In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 27 View Image Gallery
  • Kings View - Devon - 995551 - photo 1

Kings View

(Ref. 995551)

Dartmouth, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • views (16)
  • apartment (15)
  • view (12)
  • location (9)
  • our (9)
  • property (9)

36 Customer Reviews

  • "We loved Kings View."

    The view of the river and the ferries is very good. The beds are very comfortable and so is the big sofa. Loved the dining table and chairs, great design and very comfortable. The apartment was spotlessly clean, a very rare occurrence. It was easy to keep warm too. Gary, our host responded very quickly to a couple of minor niggles.

    So glad you enjoyed the apartment and particularly the view. We hope to welcome you back again one day and have now signed up to the agents lock box entry method instead of office key collection as suggested. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rochelle5.0Apr 2024

  • "Great view, immaculately clean and well equipped."

    Plenty of local information and instructions about all the elements of the apartment which were very helpful. Only slight negative is the steel staircase to the front is difficult to navigate and get your luggage up.

    Reviewed by Tony4.4Nov 2023

  • "Wonderful place to stay."

    Apartment well maintained and very clean. Comfy beds, brilliant views over the lower ferry on the river Dart. Very convenient for access to the town and many walks to places like Dittisham, Blackpool Sands and Greenway.

    Reviewed by Edward5.0Oct 2023

  • "The property was perfectly listed, nothing was a surprise to us in terms of location / facilities."

    It’s a fantastic property with spectacular views and furnished to a very high standard. The mattress in the master bedroom wasn’t to our liking (too soft) but it must be hard to find one mattress to suit everyone.

    Reviewed by Victoria4.7Sep 2023

  • "Really nice comfortable stay the only thing I would suggest is an extra frying pan as one just wasn’t quite enough."

    Great stay and lovely apartment in a great location thank you very much

    Thanks for the great feedback, we have now added a second frying pan as suggested. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carl5.0Aug 2023

  • "We stayed a week at Kings View."

    Let’s start of by saying the view is fantastic over the river Dart. Spent lots of time just looking out the window watching the world go by. The place is spotless, nicely furnished and equipped with all necessary items you need. The only issue and it’s a small one is the kitchen tap is leaking

    So glad you had a fantastic time at Kings View and thanks for the heads up on the tap which has now been fixed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Darren5.0Jul 2023

  • "This was our second stay at 'Kings View'."

    We just stayed a week last year, but loved it so much, that we have just returned home from a 3 week stay, and we absolutely loved it! So totally relaxing, everything is at the apartment that you could possibly need, spotlessly clean, and the view is simply fabulous!! We had some stunning yachts come past the window during our stay, so much to see on the river Dart. Helena & Gary are the perfect hosts if you need anything at all, nothing is too much trouble :-) We hope to be back again next year...

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Jun 2023

  • "One of the best, if not the best, holiday accommodation we have stayed in."

    Perfect combination of quality, location and of course fantastic view. Always lots to watch on the river.

    Feb 2023

  • "Unfortunately for a flat of this calibre the bedding was really hard and scratchy but worse had been washed in very over perfumed powder to the extent that I had an asthma attack."

    We decamped to the lounge on the sofa bed that wasn’t affected. We wrote a long letter to the owner , we had to buy new bedding (very cheaply) from Tesco but mattresses were really powerful. We asked family to come and check out and they thought it was a horrendous smell. Heard nothing from the owner and feel very disappointed by this response as they specifically asked for honest feedback.

    Thank you for your feedback. We take great pride in what we have created at Kings View and believe other guest’s comments, on this site, support that so we were extremely concerned to hear of your experience. Unfortunately we were only made aware of your complaint after you had vacated the property. After speaking with the agent we called you immediately, leaving a voice message to return the call, but only got a text back the following day which we responded to that afternoon. The agents manned office, where you collected your keys, was only 5 minutes walk away, their emergency contact number was clearly visible in the property and our own personal mobile was written down in the information manual so perhaps these options might have been worth considering first before buying new sheets. As for your reaction to the bedding we were obviously mortified to hear this especially as we personally wash everything in a non-bio powder but, as a matter of course, we will review all the products used in the apartment. We can only apologise that the Kings View experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion and would like to wish you a healthy and happy start to 2023. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Caroline3.1Dec 2022

  • "A fabulous property with stunning views."

    Spotless on arrival and well equipped.

    Reviewed by Ann5.0Dec 2022

  • "Beautiful place with a beautiful view, hence why I come back regularly!"

    Reviewed by Brian5.0Nov 2022

  • "Had a lovely few days at Kings View a fantastic property the owners have thought about everything you could possibly need."

    We have stayed at many properties but this stands out from the rest it truly is a lovely place, and the view is amazing. Would definitely recommend Kings View. Hope to come back.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Nov 2022

  • "Second time here and absolutely perfect in every way!"

    Reviewed by Maria5.0Oct 2022

  • "We love Dartmouth and especially staying at Kings View."

    The apartment and its location/ views are exceptional. The property is spotlessly clean and beautifully presented and maintained.

    Reviewed by Jackie5.0Oct 2022

  • "Just a great place to stay."

    The owners keep the place well maintained, comfy beds, brilliant views over the River Dart.

    Reviewed by Edward5.0Sep 2022

  • "In my 50 years of holidaying I would say this is truly the loveliest property I have stayed at."

    We met the owner and he was charming and you can tell that it is important to him that people have a home from home.The cleanliness,thoughtfulness and care are so rare these days…not to even mention the fantastic siting and views. We have never stayed anywhere twice but we have here.We came in 2019 and hopefully we will be back again.Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

    Reviewed by Teri5.0Sep 2022

  • "We both found the accommodation extremely comfortable with exceptionally clean facilities."

    Everything needed to cook and clean were available and easy to locate, the welcome packs were very useful and wine much appreciated! And of course the spectacular views!

    Reviewed by Julian5.0Sep 2022

  • "We have stayed at Kings View before and, yet again, we were totally impressed ."

    For us it is the perfect holiday property......immaculately clean, well presented and very comfortable, with the most amazing views ( and on this occasion, brilliant weather). We came home vowing to return once more next year. However, sadly, this is unlikely to happen!!!!? We looked at next year’s prices and were totally horrified and disappointed. We had expected prices to rise due to extra costs etc but not by £300-£400 per week. We had a wonderful week in Dartmouth, as it is a place which we particularly love and never tire of visiting, but now feel upset and disappointed.

    Reviewed by Jackie5.0Oct 2021

  • "Beautiful apartment in great location."

    If we visit Dartmouth again we will certainly return to the same place

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Jul 2021

  • "Apart from the view, of course, very comfortable and has everything you need and an excellent location for enjoying Dartmouth."

    The car park permit is useful too, though doesn't guarantee a spot when it is busy.

    Reviewed by Anne5.0May 2021

  • "The situation of the apartment, the lovely views, and the very high standard of cleanliness and comfort."

    We will be re booking very soon, hopefully later this year if there is any space otherwise next year.

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Apr 2021

  • "Its a lovely apartment , extremely clean and well set out with all one requires."

    The view over the estuary is fabulous with lots of activity to see. Its a convenient short walk to town , and a nice walk to the castle and beyond. Parking can be had along the road so long as one did not stray from the parking restrictions.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Sep 2020

  • "The views from this property are absolutely amazing so whatever the weather it’s a great place to be!"

    The cleanliness & finish to the property is superb. We will return!

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Nov 2019

  • "Whilst the apartment itself was fine, the booking process and collecting the key was not good."

    I had requested several enquiries about properties that week, however, your rep only received one. As my request was only for a 5 night booking with specific dates, we didn’t have much choice so went to book a property that seemed best for a family of 4. This was confirmed by the rep as being one that was the same price for the week. So we went ahead, booking a hotel to follow after our stay. However, the rep then came back to say that the owner was not able to take the booking after all. So very quickly we had to go with the next best option. I had told the rep that we could only arrive on Sat 19th October however, she still booked it from the 18th therefore Charging me for an extra night. I know that this property had flexibility on dates and took shorter bookings so this should not have gone ahead front he 18th but the 19th. I emailed her to ask her to contact me (as very difficult to get through on the phone) but received no phone call. Nor had any instructions been given to the Dartmouth office regarding picking up the key on the 19th therefore, when we arrived the office was closed and I had to make 3 phone calls, taking over an hour to get through to someone who gave me the key lock code. All very unnecessary and disappointing. Having booked with the co for over 12 years, this is the first time that we’ve had such issues, Furthermore, it was frustrating to talk to someone who does not know the Dartmouth area and had no understanding of how special a location it is, with lots of hills & nooks & crannies & special parking etc. The apartment itself was fine but not suitable for 4 people as the second bed is too small to fit 2.

    Reviewed by Rashmi3.8Oct 2019

  • "A perfect location to enjoy Dartmouth."

    Well equipped and comfortable. This was our second visit to this wonderful apartment and we have already booked it for next year.

    Reviewed by Ann5.0Oct 2019

  • "This apartment was spot on."

    It offered exactly what it said on the tin...actually, no it doesn' surpasses it. We took loads of extras and bits and pieces with us but we needn't have bothered because these people had thought of everything. The extra touches of a bottle of white wine and creamed scones was a brilliant touch - Well done all round.

    Reviewed by Kris5.0Sep 2019

  • "Loved the views, always something happening on the river."

    Beautifully furnished and comfortable.

    Mr MooreSep 2019

  • "The apartment is close to the town and the views are fantastic."

    The second bedroom is quite tight with the bed up against the wall. Beds very comfy.

    Reviewed by Janette4.1Jul 2019

  • "This is our ninth self-catering holiday in Dartmouth and Kings View is by far our favourite."

    All the properties we have stayed in have had views but Kings View is beautifully presented. Thanks for the wine and scones.

    Jul 2019

  • "Wow. A brilliant flat, ideally placed with breath taking views."

    We had a few reservations as, with an 8 month baby, we weren’t too sure if this was baby friendly. However, there were no issues at all and the place was baby safe (stair gates, travel cot, etc.) by the time we had arrived. Everything is close by and the car park was closer than we were told (about a 5 min gentle walk). Dartmouth was a beautiful place and we have already recommended this accommodation to friends and family. We already want to return!

    Reviewed by Pareen5.0Jun 2019

  • "Wonderful apartment with stunning views so close to town."

    Just Gorgeous x

    Reviewed by Becky5.0Apr 2019

  • "The comfort levels were amazing - felt like a luxury hotel!"

    Mrs ArrigoniApr 2019

  • "Thoroughly enjoyed our stay."

    Would recommend and would definitely stay again.

    Mr LukeMar 2019

  • "Great property in ideal location with fantastic views."

    Everything e needed to make our holiday perfect.

    Mrs Emma CharlesOct 2018

  • "Just loved our stay here."

    Will definitely return.

    Mrs CraggOct 2018

  • "The apartment was very well appointed and we had every convenience - home from home"

    Mrs BakerSep 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • All second and third floor
  • Two double bedrooms: 1x King, 1x small double (4ft)
  • Shower room with a large shower cubicle, vanity unit with basin, low-level WC, shaver point, Bluetooth mirror with lights, and heated towel rail
  • Utility
  • Open-plan kitchen / dining / sitting room.
  • Fridge with ice compartment, dishwasher, AEG electric oven with hob, microwave, washing Machine, Bosch Tassimo coffee machine, smoothie maker. TV, DVD player, DAB radio/CD/Bluetooth player
  • Hair dryer provided
  • Iron, ironing board and clothes drying rack
  • WiFi
  • Electric heaters in each room and hot water via immersion
  • Flame effect fireplace in living room
  • Children welcome (highchair, cot and stairgate available on request)
  • A selection of games, books and DVDs available
  • Bed linen and towels supplied
  • Sorry, no pets Note: No parking at the property - parking permit supplied (car park is approximately 5-10 minute walk from the apartment). Please note that the Mayors Avenue car park is closed for the Regatta Week
  • Strictly No Smoking

The property

Kings View is a two-bedroom, duplex apartment on Newcomen Road, which runs adjacent to Bayard’s Cove and parallel to the River Dart.

Dartmouth's boutique shops, restaurants, tea rooms and galleries are just a few minutes’ walk away, whilst the award-winning Blackpool Sands beach is within a 5-10 minute drive.

Woodlands Theme Park is just 3 miles outside of Dartmouth.

Approached by a set of external steps to the rear of the property, the apartment is on the second and third floors of a four-storey townhouse and has recently been refurbished and furnished throughout to a high standard.

The apartment boasts 180-degree views spanning from Britannia Royal Naval College, across the River Dart to Kingswear, and around to Dartmouth Castle and the mouth of the river. The front door opens into the second-floor entrance hallway.

At this level there are two double bedrooms, both enjoying views of the River Dart.

The master bedroom has a King-size bed, whilst the second bedroom has a small double bed (4’ wide and accessible from one side only).

There is also a utility cupboard, and a recently refurbished shower room, equipped with a large shower cubicle. On the upper level is the living area – a light and sunny open-plan kitchen/sitting/dining room featuring a large window spanning the width of the room.

Baby friendly equipment is available on request, and an annual parking permit for one car is provided for the Mayors Avenue car park (subject to availability).

This a great holiday home for those with a family, looking to enjoy the delights of Dartmouth.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Totnes 12 miles.

Dartmouth lies on the banks of the beautiful River Dart estuary in the popular and picturesque South Hams area of South Devon. Located within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and close to the coast, Dartmouth is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Devon. It offers a stunning waterfront, ancient narrow streets lined with boutique shops, restaurants and art galleries plus many local events such as the annual Dart Music Festival and the Port of Dartmouth Royal Regatta, along with the Dartmouth Food Festival held every October. There are many interesting cycling and walking routes around Dartmouth, including the South West Coast Path, the Dart Valley Trail and plenty of quiet country lanes. A trip on the Dartmouth Steam Railway through picturesque countryside to Paignton is a must, and so is a boat trip across to Kingswear and on to Brixham, a pretty little harbour town. For those seeking some beach activities, there is a wide choice in the South Hams area such as Blue Flag Award winner Blackpool Sands, and Slapton Sands, both extremely popular and just a stone's throw from Dartmouth. A relaxing location in South Devon.

View more holiday cottages in Dartmouth

NOTE - No parking at the property - parking permit supplied (car park is approximately 10-15 minute walk from the apartment). Please note that the Mayors Avenue car park is closed for the Regatta Week.

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas