Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 17 View Image Gallery
  • 3 The Elms - Devon - 1009910 - photo 1

3 The Elms

(Ref. 1009910)

Salcombe, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance

18 Customer Reviews

  • "Overall we had a lovely holiday."

    The apartment was nicely modernised, albeit very small. The downside is the place is damp. There’s no two ways about that. On our second week we had a linen change which showed our pillows were black with mould which was a dreadful find. Coast and Country were very on it with my complaint and gave us brand new pillows and apologies with a coffee shop voucher. The hoover hose was broken so we had to buy gorilla tape to repair for use. I’d swap out the dishwasher for a washing machine, the fridge shelf was broken and missing so the fridge was a challenge with one shelf and no freezer compartment. With a few tweaks this place would earn another star!

    Reviewed by Claire3.1Jul 2022

  • "Lovely flat and very comfortable."

    The balcony was excellent and ideal to hang my sailing kit on so it dried in the early morning sun. The blinds in the bedroom look nice but are about as effective as a fart in a hurricane in the mid-summer sun so could do with a little improvement in an ideal world.

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Jul 2022

  • "It was a poor experience for us as a family."

    The property had some issues with a leak before we rented it which resulted in humidifiers having to be used - the carpets were stained and dirty - we understand the previous tenants had to be moved. However we were not informed of this and turned up to a rental that had not been cleaned and was not fit for purpose. The operations manager did turn up the next day and tried to convince us the apartment was OK and it didnt smell of damp despite it being obvious. The neighbour upstairs came down twice during our stay to say he was concerned about the leak still having an effect. We were then told that C&C had to contact the client to release us from the contract - regardless of whether this is true it should be up to C&C to manage clients expectations not the owner. I hear more issues about C&C's management each year in Salcombe - we have been renting in Salcombe for over 20 years and I am inclined to start using other companies whose emphasis is based on the client not about how many properties they manage.

    Reviewed by Duncan2.2Oct 2021

  • "Overall we had a good holiday as it was great having a car parking place and being centrally located in Salcombe."

    However there were some negative points: Reading the Expedia describtion it states: Property is professionally cleaned Disinfectant is used to clean the property Sheets and towels are washed at 60°C or hotter I disagree that the property was professionally cleaned as there was mould in the property. I emailed the office and this was dealt with straight away. My duvet cover was stained yellow and should not have been put on the bed. Again this was dealt with straight away after I contacted the office. A £50 goodwill gesture was given for this. I also emailed the office photos of a badly chipped mug, dirty baking tray and bowls and a rusty plate drainer. No reply off office. This along with the mould, stained duvet and uncomfortable mattress in the main bedroom means that I wouldn't stay at the property again. It's a shame as a few tweaks would mean repeat business which is what I would have thought the owner would want.

    Reviewed by Karen2.8Aug 2021

  • "The accommodation was in a great location."

    However, the bedroom with bunk beds was tiny with only enough room to climb into bed, no storage and only really suitable for very young children as the beds are full size singles. Both the bedrooms were damp and the carpet felt wet to the touch. The bed in the main bedroom was extremely uncomfortable. The actual living area was fine and nicely furbished but it would be nice there was room for a washing machine, which I missed not being listed, and a freezer compartment would be really useful too.

    Reviewed by Jeremy2.8Aug 2021

  • "The rear of the property (both bedrooms) are very damp which got worse during our stay as we had to switch the heating off."

    Reviewed by Sophy3.8Jun 2021

  • "Had a very good break as usual."

    Nice property and handy parking space.I would also like to remind you that I have still not received the discount as discussed for the difference between the first property that you cancelled and this property that was more expensive recommended by yourself.

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0May 2021

  • "Sykes managed to make my trip quite poor."

    After the last year everyone has experienced they honestly made my trip unpleasant. I found sykes to be quite unethical. I made a quick booking online and then called to ask is there any issues with the property I need to be aware of? No was the answer when I called in to the Salcombe office. I made the booking a week prior to going. On arrival the property was surrounded with scaffolding! view blocked, work carried out everyday which woke us every morning from 7:30ish so the trip was not relaxing at all. On arrival to Salcombe I called various numbers for almost an hour as I was never sent the address to collect the keys, after a 4 hour drive again was very stressful. Arriving at the property was as stressful sykes gave no direction of where to park. I made a formal complaint which at first I was told we had no idea of the scaffolding on the property we are going to move you to another place I will call you back in 30mins, three hours later I receive a call to be told we can’t help you. It was all a money grabbing experience from Sykes and awful service. My complaint still is not being acknowledged due to the blatant disregard of our treatment. It seems Sykes do not care about customers and peoples wellbeing and honestly made the experience and trip stressful and upsetting, they just want to make money. The property it’s self was pleasant on the inside. The owners really are let down by Sykes I feel and may want to take this feedback on board. It was a shame there was no freezer would have been my only niggle, but as a couple with our dog we would recommend to anyone. Close to town a nice short walk in was a huge bonus. The shower was great and bathroom is tastefully decorated. The bedroom is fine with comfy bed for a short break. Really like the lounge felt comfy and cosy! Great property but shame about the overall experience with Sykes and lack of communication has made our trip one of mixed emotions and I left Salcombe feeling quite stressed due to my experience with Sykes.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with 3 The Elms itself. We can only apologise that you were unhappy with the service you received once you had made the booking. We can see that the travel directions and key information was sent to you via our automated system, so it was a shame that you did not receive these, we do always advise to check your ‘spam/junk’ folders. We also understand how disappointing it can be to arrive at a property, and not find it as you expect, however on this occasion a warning note would have popped up on the website during the booking process to make you aware of the scaffolding around the building. We can assure you that our customer’s wellbeing, and customer service is our top priority, especially in these times. We hope that in spite of these issues you enjoyed what Salcombe had to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David3.4Apr 2021

  • "Pros of this apartment: - Great location right in the centre of Salcombe and with some sea views - we didn’t have any problems with traffic noise that someone else mentioned."

    - It was clean (bedding and towels smelled fresh and clean and there was no damp smell as someone mentioned previously). The pillow and mattress protectors could probably do with a wash though and yes, there were stains on the carpet / bean bag (to be expected in a holiday rental?). - It has modern decor / bathroom / kitchen area and a great shower. - The apartment was comfortable, warm and the double bed was very comfortable. - It has a designated parking space (albeit a bit tight) which is a real bonus in Salcombe. - It has a dishwasher, toaster, coffee machine etc and WiFi. Cons: - The bunk room is not big enough to be classed as a bedroom - it’s more cupboard sized. There is no room even for a bedside table and there is nowhere to hang clothes or leave a bag open on the floor. It’s literally the length of the bed and about 50cm wider. The bottom bunk only has around 50cm headroom as well so you can’t sit up on the bottom bunk and I imagine was quite claustrophobic to sleep in. That said, my teenage son managed to sleep well in it! The room was very hot though with two people in it and only a small window (which wasn’t open at night). - No freezer compartment in the fridge so we couldn’t freeze our ice blocks. It wasn’t really a big issue for us as it was April and quite cold but in summer it would be a problem for keeping picnics cool etc. - No shaving point for razors and electric toothbrushes. - It was overpriced for what it was, we feel. Would we stay here again? Possibly, but probably not for the price we paid and the tiny second bedroom.

    Reviewed by Julie3.8Apr 2021

  • "The property would not sleep 4 adults as second bedroom very small with bunk beds."

    We were a couple so the size of the property was fine. The bedroom was damp, the carpet was wet not sure if had just been cleaned or from the damp. There were many stains on the sofa and carpet in the living room. Mattress was heavily stained. Great central location with parking space.

    We are sorry to hear that you had a few concerns following your stay. We have monitored the property over the winter period and there is no sign of damp in the property. A full spring clean has also been carried out, ready for the 2021 season. We hope we can welcome you back to the area again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Faith2.8Oct 2020

  • "Ideal location, good size flat for two, suitable for us."

    But I would say a tight squeeze for 4. The mould smell was a little strong and off putting but apart form that the flat was clean. Few things that would of made the stay better would of been WiFi, a few more oven trays (as I the current situation with eating out we had more than half our meals at the apartment) A bottle opener & a small amount of freezer space. Was a little noisy being near the road but that was probably more noticeable for us as we are from a very rural area. Salcombe is a lovely place and the location was ideal. Great to have a parking space with the property as well.

    Many thanks for you kind review regarding your recent stay at 3 The Elms. We have passed all your comments on the owner who will be addressing any issues you encountered. We are so please you enjoyed your stay in Salcombe and hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen3.8Sep 2020

  • "Great location, the flat is neat and tidy although the bedrooms quite cramped as are the parking spaces but overall we enjoyed our stay."

    The service from coast and country was good with plenty of communication and Helpful advice on the area. I would recommend the location and the service we received.

    Reviewed by Adrian3.8Dec 2019

  • "What a lovely holiday home."

    In a great location with private parking, it was small but perfectly formed! Thank you for great week in Salcombe, we'll be back soon!

    Reviewed by Suzy5.0Nov 2019

  • "This property has an issue with rising damp."

    The bedroom was so damp that the carpet even felt wet. The number of air fresheners, clearly an attempt to mask the damp odour only made matters worse. We went home early as we really didn’t feel comfortable staying here.

    Reviewed by Matthew2.2Sep 2019

  • "The flat was great but the main bedroom stank of mould."

    I wouldn’t book it again. You couldn’t leave the bedroom window open at night to get rid of the smell because of the path outside and the road noise in the morning. When we arrived the excess of air fresheners should have given it away. The 2 air fresheners in the bedroom, one of which sprayed out all night, and was hard to find as it was hidden in the top of the top of the wardrobe, were particularly annoying as air fresheners make me wheeze. Once I’d found them all and turned them off or hidden them in a cupboard we realised why they were there. A flat in salcombe in summer is a relatively expensive holiday. I was disappointed by the mould smell. It made the property not reflect the price I felt. It was pretty strong and the bedroom carpet was actually damp by the wall. I would suggest replacing it. There is a crack on the outside of the building which has been repaired. Maybe not that well. In retrospect I should have said something when we were there. It was pretty bad.

    Reviewed by Victoria3.8Aug 2019

  • "This flat is in a great location, about five minutes walk into Salcombe town centre."

    There is a small amount of traffic noise if the windows are open but you are near enough to walk into Salcombe easily (or for older kids to have a bit of freedom to go on their own) but far enough away to not be disturbed by late night noise of pubs and restaurants. The flat was clean and comfortable and as the weather was mainly good, we used it for evening meals and sleeping and it was a comfortable base for the four of us. It would possibly be cramped for four if the weather was bad and you were in more often. The description said it was a ground floor flat which it is but there are many steps down to the entrance so if people have accessibility needs this may be a problem for them and they will be looking for a flat described as ground floor. The parking spaces for these flats are ridiculously small. Be prepared to jettison your passengers, park and then climb across the seats to get out. Again, this won't be possible for everyone. We were parked perfectly within the lines of our space. One of the other flats did offer to move his car across as he was very slightly over the line with one tyre but he couldn't actually get in his car. The bunk bed room is very small. Not really a problem for us but something to be aware of. If you are planning to feed a family of four in the evening, take a large frying pan and saucepan as the biggest in the cottage were not large enough for a family of four.

    Reviewed by Rosemary3.8Jul 2019

  • "Had a lovely holiday at 3the elms."

    This is an ideal property for 2 people only,as bunk room is so small you would not be able to stand in the room to dress. It is listed as all ground floor. No mention of the 14 steps to get down to the front door. Would be a big problem for some people. Steps are only mentioned after you receive details on how to get to the property! You are not allowed to put food waste in green bin as they have it padlocked! Another resident told us just to use black bin. It is listed as king size bed but it isn't. Double bed only. It would be handy to have a corkscrew in the kitchen and also some large scissors. However we had a lovely week with amazing weather. Thanks.

    Reviewed by David4.4Jun 2019

  • "What a lovely apartment, fresh and modern with everything you could want and very comfy."

    The weather was glorious, Salcombe has great places to eat and drink and most are pet friendly as was the accommodation. Everyone was so friendly and it was very easy to book. We will definitely be back. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Jun 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • All ground-floor
  • Two bedrooms; 1 x king-size bed 1 x bunk
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living room with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Gas central heating
  • Induction hob, electric oven, microwave, TV and WiFi
  • Bed linen and towels provided
  • Designated parking for one small car, Parking space marked 3 outside the property
  • Strictly No Smoking
  • One pet welcome at £25 per week
  • Pub and shop within 0.2 mile

The property

A well-presented, ground-floor apartment resting amid the hustle and bustle of the coastal resort of Salcombe.

3 The Elms has been designed to offer a group of family or friends the opportunity to explore the area steeped with glorious beaches, wonderful walks and historical landmarks, complete with a stylish base to come back to each evening.

The town centre is a stone's throw away.

Upon entering the accommodation from the Allenhayes Road allocated parking space via some steps, you will be welcomed into the bright and airy interior, complete with comfortable furnishings to ensure a delightful stay at any time of year.

Gather your loved ones within the spacious open-plan living room, where you can enjoy a home-cooked meal prepared in the amply-equipped kitchen, whilst enjoying the surrounding estuary views from the juliette balcony.

As the evening draws to a close, retire to one of the well-presented bedrooms, comprising a king-size and a small bunk bedroom.

If you don’t feel like cooking one evening, a short stroll will bring you to a selection of pubs and restaurants which are certain to entice all ages and tastes, as well as a choice of shops for picking up the essentials.

For those feeling active, visit the estuary where you will find a number of watersport opportunities on offer or travel slightly further to the glorious beaches of North Sands and South Sands.

For a taste of history visit the nearby National Trust property Overbeck’s, where you can explore the subtropical gardens and enjoy the breath-taking surrounding views further.

3 The Elms promises to be a refreshing getaway that the whole family will enjoy.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

“Please be aware, due to the nature of the town, several of our properties are situated up hills. Please contact our reservations team if you would like more information about the location of this property.”

Apologies No BBQs allowed

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas