In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 23 minutes ago

3 people have recently viewed this property

22 The Salcombe

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 994888)

3.9

Good

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Swimming Pool Swimming pool
  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

20 Customer Reviews

  • "Probably the most perfect location in Salcombe, with beautiful views of the estuary."

    The balcony enables you to sit and watch the bustling waterfront. From the garden we were able to enjoy a spot of crabbing or direct access the the ferry steps. The apartments offers very comfortable accommodation for a family. Our daughter has restricted mobility and although there is a step up into the shower room, this was manageable. The lift to the apartment was perfect for her whilst other family members enjoyed the almost direct access to the street via the side door. The apartment had ample equipment for cooking family meals and the cooker was easy to use as was the washing machine. Having parking provided was perfect given the very limited availability of parking within Salcombe. Salcombe it’s self was lovely as always, but the impact of Covid was clear to see. Eating out was very limited and with Cranch’s shop gone getting everyday supplies left the only option as the Co-op, which as the week went on had less and less food. Thank goodness for the butcher and deli’s and bakery. Salcombe is a beautiful seaside town which is very popular, not the quiet town we knew from 25 ++ years ago. And is not wheelchair/disabled friendly, which is very sad. But it’s pure build structure does not easily enable accessibility, but is something worth considering with all the redevelopment going on. Disabled people have money to spend too, if shops and restaurants could be more easily accessed these customers could spend more!

    Reviewed by JoOct 2021

  • "The kitchen drain was blocked and smelt awful"

    Reviewed by LesleySep 2021

  • "When we arrived the cleaner was still there so we were delayed getting in and unable to park in our parking space."

    When we eventually got access the place was filthy, especially the kitchen: it had just not been cleaned and the dishwasher was still full. I visited the coast and country offices the next day and they were great at organising another cleaner to come the next day. The kitchen wasn’t brilliantly stocked with crockery and the front bedrooms really suffered from noise from the bar opposite until the early hours. But the location is excellent and having the pool was fab.

    Reviewed by SusieJul 2021

  • "Stunning views across the estuary!"

    Spent a morning painting Harbour scenes on the balcony. The apartment was really well equipped and comfortable. Will definitely return here. We were out and about most days and found lots to do locally but lovely to spend time relaxing, enjoying the amazing views ! Would be useful to have another set of keys next time

    Reviewed by LesleyOct 2020

  • "We have rented this property for a number of years consecutively and have always been thrilled with everything it has to offer, in particular the cleanliness of the property!"

    Unfortunately on this occasion things were not good on arrival - it was not at all clean and given the extra time allowed to clean due to Covid - it was the worst we had seen it!!????? Bathroom sink was lined with scum, ensuite bathroom taps not clean, sand over the furniture in the lounge and lounge floor and a small pile of toenail clippings at the side of the bed!! Doors and door frames were covered with sticky finger marks and the kitchen cupboard doors showed dirty cloth wipes all across them. The oven (which we never use) was also pretty disgusting!! Unfortunately due to Covid the heated pool was closed which we totally understood, all be it we were a bit disappointed! Hope the cleaning is improved upon in future and that some of the marks on the settees is thoroughly cleaned as they are showing real signs of dirt and wear! Otherwise a beautiful property in an excellent position with great facilities and all necessary equipment.

    As a repeat guest of 22 The Salcombe it is most disappointing to read your comments that the property was not presented to our usual high standards on your arrival. We have passed your comments on to the owner and housekeeper for their attention. We are always on hand in the local office to assist so it is a shame you didn't make contact with us, as we would most certainly been able to rectify all this during your stay. Once again we apologise that the property wasn't presented to your satisfaction, but hope that despite this we can welcome you back to the area again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AngelaSep 2020

  • "I sent emails about the pool that were not replied to for nearly two months in the run up to the booking."

    I was then told the typical response rate was 28 days, as though that made it ok! 28 days to reply to email is absurdly bad service. 2 months is appalling. I marked down accuracy of the listing because it is sold for a considerably inflated price because of the pool. The pool was not open this year because the building management decided it did not want to pay for a guard for a few hours a day to keep numbers in the pool under control (the property owner told me this). Any discussion of partial discount or compensation was off handedly laughed at by Coast and Country.

    All feedback received from our customers, whether positive or otherwise, helps us to ensure that the high standards of the Agency are maintained and we have passed these comments on to the managers of the customer relations team. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your query and for the way in which you felt we dealt with your request for compensation. We hope that despite these issues experienced prior to your stay, you were able to enjoy your time in Salcombe. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DavidAug 2020

  • "What a shame."

    No swimming pool. Even though Government restrictions have been lifted. I also book through Toad hall cottages who have given all their customers at the salcombe 10 percent refund. Have you asked the owners of the salcombe for the same? There were a lotnof very disgruntled people at the apartments who also felt very badly treated by Sykes. (Not coast and country curiously)

    Reviewed by LauraJul 2020

  • "The apartment was lovely, spacious and comfortable."

    The views were exceptional and must be the best in Salcombe with many a hour spent admiring the beauty. We were on holiday just out of season which was wonderful but can imagine the town to be very busy during the summer months which may impact on the tranquility that we experienced. Lovely walks and exploring to be had. We found Coast and Country to be very thorough when booking the holiday right through until our stay was over. Would definitely stay in Salcombe again and use the agent and apartment.

    Reviewed by Kathleen GOct 2019

  • "Our third holiday with you at 22 The Salcombe!"

    Another great stay!! Lovely apartment with super facilities ideally located for shops, restaurants and local produce.

    Reviewed by AngelaJun 2019

  • "First class service from Coast and Country as usual, from the initial collection of our keys from friendly helpful staff at the desk and again on our departure morning."

    Thank you all again. Best regards Mrs Louise Alpass

    Reviewed by HJun 2019

  • "Very spacious and clean - we love this property and will keep returning"

    Mr Stuart JenkinsJul 2018

  • "Love this place!"

    Meets our holiday needs perfectly. Great central position in Salcombe and parking on site too. Apartment well resourced, spacious and spotlessly clean. Wonderful views from balcony - great place to eat, drink, relax and people watch!!

    Jul 2018

  • "Always beautifully maintained and very well equipped with everything you need for your stay including the breath taking view over the Salcombe estuary!"

    !!

    Mrs L AlpassJun 2018

  • "Great balcony with superb position."

    Aug 2016

  • "Our flat was as usual very clean, tidy and very well equipped."

    Mr & Mrs H AlpassJun 2016

  • "Great place to stay , beautiful views from the balcony , lovely heated pool ."

    Oct 2015

  • "Very spacious and with convenient access to and from the street and the garden via the lift."

    Quality of the new bathrooms excellent and compliment the very good accomodation

    Sep 2015

  • "Always find apartment in very clean and fresh condition."

    well done

    May 2015

  • "Property in very good order,the changeover staff could not do enough very helpful."

    Jun 2014

  • "A lovely appartment which has wonderful views of the estuary and is always very well equipped, spotlessly clean and spaceous."

    Jun 2014

Show more

The property

In the heart of Salcombe, with stunning views over the main anchorage and out towards South Pool Creek and East Portlemouth, this lovely first floor apartment features an enviable seasonal swimming pool and communal gardens, secure parking and an available mooring.

This is a smashing base for couples or family groups.

Step into the open plan lounge, kitchen and dining room and you will find yourself totally relax as you look out at the stunning waterside view, or step out to the large balcony to watch boats bobbing along the water.

Aspects of the seaside feature in the open plan living and kitchen area, which has two large sofas in the lounge, a dining area with a large table and seating to fit seven, and a fully refurbished modern kitchen.

The master bedroom has a wonderful King-size bed to sink into, sliding doors that lead out to the balcony and a fantastic en suite wet room with a walk in shower.

To the rear of the property is a second bedroom with a King-size bed, adjacent to the popular ‘Dick and Wills’ restaurant, which is located on the ground floor, below the apartment.

There are two delightful children’s bedrooms, one with large bunk beds, another a single room.

In addition to the en suite shower room is a contemporary fully-tiled bathroom with bath and shower (over).

There is a communal laundry room situated in the building for guests use. From this fantastic location, make the most of the stunning estuary by participating in sailing, stand-up paddleboarding or hiring a boat.

Alternatively, explore the South West Coast Path on foot, or simply relax on one of several sandy beaches.

Summary

  • First floor apartment
  • Four bedrooms: 2 x King-size (one with en-suite wet room), 1 x Bunk bedroom and 1 x Single bedroom
  • Family bathroom
  • Lounge/kitchen/dining room
  • Furnished balcony.
  • Electric hob and oven, dishwasher and fridge/freezer
  • Smart TV with Netflix
  • Wifi
  • Private gardens, outdoor heated swimming pool and children's pool (seasonal)
  • There is a communal laundry room situated in the building for guests use
  • Allocated parking space in the secure car park for one car, and mooring on 'The Salcombe' pontoon, accessed from the gardens
  • All duvets, pillows, bed linen and towels are provided – guests need to bring there own tea towels, beach towels and oven gloves.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

Region Information

The second bedroom is adjacent to the entrance to 'Dick and Wills' restaurant which is located on the ground floor below the apartment.

The Salcombe residents enjoy exclusive use of the private outdoor heated swimming pool which is normally available from 29th April to late September each year (subject to change). Due to Covid-19 restrictions the swimming pool may not be open during your stay.

The flat can be accessed via a lift.

Pontoons to be removed for the winter in November - Moorings will not be available during this time.

PLEASE NOTE LARGE PICK UP TRUCKS WILL NOT BE ABLE TO FIT IN THE SALCOMBE PARKING SPACES

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it