exorbitant rental now being charged so we will not be returning. Many thanks for your feedback, although we were concerned to read that the property was not satisfactorily presented prior to your arrival. As you will appreciate, we work very hard with our owners and housekeepers to ensure high standards of cleanliness are maintained, so it is very disappointing to read these comments. Your feedback has been passed on to the housekeeper/cleaner concerned. Please know that if you had made us aware of any issues during your stay, we would have done our best to rectify the situation as soon as possible. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. We have passed your comments onto the owner who will be reviewing their pricing. We do hope that you had an enjoyable holiday in spite of the issues raised and look forward to welcoming you back to Dartmouth in the not too distant future. Property Owner Reviewed by BernardSep 2021 "We really enjoyed our stay at Bell Cottage." The property is in a fab position with great views. Having said that I do feel it needs a little TLC as I don’t feel it’s current state is the same as represented in the advertising photos! It definitely wouldn’t stop me returning but I was a little disappointed. Also on arrival I had to rewash quite a lot of crockery & cups (one still had coffee at the bottom). I do understand that this would have been the previous occupiers who hadn’t met their end of the bargain, but again a little frustrating this had to be done. I’d definitely recommend this property & had a look at possibly booking for next year but at a current price of £3919 advertised I’ll be finding somewhere else! Dartmouth is wonderful but nearly £4000 for a week in Devon is bonkers. Reviewed by HelenAug 2021 "We really liked Bell Cottage,& when we booked it we were a little more agile!" We would not reccommend it for older folk who have difficulty with stairs,as it is over 4 floors.Also the lavatory on the kitchen level was out of order(& had been for quite some time)which neccessitated navigating approx 24 stairs to the main bathroom from the top floor sitting room.The lack of a proper shower was disappointing,as hand held ones from the taps can be unavoidably messy.(Wall & carpet damage---we tried our best)The Housekeeping team might check over cupboards---bathroom---kitchen---crockery,glasses etc all over the place!However the views were unrivalled,the interest on the River fascinating,the cottage generally fresh,quirky,tasteful,Always good to come back to.Thank you Reviewed by NigelJul 2021 "Amazing views but could do with a little up dating" Reviewed by LorraineMay 2021 "Cottage is in a brilliant location, with stunning views." The cottage was clean but it is starting to show a few signs of tiredness. Disappointed that the toilet on the kitchen level was Out of Order for the whole week, necessitating a long trip down the stairs to the bedrooms for the toilet. The kitchen is lacking a freezer or freezer compartment. Even a small table top freezer would suffice. I'm sure most people renting the property would want to sit on the terraces with a nice cool drink taking in the views. Also the bathrooms would both be much more functional with a shower that could be fixed to the wall and a shower screen, or a separate shower. We are very pleased to hear that you found the location of Bell Cottage brilliant and the views “stunning” we most certainly agree. We are sorry that you were inconvenienced by the kitchen level toilet not being in use, this is not advertised as being available on the website. The owner has now provided a table top freezer at the property, so as you say guests can enjoy a nice cold drink on the terrace any enjoy those views. We do hope we can welcome you back to Dartmouth again soon. Property Owner Reviewed by TonySep 2020 "Our second stay at this lovely character cottage with the most magnificent views over the river Dart." We have already booked this same cottage for next year!! We are so pleased that you feel Bell Cottage has "lovely character and magnificent views" and that this is your second stay. We look forward to welcoming you again for your holiday next year. Property Owner Reviewed by BernardSep 2020 "Bell cottage was well equipped, clean and fully lived up to expectations." We love Dartmouth and it would be extremely difficult to find any property with views better than this - completely mesmerising. Even the bathrooms came with fantastic views! The town itself has plenty of eateries and there are some fantastic walks right from the doorstep. If you don’t want to walk then parking might be an issue for you - but a pass for the main car park ( about 10 minutes walk away) is provided. Unfortunately we were called away early due to a family emergency but we definitely hope to return. Thank you for taking the time to send your lovely review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Bell Cottage. The views are, “mesmerising” we most certainly agree. It is a shame you were called away early but we do look forward to you visiting again sometime soon. Property Owner Reviewed by CarolineAug 2020 "A beautiful house that is as deceiving as it is roomy." We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and feel the fitter for doing so with each level being so needed to be seen and each view enjoyed multiple times throughout our day. One small benifit would be a freezer to this holiday let, but we managed OK without this as the shops were in easy walking distance. A parking space to the side of the property would be a real boon but as with the freezer this was not a problem and we found that as long as unloading/ loading was organised, the friendly townsfolk were more than accommodating. We look forward to the many memories that this house has afforded us. Mr J Cook. That is wonderful to hear, we are so glad you enjoyed your time at this Bell Cottage. The owner has now provided a table top freezer for the property. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the area again sometime soon to make even more memories. Property Owner Reviewed by JeffreyAug 2020 "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bell Cottage." I haven’t been very well over these last 5 months and staying there was just the tonic I needed. The cottage was very clean and the decor was lovely with new carpets throughout. The only down side was there Is no shower which could be a problem for elderly guests. The views of the river dart are amazing! Think I spent most of my week sat on the window seat watching the car ferries going from one side of the river to the other. We will definitely be booking Bell Cottage in the future. Reviewed by JoanneMar 2020 "Cottage was as described in your brochure." Very clean on arrival. No issues whilst on holiday. Just as it should be. Many thanks Paul. Reviewed by PaulOct 2019 "Bell Cottage was lovely, we have stayed there many times over recent years, the location is perfect for us comprising wonderful river views with a rewarding walk into town." We have always used Coast and Country when booking holiday property in the South West, their service has been great, even on the one occasion we needed their attention to a property during our stay. (Not Bell Cottage I hasten to say) Reviewed by AndrewOct 2019 "Bell Cottage is a very nice property in a great position with exceptional views of the estuary." The cottage is very comfortable and has had some recent upgrades which enhances it, The only thing missing is a proper shower other than the end of bath style tap/shower. Would suggest that the owners consider carefully removing part of the wooden dado rail around the tap end of the bath and say one metre along the back wall, and then replace with a ceramic dado rail. Then fit a hinged shower screen and tile from the ceiling down to the bath level at the tap end of the bath and the one metre along the back wall. Fit a clip to hold the shower head on the wall and this would result in a waterproof area for showering. Due to a medical condition my wife is unable to sit in a bath so has to have a shower - we did manage as I held the flexible shower head whilst my wife managed to crouch but it was difficult not to get too much water up the walls or on the floor carpet. We would like to come back here next year! Reviewed by BernardSep 2019 "Only points would be." . hot water was very hot, scolding. Master bedroom door frame was quite low.. kept hitting my head.. conservatory was a bit disappointing compared to the rest of the house and the number of stairs would not be for everybody. Otherwise lovely views and everything else you would want from a holiday cottage. Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at Bell Cottage. we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the views from the property. Thank you for letting us know about water temperature have now lowered this for future bookings. Property Owner Reviewed by SimonJul 2019 "The place looked and turned out to be extremely nice." But what blew me away was the view. Absolutely fantastic stay. Reviewed by DanJul 2019 "We love the cottage." It is well equipped and comfortable. Great that it now has wifi too. The addition of a shower curtain in the bathrooms would be welcome, as I find it very hard to sit down in a bath, and it is difficult to shower without worrying if the water will go everywhere. We will definitely want to come back. Thank you Reviewed by JaneJun 2019 "Found your staff extremely helpful & dealt with my questions very efficiently" Reviewed by KarenMay 2019 "Dishwasher was leaking and front door lock didn’t lock properly ( informed office on departure)." Kitchen could do with a small freezer ( for ice or ice cream. The property has Beautiful views and in general a fabulous position for Dartmouth harbour and is well set out with lounge and dining/ kitchen looking great. The bedrooms and bathrooms are a little old fashioned now and definitely need updating. ( need proper showers and no carpet wood panels in bathroom) mattresses and pillows again could do with being a better quality . All in all we loved our stay and would definitely use again Reviewed by PaulApr 2019 "We had a wonderful holiday at Bell Cottage." There were spectacular views from every room. Reviewed by MichelleFeb 2019 "Bell Cottage, warm, cozy, great views, quirky." Everything we needed for a much needed Christmas break. We have visited Dartmouth many times and in many types of accommodation. We will definitely visit Bell Cottage again Reviewed by JaneDec 2018 "Really fantastic views from all rooms in this lovely cottage, which is split over 4 floors." Not to far a walk up a slight incline from the town centre. Both terraces get sun in the morning. No wifi however, and only a hand-held shower in the baths in both ensuites - a stand alone shower would be a great improvement. Very clean and adequate range of utensils and crockery. Hopefully will be back. Aug 2018 "Fantastic location with amazing views from every room." Jun 2018 "Wonderful property with views to die for." Quirky cottage set out on four levels so lots of stairs. Needs a little updating, ie only “over the bath” hand shower but warm and cosy. Mr MarkhamOct 2017 "Lovely clean cottage superb location." Conservatory to eat in right by the river Dart simply stunning. Top living room lovely to chill out again looking out over the river. Would definitely user this cottage again Mr JONATHAN MillarApr 2017 "As previously mentioned, Bell Cottage is a great little house although perhaps in need of some decorative refreshment." In all respects however, it provides for a really comfortable & restful base for a week in The South Hams. We have stayed there four times now and will book again. This year, we invited some friends to join us for a few days and the house has plenty of room for four people. Mr ANDREW BirchallOct 2016 "Fantastic location, great views, spacious." good equipment in kitchen. Would have liked a shower, sofas not that comfy, bizarrely porch and conservatory had no key, so coats etc left vulnerable. but top notch otherwise, would go again as views and location top notch. Apr 2015 "Clean and well equipped." The views were as stunning as promised. I was a little disappointed in the outside areas and lack of shrubs and flowers as there are plenty that are tolerant of hot and sunny conditions. Also the description of the property could have made clearer the number of stairs. My parents are in their 80s and did feel daunted about going to the loo from the lounge, it would be helpful to repair the ground floor WC! We did enjoy Bell Cottage but would not return with my parents. Aug 2014 "Very good facilities and perfect position." Only real problem was the sofas in the living room - not comfortable! Jun 2014 "We are not staying at Bell Cottage until early June." However, we have stayed there before about 5 years ago and found it to be excellent. It would seem from the photographs on the C & C website that it has been refurbished since our previous stay so I am sure it will be even better than before. Apr 2014 Show more This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection. Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round. Summary Two en suite bedrooms: 1 x King-size featuring an en suite with bath, hand-held Victorian shower, bidet, basin and w.c 1 x Twin with en suite bathroom comprising of bath, hand-held Victorian shower, bidet, basin and w.c Open plan kitchen/dining room Sitting room Conservatory with door to patio. The kitchen is equipped with gas central heating and hot water, electric hob and double oven, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine, microwave and flat screen TV. The proeprty also offers an electric coal effect fire, flat screen TV/DVD/CD/iPod docking station and radio Wi-Fi An annual car parking permit, for one car, is provided for the Mayors Avenue public car park (subject to availability). With regret this property is not suitable for children under 5 years of age. All duvets, pillows, bed linen and towels supplied (except beach towels). The property Situated in the stunning maritime town of Dartmouth, Bell Cottage provides well-presented accommodation for up to four people, within 10 minutes’ walk of Dartmouth town centre, with access to all local facilities including restaurants, shops, galleries and pubs and the famous waterfront. The Start Bay coastline is within a short drive, whilst the all-weather family attraction Woodlands Leisure Park is just four miles away. Bell Cottage is a well-presented former coach... Bell Cottage is a well-presented former coach house, combining many original character features with modern stylings, and offering panoramic views across the River Dart and out to sea. The property has a newly-refurbished (2018) well-equipped kitchen and an open-plan dining area with views of the river, whilst the sitting room on the first floor has a beautiful window seat, perfect for watching life on the River Dart!. At lower ground floor level there are two en suite bedrooms. The delightful double bedroom has a King-size bed and en suite bathroom. Stairs lead down to a twin bedroom with two single beds, an en suite bathroom with bath, and double French doors to a patio with superb river views. At the lower level is a conservatory with views of the river and door to the patio. Outside there are two good sized patios overlooking river with tables and chairs – a wonderful spot for al fresco dining! An annual car parking permit for one car is provided for the Mayors Avenue public car park (subject to availability). This delightful property sleeps four people and is ideally suited to couples or families with older children, looking for a comfortable base in pretty Dartmouth. Read more Read less Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200. View on map About the location DARTMOUTH Totnes 12 miles. Dartmouth lies on the banks of the beautiful River Dart estuary in the popular and picturesque South Hams area of South Devon. Located within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and close to the coast, Dartmouth is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Devon. It offers a stunning waterfront, ancient narrow streets lined with boutique shops, restaurants and art galleries plus many local events such as the annual Dart Music Festival and the Port of Dartmouth Royal Regatta, along with the Dartmouth Food Festival held every October. There are many interesting cycling and walking routes around Dartmouth, including the South West Coast Path, the Dart Valley Trail and plenty of quiet country lanes. A trip on the Dartmouth Steam Railway through picturesque countryside to Paignton is a must, and so is a boat trip across to Kingswear and on to Brixham, a pretty little harbour town. For those seeking some beach activities, there is a wide choice in the South Hams area such as Blue Flag Award winner Blackpool Sands, and Slapton Sands, both extremely popular and just a stone's throw from Dartmouth. A relaxing location in South Devon. View more holiday cottages in Dartmouth Region Information Cornwall Holiday Cottages Devon Holiday Cottages Dorset Cottage Holidays Somerset Holiday Cottages The house is situated over 4 floors. NOTE - No parking at the property - parking permit supplied (car park is approximately 15-20 minute walk from the apartment). Please note that the Mayors Avenue car park is closed for the Regatta Week.With regret this property is not suitable for children under 5 years of age.