Don’t miss our Summer Sale

Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 4 minutes ago

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 14 View Larger Image
  • Baywatch (St. David's View) - Devon - 1007959 - photo 1
close

Baywatch (St. David's View)

Lynton, Devon (Ref. 1007959)

4.5

Very good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 2

  • Bedrooms 1

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

24 Customer Reviews

  • "We spent 2 weeks in this fabulous apartment last year so couldn't wait to return."

    As usual it was beautifully presented with everything we could need for a wonderful stay. I noticed they'd improved the quality of the bed linen - crisp white cotton sheets and pillow cases. Otherwise it was just the same, and just as delightful as last year. We sat, the first evening, on the balcony with a glass of wine and watched the housemartins' aerial display against the backdrop of that stunning view and every worry floated away. Are we returning next year? Silly question, of course we are!

    Reviewed by ValerieJul 2022

  • "I feel strongly that reviews are important and should be completed unemotionally and without bias."

    I read previous reviews about Baywatch after booking and spent several months worrying about issues that were brought up. Upon arrival I found no problems with keysafe-it was clearly named. The damp issue is confined to one cupboard in the kitchen-dont open it. The dehumidifier does get full-it takes five seconds to empty it. There are several stairs, but, make no mistake this is a quality apartment in an extremely interesting two hundred year old building. The views alone are to die for, it has car parking outside the front door and the cleanliness is to a high standard.

    Reviewed by RuthJun 2022

  • "This is a difficult property to review and I can only repeat much of what I have read in previous reviews."

    On the positive side, the apartment is very well furnished, comfortable and quiet. The location is great with an ocean view, ideal for starting coastal path walks and just 2-3 minutes walk to good restaurants. On the negative side, the kitchen is in the basement which has a damp/fusty odour and a dehumidifier that requires emptying twice daily. Although it is well equipped as a kitchen diner, it was not a space we wanted to spend time or have meals. We took meals upstairs. To summarise, we had a great holiday. Would we stay there again? Probably not as the kitchen space is important to us.

    Reviewed by NoelJun 2022

  • "The property has a damp issue in the kitchen."

    The dehumidifier needed emptying twice a day. On arrival this was not working as it was full and had not been emptied. There were large ceiling cobwebs in most rooms. The outside furniture was not suitable to sit on. The bed when stripped needs some new pillows and a new mattress protector as there were stains on both. On the positive, the views were stunning as stated and the area was stunning and very relaxing.

    Hello, I am very sorry you had these issues, I would have hoped you would have reported them while you were at the property as there is really nothing I can do after the event. Could I ask did you take any photos. Regards Neil Property Owner

    Reviewed by MaryMay 2022

  • "My main point of note is that the listing highlights all the positive aspects of the apartment (there are many) whilst not mentioning the significant drawbacks - of note, the kitchen having virtually no natural light and a damp issue hence whilst very well equipped it was not an environment where we wanted to spend any longer than necessary (certainly not enjoy a glass of wine as in the description)."

    The lounge is compact and the table position (unlike in the published picture) is difficult to sit round. We had read that the key safe has been a challenge and this still needs addressing - it is very stiff. We did manage to get the keys eventually, but if I hadn't read the reviews highlighting an issue I wouldn't have persevered so long.

    Reviewed by DebbieMar 2022

  • "The apartment was amazing as were the views form the balcony."

    It was all so much better then the website. We will definitely book again!

    Reviewed by ColetteOct 2021

  • "Lovely apartment , very spacious for 2 people, ideally located."

    Lovely views. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by MichaelOct 2021

  • "The apartment was beautiful, spotlessly clean and the views amazing."

    Reviewed by RuthSep 2021

  • "Fabulous place."

    We’ll definitely be returning.

    Reviewed by DebbieAug 2021

  • "Enjoyed Baywatch -St Davids but there were some problems; Keys boxes named Baywatch are on both sides of entrance door - had to find a cleaner to tell us which one."

    Both key boxes were difficult to open and again a cleaner came to our rescue. Basin in bathroom blocked and we bought a drain clearer to release it. No matter how hard we tried we could not establish a TV program and resorted to Radio 4 instead. Instructions would have helped. Remote was a different make to the TV? We are both 90ish and found the many steps and stairs to the kitchen to be difficult for us. It was a comfortable and well furnished apartment.

    Reviewed by GrahamAug 2021

  • "We had a lovely week staying in Baywatch."

    The apartment is beautifully furnished and bigger than expected. The views from the balcony across the bay are wonderful. We had a problem with getting the keys when we arrived. There were 2 key safes. We used the key safe code we had been given,which only opened one of the key safes, which was empty. My husband, Greg, tried called the Sykes helpline for over 50 minutes, but he could not speak to any one, and there was no reply from the “ housekeeper’s” phone number on the front door. By now it was 7 pm and we thought we would have to sleep in the car. We saw 2 ladies outside a local cafe and my husband asked if he knew anyone who might have keys to the flat. By chance, she knew the cleaner, called him, and he gave me the code to the second key safe, so we were able to get in at last. PLEASE make sure guests have the code to both key safes. Thanks.

    Reviewed by FionaAug 2021

  • "Absolutely loved the apartment - better than the photographs!"

    There are a lot of stairs and negotiating the window to the balcony took me a day or to to do without banging my head. Both balconies are lovely - but the issue of weeds in the pots should be addressed. I pulled up a 4 foot one from a pot in the front - we were there for 2 weeks, I couldn't face looking at it for that time. The superkingsize bed is extremely comfortable - duvet cover and pillowcases are nice quality but the flanelette bottom sheet was rough, I'd bring my own next time!. There is an ongoing issue with damp in the kitchen- the owner provides a dehumidifier which needs regular emptying 3-4 times a day. We brought odour neutralisers with us and they dealt with the damp smell in the room but the cupboards are unusable. Only one key was provided which was a problem for us - we're not joined at the hip! Mobile coverage in the town and the apartment is terrible so trying to organise meeting to get into the apartment when we'd split up for various reasons was a nightmare. There are three access doors to the apartment - with only Yale locks on each - we'd have liked security chains to use at night. Fabulous restaurants around - but you need to book in advance - we'd recommend The Oak Room, The Vanilla Pod and The Old Bank in Lynton and Bonnicot House in Lynmouth where we had our best meal (a taxi back cost less than £5!). I bought fabulous soap in the Soapery in Lynmouth too - some for me, some for the cat-sitter! Such an enjoyable two weeks - we were sorry to leave and will be returning to Baywatch next year.

    Reviewed by ValerieJul 2021

  • "I can only re-iterate what the previous two people have stated."

    This is a stunning, very large, clean, comfortable property. Pics don't really do it justice at all. I think the owners have done a very good job of converting what is a very old, quirky property. Lots of steps and sloping floors. The kitchen is so well equipped and spacious but you can see why there would be damp problems when you look out the windows straight onto the cliff face. There were no unpleasant smells because of the use of oil and reed diffusers. We did use the dehumidifier every day. Fabulous views from the balcony across the bay and location is so convenient for Lynton and Lynmouth. Spoilt for choice with regards to cafe's, restaurants and pubs. Especially enjoyed the walks, Valley of the Rocks is not to be missed and thereafter a stroll around shops and galleries is a must. We would definitely book this one again when we return to the area.

    Reviewed by KathleenJul 2021

  • "Baywatch is a clean, large, comfortable apartment with the most stunning views across the bay."

    It is situated on the first floor of this ex hotel, and then covers 2 floors. On the “ground floor” of the apartment there is a massive kitchen, which is very well equipped. There is also a shower and toilet. On the first floor, there’s the lounge/dining room, with the views, a snug and then a large bedroom (6 foot bed) and ensuite. The apartment is a couple of minutes uphill walk to the local shops and ideally situated to walk along the cliff path to the Valley of Rocks or down the very steep footpath to Lymouth. If you struggle with mobility, then this isn’t the place for you, but then everywhere in Lynton and Lynmouth involves a hill. Once we had the correct code, the wifi was good. It was an extremely quiet place to stay, no noise from any of the other apartments and because it set well off the road, there is no traffic noise and private parking is easy and right in front of the building. There are two balconies with seating areas and pots with plants and flowers, but they didn’t look like they were part of the cleaning regime and these area needed some attention. Sadly the downside to the otherwise perfect apartment is the mouldy smell, although there is no physical feeling of dampness. We were there in the middle of June, when the majority of the weather was dry and warm, so I can’t imagine what it would be like in other seasons. It is strong in the kitchen and downstairs bathroom, and hits you when you open the main cupboards. Unfortunately the smell does carry up the stairs. We used the dehumidifier constantly and found two oil and reed diffusers, which helped significantly to mask the smell. When I originally booked, pre 2020, there were no reviews. Having read the reviews just before our holiday, I rang Sykes and they said, that as far as they were aware there was no longer any issues! Having spoken to the owner, who is aware of the problem, one has to hope that somehow it can be sorted.

    Reviewed by JaneJun 2021

  • "Photos did not do the size of the property justice - so pleasantly surprised and that view is spectacular."

    Very big, very comfy bed and sun trap in 'balcony' from the bedroom. Clearly renovated to a high standard and a well stocked kitchen. Fabulously well located Three things for me that were disappointing (although it did not affect us personally). 1. A number of the kitchen cupboards smell of damp - and there was clearly damp on the inside of one of the walls. This had been mentioned on feedback and in speaking to yourselves you confirmed it had been sorted. Clearly it hasnt. We washed crockery on arrival and kept it out of the cupboards. Appreciate difficult to fix, given listed status and complexity of property but it is a problem. 2. Damp aside, cleanliness inside was good (aside from a dead plant in the kitchen and few cobwebs at head height/above!) however more should be done outside. When I arrived I watered and dead headed the plants and swept the outside areas. It also didnt look like the outside furniture had been cleaned this season. Some of the pots are lovely but many have weeds and look unloved and uncared for. I'd suggest a bit more TLC outside - maybe fewer pots, so easier to maintain and a request then for guests to keep them watered. 3. The property has extensive gardens running down the cliff face that you can access. However a bit of a wilderness and very overgrown - could be a real selling point with some extra TLC I'd defo give the property 4* and it could be a 5* property if the above was addressed and should we ever go back that way then I'd certainly rebook.

    Reviewed by MelanieJun 2021

  • "A super apartment with a fabulous view, lots of new furnishings, modern and spacious."

    There was a slight damp smell in the kitchen but I just took a plug in air freshener , then we hardly noticed it. If I had any criticism it would be more comfortable furniture on the balcony and tv in the bedroom. Apart from that I would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by MelodyMay 2021

  • "The number of stairs to reach the flat was a serious drawback for me, as I am partially disabled."

    It really spoilt the holiday for us as I didn’t feel it was sufficiently emphasised in the description. I only went out of the flat once during the whole week. The kitchen is also down two flights of stairs so my husband spent the whole holiday going up and down to bring food and drinks to the dining area. Totally impractical even for the able bodied!

    Reviewed by AngelaMay 2021

  • "Excellent location with beautiful views."

    The apartment was spacious plenty of room. The only negative thing was the fusty smell in the kitchen cupboards. The area is stunning and a short walk away from the Valley of the Rocks. Having the cliff railway is very welcome as the walk back up can be hard for some. Good base for exploring the area. Lovely walk to watersmeet . We will definitely be returning to Baywatch next year.

    Reviewed by JacquelineOct 2020

  • "The only gripe we had was the WiFi, it was almost non existant most days."

    Something the owner might want to look into, but other than that, a beautiful place, area, and the view, WOW.

    Reviewed by ScottSep 2020

  • "The only thing was the horrible damp smell when you opened any of the kitchen cupboards."

    We washed all crockery and cutlery and left it out on work surfaces all week we were there . No other complaints it was fabulous the view the size wonderful .

    Reviewed by DianeSep 2020

  • "I have completed this response already and have been provided with a case number COR-184450-CF and a member of your complaints team."

    I repeat that this property is inadequate for occupation because of extreme damp in the kitchen. I await a response from Sykes Cottages. I notice that my first report submitted immediately after our return has not been published on your website. I will not be holding my breath while waiting for it to be published!

    Reviewed by AnthonySep 2020

  • "We had a lovely stay and the apartment is well furnished and has everything you need to have a great stay."

    The superking bed was good quality and very comfortable. The best thing was the showers as there are 2 shower rooms both of which work very well and the water is so soft. The kitchen is very well appointed but the only thing we should point out to Sykes and the owners is it is very damp in the kitchen cupboards and therefore all crockery smells of damp. This cannot be good for your health so we were unable to store food or crockery in the cupboards. There is a dehumidifier in the kitchen which we used all the time and had to empty it twice a day. The walls show signs of rising damp too so this really needs to be addressed. We had a couple of cool days so put some of the radiatirs on which worked well except the towel rail in the ensuite as kept going off. This needs to be looked at. All in all it is a lovely spacious apartment in a listed building with the best views. Some of the floors slope a bit which took a few days to get used to. A quirky and delightful apartment. It is very hilly in and around the area and quite a few steps so beware if you have any mobility issues. Great if you love walking!!

    Reviewed by JacquelineAug 2020

  • "Beautiful amazing scenery and if you like walking, as we do, you will be in your element."

    Do not miss The Valley of the Rocks. Lovely, well equipped accommodation. Very peaceful experience. Would go again without any hesitation.

    Reviewed by RobinAug 2020

  • "The accomodation was beautiful."

    The apartment was easy to locate and on arrival we found it had good ample free parking. The entrance hall was very clean and welcoming. There were hand sanitizers both outside and inside the entrance hall. It is located very near, easily walkable, to the shops and facilities within Lynton, including restaurants and pubs. The Clifftop Funicular railway is also within easy walking distance and this will take you down to Lynmouth and bring you back. The Coast Path is also easy to reach from the property and the views from this walk are spectacular. The apartment itself we could not fault, spotlessly clean. On the upper floor a beautiful large bedroom with extra large bed, quality clean bed linen and ensuite bathroom with great shower with good pressure and double ended bath, perfect for a long soak after a days walking. There was also a patio off the bedroom. Next to this was a "snug" with day bed and living room with sofa and dining area and access to a balcony. What a view from the windows and balcony, can only be described as WOW and WOW again!!!! Breathtakingly beautiful. Lovely well equipped kitchen on lower level with additional bathroom adjacent. The path down to Lynmouth is just along from the apartment and this will take you down to the beach area and harbour. The walk back up is a challenge and one that we did every day, but for those who dont want to walk back the clifftop railway can bring you up, although this shut at 4 during our stay. There were taxis available should you not wish to walk back after this time. We loved our stay in this property, never tired of the views and enjoyed strolling round the towns of Lyntonand Lynmouth as well as the many walks that are on the doorstep. The Exmoor National Park and North Devon Coastline are all easily accessible by car. Great stay, great apartment, amazing views.

    Reviewed by KarenJul 2020

Show more

Summary

  • First-floor apartment, over two floors
  • 1 x king-size bedroom with en-suite bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Second-floor sitting room
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Second-floor snug
  • Electric Eco heating
  • Fridge/freezer, microwave, washing machine, dishwasher, electric oven and hob, TV and WiFi
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Allocated parking for one car
  • Balcony area
  • Sorry, no smoking allowed
  • Pub and shop within 0.2 miles

The property

A wonderfully-presented property situated within the bustling town of Lynton, offering a wonderful base to explore the Exmoor National Park and the glorious Devonshire coastline.

This romantic retreat comes within striking distance of the beach and all the delights that this town has to offer, ensuring a perfect base for a couple seeking a relaxing getaway to this part of Devon.

After soaking up the picturesque surroundings, look forward to relaxing within the refreshing interior, housing all the essentials you could possibly need during a week-long break.

You will be greeted by the contemporary kitchen, where the central island unit takes centre stage and offers a space to prepare your home-cooked meals or to plan the days ahead over a glass of wine.

The kitchen is well-equipped and boasts an electric oven and hob, a fridge/freezer, washing machine and dishwasher.

After dinner, climb the staircase to find a small snug, complete with a quaint day bed, where you can curl up with a good book before venturing into the sitting room to tune into the TV or admire the breath-taking sea views from the comfort of your own sofa.

As the evening draws to a close, retire to the well-presented bedroom, which houses a king-size bed, ample storage, an en-suite and French doors that open up to a roof terrace and filter in natural light, while the charming soundtrack of the coast creates a tranquil ambiance to relax in.

To the outside of the property you will find one allocated parking space, as well as opportunities for alfresco dining upon the decked terrace to soak up the sun during a summer’s afternoon.

Lynton comes with a selection of pubs and eateries to choose from, as well as a number of shops for picking up the essentials.

Attractions includes a quaint cinema, the Lyn and Exmoor Museum and the Lynton and Lynmouth Cliff Railway, which will bring you to some spectacular views.

For those feeling adventurous, look forward to walking along the South West Coastal Path, or if you are visiting with younger guests they will be delighted by Exmouth Zoo, Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park, as well as the glorious beaches along the coast.

St. David's View is a refreshing retreat to come back to each evening.

View on map

About the location

LYNTON

Ilfracombe 18 miles; Minehead 18 miles.

Lynton and its twin Lynmouth are nestled within Exmoor National Park on the North Devon coast. Lynton and Lynmouth enjoy one of the prettiest and most unspoilt coastal locations in England, offering breathtaking scenery and some of the best opportunities to admire the sheer rugged beauty of Exmoor’s coast and countryside. Great heritage, cosy fireside pubs, tasty local food and 'green’ credentials make North Devon an inspiring place to stay. There is a wealth of wildlife including magnificent red deer, the rare Exmoor pony, wild birds and rare butterflies. There are plenty of outdoor pursuits including horse riding, golf, walking, surfing and fly fishing on the beautiful Lyn river. Exmoor National Park is home to some of the darkest skies in the country so it's a great place to gaze at the stars. Lynton has a fabulous range of shops, pubs and cafes where you can wander between the picturesque cottages and meet the friendly locals. There are a number of attractions for the family including Exmoor Zoo, Lynmouth’s water-powered cliff railway, and the Owl and Hawk Centre. Experience one of England’s last remaining tranquil areas - there is something for everyone during a stay at Lynton and Lynmouth.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season