Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th June. Available on breaks arriving 1st September - 31st December.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 20 minutes ago

9 people have recently viewed this property

3 The Salcombe

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 995026)

4.2

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 1

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

27 Customer Reviews

  • "Not a sensible decision that when in Salcombe and wish to call Coast and Country Cottages, the number routes to Sykes in Chester, not the local well informed staff."

    Reviewed by DavidMay 2022

  • "Very comfortable, superb location, and excellent facilities"

    Reviewed by ChristopherMay 2022

  • "The front door requires effort to get my mobility aid into the cottage"

    Reviewed by MichaelMay 2022

  • "Pleasantly surprised, much nicer than we thought it would be."

    Central location a big plus. Fine view. Very limited freeview channels - no channel 11.

    Reviewed by RichardOct 2021

  • "The toilets had not been thoroughly cleaned before our arrival."

    I am disabled. there is no ramp to help me manage the doorstep. The staff were very friendly and helped with our luggage

    Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to read of these cleanliness issues and we are sorry the property was presented in this way upon your arrival. Please be assured that this will raised with our housekeeping team. Should you have contacted the Salcombe office upon arrival or during your stay, I can assure you that these matters would have been rectified. We are pleased to read that the staff at The Salcombe were welcoming and helpful. We hope that despite the cleanliness issues you were able to enjoy your stay here in Salcombe and its stunning views. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MichaelSep 2021

  • "Excellent location, swimming pool a bonus, Parking an asset In need of upgrading internally, looking worn and tired"

    Reviewed by TraceySep 2021

  • "Following issues with cleanliness at No7 in 2020 I gave a 2nd chance for 2021."

    The condition of No3 was poor and reported to the local office The kitchen floor had not been mopped in ages ( I discovered this after my local complaint). There was water ingress down the wall , fridge was rusty, bed linen from previous guest had been left on the sofa bed. The corners of rooms were full of fluff and the state of the store cupboard where hoover is kept was filthy. The smell coming from the hoover when in use was awful and the cleaner itself was dirty. I purchased bedding for the sofa bed to ensure cleanliness and peace of mind. Seagulls were not discouraged by staff on site and would bathe in the swimming pool daily. When I attempted to discourage one bird I was advised by a member of staff that the gardens belong to the seagulls not residents. In my personal opinion the apartment was not Covid safe when we arrived. The local office asked if I wanted someone to call but I declined owing to Covid protocols.

    Reviewed by BevAug 2021

  • "The last two times we have stayed the pool hasn't been available so being able to use it again was a real treat and all the staff were very helpful and friendly."

    Reviewed by AngelaJun 2021

  • "I will preface these comments by saying that we have stayed at The Salcombe many times, mainly in No 3, but also in No 2, No 4 and also in (I think) No 27."

    We have always booked through Coast and Country Cottages in Salcombe and have always found them friendly and helpful and importantly, accessible, as indeed they still are. Sykes fail miserably in the latter criteria. We needed to stop on our journey to advise Salcombe we might be late for check in, but by the the time we actually spoke to someone we were about 30 minutes later. We also needed to let the local office know the tv didn't work; again a long wait to speak to anyone, and that someone was in Chester who promised we would be notified when someone would attend. No one did. We have booked Sykes in the past, in the Wye Valley, which was an extremely disappointing experience, so were very concerned when confirmation of the recent holiday came from Sykes when I thought I had booked with Coast and Country Cottages. The sad thing is if we want to continue taking our breaks in No 3 we will have no choice but to deal with Sykes. Why can't you learn from the local office instead of assuming your method is an improvement?

    Reviewed by AlanMay 2021

  • "The instructions in the cottage have incorrect details on contacts in the case of problems"

    Reviewed by MichaelApr 2021

  • "Lovely location and very clean will definitely recommend and return"

    Reviewed by GaybrelSep 2020

  • "Apartment is in great location but very tired."

    Was also very cold and took a long time to warm up after turning the thermostat up. There was barely a third of a toilet roll provided, which just seemed mean. Wouldn’t choose this apartment again.

    Reviewed by JackieSep 2020

  • "Unlike previous reviews we found 3 The Salcombe nice and clean, although we did think the property was a little tired and dated, especially the bathroom."

    You couldn't wish for a better location, the views across the water couldn't be beaten and the heated swimming pool was a welcome bonus.

    Reviewed by SandraSep 2019

  • "I have booked this property for the last six years."

    I have always found the property facilities excellently suited my family needs however this year the property was even more unclean than it has been in previous years. Over the last six years I found the property to be unclean in certain areas such as dirty cutlery, food debris under the microwave, dirt under the table, the kitchen flooring area not being mopped, dusty skirting boards and food debris under the sofa. I have always made a conscious effort to leave the property immaculate so that nobody would find it as I have done. The cleaners I understand change bedsheets and towels however they do not check details like these. To make this worse I have now been told that I am unable to rebook this property as the Coast And Country company have different policies and do not allow preferential booking for previous customers. If I had known that all loyalties would be lost I would have complained years ago.

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay at 3 The Salcombe. We are very disappointed to hear that the property was not presented satisfactorily on your arrival. We work very hard with our housekeeping and property maintenance team to ensure that our high standards are maintained, and we are sorry to on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. We ask that were are given the opportunity to rectify any issues, so it is disappointing that we did not hear from you during your stay as we most certainly would have been able to have our housekeeping team address these points for you. We are sorry that we do not offer the 'rebook' procedure that we used to, however we now have a 24 month calendar available for guests to make bookings well in advance. We hope that we can welcome you back to Salcombe next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JemmaAug 2019

  • "Hi - property is very nice and we have loved staying there."

    It could do with a full length mirror on the wall outside the bathroom. At present there isn't a full length mirror in the property.

    Miss C PettittJul 2018

  • "The Salcombe is an excellent location."

    Property was comfortable and well equipped with amazing views of the estuary. Fabulous outdoor heated pool.

    Mrs R ThornOct 2017

  • "Wonderful location but needs an upgrade"

    Mrs C DooleySep 2017

  • "Average"

    Mr B CarsonNov 2016

  • "Flat 3 The Salcombe is very dated, not very clean and in urgent need of a full refurbishment."

    It's simply not good enough for the price.

    Sep 2016

  • "Excellent"

    Aug 2016

  • "This apartment is in need of a facelift, the sofa's were not very comfortable, lack of spare light bulbs, cleanliness was poor."

    Crockery was dirty as was the wash handbasin in the toilet and tooth mug therein. The lack of a full length mirror was poor. The blinds in the bedroom would not stay up and were bent and dirty and the sitting room blinds were also bent in places. Having said that, the company were quick to rectify things. Location of the property is excellent, with convenient parking.

    Nov 2015

  • "Excellent"

    Mrs M McCormackSep 2015

  • "Excellent"

    Jul 2015

  • "Apartment in desperate need of renovation."

    Very unhygienic having carpet in a bathroom especially as it is rented property! Sofa bed extremely uncomfortable.....our backs are still recovering. Overall condition of apartment very poor.

    Jun 2015

  • "The access to the flat is defiantly not suitable for elderly people, a 20 m slope of 40 degrees running like a stream when it rains and a stupid gate that has to be opened with a key each time, especially when unloading your car which has to be parked at the top of the slope."

    the flat smelled musty and was very cold when we arrived.

    May 2015

  • "Excellent flat, I think its fab!"

    !!

    Sep 2014

  • "Good - exactly as described"

    Apr 2014

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Ground floor flat
  • One bedroom: 1 x twin
  • 1 x Double sofa bed in living room
  • Bathroom (bath, thermostatic electric shower, hand basin, w.c and shaver point)
  • Open plan lounge/dining
  • Kitchen.
  • Electric oven and hob, dishwasher, fridge, microwave, coffee maker
  • Freesat TV, DVD, hi-fi radio and CD system
  • Hot water by electric water heater
  • Allocated parking space in the secure car park for one car, and mooring on 'The Salcombe' pontoon, accessed from the gardens
  • There is a communal laundry room situated in the building for guests use. All duvets, pillows, bed linen and bath towels provided – guests need to bring their own beach towels.

The property

‘The Salcombe’ apartments are located in central Salcombe, on the idyllic waterfront.

Residents have exclusive use of the private outdoor heated swimming pool, available annually from May to September (subject to change) communal gardens, one allocated parking space per flat and mooring.

3 The Salcombe is a comfortable ground floor...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £50.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

The Salcombe residents enjoy exclusive use of the private outdoor heated swimming pool which is normally available from 29th April to late September each year (subject to change). Due to Covid-19 restrictions the swimming pool may not be open during your stay.

Wifi provided is communal for residents of The Salcombe Apartments.

allocated parking space for ONE car only.

Pontoons to be removed for the winter in November - Moorings will not be available during this time.

PLEASE NOTE LARGE PICK UP TRUCKS WILL NOT BE ABLE TO FIT INTO THE SALCOMBE PARKING SPACES

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas