Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 35 View Image Gallery
  • The Outlook - Somerset & Wiltshire - 1063843 - photo 1
close

The Outlook

(Ref. 1063843)

Crowcombe, Somerset Show on map

4.8

Sykes rating

  • 7 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • views (25)
  • hot tub (24)
  • hot (24)
  • tub (24)
  • stay (23)
  • lovely (22)

56 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely property, great location."

    Reviewed by Christina3.8Jun 2024

  • "Lovely property and location only down was the shower in the downstairs bedroom worst shower as impossible to regulate the temperature of the water."

    Reviewed by Joanne4.1Jun 2024

  • "Great accommodation - clean, comfortable and well equipped with wonderful far reaching views, especially from the hot tub."

    Set in a beautiful part of the world with lovely walks on your doorstep in lush countryside, several good pubs close by and the coast within easy reach. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Melinda5.0Jun 2024

  • "Andy was on hand if you needed him and informed us of the area."

    Nothing was to much trouble. Excellent stay

    Reviewed by Timothy5.0May 2024

  • "Lovely area , few things wet room shower low on water pressure compared to other bathroom shower ."

    Wifi ,when watching film/TV keeps dropping out

    Reviewed by Wayne4.1May 2024

  • "Everything was lovely."

    Only issue was with the wi-fi,it lept disconnecting and didn't work most of the time,but other than that, the house was perfect. Thank you Andy for the hospitality

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Apr 2024

  • "We have just spent a lovely half term week at the Outlook."

    The location was very peaceful and idyllic with lots of options for walking. The accommodation itself is so spacious with lovely views and the owners have thought of and provided everything you need. We really enjoyed the hot tub - private with great views over the fields. Would definitely recommend

    Reviewed by Louise5.0Feb 2024

  • "Lovely accommodation, very quiet and comfortable."

    Could do with Black out curtains upstairs with the Xmas lights next do on all night ,like a disco in the bedroom (gave us a few sleepless nights)

    Reviewed by Susan3.8Dec 2023

  • "The internet at this cottage was not acceptable."

    The system crashed every 10-20 minutes and if I had work to do online would have been hopeless. The hot tub and robes were wonderful. The rooms were spacious . Only thing for long stay and large family would be a washer and dryer.

    Reviewed by Robin5.0Nov 2023

  • "Excellent location and very quiet."

    Very friendly and helpful. A very relaxing and enjoyable break.

    Reviewed by Ian4.4Oct 2023

  • "The Outlook was perfect!"

    We came for my husbands 50th and it was perfect. The place was spotless clean, hot tub hot and the fact towels and bath robes were included was amazing. Also the tea and coffee was a god send as I forgot ours. The bedrooms were an amazing size too. Would definitely come back again. The views were amazing and my grandson loved watching the horses.

    Thank you glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back Property Owner

    Reviewed by Liz5.0Oct 2023

  • "Excellent break at The Outlook, warm and friendly onsite host."

    Clean, well organised and homely. Hot tub maintained daily and host Andy really good at recommending good places to eat, drink and explore. Thank you for a simple straight forward way to renting a holiday cottage, service has been excellent from start to end.

    Reviewed by Adrian5.0Aug 2023

  • "It was a lovely stay away and break that my family and I needed."

    The peace and quiet was fantastic and the views stunning! We all deeply enjoyed the hot tub and home cooked meals. While some may have wanted better Internet connection, we found it fun to spend quality time together playing games and watching films as a family to unwind in the evening. Plenty of things to do in the area and would recommend the Zootropica for visitors.

    Reviewed by Marie4.7Jul 2023

  • "I came for my hen do with 4 others and we had the best time!"

    Everything is clear and well explained, the beds are comfortable and the hot tub was perfect on arrival! (And throughout!) Beautiful views, and a fab little tea room/cafe literally 3 min walk away, and it's lovely! Could not recommend enough, thank you for a fab stay, I'd love to come back sometime!

    Reviewed by Shaunna5.0Jul 2023

  • "This is our second stay at the Outlook and we were just as impressed as the first."

    The Outlook is well equipped and the Hot Tub is a welcome extra. It is well placed, especially for walks (Quantock Hills & Exmoor National Park) and WSR to Minehead - we had a great time - thank you.

    Thank you glad you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Denise5.0Jun 2023

  • "We had the most amazing time for my sisters Hen Weekend!"

    The house is the most beautiful secluded location with stunning views! The facilities at the property were excellent, I would absolutely recommend!

    Reviewed by Charley5.0Jun 2023

  • "The location was great and most of the cottage facilities were good, but there were some annoying problems."

    The WiFi connection was very bad - our phones kept being disconnected and the TV connection to Netflix etc was impossible as it wouldn't stay connected. The oven didn't work (the knob seemed broken) so we only had use of the grill. In the main shower the head was too high and it was impossible to move (the piping came away when we tried) - this is annoying when someone of my wife's height (4' 11") wanted to shower but not wash her hair. The outside light by the back door didn't work. The radiators downstairs leaked. There was a continuous awful smell from, we believe, the oil tank and this permeated into the downstairs bedroom The owner did visit us but he only seemed interested in showing us the hot tub despite us saying we were not going to use it. It would be hard for the living room to comfortably sit 7 people even though the property is advertised for that amount. What was good was the location, the fenced in area for the dog, and the cleanliness of the property. This does seem like very negative feedback but we did enjoy our stay and these are relatively minor issues that could easily be addressed by the owner.

    Reviewed by Linda4.4May 2023

  • "The house was great for our two families, the location was beautiful and the views really made it!"

    We are already looking at when we can come again

    Thank you glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you again. Andy Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matthew5.0May 2023

  • "The property was very clean and tidy with everything that we needed."

    The accommodation was of a very high quality and well maintained, and the location was excellent, very quiet and relaxing

    Reviewed by Russell4.7Apr 2023

  • "Lovely and comfortable property with very good-sized bedrooms (we had 2 travel cots in one of them and still felt there was plenty of room)."

    The stair gate at the bottom of the stairs was also very handy given that we had 2 toddlers in the party. Kitchen was well-equipped although on the small side. The hot tub was an excellent bonus feature of the stay. The listing states that there is a washing machine but there isn't one (might have come in useful for several days away with 2 toddlers and a newborn). Did get told off by the owner when our parents dropped by to see their children and grandchildren and share a meal with us, which somewhat negatively impacted the stay.

    Unfortunately the holiday cottage is insured for seven guest only. It would have been appreciated if we had been contacted regarding this issue of additional guest. Glad you enjoyed your stay and sorry there was no washing machine there never has been one this is a mistake on Sykes web site Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rebecca4.4Apr 2023

  • "We stayed in the Outlook for a long weekend with some friends ."

    It was well equipped with every thing we needed and plenty of room for the six of us. Great location and really close to Stogumber Station for a day out on the west Somerset railway. We had a great time.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Mar 2023

  • "We had a very peaceful comfortable stay with everything we needed."

    A washing machine would have been a bonus but we appreciate there was no space for one.and possibly a gate around the side of the property to keep our dog safe while we were in the hot tub (which was wonderful) We would definitely stay at the Outlook with its beautiful views again and would recommend it to others.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.4Mar 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay a lot."

    Property is great. View is spectacular. Hard to think of improvements without sounding petty. Wi-Fi wasn’t good but there was plenty of phone coverage for me to tether phone to laptop so I could stay in touch with work. More importantly, the hot tub was awesome. Great in the day looking at the view but even better at night against the winter chill and hooting owls.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Nov 2022

  • "Fantastic place to stay we would gladly stay there again."

    The house was very comfortable with excellent facilities and supplied household materials were exceptional.

    Reviewed by David5.0Nov 2022

  • ".all as decried very comfortable accommodation clean and tidy. Great hot tub"

    . A teapot would of been grate for 7 adults

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Nov 2022

  • "Nice property with 3 large bedrooms, very quiet and peaceful location with lovely views."

    Good sized fenced garden area with hot tub, (although dog could get out around back of property, fitting a small gate would solve that) Overall it is great for a relaxing holiday. Not many walks directly from property re walking dog etc, but lots scenic areas only a short drive away. Pubs in Bicknoller and Crowcombe both do food and have nice gardens for sitting in the sun. Mason Arms at Williton does a lovely Sunday lunch.

    Reviewed by Michael4.1Sep 2022

  • "Great location, beautiful views, very relaxing & comfortable."

    The place needs some little tweaks to make it perfect for us but overall we had a lovely time, thank you.

    Reviewed by Kerry4.4Aug 2022

  • "Lovely property."

    Andy was very helpful and available if needed. Excellent cafe (The Rocking Horse) at the end of the lane. Great steam railway in the local village that we used several times to get to places rather than driving. The property itself was fantastic. We asked Andy if he could move the beds around to suit our requirements which he happily did before our arrival. Fantastic views. The hot tub, garden and bbq were a welcome addition. Only a couple of suggestions - a better mirror in the en-suite bathroom, and a mirror in the downstairs bedroom would have been useful, as well as some shelving in the shower to put all your stuff on rather than putting it on the floor. I think there should also have been a hair dryer in the downstairs bedroom but that was missing. Minor gripe, there is a livery stables next to the property so quite a lot of coming and going, cars driving to and from, but on the upside it was lovely to be able to watch the horses in the field! All in all we had a wonderful, relaxing holiday, and I would highly recommend this property.

    Reviewed by Elaine5.0Jul 2022

  • "Very clean and spacious accommodation with comfortable beds and fantastic hot tub and garden."

    Amazing views and absolute heaven sitting in the hot tub in the evening watching the sunset. So peaceful, great for recharging your batteries, and also a perfect base from which to explore the Quantocks, Exmoor and the Somerset coast. Andy was a brilliant host and the little touches of cake and fresh flowers on arrival were really appreciated. Would highly recommend- we will definitely be booking again!!

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Jul 2022

  • "Wonderful place to stay."

    Very clean. A home made cake and milk on the fridge was a lovely touch and made us feel very welcome. Would thoroughly recommend.

    Reviewed by Neil5.0Jun 2022

  • "Lovely cottage in a quiet location ideally situated for walking on the Quantock Hills & visiting the coast very friendly host who helped out when I left the ignition on an drained the battery on my car he lent me a jump starting battery kit for the day after getting my car started so many thanks will definitely visit again when we holiday in Somerset."

    Reviewed by Arthur5.0Jun 2022

  • "Amazing views, peaceful and friendly host."

    Reviewed by Megan5.0Jun 2022

  • "Fantastic views, friendly owner, walking distance (for all ages) to the steam railway and the wonderful rocking horse cafe (open Fri- Mon 11-5pm), the outdoor hot tub / jacuzzi and the beautiful horses running around in the next field with the Brendon Hills / Exmoor backdrop, the Outlook ticks pretty much every box."

    Carew Arms (in Crowcombe) also has a great beer garden and was doing an excellent greek food menu when we visited. House was clean and had everything we needed, decent showers, modern kitchen and bathrooms, comfortable beds / towels and bathrobes, WiFi as well.

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Jun 2022

  • "We loved our stay so much as did our doggie we travelled around and went to lots ..."

    We loved our stay so much as did our doggie we travelled around and went to lots of new places there would definitely recomment

    Reviewed by Jessica5.0May 2022

  • "Quiet location with lovely views"

    Reviewed by Ray4.7May 2022

  • "A magnificent stay!"

    Gorgeous property, location and extremely helpful and friendly owner. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Apr 2022

  • "Absolutely fantastic place to stay, just a few things to suggest, there should be a washing machine in the property as its awkward to arrange timings to get washing done with the 'access washing machine', should mention that it's not fully enclosed on side of property and that there are dogs wondering around the property."

    Other than that we had a great stay, the views were amazing, the area was great and the hot tub was an added bonus.

    Reviewed by Nikkie3.8Mar 2022

  • "It was perfectly clean!"

    Everything you might need for self catering.

    Reviewed by Suzan5.0Mar 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at The Outlook."

    Such beautiful views from the property and the surrounding areas are absolutely stunning too. Kilve beach and the Quantock Hills are only a short drive and are definitely worth visiting for the scenery and views. The property itself was very clean and tidy and had everything you would expect and more. Andy was very helpful when we needed anything. We would definitely stay here again :)

    Reviewed by Kylie4.7Feb 2022

  • "The Outlook is a great place to chill out and relax."

    The house has everything you need to stay in and self cater. It is beautifully furnished, warm and spacious. The beds are really comfortable and the location peaceful. The owner Andy, is helpful, welcoming and there if you need him, but not intrusive. It's in a great location with plenty of places to visit, including The Carew Arms, a traditional village pub in Crowcombe and a fairly easy walk from the property. The hot tub was a bonus, set in its own garden with bbq and top of the range garden furniture and the view was stunning, right in front of a field of horses. This property offered great value for money and we would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Jan 2022

  • "Absolutely beautiful cottage, exceptionally clean and bed linen/towels were fresh and smelled lovely."

    Owner, Andy, was very friendly and left us a lovely cake and tea/coffee etc on arrival. The bedrooms are huge, the lounge/diner was very comfortable and the kitchen had just about everything you would need for a stay! The view from the cottage was stunning and location was quiet and relaxing. This was our first time booking a self-catering cottage and we were amazed at just how good it was! We would love to return with our family in the near future. Well done Andy and apologies for the broken mug!

    Reviewed by Beverley5.0Jan 2022

  • "Amazing stay at The Outlook with stunning countryside views."

    The bedrooms were very spacious. And the hot tub was lovely.

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Jan 2022

  • "We had the best stay at the outlook!"

    The only thing I would change is that we stayed for longer. It’s in such a beautiful location and had everything we needed :).

    Reviewed by Megan5.0Dec 2021

  • "Had a lovely time at The Outlook, gorgeous views, the bedrooms were very comfortable and big, great host, nothing negative to say at all."

    Great hot tub, loved the lemon drizzle cake, that was a nice touch. Very thoughtful too providing milk, tea and coffee etc. Would definitely recommend staying here

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Nov 2021

  • "Spotlessly clean property."

    Comfortable and well equipped. Very impressed with quality of bedding - all very clean and fresh

    Reviewed by Sheila5.0Oct 2021

  • "Absolutely loved my stay here."

    The accommodation was first class, comfortable beds, everything you may need in the kitchen, 2 lovely bathrooms and a hot tub to admire the outstanding countryside views.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Oct 2021

  • "I would like to say that Andy should be proud of what he's done with the outlook ..."

    I would like to say that Andy should be proud of what he's done with the outlook at Somerset its 1st class and we all enjoyed are weekend stay and are are planning to rebook for another stay

    Reviewed by Russell5.0Oct 2021

  • "We loved the cottage and the views are stunning with horse and it’s foal roaming free in the field opposite us."

    The only minor negative would be that we had a Freesat tv and we were unable to get basic channels such as BBC1,ITV and the tap in the kitchen dripped but the Hot Tub was such a wonderful experience in the evening which enabled us all to sleep so well and it is such a peaceful and quiet calm area and we would go back there again in a heartbeat.

    Reviewed by Ian4.7Oct 2021

  • "We had a great stay at The Outlook."

    The location was fantastic and the views from the cottage and hot tub were amazing. We were lucky enough to have a sunset every evening whilst sitting in the tub. The cottage is decorated to a high standard and everything that you could need was available. We would return to The Outlook next time we are in Somerset, such a peaceful and relaxing location.

    Reviewed by Tony5.0Sep 2021

  • "The outlook was well equipped, views were amazing, would highly recommend this amazing property."

    Reviewed by Bryn5.0Jul 2021

  • "The Outlook is a beautiful, well equipped cottage with amazing views."

    In easy reach of the Quantock Hills, West Somerset (Steam) railways, Taunton and the Coast. The hot-tub provided that extra touch of relaxation.

    Reviewed by Denise5.0Jul 2021

  • "Lovely place to stay, lovely area, plenty of places to visit in the area."

    View was worth the rental price, especially the sunset. Would definitely book again.

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Jun 2021

  • "We had lovely time, the accommodation was great lovely area ."

    would recommend this place

    Reviewed by Janet5.0May 2021

  • "Very comfortable accommodation with excellent view of the valley and easy access to sight seeing."

    Clean and well equipped. Friendly and helpful owner. Would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Fahmida4.7May 2021

  • "Great holiday house, with fantastic views."

    House is very well equipped, owner lives on site and no doubt if you needed anything he would be there to help. Would definitely recommend this house if planning a trip to Somerset

    Reviewed by Gary5.0Apr 2021

  • "I book this accommodation for my bday and I can say I didn’t want to leave."

    .Great value for money and then same.. a great little gem nestle away in the country side.. there wasn’t nothing in the property we were lacking..host was fabulous even left a nice sweet treat for us. Clean spacious and ideal for what we wanted..everything you need in a holiday accommodation...already looking to rebook for the next birthday getaway

    Reviewed by Trudy-ann5.0Apr 2021

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x ground-floor king-size bedroom with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x family bedroom with a king-size bed and single, 1 x double
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting/dining room
  • Oil central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for two cars
  • Enclosed garden with seating area and hot tub
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking allowed
  • Shop and pub 1.2 miles
  • Maximum party size is 7, including infants Please note: The hot tub is emptied and refilled on each changeover, please allow 24 hours for the water to reach temperature

The property

Nestled between the villages of Stogumber and Crowcombe is The Outlook, a spacious, detached property, perfectly positioned for exploring the countryside setting of Somerset and beyond.

With its enviable position and far-reaching views, this exceptional property is the perfect place to call home as you enjoy the plethora of outdoor adventures within the area, or to simply enjoy some catch up time with your loved ones.

Enter the property and be welcomed into a light-filled sitting/dining room, acting as the social hub of the home, where you can all gather together to create memories, whether it be playing board games brought from home, enjoying a family film night or tucking into a delicious meal.

The kitchen comes well-equipped with everything to cater to your culinary needs, in addition to a handy dishwasher and so that you barely have to lift a finger whilst on holiday.

Once the evening draws to a close, look forward to retiring to one of the three bedrooms, where you will find a king-size bedroom with an en-suite shower room on the ground floor, whilst upstairs there is a family bedroom with a double bed and a single bed, as well as a double bed, ensuring a flexible sleeping arrangement for party make ups of all types.

Continuing to impress is the outdoor area, featuring an enclosed garden space, where you can enjoy a spot of alfresco dining before dipping into the bubbling hot tub to rest underneath a canopy of stars.

At the end of each exciting day, look forward to returning to The Outlook to unwind.

Note: This property can be booked with Ref. 1063840, together sleeping up to nine people.

Maximum party size is 7, including infants

Please note: The hot tub is emptied and refilled on each changeover, please allow 24 hours for the water to reach temperature.

Cookley Wood Cottages

Enjoying an enviable position between the eastern flank of the Brendon Hills and the Quantock Hills are two exceptional holiday properties, The Stables and The Outlook, resting less than two miles away from the quaint village of Stogumber. With stunning, far-reaching countryside views and everything you could possibly need to enjoy a self-catering getaway, the Cookley Wood Cottages are a rare find for groups of couples, friends and families seeking to explore Somerset and beyond. The Stables is a superb studio-style accommodation, perfect for couples who are seeking a romantic retreat or a more peaceful spot to spend time, whilst The Outlook enjoys a larger layout with three spacious bedrooms, ideal for party make-ups of all types. Both cottages offer great living spaces, including well-equipped kitchens to cater your own culinary delights and during the summer months, both gardens provide space for alfresco dining together as a group or separately, with the stunning Somerset countryside as your backdrop. If you can tear yourself away from your rural bolthole, travel to the nearby village of Stogumber, an idyllic spot with thatched cottages, a village shop and a pub, serving a great dining menu. Alternatively, you could travel in the other direction to The Carew Arms in Crowcombe or a delicious meal or slightly further afield to Taunton, the birthplace of Taste of the West and home to over 2,000 food producers and outlets, so you are certain to find something to suit all tastes here. As well as great dining options, the town also plays host to a large number of independent shops and a number of parks for peaceful picnics and leisurely strolls. Keen walkers can look forward to exploring the Quantock Hills AONB and Exmoor National Park, slightly further afield, or if you are visiting during the summer months, travel to Minehead for a day at the beach. For those visiting with a family of all ages, there are a number of attraction within the area to suit all; those with young children can look forward to a day out at Tropiquaria Wildlife Park and the National Trust owned Coleridge Cottage, whilst history buffs can enjoy Cleeve Abbey and the Trendle Ring. With so much to see and do, secure your stay at the Cookley Wood Cottage and look forward to the adventure ahead.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £500.

View on map

About the location

CROWCOMBE

Taunton 10 miles; Burnham-on-Sea 21 miles

A stunning village and civil parish set in the Quantock Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Crowcombe covers the hamlets of Crowcombe Heathfield, Flaxpool, Halsway, Lawford and Triscombe. This is a great place for an outdoor holiday with the Quantocks on your doorstep, as well as the Exmoor National Park within driving distance. Crowcombe itself is a place of great beauty, it has many stunning and historical buildings from the 14th century, Church of the Holy Ghost to the ancient Church House and village cross which are Grade II* listed. In terms of facilities, the village has an traditional food pub in the Carew Arms, a lovely village shop and the Crowcombe Village Hall which offers lots of things including the screening of a film twice a month in case you get stuck in on a rainy day. The surrounding area offers everything for visitors, the town of Taunton offers great architecture and a good selection of amenities, whilst Minehead is also easily accessible should you fancy a day on the beach. Within a short drive of Crowcombe are Dunster Castle and Gardens, The West Somerset Railway, Hestercombe House and Gardens, Glastonbury Abbey, Wells Cathedral, Cheddar Gorge and Exmoor.

Maximum party size is 7, including infants

Please note: The hot tub is emptied and refilled on each changeover, please allow 24 hours for the water to reach temperature.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas