In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

9 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 29 View Larger Image
  • 4 Lyndhurst - Devon - 995074 - photo 1
close

4 Lyndhurst

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 995074)

4.8

Excellent

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

24 Customer Reviews

  • "We enjoy this apartment very much, as you can see by the number of times we have stayed here."

    Soon to return in August.

    We are delighted to know that you enjoy staying at 4 Lyndhurst and really appreciate you comments and regular bookings. We look forward to welcoming you back in August. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MargaretJun 2022

  • "Fantastic view from all windows of the property."

    I loved sitting on the balcony just looking at the water and boats below. The property was beautifully presented and very comfortable. The only downside was not having a proper shower in the master en-suite, as there wasn’t enough hot water for a bath, even when using the ‘boost’ on the hot water tank and it was awkward using the over bath shower without a shower curtain, but we managed. Would definitely stay there again, even with the climb up the hill. We booked tables on line for evening meals in the pubs ahead of our trip, as it was school holidays and would recommend this as it was really busy.

    Reviewed by JacquelineMay 2022

  • "There were some issues with the property eg: Faulty Kitchen Window (could not shut once opened)."

    Inadequate cooker extractor fan. No support for recycling (a big failure) also confusion over which outside bin to use (one allocated to flat 4 was full on arrival). Lack of over bath shower and screen (hand held shower only). No clothes hanging space in second bedroom. A few clumps of hair on the carpet.

    Thank you kindly for leaving us your comments. We were delighted to read that the property was beautifully presented upon your arrival. We will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to the owner who will be thrilled to read that you loved their property. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottage on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by TerryOct 2021

  • "Absolutely brilliant stay, the flat was gorgeous and so comfortable with everything we could possibly need and all of us loved our time there."

    Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We were delighted to read that you had a lovely stay and that the property provided you with everything you required during your stay. We will be sure to pass on your lovely praises to the owner. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by EmmaAug 2021

  • "Car parking very tight making it difficult to drive on and off the parking area ..."

    Car parking very tight making it difficult to drive on and off the parking area On arrival waste bins were blocking our space Very difficult to lift the waste bins down the steps to the parking area for collection Cars protrude onto the pavement Not

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were terribly sorry to read that you had some issues during your stay. Please be assured that should you have contacted us during your stay, our team would have been able to assist with these. Thank you for bringing the parking arrangements to our attention. There are a number of car parks nearby which are detailed on our website, we were only sorry you did not come across these sooner. We hope despite this, your stay was enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back to the area soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by GrahamJun 2021

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at No 4 Lyndhurst, the apartment and facilities were excellent, it was also spotless."

    The only problem was the walk from the town up the hills, but we did it. We would definitely return.

    Reviewed by JeanMay 2021

  • "Really nice apartment with lovely views."

    Reviewed by IanOct 2020

  • "A mention of the limited headroom in the bedroom might be useful to very tall people."

    Similarly a mention of the multiple staircases to access the flat would be helpful to anybody who was physically compromised. Standard of decoration and furnishings in the flat was first class. A second set of keys would be useful where two couples are occupying the property Overall a great place to stay and the Salcombe Area never fails to pleas.

    Reviewed by MarkSep 2020

  • "The apartment was lovely, nice and clean , well equipped and a great location!"

    The views from the lounge/ balcony across the estuary were lovely, and the sun is on the balcony for the whole morning. Great having a parking space at the front of the property, it was a very quiet location too. The property is up a quiet steep hill, fine for us but may be a little steep for some, however there is a large car park in salcombe if you want to drive down, alternatively you could get a taxi . It’s about a 10 minute steady walk to the centre of salcombe. This was our first visit to salcombe and we will definitely be returning, lots of independent shops and loads of great food/ drinking places .

    Reviewed by SallyAug 2019

  • "Excellent accommodation, nicely situated, lovely area."

    Reviewed by JohnJul 2019

  • "Great accommodation clran comfy and excellent view"

    Reviewed by NormaJun 2019

  • "This was our first visit to Salcombe and we were very impressed with the accommodation, the town and the surrounding area."

    Our apartment was extremely comfortable and provided everything we required. The view from the balcony was amazing and really made the holiday. We hope to return next year. When not eating out we shopped at nearby Co-op which sells all the essentials including Devon Otter Ale!

    Reviewed by CarolynMay 2019

  • "Excellent accomodation in every respect!"

    Jul 2018

  • "Fab views. Clean and modern."

    Nice to have two bedrooms both en suite. Only down side was the duvet on the double bed was lumpy.

    May 2018

  • "4 Lyndhurst was an ideal apartment for our purposes."

    Clean, bright, wonderful views, well equipped and easy walking access to the town.

    Mr Anthony KittridgeOct 2017

  • "The cottage was a bit scruffy and need a more personal touch."

    The shared area was tatty. However, it had a good kitchen, well stocked, bedrooms were alright and the bathrooms okay. However, the views from the living area and balcony more than made up for any inadequacies.

    Sep 2017

  • "See my recent feedback e-mail 1) no warning of very narrow staircase access to No 4 2) only Winter weight duvets provided However, view of estuary from lounge window was stunning and flat kitchen well equipped."

    Jun 2017

  • "Nice apartment with great views."

    However there is a problem with the hot water system that limited amounts of hot water are available and often not very hot. There was only 3 of us and not enough hot water for a decent bath for anyone! Due to the hot water issue would not recommend the place. Couple of minor points; there is no remote control for the DVD player and the tap in the kitchen drips. Hope this is of assistance.

    Sep 2015

  • "Excellent views of Salcombe Estuary towards Kingsbridge."

    Very pleasant apartment, but main bedroom could do with a proper shower facility instead of a bath tap attachment. Very comfortable bedding guarantees excellent nights sleep. Property allows a 10 min walk into town, although it is a very steep climb back up, but that is the nature of Salcombe. You will be fit by the end of your stay! Thoroughly enjoyed stay over Spring Bank holiday (2015), although being woken at 8AM by the building work at the property opposite did irritate slightly, but this may have ended by the time of your prospective stay. Have been coming to Salcombe for many years, and look forward to coming again. Recommend Ferry Inn for good Food and Beer!

    Jun 2015

  • "Excellent"

    Jun 2015

  • "We love this property - so much so we've stayed here three times!"

    Great views of the estuary, five mins from town and a lovely, comfortable place to escape from our busy lives.

    Apr 2015

  • "Good"

    Jan 2015

  • "Very comfortable and high quality"

    Jul 2014

  • "Well equipped and presented with fantastic views"

    May 2014

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Two en suite bedrooms: 1x King-size and 1x Twin with two single beds
  • Communal landscaped garden
  • Open plan kitchen / lounge / dining room.
  • Double oven and ceramic hob, dishwasher, washing machine/dryer, fridge/ freezer and microwave
  • Flat screen smart TV and Wifi
  • DVD in twin bedroom
  • Selection of DVDs and family games available
  • Use of communal gardens to the rear
  • Balcony with table and chairs
  • Off-road parking for one car only in front of Lyndhurst - other parking is usually available nearby
  • Night storage heating and immersion system for hot water
  • All duvets, pillows, bed linen and bath/hand towels are supplied
  • You will need to bring tea towels and beach towels.

The property

4 Lyndhurst, located on Bonaventure Road above Salcombe in a quieter part of the town, is within a ten-minute downhill walk of the waterfront, boutiques and restaurants which have gone on to make the area so renowned.

A set of steps lead up to the apartment and onto the open planned lounge / kitchen / dining room where doors open to a balcony offering superb views over the estuary.

A comfortable L-shaped sofa seats five, a smart TV is in the lounge for the guests’ use.

The well-equipped Shaker style kitchen has granite worktops, a double oven, ceramic hob, dishwasher, washing machine/dryer, fridge-freezer and microwave whilst the circular oak dining table seats four.

There are two en suite bedrooms, both on the upper level of this duplex apartment.

The master has a king size bed, clothes storage, TV and a gable end window to take in the view.

Its en-suite bathroom features a bath, shower (over), w.c and hand basin.

The second bedroom is a twin with views stretching from East Portlemouth to Snapes Point.

The en-suite shower room features a power shower, w.c and hand basin.

A TV and DVD are also provided in the second bedroom. Guests can use the communal garden and to the rear of the property to bask in the summer sunshine.

Off-road parking for one car is provided whilst further parking is usually available nearby.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

All bed linen and towels are supplied. You will need to provide your own tea towels.

No pets permitted.

“Please be aware, due to the nature of the town, several of our properties are situated up hills. Please contact our reservations team if you would like more information about the location of this property.”

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas