In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 23 View Image Gallery
  • Partridge Cottage - Devon - 971307 - photo 1
close

Partridge Cottage

(Ref. 971307)

Ilfracombe, Devon Show on map

4.3

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (19)
  • lovely (13)
  • beautiful (13)
  • location (13)
  • beach (10)
  • private (10)

28 Customer Reviews

  • "Over the last 30 years 4 generations of my family have stayed at Widmouth Farm, and the holidays lets and surroundings have continued to improve with the ever changing modern demands without loosing their rustic charms."

    We travelled in an electric car, which we were able to charge in Coombe Martin’s public car park using the fast chargers. The nature of the private beach means it is teeming with wildlife - we saw jellyfish, sea anemones, crabs and small fish. A beach to be respected and safely explored - beach shoes a must (which can be purchased in Coombe Martin). There are plenty of attractions for all ages, and sandy beaches within an hour of widmouth farm, but the children’s play area with picnic benches (next to pheasant cottage) and animal feeding at the farm make chilled days at the cottage, with small children both fun and relaxed - these days are also a good opportunity to make use of the utility room without leaving the washing machines / tumble dryers occupied for longer than needed if out and about. We stayed in partridge this time, and my parents pheasant. Next time we’ll book pheasant as it was a tad bigger. The bed provided a week of the best nights sleep I have had for some time! The mattress was made using the farm’s alpaca’s wool, due to the natural material it helps to regulate temperatures all year round. The views during the day are stunning and the quiet dark nights were very peaceful. On a clear night you could see the twinkling lights of south Wales. The cottage itself is very cool - perfect for a hot summers day, but the log fire provided the cosy you needed for the wet, gloomy days.

    Reviewed by Alicia4.4Jun 2024

  • "The cottage was beautiful."

    Lovely decor and a cosy place to stay. The sea views were particularly stunning. I personally loved the fact that the owners were not ‘hovering’ around. Just left you perfectly detailed instructions and let you be a grown up about arriving and leaving. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting. Thank you very much for a perfect place to stay and enjoy your piece of the beautiful coastline of Cornwall.

    Reviewed by Kerry5.0Mar 2024

  • "A cosy and comfortable cottage in a quiet beautiful setting."

    Coast path walks on the doorstep, lovely views from the upstairs rooms. We loved meeting the alpacas in the field and feeding them the treats available on the farm! Even better if: Some board and card games to be provided. A cutlery rack on the draining board. Bathroom needs an extractor fan and a proper lock on the door. WiFi speeds were fine (>50 Mbps) but the actual internet speed was nearer 1 Mbps - tested standing right next to the router. Could this not be improved?

    Reviewed by James4.4Oct 2023

  • "Only two issues."

    The House had a very strong smell in the kitchen of dogs. We had to avoid using the kitchen and could only use it with the window wide open. One bedroom is down stairs.

    Reviewed by Jacob3.1Oct 2023

  • "Lovely cottage, tastefully decorated and clean and comfortable."

    There are a few signs that recent work has been carried out and obviously not quite completed e.g pipework in kitchen and cupboard under the stairs need boxing in. Lovely location, beautiful walk down to private beach. Loved the peace and quiet and dark skies at night. Well situated for discovering the North Devon coastline and Exmoor.

    Reviewed by Deborah4.4Oct 2023

  • "Very disappointed, the cottage should cater for 6, however the bathroom was not good enough for 2 persons, I roll of toilet paper!"

    1 poor quality soap, had to step over the WC to get to the shower, the bath was fit for a child only, no extract fan, open the window and all the spider come charging in. Kitchen had no dishwasher, I tea towel, no kitchen roll, dirty oven, 1 bins impossible to recycle waste, but was requested by landlord, love to know how to achieve this. Cottage was generally cold, wifi was non existent unless you stood in the corner of the lounge, TV only worked if you downloaded content, there was no live TV as wifi non existent and constantly buffered. The listing information is not correct, the price of £350 a night was a rip off, suggest you avoid..we will....

    Reviewed by Malcolm1.9Sep 2023

  • "We had to check out early because the cottage was not big enough nor well equipped enough for 4 adults and 2 children."

    I emailed the farm cottage email address directly about this and never heard anything back. Really disappointed, especially given the cost of the holiday. My family have used Sykes many times before but after this experience, I don't think we will be in the future.

    Reviewed by Ali2.5Jul 2023

  • "These cottages are all about location."

    It’s absolutely stunning with a very pretty private beach. Beautiful walks to the nearby harbour and along the coastal paths with breathtaking views and sunset. I would definitely recommend if you like Views and tranquility as part of Your holidays.

    Reviewed by Helen4.4Jun 2023

  • "Just back from a lovely stay at Partridge Cottage."

    Lovely location, great base for exploring the north Devon coast. The cottage was clean, well equipped and tastefully decorated. Bed was comfy and a nice living area for chilling out in. Not really visible in the pictures but the doorways are low, at 6ft5 and 6ft2 this meant a lot of ducking and a few bumps on the head. Not an issue that can be resolved but one to be aware of

    Reviewed by Cheryl4.7Jun 2023

  • "What a gem, excellent location for these stunning cottages."

    The owners and family are really helpful. Views outstanding! Will be returning!

    Reviewed by Candice5.0Apr 2023

  • "It was a very pleasant stay and the cottage was very comfortable."

    Be a little wary though if booking re: customer service at Widmouth Farm. I had to chase them pretty hard to have the £100 Good Housekeeping Bond returned. They didn't respond to initial emails/phone calls for several days. I left it 8 days before I began to try and have it returned. At the cottage the welcome letter said there were people present at the main house but they would not be able to assist if needed with any issues. That you should contact Sykes. Not much use over a December weekend in rural North Devon contacting a Sykes office in a city far away. The impression created is they want your money but are not interested beyond that. The cottage had one toilet roll for a booking of 6 people and a meagre initial basket of wood (in December). We did bring extra of each incase but again showed cost was prioritised over the customer. The TV needs upgrading for the premium price of the cottage, and the kitchen is a bit tardy really for the price you see they charge for summer bookings. I've never left a poor review for a holiday stay before, and the location is lovely. I feel it needs highlighting though for transparency.

    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you had a few issues with your stay. We are normally always here for every booking and make an effort to get to know each guest should they wish to interact with us during their stay, however the dates you were here we were in Scotland for an immediate family wedding and as such the farm was left in the suitable hands of some friends. Sykes are always on the other end of the phone or email and would contact me if necessary. I am sorry if you feel that 1 toilet roll and 1 basket of wood for the log fire was not enough, the cottage is self catering and as such we only provide a few things as a gesture of good will to keep guests going until their shop. We are in the process of upgrading the tv's in each cottage and have already done so in some. We hope your stay wasn't too bad with the issues raised and we apologise for any inconvenience caused by us not being here during your stay. Best wishes Bethany - Manager. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul4.1Dec 2022

  • "Very quiet,beautiful location, perfect cottage,lovely restful holiday"

    Reviewed by Ally5.0Oct 2022

  • "This was our second visit to widmouth farm and it is such a beautiful location."

    The cottages are excellent we will be returning again we had such a wonderful holiday. Highly recommend it’s a real gem just stunning.

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Sep 2022

  • "It was absolutely brilliant x"

    Reviewed by Roger5.0Jul 2022

  • "Beautiful property in an Amazing place, great place to take a dog as the walks are perfect,would definitely stay again"

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jun 2022

  • "The cottage and the estate are immaculate."

    The attention to detail in ensuring a great stay is fabulous. The landscape gardeners were in during our stay and the surrounding plants, trees and flowers are spectacular. The dog walking field is brilliant, the walk to the private beach is five minutes and en route you can feed the alpacas, goats and sheep. We walked the costal route in both directions and the views are stunning. The cottage is lovely, the bathroom is compact but adequate. The heating was good, always had enough hot water for everyone’s showers, beds comfy and nice decor throughout. A couple of things were needed to improve my cooking experience, a serving spoon, a fish slice and recycling box to store recycling would have been helpful.. a peaceful, beautiful and tranquil spot, perfect for families to get together. Would happily return as a base to meet together, as my daughter lives and works locally. Thank you Widmouth Farm Estate, you are awesome.

    Reviewed by Kara4.7Sep 2021

  • "This cottage was advertised as a three double bedroom cottage, which it did indeed have."

    Although there were only two of us I usually book a bigger cottage because I find the facilities better. This cottage is no way suitable for six people as the kitchen and bathroom facilities were woefully inadequate. The bathroom measured 1.5 metres x 1.37 metres the bath was not a full size bath and this was the only toilet in the house. The kitchen was extremely short of cupboards with nowhere to put any occupiers food and provisions. The fridge was tiny and would not have held food sufficient for 6 people. The level of equipment was also poor, no measuring jug, no slotted spoon, no potato peeler, casserole dishes did not have lids and dirty baking trays. The cutlery was a mishmash of styles and qualities as was the glassware. The standard of the decor was poor, paintwork very chipped, carpets fraying, light bulbs not working, grubby dining seat covers and scatter cushions. On the plus side the bed was comfortable. We had to continually clear the kitchen of woodlice and slugs which suggest that the property was extremely damp. A two bedroom cottage on the same site seemed to be cheaper but had a much bigger kitchen and better and bigger bathroom. This was the worst holiday cottage I have rented for a long while.

    Thank you for your review Mrs Ellis and I’m sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Widmouth Farm. I understand you not wanting any ‘bad feeling’ during your stay, however I can not rectify any possible problems if I was not made aware. This could have possibly made your stay more enjoyable. However I hope it wasn’t all bad as you did stay for the whole week and not leave earlier. We have never in 20+ years of owning Partridge Cottage been told the cottage is not suitable for 6 people. The cottage has always done very well with bookings and is a perfectly good size for 6 people. Most guests who do book Partridge Cottage are families with children or group adults. The cottage is always booked week after week. The cottage is not advertised as a 3 double bedroom cottage, it is advertised as a king size, twin bedroom and a bunk bedroom cottage. When booking the cottage you would have seen pictures of the cottage and known what the cottage looks like - size wise for rooms. The cottage description also states that it has one bathroom. Partridge Cottage is an extremely old cottage, dating back to Victorian days. There is no damp in the cottage, however being so old and on a farm, sometimes woodlice can come in from the back door if open. This is the same in any property, whether it be new or old and I don't think it's a valid or fair point to make. Most guests actually repeat book Partridge Cottage for its quirky old windows, beams and character. Partridge Cottage is actually booked in the winter to have a completely new bathroom fitted, along with Pheasant Cottage. I will agree it is a small bathroom. However the bathroom size is completely adequate and not been mentioned before to myself. I am shocked to hear that the correct kitchen utensils were not in the kitchen as this is checked weekly and sorted if something is missing. I agree that the cutlery is a miss match, but only by the odd table knife or spoon. This is something that not many guests seem to mind. As a lot of our guests book multiple cottages, sometimes cutlery can get mixed between the odd cottage if they have been dining in both cottages, but I do endeavour to check this on change over days. The cottage is due a touch up of paint in the winter, this is something that we are aware of. However since re opening we have been booked every single week and we cant redecorate a cottage within a few hours of change over. The cottage was only re-decorated a year and a half ago and no one has mentioned a few chips before. The carpet is also only a year and a half old and has seemed to fray slightly by the entrance to the king size bedroom. This shall be sorted this week! I can not agree about any light bulbs not working as they get checked every Friday morning on change over and again at 5pm before guests arrive at 6pm. If a light bulb did go during your stay, I could have changed it for you if I had known. After looking at the scatter cushions and seat pads by the dining room table, I can agree they need a wash and shall be done this week. They are checked weekly and cleaned with our fogging machine and carpet cleaner regulary. Some the marks are permanent stains and cant be removed sadly. They shall be replaced in the winter when the cottage is re-decorated. Again, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the farm. If you would like to discuss anything further, please email me or contact me via Sykes. Kind regards, Bethany - Manager Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia2.2Sep 2021

  • "Stunning location, beautiful cottage, peaceful and quiet with access to private beach cove - fabulous holiday xx"

    Reviewed by Gail5.0Sep 2021

  • "Fantastic accommodation, clean and decorated to a good standard."

    Very comfortable beds and a powerful shower. Very good for dogs - Partridge Cottage has a stone walled secure garden, and the exercise field is a great facility if you are staying in one of the cottages without a garden or of your dog cannot go off lead. The private beach is also secure and great for dogs. Location is outstanding, particularly if you enjoy the outdoors and wildlife - we saw a stoat, a lizard and porpoises either on or near the property. The route down to the beach and coast path is a little steep, but this is what makes the scenery so beautiful. Lovely views over the bay from the property and the adjacent southwest coast path. Hele Bay is a brisk 45 minute hike along the coast path, and you can walk to a decent pub in the opposite direction, c25 mins walk or the little cafe at Watermouth harbour, c20 mins. Quiet and peaceful during the evening too.

    Reviewed by Emily4.7Jun 2021

  • "The scenery and the location were fantastic."

    The cottage was clean and comfortable and the owners on site were very helpful. We had a fantastic time and would highly recommend it.

    Reviewed by Frank4.1May 2021

  • "The cottage was in a lovely location and we had a great time with lots of coastal walks and trips to the beaches."

    We found the cottage to be comfortable and our only negative points were the very small bathroom and lack of any cleaning utensils (dust pan etc). Whilst I appreciate that Covid has made things more challenging it would probably be good to tell guests that there isn't any cleaning utensils (including basic brush etc). The tiled floors got very dirty and after spilling chocolate powder all over the kitchen floor I had to beg to borrow a dustpan and brush if I had known I would of brought my own.

    Reviewed by Sarah3.8Oct 2020

  • "This is our second visit to these cottages and we have recommended them to others."

    It is a really beautiful setting and there are plenty of places to visit. The staff are lovely too. We loved being surrounded by the animals and encouraged to feed them. The cottages are quite small - obviously there's nothing which can be done to change that as it would spoil their character but it means that there is not room for facilities such as a dishwasher or washing machine. They are lovely though and this time we enjoyed having an enclosed garden space. We may well book again next year as the negatives are minor and the positives far outweigh them. We had lovely and enjoyable holiday.

    Reviewed by Mary4.7Sep 2020

  • "A wonderful place and such kind owners - our only concern was internet connection which was a problem for us."

    Reviewed by Lisa3.4May 2019

  • "It was a delightful location."

    Our grandchildren went every day to feed the animals , an experience they loved. It was well organised and yet relaxed. The cottage was presented well and fully equipped. On arrival there was a tea of scones , jam and cream set on the dining table, a rather lovely welcoming touch. The private beach was accessible just after high tide and , whilst it was not a particularly beautiful, sandy beach , had plenty of interesting things to see and our grandchildren of 7 and 5 years really enjoyed it. We would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0Oct 2018

  • "Good location with access to private beach ."

    ..... nice to have pet animals too . But plenty nearby to see and enjoy . Cottage very clean and comfortable . Only downside ..... bathroom very small .

    Reviewed by Barbara4.7Sep 2018

  • "A truly amazing place to go private beach, farm, beautiful walks and the owners are so accommodating and friendly."

    Didn’t want to leave.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Aug 2018

  • "This is a lovely cottage in a wonderful setting."

    The private beach is stunning and we loved going down there every day. The children loved it. The cottage was clean, comfortable and newly decorated. We loved the sea views from the cottage. The children loved to see the animals on the farm and enjoyed the swings. We've had a lovely holiday at Partridge cottage, thank you.

    Reviewed by Lois5.0Jun 2018

  • "We spent a really good holidays in widmouth farm."

    Nice cottage, kind people and lovely goats. I'll be glad if the washing machine and the dry machine were free... I think we can expect this sort of service. But, that's just a detail. It was a really good time and it was really kind to have tea and cakes when we arrive the first day. Tha,k you!

    Reviewed by Denis4.6Dec 2017

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king size, 1 x twin, 1 x ground floor adult bunks
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting room with wood burning stove and dining area.
  • Gas central heating with wood burning stove
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge
  • Shared utility room with 2 x coin-operated washing machine and 1 x coin-operated tumble dryer, fridge, freezer and iron
  • TV with Freeview
  • WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot, stairgate and highchair on request
  • designated parking space, smoke free, family friendly, children friendly, dog friendly, seaside, garden/patio, wifi/broadband, stair-gate available, cot available, highchair available
  • Private enclosed garden with furniture and sea view
  • Shared private beach 500 yards
  • Shared picnic area, dog exercise field, playground
  • One well-behaved dog welcome at a £15.00 charge
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1.5 miles
  • Note: Check-in time 4pm
  • This property has a Good Housekeeping Bond of £100
  • Note: The owners do have Wi-fi in the cottages, however being in a secluded spot, the wi-fi speed is much slower, which means streaming etc can be difficult Sending and receiving emails and messages is fine as well as internet browsing They are continuously investing in top of the range boosters to improve this but sometimes guests may experience intermittency This is beyond their control
  • Please note: Between 1st April - 30th September, this owner can only accommodate bookings on Friday changeovers

The property

This semi-detached cottage boasts a ground floor bathroom and a room with adult bunk beds and there are two first floor bedrooms, a king size and a twin, both of which feature stunning views across the private beach and also the bay.

The cottage also features a sitting room with a wood burning stove, a feature fireplace and a dining area and outside there is an enclosed patio garden at the side with sea views.

Note: This property is onsite with Refs. 971309, 971308, 971299, 971301, 971300, 971302, 971303, 971304, 971305 and 971306, together they sleep 48.

Widmouth Farm Cottages, Watermouth

Widmouth Farm Cottages is in a unique position on the stunning North Devon Coast, between Ilfracombe and Combe Martin. With spectacular sea views, a private beach and 35 acres of beautiful headland to wander through, this really is a perfect setting for a holiday cottage. The owners, who live on the farm along with their sheep, goats, alpacas, pigs, chickens and ducks, provide a huge welcome to guests who just love to help at animal feeding time, walking their dog along the coast path or just relaxing on the private beach, just 500 yards from the cottages. The beach reveals a large sandy expanse at low tide when you can swim, fish or walk around to Watermouth Harbour and return on the coast path with stunning views across the bay. The cottages are beautifully presented; some have sea views and share the play area, dog exercise field, laundry facilities and picnic area where you could spend hours relaxing with some locally-sourced goodies whilst gazing at the spectacular sea views and glorious sunsets over Samson’s Bay. The cottages are a couple of miles from the unspoilt village of Berrynarbor, with a welcoming pub and village shop. Explore Watermouth Castle, the award-winning Tunnels beach and Combe Martin Wildlife Park, all of which are close to the cottages. Alternatively, visit Ilfracombe, where Damian Hirst's Verity statue rests above the picturesque harbour, and the bustling seafront has many good-quality restaurants and bars, along with small independent shops. If you can tear yourself away from the splendid setting of Widmouth Farm and its private beach, then the three mile long sandy beach at Woolacombe, which holds the England for Excellence Gold Award for best family resort and was voted the Best British Beach in the Mail On Sunday, is a short drive away. This really is a truly stunning location to spend relaxation time with your four-legged friends.

Note: This property has a refundable Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

ILFRACOMBE

Barnstaple 11 miles.

The bustling seaside town of Ilfracombe lies on a beautiful stretch of North Devon coastline, with five beaches, much of it owned by the National Trust. Ilfracombe is only a ten minute drive from Exmoor National Park, with its rolling countryside and quaint villages. Ilfracombe's heritage harbour and quay are spectacular, with many pubs, shops and restaurants and frequent live music, creating a lively, friendly atmosphere. From here, take a wildlife cruise, a fishing trip or a boat trip to magical Lundy Island, a place of natural beauty, which will provide you with an unforgettable experience. Ilfracombe is the centre for some of the finest walking country in England. Whether you enjoy a gentle promenade walk around Capstone Hill, tackling the rugged coastal path or prefer the river valleys and tranquillity of the moorland hills of Exmoor, you will find the scenery spectacular. Ilfracombe also boasts a number of high-quality eateries, with local fish being prominent on their menus. To the east of Ilfracombe are the unique villages of Lynton and Lynmouth with its clifftop railway, and to the west lie the delights of Clovelly and Hartland. Moreover just a short drive away is the 3 mile long golden beach of Woolacombe Bay, which was been voted one of the top 20 beaches in the world, the perfect place to relax in the sun or catch some waves surfing. Ilfracombe is the perfect location for a North Devon holiday, offering you a gateway to an exciting blend of stunning coastal scenery, seaside fun, rural tranquillity and centuries of heritage and style.

View more holiday cottages in Ilfracombe

Please note: Between 1st April - 30th September, this owner can only accommodate bookings on Friday changeovers.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas