Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 6 minutes ago

4 Island Quay

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 995073)

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon


  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor accommodation
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor bedroom
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside


9 Customer Reviews

  • "Though this is in a good spot as a base the accommodation could do with a bit of a update."

    Carpet’s frayed at doors. Good to have a garage the bmw 1 series fit. Didn’t like fact kitchen window wouldn’t stay up and lounge windows screwed shut. All in all a good base.

    Thank you taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were sorry to read that you didn’t find the property particularly comfortable for your stay. We can only apologise for this and hope that you were still able to enjoy Salcombe, its stunning views and choice of amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by StephenJun 2021

  • "..."

    Please see detailed email addressed to Customer Owner Support, Sykes Cottages dated 26 September 2020

    Reviewed by JohnSep 2020

  • "I would just like to highlight the condition of the carpets and curtains."

    The carpets are heavily stained and the curtains are holed. I do wonder about covid cleanliness of the carpets. The freezer had been left to defrost so each drawer had about a cm of water sitting within it and the void below the bottom drawer had food waste within it. The kitchen bin is stained and looks unhygienic although I realise it may not be. Parking was difficult but an acceptable problem. The neighbours in the same complex seemed suspicious of us and unhappy about us accessing the pontoon even though a mooring is associated with the rental. We did not bring our boat but enjoyed sitting out there in the evening. The location is fantastic, the premises was available for us early, shortly after our arrival. Thank you for accommodating that. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday regardless but I would not recommend this property to others if asked, because of the above.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were really pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at 4 Island Quay. Thank you for your comments concerning the presentation of the property, we have passed these onto both the owners and housekeeping, we can only apologise for this and hope it did not detract from what is a beautiful week in Salcombe. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AnnaSep 2020

  • "Great location and mooring I personally don't find a problem with the parking my large estate car fits with a bit of effort."

    I also like no WiFi helps get the kids out. The main problems I have is the layout with the double bed downstairs not sure why my kids have a nice on suite room while I have to struggle in a tiny room with a double bed? Also the mattresses are terrible, unbelievably soft or worn out made sleeping even harder. The living room carpet is also looking very dirty and worn out. Would be perfect with a bit of maintenance.

    Reviewed by RichardAug 2020

  • "Brilliant This property was cheap and cheerful and good value for what we paid - this is Salcolme after all."

    Location in the centre is excellent, but there are drawbacks which are probably reflected in the price. Firstly parking - even if the garage wasn't small it is the only garage in the block that is positioned tightly even for a small car (which ours isn't) and parking at the door was too tight for our size of car so we had to park further away. This was okay as we were out early and back late so no zone charges, but be aware. There are spaces in the adjacent courtyard, but these are also tight/often occupied by those closer to them. The flat is practical rather than comfortable - the downstairs "double" can be a little cold (electric heater provided), but most facilities are provided. Looks a little dated but that is fine for the price. Co-op at the other end of the high street is useful There were some crabbing lines in the cupboard for use in the harbour. Overall it met our expectations.

    Thank you for your review. We too think that 4 Island Quay is a great base for exploring all that Salcombe and the area has to offer. We hope that you will be back again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by SeanJul 2020

  • "It would have been nice to have WiFi at the house."

    But it was lovely to stay there and had everything else that we needed during our stay. Thank you very much.

    Reviewed by SophieOct 2019

  • "The location is fantastic however there are several issues."

    .. The garage is next to useless, difficult to drive / reverse into plus it’s extremely narrow. The double bedroom is very small and the ground floor WC very narrow. The main bedroom with the en-suite is the best bedroom as the other small bedroom has the single bed up against the wall. Family bathroom in desperate need of an upgrade from an avocado colour. Kitchen ok.

    Reviewed by RODJun 2019

  • "Property is in need of a makeover."

    Old melamine dinnerware. No WiFi. The downstairs bedroom is not suitable for a double bed unless you have no luggage!! It’s a single room really and should have bunks and that would allow floorspace to actually move in. They need a clothes rack for drying wet clothes as the tumble dryer is not great and no good for wetsuits of course! TV channels don’t work and you can only receive a couple. On the plus side the mooring is ideal. It’s a shame as the location is ideal.

    Aug 2018

  • "The location is excellent."

    The master bedroom and ensuite are well equipped and spacious. The kitchen is well-equipped although cutlery is of poor quality. The double room is in fact a single room with a double bed in it. It is too small to be useful as a double bedroom, with inadequate hanging space for clothes and difficult to negotiate during the night when visiting the toilet. The lack of suitable parking should be more strongly stressed as the garage is unusable unless you have a Fiat 500 or a Smart car. The TV only has 4 channels and sometimes they don't have a good signal depending on the weather apparently. There is no WiFi. Had the weather been kinder this may not have mattered but as we had typical British summer weather it would have helped.

    Jul 2016

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

The property

This comfortable three bedroom home is located just a short walk away from Salcombe’s bustling town with its famous waterfront, boutique shops and restaurants.

There is a double bedroom on the ground floor offering a double bed and a separate cloakroom with wash-hand basin and w.c.

One the first floor there are a further two bedrooms, a twin room with single beds, dressing table, wardrobes, and bedside tables.

This room also benefits from an en suite bathroom with shower cubicle, wash-hand basin and w.c.

The third bedroom has a 3ft single bed with bedside table and wardrobe.

In addition to the en suite bathroom is a family bathroom with bath, wash-hand basin and w.c.

The comfortably furnished lounge has a double sofa, two chairs, occasional furniture and a dining room table and chairs with seating for six guests.

The fitted kitchen has an electric oven, gas hob, washing machine/tumble drier, dishwasher and fridge/freezer.

Outside, guests have the use of a small integral garage which is suitable for one small car and a private mooring for one dinghy.


  • Three bedrooms: 1x twin with en suite shower room with shower, hand basin, w.c
  • and shaver point
  • 1 x single (both on first floor) 1 x double (on ground floor)
  • Bathroom with bath, wash-hand basin, w.c and shaver point and additional w.c and hand basin on ground floor
  • Kitchen
  • Lounge/dining room.
  • Electric oven, gas hob, washing machine/tumble dryer, dishwasher, fridge/freezer and microwave
  • TV, CD Player and audio unit
  • Parking for one car in small integral garage 7ft (213cms) wide and is only suitable for a small car
  • Private mooring for a dinghy.(Dimensions can be provided on request)
  • All duvets, pillows, bed linen and bath towels are supplied
  • You will need to bring beach towels

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

Garage only suitable for a small car - dimensions can be provided on request.

Mooring available - dimensions can be provided on request.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it