Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th June. Available on breaks arriving 1st September - 31st December.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 34 minutes ago

The Hideaway

Dartmouth, Devon (Ref. 995494)



Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

20 Customer Reviews

  • "Had a good week at Hideaway, made use of the garden area after our walks in the area with GnT's in the sun!"

    Great location, easy to get out & about without using car everyday was a bonus. Living area is fairly small but adequate for 4 average sized adults & weather permitting the decked garden is more spacious.

    Reviewed by AngelaApr 2022

  • "The house was quite dirty, lots of fluff under all the beds/behind furniture."

    Stair handrails filthy. Looked like old blood spots & marks on the sheets. Panty liner strip, razor top etc left on floor in main bedroom. VERY small & 2 steep staircases with no gates definitely not good for children. Cushions on sofas very stained/dirty. No where to hang clothes in twin bedroom. Bedrooms badly laid out in general, rethink on hanging space/wardrobes needed. Washing machine front cracked, lightbulbs missing throughout. Sadly we won’t be returning. We will be staying in one of you other properties though.

    Reviewed by LuisaAug 2021

  • "The property was great and we had a lovely holiday in Dartmouth and surrounding area."

    The only issue we encountered was a very aggressive neighbour who complained about the noise. Whilst we have young kids and understand that having frequent holiday lets living next door to you is challenging shouting aggressively at us in front of young kids was inappropriate and not the nicest start to the holiday. If he'd just knocked on and asked us to keep the noise down we'd have been happy to oblige. I know there isn't much you can do about the behaviour of neighbours but suspect this isn't the first time it has happened and wanted you to be aware.

    Reviewed by SimonAug 2021

  • "The accommodation was quite deceiving from the actual photos a lot smaller than expected, the outside space was tired and needed an uplift."

    One of the chairs outside was broken and previous people who stayed left a disposable bbq outside too. The overall cleanliness was also disappointing dust under the beds, mould in the shower en-suite and the fan in the downstairs bathroom didn’t work and it smelt of damp. The bedding upstairs didn’t smell fresh either, overall a disappointing stay. Would not book again unfortunately. The only plus side was the location. A little improvement in the garden and better bedding would improve the accommodation greatly.

    Reviewed by LesleyAug 2021

  • "This is a great little cottage in an excellent location which is clean and has a much sort after outside space, however it is not big enough for 4 people."

    Although it has 4 beds the living area is no where near big enough for 4 people to comfortably stay, it is a kitchen/lounge/diner but there isn't even enough room for the table to pull out and seat 2 chairs around let alone 4. Perfect place for a couple to stay,

    Reviewed by JaneJul 2021

  • "The accomodation was excellent, with good quality equipment and very clean, I was able to wash, dry and iron if I wanted to so this meant less to do when I arrived home which is always a bonus."

    Dartmouth itself is lovely but finding places to eat that were not fully booked was stressful and detracted from our holiday a little. It might be worth mentioning in the blurb that during school holidays particularly it is a good idea to book tables well in advance before you arrive to ease this issue. Cream Tea at the castle was excellent and worth the walk. We were asked to put rubbish in bin but as there was 3 bins not sure which 1 it should have gone in so possibly mark the bin you want the rubbish to go into. Overall the Hideaway is a lovely accomodation with very good facilities and in a good location.

    Reviewed by AnnJul 2021

  • "Great week in Dartmouth, location very central, had great fun investigating the town and surrounding countryside."

    Reviewed by MikeJun 2021

  • "So been to the property before and it was fine."

    Clean and tidy. As it was this time, it's more the customer service that has failed.

    Reviewed by JamesMay 2021

  • "The second time we have stayed here."

    Perfect place to use as a base to see Dartmouth and the surrounding area. Cheaper than one of the apartments with river views but still only a few minutes walk to the quay. Lots to do and places to eat and drink. Different than usual do to Covid. Good facilities in the house although I don’t usually cook etc whilst away so only used the kettle for a morning cuppa.

    Reviewed by NickOct 2020

  • "It was lovely and clean, and right in the centre."

    Reviewed by LindaOct 2020

  • "Although a parking permit is included it requires a 30 min wait to get a space in the Mayors avenue ."

    Well equipped property, comfortable and warm, 2 min walk to town centre. Only downside are 2 flights of steep stairs to reach ensuite, 1 flight to reach living area so it may not be everyones ideal place.

    Reviewed by RichardSep 2020

  • "Thank you for such lovely accomodation."

    The house was cosy, comfortable and just perfect for us. Our dog Crosby felt at home and loved the garden. We had such a wonderful holiday. We were right in the heart of everything and we visited so many places. Cant thank you enough.

    Reviewed by LucySep 2020

  • "Rude and unnecessary notes from neighbours within 5 minutes of arrival."

    Summer duvet and fans. Otherwise everything as expected, great holiday

    Reviewed by JamesJul 2020

  • "House in a great location being near to Dartmouth town centre but in a quiet side street."

    Been to Dartmouth loads of times and this place suited us perfectly. Would happily rent again when I next come to Dartmouth on holiday.

    Reviewed by NickSep 2019

  • "What we found wrong : Downstairs toilet / bathroom door did not shut or lock Toilet seat loose had to keep tightening it up beds were squeaking and noisy with movement and very hard / Headboard loose no wardrobes ?"

    only a rack to hang slacks on ( Nothing in information to say no wardrobes to hang clothes ) Sofa uncomfortable to relax on as it was small and no head rest Shower was brilliant shame the maintenance was left to slip on the property

    We were sorry that you have had to report maintenance issues to us following your stay at The Hideaway. We work very hard with our property checkers to ensure properties are kept in a good condition, and we are sorry that we fell short on this occasion. We do hope that despite these points you were able to enjoy your stay in Dartmouth and that we can welcome you back to the area again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by WilliamAug 2019

  • "Lovely modern cottage."

    Great location. Wonderful stay.

    Reviewed by LisaAug 2019

  • "The property was in a good location for town."

    The property it's self when walking in the stair carpets was all stained , the paint work all marked. The sofa's are very low and small and not very relaxing. The garden is a total let down and is in urgent need of work. We were there in very hot weather and did not sit out there as the decking was broken and weedy and dirty as was the furniture and cushions. It looked like it had not been cleaned for a long time.

    Reviewed by TinaJul 2019

  • "We found the hideaway a comfortable cottage in a great location very close to the riverfront and town centre."

    Collecting keys, directions and car parking arrangements were all as advised at booking and very easy. Thanks for an enjoyable stay.

    Reviewed by PaulOct 2018

  • "Convenient location."

    Everything you need is available. Fine for two adults or two adults and small children, but would be a squeeze for four adults

    Apr 2018

  • "The standard of décor and furnishings was high."

    The living area was however extremely small, so i'm glad there were only two of us for the majority of the week, the pictures were a little deceptive.

    CLAIREJul 2016

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • Two bedrooms
  • 1x Twin
  • 1x King-size bedroom with an en suite shower room featuring a shower, w.c, and wash hand basin
  • Bathroom on the ground floor with corner bath, shower (over), w.c, wash-hand basin and heated towel rail
  • Lounge / kitchen / dining room.
  • Gas fire central heating
  • Hob, electric oven, dishwasher, washing machine, fridge, microwave, toaster and coffee maker
  • TV and DVD
  • Wireless broadband for internet access
  • One small dog allowed
  • An annual car parking permit, for one car
  • Bed linen and towels supplied

The property

Situated in the centre of Dartmouth in quiet Lake Street (just off Victoria Road), The Hideaway is a contemporary dog-friendly cottage on three levels.

The town's famous waterfront can be easily reached on foot in just a few minutes for a wide selection of pubs, restaurants and shops or for boat trips, crabbing or simply to watch the world go by.

The historic sites of Dartmouth castle, and the...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Totnes 12 miles.

Dartmouth lies on the banks of the beautiful River Dart estuary in the popular and picturesque South Hams area of South Devon. Located within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and close to the coast, Dartmouth is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Devon. It offers a stunning waterfront, ancient narrow streets lined with boutique shops, restaurants and art galleries plus many local events such as the annual Dart Music Festival and the Port of Dartmouth Royal Regatta, along with the Dartmouth Food Festival held every October. There are many interesting cycling and walking routes around Dartmouth, including the South West Coast Path, the Dart Valley Trail and plenty of quiet country lanes. A trip on the Dartmouth Steam Railway through picturesque countryside to Paignton is a must, and so is a boat trip across to Kingswear and on to Brixham, a pretty little harbour town. For those seeking some beach activities, there is a wide choice in the South Hams area such as Blue Flag Award winner Blackpool Sands, and Slapton Sands, both extremely popular and just a stone's throw from Dartmouth. A relaxing location in South Devon.

View more holiday cottages in Dartmouth

Region Information

NOTE - No parking at the property - parking permit supplied (car park is approximately 10-15 minute walk from the apartment). Please note that the Mayors Avenue car park is closed for the Regatta Week.

One small dog allowed.

All bed linen and bath/hand towels are supplied. You will need to bring your own tea towels beach towels and oven gloves.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it