Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 0 minutes ago

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 38 View Image Gallery
  • Sunnyside - Devon - 1038878 - photo 1


(Ref. 1038878)

Dartmouth, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (17)
  • lovely (13)
  • views (12)
  • well (10)
  • stay (10)
  • dartmouth (10)

26 Customer Reviews

  • "Sunnyside could be elevated to a fantastic holiday property for people with no mobility issues, with a few changes."

    The positive things were the amazing views from every window, the extremely well equipped kitchen, a comfortable sitting room with drinks fridge and good access to TV channels. The things that could be better were the steps and outside area to the front door. It would give a better initial impression if it were cleaner, tidier and weed free. The mattresses were a bit tired and therefore uncomfortable, there was a drain smell in the main bathroom and loo seat, for male users, would not stay upright. Some curtains had hooks missing and the blind fitting and window in the top room appeared to be broken. We had an issue in that the back door lock jammed and we lost a whole day where we would have liked to sit out on the balcony to relax in the lovely unseasonal sunshine. It was on a Sunday and the agent's office was closed. It was however pointed out that there was an emergency number to call. The agent dealt with the issue in a timely manner once the matter was reported although I'd suggest it would be better to get the door fixed to avoid other visitors experiencing the same problem. For people with mobility issues or over a certain age, the very steep flights of stairs (over four floors) would be challenging, plus the property is quite far out of the town up quite challenging hills (hence the amazing views). There is however a bus.

    Reviewed by Ros3.8Sep 2023

  • "Wonderful stay at Sunnyside - plenty of space with generous rooms in great condition!"

    Thank you for your wonderful feedback, so pleased you had a lovely holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Aug 2023

  • "Sunny side was a lovely place to stay with lovely views over Dartmouth & across the valley."

    Despite all the stairs the house was comfortably furnished & very clean. The garage housed one car(an Astra) & we were lucky enough to find a parking spot about 10/15 minutes walk away. The walk down into Dartmouth was fine & we used the local bus service back up the hill to the property, well worth the £2 fare person! Plenty of places to eat in the evening which were very dog friendly. The wifi was good for 2 of our party who were WFH. Very enjoyable stay, only improvement would have been the use of a small bbq & more settled weather!

    Reviewed by Alison4.4Jul 2023

  • "We were really impressed with all the extras, such as wraps if one felt chilly, the kitchen was very well equipped, probably the best I have ever stayed in ."

    I should have taken more notice of the warning of steep stairs, being old I did find those difficult, not so my daughter and granddaughter! The views from the windows were fantastic. A little disappointed not to find a welcome pack as I have found in other cottages. I would recommend using the bus or park and ride for going into the town, parking is difficult.

    Reviewed by Jean5.0Jun 2023

  • "We had a great time at Sunnyside - our favourite parts were the lovely, sociable kitchen (we loved cooking and eating in there), the relaxing terrace with amazing views (a morning cuppa watching the sunrise was very special!"

    ) and the window seats overlooking beautiful Dartmouth on every floor (4 floors!) - amazing. The garage was also really handy, knowing you always had somewhere to park after a day out. It was our first visit to Dartmouth and we loved it! We wouldn’t hesitate to come back and stay at Sunnyside - thanks for a lovely holiday!

    Reviewed by Naomi5.0Apr 2023

  • "The house is comfortable enough for a short stay but is disadvantaged by virtue of being divided across four levels, necessitating excessive use of stairs."

    The second bathroom is impractically small. This means that the shower compartment is too tight, even for my wife who weighs less than 50 kg. The shelf above the tiny washbasin makes it very difficult to shave or brush one’s teeth without making a mess. There is insufficient water pressure to the shower in the main bathroom. The front steps and paved area by the front door were overgrown with weeds and generally untidy. On a positive note, the facilities in the kitchen and the rest of the property are good,

    Reviewed by Malcolm2.8Sep 2022

  • "House was comfortable and very well equipped."

    Took a while to get used to all the stairs! Only criticism would be the weeds growing on the stairs at the front of the property which spoiled the initial impression. There were also weeds out the back which could have been cleared quite easily

    Reviewed by Ian4.7Sep 2022

  • "We loved Sunnyside and has a brilliant stay there."

    The house is perfect for 6 people and 2 dogs. The view from the terrace is outstanding and a little sun trap. The baby gate at the bottom of the stairs was extremely helpful for keeping the dogs in one place. We loved the location and the walk into Dartmouth was enjoyable every day. We will definitely book here again, thanks.

    Thank you Gemma for your feedback and we are so glad you had a lovely holiday. Nicky & Alan x Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gemma5.0Aug 2022

  • "Lovely comfortable house with everything we needed."

    Had a lovely holiday would definitely return and recommend.

    Thank you,we are so glad you had a lovely holiday and took the time to give us such a lovely review. We look forward to you visiting again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Jul 2022

  • "Some of the cutlery was dirty when we arrived."

    There was no recycling despite the fact that Dartmouth recycles. This is very bad especially nowadays. The cost of the house to stay was not insignificant but unlike many places we stay it had no extras whatsoever. It was very minimal. No extra black bags so we had to buy, washing up liquid etc , No welcome extras like even a teabag or a drop of milk so when we got there we could have a drink. Every other cottage we have stayed in recently has had these .It wouldn't cost much just to add these things .

    Hi Rebecca Thank you for taking the time to give feedback and I am sorry you found some of the cutlery was dirty, I have raised this with the management team. With regard to recycling, we have our rubbish collected by a private company as we operate as a business and please be assured everything is sorted and recycled. Due to Covid regulations we were not allowed to leave any food items in the property for the last two seasons, including tea and coffee, but I fully take on board your suggestion and will aim to put something in place with the management company. We do hope you did have a lovely holiday in Dartmouth and once again thank you for taking time to give feedback. Nicky Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rebecca3.8Jul 2022

  • "Loved it,super house."

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Jul 2022

  • "Excellent"

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jun 2022

  • "Beautiful house and views."

    Wonderfully equipped with a lovely home from home feel. We loved the location to all the town amenities and the information booklets at the house. Great house for a family. Also really good to have all the bits and bobs there that we usually forget! The crab nets were so useful, Thankyou. The only negative was the lack of parking. Great having a garage down the road but unfortunately we couldn’t fit our large vehicle in. We found a space a few minutes walk away up a side street so wasn’t a big problem. Apologies about a glass that chipped in the dishwasher. We did leave a note. All in all we had a fantastic stay, and cannot wait to return to Dartmouth.A truly beautiful place.

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Apr 2022

  • "We had a fabulous holiday in sunny devon, exploring beaches, sea kayaking and lots of crabbing."

    Beautiful coastal walks and some great cafe's. we loved the house (although the plumbing could be better). The views are lovely and we loved the quirky layout. Thank's for making it dog friendly.

    Mrs PooleApr 2022

  • "Great house, very comfy and cosy, we have had a lovely time."

    We love Dartmouth. Enjoyed our boat trip, crab fishing and visit to Brixham. We enjoyed playing the games too. Will visit again.

    Mr ReaneyFeb 2022

  • "Hannah, Buckinghamshire “we have now stayed at Nicky & Alans lovely Dartmouth home three times with friends and family."

    This year my son and I came down for October half term week and had the most amazing time. The first thing I would like to say is how beautiful the new kitchen is, it really has taken the house to a whole new level, exceedingly high quality, excellently kitted out and just seems so much bigger now and in keeping with a quality coastal holiday house. Sunnyside is in a great location with lovely views across the town to the river, providing lovely views from almost every room and the very spacious outside area (unusual for Dartmouth). There is nothing better than curling up on one of the window seats with a good book and discovering all you have done is looked out the window for an hour! The walk down to the river and the town centre is really lovely, down the little back streets, if you don’t fancy the climb back up (once you have done it a couple of times it becomes easy) the number 90 bus stops almost outside the house. The house is on 4 floors and bedrooms are a good size, the beds were really comfortable. We found it sparkling clean and well presented. The garage is down the road, a short walk. We also found space on the next road for extra cars. Dartmouth & the surrounding area has so much to offer with beautiful coast and moorland to explore or you could pass your time on the Dart crabbing, boating and exploring which my 9 year old loved, we also went mackerel fishing on a boat from Brixham. I would definitely give Sunnyside 10 out of 10 for families, couples or friends”

    Oct 2021

  • "The house was very clean and exceedingly comfortable."

    We felt able to immediately relax. Whilst it is an uphill walk back to the house from the town, it was worth it for the lovely views you can see from the house and the window seats helped. Would have given the house and Sykes 10 out of ten but for three reasons: 1. The bottom sheet on the main bed was a very off white grey and didn’t fit well on the bed. Whilst all the bedding was clearly clean, it made the bed feel shabby. 2. The outside spaces, front and back of the house could do with a spruce up. We realised it was the end of the season and no doubt everyone has had to do a lot of work to keep the properties clean, but the ground at the front was littered. Also the seat cushions for the garden seats were a little mouldy and shabby. Again, appreciate it was the end of season. 3. More than anything though, I left my birthday cards on a shelf in the house. Totally my fault yet Sykes want me to pay £15 to send them back to me. Seems a bit excessive and not sure if I’ll get them back anyway as no one has yet let me know if they’ve collected them.

    Hi Donna Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sunnyside and so glad you enjoyed your stay at our home in Dartmouth. I am very sorry the bottom sheet in the master was grey and did not fit well, we found this too when we came down last week, in fact I don’t think this is a sheet belonging to Sunnyside, (laundry mix up?) but be assured I have purchased new White Company deep fitted bottom sheets and that one is now in the bin. I will also be replacing the garden cushions and doing maintenance at the front and to the back decking, as you say it has been a very long season, but now it is time for us to crack on and do maintenance and improvements for next year. I was shocked to hear Sykes wanted to charge you £15 to send your Birthday cards back, I wish we would have been following you down I would have posted them back for free, I will be speaking to the office. I do hope you will book again and find absolutely everything perfect next time. Nicky & Alan Property Owner

    Reviewed by Donna4.7Sep 2021

  • "Sunnyside is a great house with beautiful views."

    It is set over 4 floors with stunning views of the estuary on each floor. There are lots of stairs/steps in and outside of the house so would not recommend for anyone with mobility issues or people with young children but if like us you have children that are a bit older (7yo, 10yo & 12yo) then it is perfect. The house is well equipped (especially the kitchen) and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The only thing we found missing that we would have found useful was a clothes airer (sorry if there was one that we just didn’t find!). The house is set at the top of a hill approx 15mins walk into town. The walk is a lovely walk and kept us fit whilst staying there. There are loads of lovely restaurants/cafes in Dartmouth to enjoy. The only issue that we had read about in the reviews was parking. Although the house comes with a garage we chose not to use it as our car with a roof box would not have fitted. There is no parking outside of the property as there are double yellow lines, we did however find parking in nearby streets and although we were there during a busy week we always found a space (even if we had to drive around for a few mins). We did not find this an issue and always parked within a 5 min walk of the property. We had a great holiday at Sunnyside and loved our week there. We would definitely recommend and would hope to return again one day.

    Thank you Karen for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed Sunnyside and Dartmouth. We refitted the kitchen this year and have changed the cleaner very recently so glad to hear everything was in order for your stay. Good tip re the clothes airer, I will purchase one! Do hope you and your family get to visit again. Nicky Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen4.7Aug 2021

  • "Lovely house and well equipped, only problem was the bathroom."

    The shower was poor and the bath was child size needs updating. Also I think you should state that it’s a hilly walk into town

    Reviewed by Jo3.4Aug 2021

  • "I would thoroughly recommend this holiday home."

    Great views of Dartmouth, tastefully decorated and very well equipped. We are certainly fitter after climbing back up the hill a few times this week! We’ve

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Jul 2021

  • "The home was not as stated on the website."

    Kitchen was completely different. No range cooker. Dinning table was different. The home was dirty in places, the shower. House needed a good clean. Items in the kitchen were not cleaned we ended up washing everything before using it.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. The kitchen in the property has recently been upgraded, this is reflected in the pictures on the website, however the description has only just been updated. We can only apologise you felt the house was not up to our usual high standard on your arrival. Please know that if you had made us aware of any issues whilst you were at the property we would have done our best to rectify the situation as soon as possible. All your comments have been passed onto the cleaner who will focus on the areas you have mentioned. We do hope in spite of these issues you enjoyed your holiday in Dartmouth. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elaine2.8Jun 2021

  • "PARKING -- Just to prevent this happening to future clients, please stress to people to NEVER park in the car parking spaces close to the property."

    We had an absolutely terrible first night, as we parked there because my husband scratched our car getting into the very small garage. We had the most terrible encounter with locals who threatened us, swore at us and said they would torch our car if we didn't move immediately. It could have ruined our holiday, as we were all incredibly scared and upset. I would really recommend stressing how important it is not to park anywhere that could be local's spaces there but also to let people know the garage is incredibly tight for a 4 x 4

    Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. We are sorry that you had a negative experience on the first night of your stay. Unfortunately, parking in Dartmouth is at a premium and the spaces that you referred to are marked as private parking. Sunnyside benefits from it's own garage and the dimensions for this are clearly labelled on the website for your consideration. We do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Dartmouth and enjoyed the glorious weather! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah3.4Apr 2021

  • "Sunnyside in Dartmouth was a nice sized house,for a family ,a bit of a squeeze for 6 adults especially when in the kitchen when dining it felt cramped."

    Nice sized bedrooms and large bathroom. Parking is an issue 1 garage and no off street parking, constantly moving cars around when in which thankfully wasn't often. Lovely setting with nice views beautiful town good facilities.

    Reviewed by Carolyn3.8Sep 2020

  • "Beautifully positioned property at a more than reasonable price."

    Clean and comfortable and stocked with everything you could possibly need.

    Reviewed by Kate5.0Sep 2020

  • "Great accommodation, had asked for the large bed to be split into 2 singles but this was not actioned but other than that the house exceeded my expectations and was presented to a high standard."

    I would recommend to others to stay here.

    Reviewed by Spencer5.0Aug 2020

  • "Lovely property, very well equipped and fabulous views"

    Reviewed by Louise5.0Aug 2020

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • Three bedrooms: 1x super-King size bed (can be made split into two singles on request)
  • 1x Double
  • 1x Twin
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath, separate shower cubicle (with electric shower), w.c
  • and wash-hand basin
  • First floor shower room with WC and Hand basin (newly installed for 2022) Kitchen / dining room
  • Sitting room
  • GARAGE DIMENSIONS: D5.19m x H2.1m x W2.25m
  • Gas fired central heating
  • Electric cooker with gas hob over, microwave, integrated fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, and Krups coffee machine
  • TV (with Freesat), DVD, beer/wine fridge in the lounge
  • Further TV in the kitchen dining room
  • Wi-fi
  • Up to two dogs are allowed
  • Bed linen and towels supplied. GARAGE DIMENSIONS: D5.19m x H2.1m x W2.25m
  • Strictly No Smoking

The property

With some lovely views over the town of Dartmouth, Sunnyside is a four storey town house located on Victoria Road, approximately 1.5 miles (10-15 minutes walk) from Dartmouth's array of boutiques, restaurants and tea rooms, and within easy reach of the beautiful River Dart.

Sunnyside is a delightful Victorian terrace house with great views over Dartmouth and to the river beyond.

This spacious and well decorated property proves a smashing base for your trip to Dartmouth.

The property has the benefit of a superb decked sun terrace which portrays views across the whole of the Dartmouth Town, even with partial views of the River Dart.

The property is equipped with three bedrooms, sleeping up to 6 people with one large family bathroom as well as a Shower room.

On the entrance floor level is a very sunny master bedroom with super-King size bed (that can be made split into two singles on request) as well as a TV with Freesat.

The second bedroom provides a double bed and the third bedroom provides 2 twin sized beds.

The kitchen has a hand built kitchen with integrated electric oven with 5 ring gas hob over, integrated fridge freezer, microwave and dishwasher.

The property is baby friendly and provides baby equipment, as well as garage parking located nearby.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Totnes 12 miles.

Dartmouth lies on the banks of the beautiful River Dart estuary in the popular and picturesque South Hams area of South Devon. Located within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and close to the coast, Dartmouth is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Devon. It offers a stunning waterfront, ancient narrow streets lined with boutique shops, restaurants and art galleries plus many local events such as the annual Dart Music Festival and the Port of Dartmouth Royal Regatta, along with the Dartmouth Food Festival held every October. There are many interesting cycling and walking routes around Dartmouth, including the South West Coast Path, the Dart Valley Trail and plenty of quiet country lanes. A trip on the Dartmouth Steam Railway through picturesque countryside to Paignton is a must, and so is a boat trip across to Kingswear and on to Brixham, a pretty little harbour town. For those seeking some beach activities, there is a wide choice in the South Hams area such as Blue Flag Award winner Blackpool Sands, and Slapton Sands, both extremely popular and just a stone's throw from Dartmouth. A relaxing location in South Devon.

View more holiday cottages in Dartmouth

The property is situated over four floors and due to the steepness of these stairs children under 3 may need to be supervised.

The garage is situated 5-10 minutes walk from the property. (Dimensions D5.19m x H2.1m x W2.25m). You will need to pull up outside of the property to unload.

All bed linen and bath/hand towels are supplied.

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas