Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th June. Available on breaks arriving 1st September - 31st December.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 16 minutes ago

St Margaret's Steps

Topsham, Devon (Ref. 1011358)


Very good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 8

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Broadband / WiFi
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Cot available
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Highchair available

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

16 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely property, well designed accommodation."

    Very spacious and comfortable and in a perfect spot in the centre of town. Topsham is a perfect town to visit and has cheap rail links all along the south Devon coast.

    Reviewed by RobertApr 2022

  • "Beautiful and stunning apartment in a perfect location."

    Reviewed by AnneApr 2022

  • "Beautiful property."

    Immaculate and everything there that you could need. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this amazing property. Would love to visit again but no dates available for later in the year

    Reviewed by GillianFeb 2022

  • "Absolutely excellent in every way - well-equipped, spacious, comfortable, and with assiduous and friendly support by the management team."

    Reviewed by NeilJan 2022

  • "The location is perfect to explore Topsham and the surrounding area."

    The Apartment is wonderful and the pictures don’t really do it justice. The only potential issue could be if you struggle with steps. Certainly be looking to revisit.

    So delighted that you loved the place: we certainly do. Do hope you come back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by StephenSep 2021

  • "This property is being marketed mainly on the superb decor of the kitchen diner and the master bedroom suite."

    Sadly, the two other bedrooms were very lacking and the other bathrooms very dated and in dire need of a Refurb. The garden was lacking in care, and furniture had seen better days. A lot of notes about what we could and couldn’t do around the apartment, even on the front door upon arrival is very unwelcoming. Overall, the apartment was clean and what you needed for two people, but if anyone else has to use the other rooms and bathrooms, they are going to feel disappointed and let down. It would take no more than a weeks worth of decorating to sort out.

    Thank you taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad you liked the kitchen/living space and master suite. We are sorry you found the rest of the décor lacking. We fully restored the property two years ago and had a Farrow & Ball consultant advise us on paint – we are very happy with the result. The photographs on the website reflect the current décor. We have been unable to come to the property since late 2019 owing to the pandemic and living on the other side of the world. However, we are here now and are undertaking various maintenance/touch up jobs. We have noticed that water splashing from the basin has spoiled the paint in the small downstairs loo. The relevant part of this is in the process of being tiled. We also discovered that there had been a misunderstanding with our housekeeper regarding who was managing the gardening. We have also resolved this. Again, we discovered that our two year old outdoor furniture has not weathered as well as we had hoped and will be re-finishing it this week. We did have a sign on the front door about noise because the lovely wooden floors do mean that noise does transmit easily to the flat below and we try to be good neighbours. Nonetheless, we recognize that however nicely a request to be aware of neighbours is worded, perhaps it being the first thing a guest would see is not the most welcoming and so we have moved it. We are not aware of any other dos and don’ts in the property other than one reasonable request that if you bring a dog it is kept in the sitting room overnight. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NikkiJun 2021

  • "Really enjoyed our stay."

    Very clean and spacious with lots of good quality equipment. Lovely village with shops and good restaurants. Had a gorgeous meal one evening at the Salutation Inn. Lots of good walks and lots to see not too far away. Would have been better with an en suite in the downstairs bedroom plus wardrobe instead of hooks at back of door. Only other complaint I have is the outside space, which is great for BBQ’s, It hadn’t been swept for some time and the furniture could do with an upgrade.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. The downstairs bedroom is right next door to the bathroom and is usually the sole bedroom to use this bathroom. However, as there is the option to use the study as a bedroom, this would be the bathroom that people in the study would use, so it isn't really practical to make it an en-suite. Due to the shape of the downstairs bedroom, it would make adding a wardrobe difficult. However, there are two chests of drawers in this room. A new BBQ has been ordered. The garden table and chairs are two years old but will be checked, along with the state of the garden. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and the lovely village and location. We very much hope to welcome you back to St Margaret's Steps in the not-too-distant future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ElizabethJun 2021

  • "A comfortable and well appointed apartment in the heart of Topsham."

    Reviewed by PiersMay 2021

  • "A great location in Topsham which has lots of options for food and drink plus superb walks along the Exe Trail."

    House was plenty big enough for 6 adults and especially loved the big social space in the kitchen/diner. High quality furnishings throughout and spotlessly clean - even has hand sanitizer outside the entrance. Would definitely recommend.

    Sorry for the belated response. Delighted you liked the place: hope you return! Property Owner

    Reviewed by SallyOct 2020

  • "Beautiful apartment which felt very much home from home and suited our needs perfectly."

    We weren’t sure what to expect with the strict COVID-19 policies in place as we’d been made aware some high touch items at properties might have been removed. We were pleasantly surprised to find cushions and ornaments still in place. The apartment is very well equipped and very light with the double aspect windows. There were only 2 of us so plenty of room. Steep slight spiral stairs to the upper bedrooms need care and the property has steep stairs up to the apartment so not suitable for the less mobile. The apartment had mainly been cleaned to a good standard although cooker hood was dusty and a tennis ball/fluff was hiding under the sofa in the kitchen when we moved it to make space to do our online yoga class. This is an old property with lots of nooks and crannies and I suspect pulling everything out to dust/hoover is a challenge. All the work surfaces, sinks, showers, toilets were spotless. The Smart tv in the lounge didn’t have an aerial cable so you can only watch the iPlayer not terrestrial. To get any other channels you needed to sign into your own account ie ITV hub, all 4 etc. Not a problem for us but could be for older people without email accounts. You need to remember to sign yourself out again before leaving particularly if you have Netflix or other pay accounts. We did find the tv buffered quite a bit so watching programmes became annoying. A couple of maintenance things we thought could do with checking are slow draining sinks in the upstairs bathroom, grouting missing along tiled shower seat which could lead to water seepage into the ceiling below and one of the inner shower door handles comes off. We found the bins full on arrival but reported this to the cleaning company and they arranged an immediate collection the following day. It’s good to have outdoor space and although we didn’t use it, there is a small garden patio area with table and chairs. We’d definitely stay at St Margaret’s Steps again, location is very good and at the time we arrived and departed, parking to load and download wasn’t a problem. We had thought we were making our booking with HomeAway as we found it on their site having stayed in a few of their properties before. It was therefore confusing to then receive a confirmation from HomeAway and then payment details from Sykes Cottages.

    Thank you very much for taking the time to comment. The owners are very glad you liked the property and glad that you found it largely spotless (they have spoken to the cleaner about under the sofa and the cooker, and will be repairing the grout in the bathroom). Thank you for the explanations regarding the TV. It is something they have been working on. We hope any problems have been resolved but they now have a DVD player too, so if people find the TV too hard to work, they can still watch classics. Property Owner

    Reviewed by HelenSep 2020

  • "None of the booking information I gave on booking."

    Com was passed onto the property. Ridiculous check in and check out times when we are expected to strip our own beds into bin bags and be out the property by 9am?! Not very clean, lots of hairs on the floor, very dusty bathrooms and there were breadcrumbs all over the work surfaces when we arrived. Also empty sweet wrappers down the sides of sofa. Bins were full or full of water so we couldn’t take out rubbish. One of our party had a terrible reaction to whatever was used to clean the bedding and came out in full body rash! One of the single beds upstairs was wet on the day we arrived so one of our party spent the first night sleeping on the sofa. There were dirty sheets being stored under the bed in the master bedroom. Just a general feeling of poor thought towards staying guests in this property, for example every single room diffuser was empty, no hanging space in 2 of the bedrooms. We were really disappointed.

    I am so dreadfully sorry about all of this. Our housekeeper normally prides herself on the spotlessness of the property (most of our other reviews in fact comment on this). I’m afraid I did not see the previous guest’s review until now (was on holiday), otherwise I would have addressed this with her before and, I hope, this would not have occurred. We use a private rubbish collection service and have had some problems with it recently. Our housekeeper is buying additional bins to resolve this issue. The bed stripping request is, I’m afraid, a Covid precaution for the cleaners and is part of the Sykes/Helpful Holiday Covid-safe guidelines to all properties. Also part of additional Covid precautions implemented by our housekeeper, the mattresses are all sprayed with (use-appropriate) disinfectant between guests. I am very sorry if this caused one of your party to have problems and will be keeping a close eye on this going forward. The washing powder used is non-biological, with an eye to sensitive skin. The later check in and earlier check out times are unfortunately a necessity during Covid times, to ensure sufficient time is left between guests to clean properly (you will perhaps find this ironic, given the state you found the property in, but that is the reason) Property Owner

    Reviewed by CaraAug 2020

  • "We enjoyed our week but found the fridge too small for 6."

    A few hooks on 3 of the bedrooms would be useful just to hang up a dress etc. Under normal situations the house was clean enough but during COVID I think more could have been done particularly as there was extra cleaning time allowed, our dog found a drinks bottle under the kitchen sofa along with some rubbish, dirty kitchen window and ledges in the bathroom were dusty

    We are glad that you enjoyed your week but sorry that your experience wasn’t perfect. The fridge in the kitchen is standard size but there is also an extra one just outside the kitchen, under the boiler. Thank you for your suggestion re hooks on the back of bedroom doors: I have asked our housekeeper to look into putting some up. I am very sorry about the state of cleanliness: we pay a high housekeeping cost and so expect it to be perfect for our guests. I have also addressed this with our housekeeper and hope the problem will not reoccur (please note that I did not see your review prior to the next guests’ arrival). Property Owner

    Reviewed by HeatherAug 2020

  • "A clean, tidy and well equipped property which felt more like "home" than a holiday let."

    Garden needed some maintenance - had to cut back the prickly bush going up the steps into the property - that aside, a lovely position in the heart of everything.

    Reviewed by JJul 2020

  • "This is a fabulous house."

    It is beautifully decorated and presented and it was spotlessly clean. The huge open plan kitchen was perfect for us. It was warm, and all the kitchen equipment you could need was there. The bedrooms and bathrooms were lovely too. We would highly recommend this property. The only negative was we tried contacting the two numbers on the booking confirmation the preceding week and Sykes themselves repeatedly but no one answered and messages left on the two booking confirmation numbers were never responded to. But don't let that put you off, it is a great property with lots of character and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback following your recent stay at St Margaret's Steps. The contact details for the property were updated after you made your initial booking and the new details were sent out 1 week before your arrival, we are so sorry for the mix up but delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CamillaFeb 2020

  • "Great accommodation, beautiful wow kitchen which had everything and more that you could need, beautiful bathroom with fabulous shower."

    The only downside was the very steep staircase up to the property plus the staircase to the master bedroom - again extremely steep. The TV in the lounge was unable to access live TV terrestrial channels as the WIFI signal was poor. Unfortunately and through nobodies fault there were roadworks in the high st and so access to load and unload luggage was problematic, this would not be as much of an issue when work is finished

    Dear Mrs Wood, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at St Margaret's Steps and thank you for your feedback. On receipt of your feedback the caretaker has purchased another WiFi booster, which should improve internet speed. The property has the fastest internet possible for the area but unfortunately old wide walls reduce the signal. The TV is a smart one and it does connect to live TV terrestrial channels but there is a specific procedure to follow to access them. The caretaker has printed out instructions and will leave them in the property for future reference. Regarding the external stairs, they are quite steep but without them the property would not benefit simultaneously from the lovely courtyard garden and the views from the apartment. It is now specified in the description that there are 16 steps to the front door. The master bedroom can be accessed via a second set of internal stairs that are less steep than the ones with immediate access. We are sorry about the roadworks but fortunately they have almost finished now and the pavement should be greatly improved. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TraceyJan 2020

  • "We stayed in December and the lounge was a little too cold."

    The kitchen dinning living room was really warm and would have been good if we could have watched tv in that room. The steps to the apartment are very steep and would have benefited from mains pir lighting as it is very dark .

    Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback, we were very pleased at the high scores you gave your experience and we’re glad that overall you had an enjoyable holiday. We mus apologise for the issues you have mentioned: we had problems with our property manager, who was supposed to be dealing with this after the first guest raised the issues. We've since changed managers. The plumber has today fixed a sticking valve on the radiator and re-balanced the system (apparently most heat was going to the bathroom). We sincerely hope that resolves the issue and will be keeping a close eye on it. Our electrician is hoping to install more outside stair lighting tomorrow. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JohnDec 2019

Show more

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x super king-size with en-suite Jack-and-Jill bathroom, 1 x twin,1 x ground-floor twin (zip/link, can be king-size on request)
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground-floor cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Open-plan kitchen, dining and sitting area
  • Sitting room
  • Large landing/study with two futon style beds
  • No Pets Upstairs please.
  • Gas central heating with gas stove
  • Gas range and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, Smart TV, DVD, Bluetooth speaker, WiFi
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Parking in public car park 300 yards
  • Patio with furniture
  • One well-behaved dog welcome, £35 per week
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1 minute walk
  • Note: This property is not suitable for anyone less mobile, has 16 steps

The property

This superb duplex apartment (which sits on top of a residential flat and a divine natural foods shop) is neatly tucked away just a stone's throw from the river in Topsham, one of Devon's most popular towns.

Beautifully restored to seamlessly blend original character with contemporary features, St Margaret's Steps enjoys views over the river Exe and rests adjacent to the 10th century churchyard.

Unlike the other properties here which are accessed via Fore Street, this apartment is approached via the churchyard which adds to the secluded feel.

Accessed via external steps, you enter via a welcoming entrance hall, off which is the stunning kitchen/dining area, a glorious open space with a central island, exposed beams and sleek surfaces.

You'll find everything you'll need to cater for the family and a large seating area with comfy sofas means the chef is never without company.

A second formal seating area enjoys some of the best views in the property looking out over the river and church.

Also on the ground floor is a twin bedded room and a family bathroom.

Spiral stairs lead to the master bedroom where you'll find a huge super-king-size bed and a claw foot bath tub in the Jack-and-Jill style bathroom, perfect for a long soak before retiring at the end of the day.

A second staircase leads through a large landing area which has twin futon style beds, to bedroom three a further twin which also has access to the bathroom.

Outside you'll find a neat little terraced garden with a table and chairs.

The little town of Topsham lies directly on the Exe Estuary Trail, a 26 mile, mainly level cycle and walking route along the river.

Everything here is right on the doorstep, within a very short walk are pubs, a range of independent shops, galleries and even an outdoor swimming pool.

For those wanting to leave the car at home, Topsham also has its own railway station served by the Avocet Line, a much loved 10-mile railway connecting the historic cathedral city of Exeter to the golden sandy beach at Exmouth and within a short walk.

Ideal for those wanting to explore this gentle, picture perfect area of Devon or just a touch of luxury with convenience at hand, St Margaret's Steps is an ideal choice.

View on map

About the location


Exeter 4.5 miles; Exmouth 6.5 miles; Newton Abbot 17.2 miles.

The charming town of Topsham is set on the River Exe estuary and has been declared a conservation area due to the wealth of 17th and 18th century merchants' houses, many built in the Dutch style with carved gable ends. Within the town you will be delighted to find a selection of historic pubs and award-winning restaurants including The Galley Fish and Seafood Restaurant, which boasts panoramic views of the Exe Estuary. Foodie lovers will also enjoy the town’s food festival which happens every summer. The town also plays host to a magnitude of independent shops, galleries and the Topsham Museum is an interesting visit. From here, you can catch a train into the city of Exeter where you can explore the city walls which surround the centre and the Gothic Cathedral, or head in the opposite direction and soak up the sun at the seaside resort of Exmouth. Topsham promises a wonderful escape to Devon, where you can have the best of both worlds within a short drive.

Region Information

Note: This property is not suitable for anyone less mobile.
Note: There are 16 steps from the garden up to the property