- Off road parking
- Ground floor bedroom
- Garden / Patio
- Pub/shop < 1 mile
- Washing machine
- Broadband / WiFi
Reviews & Ratings
33 Customer Reviews
"Lovely place to stay."
Owner very helpful when we had a few issues with the oven and was sorted quickly. Nice area to explore.
"Comfortable property, kitchen well equipped."
Next door to churchyard, which made a nice short walk.
"Arrived to find parking extremely tight , we have a mondeo and it was extremely challenging to park each day."
The photo of the property on the Sykes site shows the gate of the mill house next door and therefore is not accurate. We did not find the property clean and all air fresheners & plug ins were empty. The damp smell in the lower basement area was very strong and the owner was contacted on the 3rd day of our stay to inform them of this . The dehumidifier had not been emptied prior to the start date of our stay and was very stale water left there . The owners responded by providing common sense suggestions including open windows, I did not find this helpful and they did not recheck to see if our stay had improved. The shower head leaked and permanently dripped. The bedding was of a cheap quality and pillows were flat , this was a previous complaint by another family . There were no headboards on any bed. The toilet seat became loose during our stay . There were no seat pads for garden chairs. There was a previous guest’s underwear item left in the bottom of the main bedroom wardrobe which I informed the owner of, no response to this . The washing machine had black deposits , with 2 coins & a pen top in the door seal area which my husband had to clean before it was used and placed 2 dishwasher tablets in it on a cycle to clean it. The DVD remote did not work. I do not consider this property to a 4 star property and would strongly suggest you revisit this to reassess. Our previous Sykes properties have been superb, and therefore feel your reputation is at risk .
"Quirky little cottage in a quiet residential area, great for dog walking."
Parking for one car okay, after a chat with the neighbours, however marking the space would be helpful as the parking area is for three cars. Sitting room bright and airy, kitchen a bit tight but okay for just two people. We only used the double downstairs bedroom, the bed was comfortable but the pillows and duvet need replacing as the duvet is too small for the bed and the pillows flat, new bed linen would also be ideal.
"Great location, small patio needed hedge cutting back, was 20mins drive to most of the beaches which was excellent, less than 5mins walk pubs and supermarkets, great curry house ‘NAZ’ in Newton Abbot."
"I think the photo is most misleading."
The poor lady whose gateway is in the picture .. . . Also in a strong wind the rubbish bin lid blows open and stuff blows about. Also it would have been wonderful, after a long journey, to arrive at a warm house. Would it be impossible to put the heating on at 3 p.m.? It is on a thermostat so would not cost a fortune. Apart from that very happy!
"A light at the bottom of the stairs would be useful as I missed the bottom step."
Snd hit my head on the radiator.
Thank you for feedback. Although there is a spotlight on the staircase and a wall light on the lower corridor, I have now added a automatic lower-level night light. Property Owner
"The smell of damp downstairs dominated everything We could not wait to leave"
I’m sorry you had problems with a damp smell. This was only noticeable in the bathroom, not in all the downstairs rooms. The problem was a small amount of water from the shower escaping from the side of the shower screen and collecting under the bath. My daughter found the problem immediately and the seal has been fixed. I did want to send my handyman round to investigate during your holiday, but unfortunately you did not respond to arrange a convenient time. Property Owner
"Our stay / four adults and 1 dog Firstly inadequate parking unless you have a small car, drive way provided in such an angle unable to manoeuvre car due to low walls and neighbours parking there van."
On going out for the morning we returned to find the neighbour had moved his vehicle which consequently resulted in us parking five minutes walk away. As the cottage states it’s dog friendly there is no garden and the patio showing on the photograph must of been taken with a wide angled lens as it is TINY. The lower ground floor was damp and this has resulted in 3 out of 4 adults waking up with sore throats and having returned back home with a cold. Clothing was damp each morning, bathroom toilet flush issues due to 4 adults using it. Very difficult to dry 8 towels and a bath everyday . Dehumidifier in twin room made no difference to the damp problem. Also inadequate space for dinning for 4 adults which why we assumed lap trays were left in the kitchen.
I am sorry you had problems staying at my cottage. Fortunately I stayed myself the week after you, so was able to investigate your issues. I experienced no damp problem at all, unfortunately you had the dehumidifier on the fan only setting, not water extraction, so as you were likely leaving damp towels in the room it would have grade the problem. The instruction booklet is left in the bedroom and you could have asked my cleaner / handyman for help if necessary. We always dry towels on the clothes airier or clothes line outside when the heating isn’t on. The kitchen table has 4 stools that fit round it and there is a table 2 chairs and a bench on the patio, plus lap trays provided, so there are options for dining. The cottage is advertised as dog friendly as the patio is safe and secure and there are lovely walks only 5 minutes away at the Hackney marshes nature reserve, with paths along the river estuary, and beside the Newton Abbot racecourse. The parking can be difficult for some holidaymakers, but I do suggest an easier road space, 2 minutes walk away visible from the cottage kitchen window. Property Owner
"A lovely quirky cottage with the sound of running water from the mill and church bells."
Beds were wonderfully comfortable (so much so that I took a picture of the mattress label in the hopes of sourcing one for ourselves). There was a washer, dishwasher, several tv's, comfy sofas, ironing board and iron, hairdryer etc asking with useful bits like dishwasher tablets, toilet roll, washing up liquid and the like. The strawberries and cream and fresh milk were a lovely touch. Other reviews have mentioned that the garden isn't huge which is true but it is very pretty and has lovely views across the local church and table and chairs to enjoy them. The parking is tight but perfectly doable and there is an information sheet inside the cottage explaining where else you could park if you wanted to or needed space for a second vehicle. Very clean and tidy with plenty of storage space. As other reviews have mentioned it is not suitable for people with mobility issues due to it's quirky layout but that is mentioned in the description so shouldn't be a problem. Good communication with owner who was lovely - would definitely recommend.
"The place was lovely, really clean one of the best holiday home I have stayed in I would 100 percent recommend."
"Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Fairwater Mill Cottage."
Great base for visiting Dawlish, Torquay, Paignton, Brixham and surrounding coastal resorts. Facilities excellent, beds comfortable, no complaints at all.
"A well situated property and easy access to local amenities and easy access to Brixham ,Torquay, etc."
The down side the property is in need of a deep clean and paint work updating , a bit scruffy. The one kitchen cupboard was full of paint,not what you expect to find and I thought should be locked away . The boiler was in need of a service as the pressure gauge was showing in the red not the green area plus two of the radiators didn’t work ..One of the single beds was near to collapsing and needs replacing. We had to wash all of the cutlery as there was bits of food stuck to some of the items plus the lap trays were covered in food obviously the previous occupants didn’t clean them. Black mould around the bath edges which is not appealing to look at when you’re having a soak . I think COVID is just an excuse to say the cleaner needs extra time to sanitise I mean this should have been happening anyway plus it’s giving us the customers less time at our stay . As others have mentioned parking is a bit on the tight side plus where do you put the black wheely bin for Collection as your car is blocking it and you can’t put it in the road . All in all the property wants a good going over .I hope that the things I have mentioned will be rectified.
Thank you for your feedback.It was disappointing to read these comment on the website, if you had contacted myself or Sykes we would have done our best to get the issues rectified for you. I always try to provide a good standard of accommodation and hope guests will enjoy it. after this guest I have been able to address the problems quickly.Both bed bases have been replaced so that they match, I can only think someone abused it as it was not rickety. I presume this was just an observation by the guest as he was only a booking for two and there are five beds in the property.There are memory foam/ pocket sprung mattresses on the beds all. new this season! There were marks/ chips to the paintwork, particularly on the stairs. It has been a very busy season with no opportunity to do decorating between lets. I have had all of the stairs/ kitchen wall and bottom corridor repainted this week.Boiler was working normally though the pressure was low, a qualified gas engineer has fully checked the system. can only apologise for the cleaning issues and I have flagged them with my cleaner and he has gone through everything thoroughly this week. He is always anxious to do a good job, and the property scored 100% only three weeks before, and there were friends staying the previous fortnight who stay regularly who had no problem.It is a quiet cul de sac and bins can be left in the road by the kerb or on the corner of the street. Guests usually follow the neighbours lead. Property Owner
"Stairs inside can be a pain but manageable."
Parking not easy especially as the neighbour decided to use his space for his very large works van. SUV drivers need to use alternative parking
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, Fairwater Mill Cottage does have stairs, perhaps you were not aware of this, although this is mentioned in the description of the property, this is a normal staircase, neither steep or narrow. Property Owner
"Lovely cosy cottage in a quiet narrow lane."
Central for travelling around Devon. We really enjoyed our stay & would consider going again. The strawberries and clotted cream were a nice surprise. Very well equipped & most importantly a very comfortable bed!
"A lovely quaint cottage."
Ideally situated to all attractions. Even if the weather is not suitable enjoyable cottage to relax in. Second time we have stayed and will certainly book again.
"Positive: - Beds and sofas are very comfortable - Plenty of space for storage in the kitchen and bedrooms - Nicely decorated throughout and very clean - Strawberries and cream provided in the fridge were a very nice surprise!"
Negative: - Quite a lot of spiders in the property. Possibly due to not having been rented out for a while, but for an arachnophobe (like me) was a significant source of stress - The ceiling in the bathroom is quite low - I am about 5' and there were only 4-5 inches above my head in the shower. A taller person would have to stoop - The outdoor patio is very small and not really pet-suitable
Thank you for your feedback. I have added to the website information about the headroom in the shower for future guests. The patio is fully secure for pets to use and is more than sufficient for them to roam around. In addition there is a nature sanctuary 5 minutes walk where dogs are permitted. Many thanks. Property Owner
"A beautiful character cottage in a great location for exploring the highlights of the area - we loved the walks through the nearby nature reserve ."
A great place to stay for the perfect “staycation “
"Absolutely gorgeous cottage, very clean and very modern."
Loved the quirkiness of the layout. Very close to so many places of interest and close to a nature reserve which is great for a local walk with the dog.
"Lovely cottage, terrible location, very hard to drive to and from if you drive any bigger then a medium sized car."
It is like Parking wars you are allocated one space, but when there are 4 adults 2 children and 2 dogs you need 2 cars ,nightmare be warned! Came back one evening to find neighbour reversed large commercial vehicle up to bedroom window which meant we couldn’t open window or God forbid if there was a fire we could not escape! On appearance looked clean. granddaughter lost a toy under sofa went searching for it as they are open and cut her foot on broken glass and loads of dust debris and cobwebs under and behind furniture.Fridge and freezer dirty also. On a positive note good equipment everywhere. Loads of junk drawers so useful there. Unfortunately will not be booking this cottage again. On a po
"This was a nice clean cottage, it is a little quirky, the immediate environment is a very old village with a spring water canal running through it, although as you approach you can’t tell due to the growth of the modern village round it."
There are food shops, local pub and Fish & Chip shop within walking distance. Also dog walks. However parking is quite tricky a small constrained space.
"Cottage was really nice and well positioned for our needs, very well equipped with most things to make stay pleasant."
Unfortunately let down by the beds that were very uncomfortable - not a decent nights sleep in 2 week stay. Also shower was only fit for a midget and me being 6’1” didn’t help. Very sad as rest of facilities were good.
I'm sorry you had a problem with the beds, you are the only person to mention this but as comfortable beds are very important, I'm pleased to say that the double and single beds have now been replaced with good quality mattresses. Property Owner
"This is our second visit to Fairwater mill cottage again it was clean and very well equipped."
My sister and her husband came this time so we had two cars so we hired the neighbours space at a reasonable price but parking is very tricky as there is a van at the end. I also think that Fairwater cottage is unsuitable for disabled people as the steps going into the building are steep and the quirky layout would be a problem. That being said it is so close to shops and other areas in Devon it’s perfectly situated. We had a lovely comfortable stay and hopefully will return again in the New Year.
"Fairwater mill has a very different layout which adds to its charm."
It’s ideally situated to visit many of Devons beautiful places. The shops to top up your food are within easy walking distance. The cottage was warm, comfortable, beautifully decorated and extremely well equipped. It was fantastic to hear the church bells ringing again it added to the peaceful atmosphere We had a wonderful time staying there. We are going back in December and I’m sure we will have a good time again.
"A warm and cosy Cottage set in an Idyllic area."
Very easy to reach all the main sites in South Devon and a local Pub, Shops, Restaurants etc a few minutes walk away. Everything you would expect and more from a lovely Cottage, My Daughter and partner stayed for the weekend with us Owner arranged an extra parking for us. Everyone was so helpful. I was going to try and diet this week but to open the Fridge to Clotted Cream and Strawberries I will start next week. If I give this Cottage too many praises I guess I wont be able to book it again. Fabulous Time Thankyou all involved. Phil Bond
"The cottage was exactly as the pictures were when I booked it on line."
It was clean very well equipped providing all essentials. The location was great, so quite and peaceful. I would recommend it. The bus service into Newton Abbott is every 10 minutes.
"Very clean, well equipped cottage in a quiet location of a village."
"We had a wonderful stay at fairwater cottage, with the quirky layout to what ..."
We had a wonderful stay at fairwater cottage, with the quirky layout to what we're used too caused no problems, and with all amenitys within walking distance this made it a ideal base, the Graveyard next door might worry a few people, but at least it's nice and quiet, it's a bit tight to get there with a medium size car, and the parking bays could do with proper paint markings, as I parked across not realising it was for 3 cars, until the neighbour reminded me
"The location of the property was ideal for visiting both the seaside and Dartmoor, and also the convenience stores nearby."
The property was also the best equipped Sykes cottage that we have visited.
"Cottage great location very comfortable and so good we have extended booking for a second week."
"There are a few issues with this cottage."
The main bedroom had a damp, musty feel to it. The cottage is advertised as 6 berth, and whilst there are 6 beds, there is only one bathroom, which could cause issues, especially in the morning. The lounge only seats 5 and the dining table only seats four, at a squeeze. Entrance to the bedrooms is down stairs, and while there is a gate at the top of the stairs, it is very close to the front door. This may cause problems if there are toddlers, and the gate has not been closed.
"Cottage was brilliant - very well equipped."
Great location for walking the south west coastal path from Colton Fishacre to Starcross. Very comfortable, pretty cottage and homely. Quiet location with bell ringing on Sundays and swifts overhead.
"Fairwater mill cottage was a brilliant base for our holiday, close to local beauty spots all within a short drive."
The property was well equipped especially the kitchen with all the essentials and the little extras to make our stay comfortable. On arrival we found the property to be absolutely spotless and can not fault the presentation at all. We would definetly return to fairwater mill in the future!
- Over ground and lower ground floors
- Three bedrooms: 1 x lower ground floor double with tv, 1 x lower ground floor twin, 1 x ground floor single with 2'6" pull-out stacker bed
- Lower ground floor bathroom with bath, shower over ( limited headroom if over 6ft tall ), basin and WC
- Kitchen with dining area (seats 4 on stools)
- Sitting room.
- Gas central heating
- Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, 40" smart TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
- Fuel and power inc. in rent
- Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- Designated roadside parking for 1 car, additional parking available outside of the cul de sac on the surrounding streets
- Enclosed patio garden
- One well-behaved pet welcome
- Sorry, no smoking
- Shop and pub 5 mins walk
- Beach 5 miles
- Note: Ground floor single bedroom accessed via five steps down and five steps up
- Note: There are several internal steps on the lower ground floor, therefore property not suitable for those with limited mobility.
Newton Abbot 1.8 miles.
This lovely detached barn conversion is set next to a converted mill in the town of Kingsteignton, which is just two miles from Newton Abbot.
Set over the ground and lower ground floors with an upside down layout, the cottage offers comfortable accommodation for a family or friends.
The ground floor houses the compact kitchen which has a dining area to seat four on stools and the cosy sitting room with a decorative stove and leather sofas.
From here, steps lead down and then back up to the single bedroom which has a pull-out stacker bed.
Down the remaining steps you will find yourself on the lower ground floor which has the master double bedroom, a twin room and the family bathroom.
Outside is a small enclosed patio garden where you can enjoy your morning cup of coffee.
Kingsteignton has a choice of shops and pubs and the nearby towns and villages offer a variety of attractions to keep the whole group entertained.
Nearby Newton Abbott can be reached from the doorstep along the walking and cycling path which takes you through the Hackney Marshes, a pleasant nature reserve.
There are a number of beaches within easy driving distance including those at Teignmouth, Torquay and Paignton which also has a popular zoo.
The Dartmoor National Park is nearby where you can enjoy walking, cycling, horse riding, climbing, canoeing and letterboxing which is sure to provide an exciting day out.
Fairwater Mill Cottage is a charming cottage in a lovely location for exploring the surrounding attractions.
About the location
Teignmouth 5 miles; Shaldon 5 miles; Torquay 10 miles; Exeter 18 miles; Plymouth 31 miles
Newton Abbot is situated in the heart of The English Riviera, with its mild climate and thriving palm trees. The ancient market town now offers plenty of modern shops, both local and well-known high street chains and six leading brand supermarkets. There's also a racecourse where National Hunt racing takes place from spring until autumn, with craft fayres during the winter. Newton Abbot has a unique pub, the tap house and bottle shop, located in the building of what was a traditional working malthouse offering arguably the finest bottled beers in Devon. The seaside towns of Teignmouth, Shaldon and Dawlish are nearby and are fantastic destinations for families. Spend a day on the beach building sand castles and walk the impressive Victorian Pier at Teignmouth. The National Trust houses of Bradley Manor, Coleton Fishacre and Compton Castle and many others are well worth a visit, whilst the highlight of your stay will undoubtedly be the stunning beaches around Torquay and the many hidden coves such as Meadfoot, Oddicombe and further afield the pretty Ness Cove. And of course, the South West Coast Path provides stunning seascapes across the bay, with a popular stretch from Torquay Harbour to Daddyhole Plain, passing through Beacon Cove where Agatha Christie used to swim as a girl. Newton Abbot provides a fabulous base for an English seaside holiday all year round.
This property offers the following short breaks: