Our Summer Sale ends soon

Book now to save up to 20% on August ’22 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

1 of 26 View Larger Image
  • Ginn Cottage - Devon - 995446 - photo 1
close

Ginn Cottage

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 995446)

4.4

Very good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

25 Customer Reviews

  • "Really convenient but parking a problem."

    Could have done with a microwave although we recognise that space for one is difficult. These comments wouldn’t necessarily stop us booking property another time.

    Reviewed by MartinAug 2022

  • "We had such a lovely stay in Ginn Cottage, it had everything we needed and was a really pretty house."

    We would definitely come and stay again!

    Hello Sarah. Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Really pleased you had an enjoyable stay at my little cottage. We work hard to keep it nice for our guests so it is a joy to receive your feedback. Thank you. Jacqueline . Property Owner

    Reviewed by SarahJul 2022

  • "Our accommodation was double booked for the week."

    I had to argue it out with the team as to whether I had been explicit enough with my instruction to extend our booking. I got thrown out of the accommodation after a few days and had to wait hours to find another place with my disabled daughter, not to mention being charged twice. In the end it was resolved by contacting the senior leadership team. You need to look at your processes and way of handling mistakes by your team. Blaming the customer not a good approach.

    We can only apologise that there was a communication breakdown between us and yourself. We are also sorry that you felt we blamed you for the situation, this was not our intention and were more concerned to find you a suitable alternative as soon as possible. We had several members of our team working to find you appropriate accommodation, we were pleased to find you something and sent it to you within an hour of meeting with your party. The second payment was made initially to secure the property, we then refunded you the amount in full. Again, we are so sorry for this whole situation and to and distress it caused you or your family. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NicolaApr 2022

  • "A quaint little cottage near the centre of Salcombe."

    We had a really pleasant relaxing stay here, exactly as described and other peoples feedback in the listing was very helpful to read too. Batteries in the candles and fairy lights did not work, and the diffuser scent bottles were empty and dusty and other little items around the cottage could have done with a dust, which just showed lack of interest which was a shame. The oven trays in oven were greasy so didn’t want to use and I re washed most of the utensils as some were greasy. Parking in the car park next door was easy and we used the Ringo App which made it stress free each morning. The Coop only round the corner was excellent and a godsend! There is a Deli around the corner too and would recommend the breakfast! We didn’t realise until we left that there was a recycling bin for plastics etc, in the outhouse, so would recommend that that was advertised and which day the recycling was taken away. We would have used this facility has we known more details.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were really pleased to read that you had a lovely stay here at Ginn Cottage. We were only sorry that the cleanliness of the property upon your arrival was unsatisfactory. Please be assured that should you have contacted our office during your stay, we would have arranged for the property to recleaned. We can only apologise on behalf of the housekeeping team and would like to reiterate that this is not the standard we work hard to uphold. Thank you for bringing the refuse collection arrangements to our attention, the details are enclosed in the property information pack inside the property. We were only sorry you did not locate these and will be sure to redistribute clearly for future bookings. We hope you enjoyed the cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by MichelleDec 2021

  • "Great little house, have being coming to Salcombe for 30+ years and would say this is a little gem for a couple or young family for a cosy well located stay in the town."

    Thank you so much. Delighted you had a good time. Please do visit again. We are constantly updating facilities. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChrisNov 2021

  • "Lovely cottage."

    Missed having a BBQ to use in the lovely garden or courtyard. The location whilst very central is quite noisy especially with the delivery lorries for the Coop all hours of the day.

    Reviewed by BruceJul 2021

  • "A very well placed cottage for getting around in Salcombe."

    Easy walk into the main shopping area and the water side. Long term and short term car park very close. Supermarket under 2 minutes walk. Nicely appointed and cosy. Fabulous little garden which was in the sun for that evening drink. Very happy with our stay.

    Thank you for leaving us your comments. We were really pleased to read that the property was comfortable and the location was great for your stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Salcombe soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by SusanApr 2021

  • "We had a very enjoyable week in Ginn Cottage and our expectations were met."

    The cottage is prettily presented and the kitchen is reasonably well equipped. We enjoyed the easy access to the town and the proximity to the Co-op. Our only negative point was the need to be regularly updating our parking. We did manage to find spaces in the Creek car park but it would have been so much better if we had had a permit as many of the other properties appear to, rather than constantly having to use Ringo. But all in all a super week!

    Thank you for leaving us your comments. We were really pleased to read that the cleanliness of the property was satisfactory for your stay and that it was presented beautifully for your arrival. We were sorry to read that you had some difficulty with the parking arrangements. A number of our properties provide a parking permit; however, this is at the owner’s discretion. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused but hope your stay was still enjoyable. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by VivienOct 2020

  • "The cottage was excellent, very comfortable and so convenient for the shops, restaurants and walks."

    We didn’t need to use the car the whole week. The outside sitting area was very pleasant and surprisingly for a property so central it was very quiet. We would recommend it to Anyone wanting a nice relaxing holiday.

    Reviewed by AnthonySep 2020

  • "My husband and I recently stayed at Ginn Cottage for a few days."

    This charming cottage is very well equipped, extremely clean and the fixtures and fittings are of a very high standard. It is extremely comfortable and deceptively spacious with a lovely rear garden to enjoy an early evening drink. It is a short walk to the centre of Salcombe and there are local shops within a hundred metres. We would definitely recommend staying at Ginn Cottage. The Turners

    Mrs TurnerSep 2020

  • "Good morning."

    We rented Ginn Cottage from yourselves checking out today. We left a day early and mentioned to one of your colleagues at the office our disappointment with the lack of cleanliness of the cottage. Although the the sheets on the beds were clean and the kitchen & bathroom okay everywhere else didn’t look like it’s had been dusted or swept for months. I have attached a picture of one if the light fittings as an example. We thought all accommodation had to be deep cleaned during this pandemic. Gunn Cottage clearly hadn’t been. I got ill with a stomach bug the first day which is why we didn’t contact you. I wouldn’t have been able to move anywhere and knew Salcombe was fully booked anyway. We are bringing this to your attention so you can address this major issue with your cleaners. We have been coming to Salcombe for over 17 years and never before stayed anywhere which was dirty. Although we still enjoyed ourselves once I recovered and met with our family down there the dirty accommodation at Ginn Cottage did tarnish the holiday. Thank you for your consideration in this matter. Vicky & Adam Taylor

    Dear Vicky and Adam, I am the owner of Ginn Cottage and I was therefore very disappointed to receive your low rating and poor feedback regarding your visit to my cottage. I was also sorry to hear that you were ill during your visit to lovely Salcombe. Such a shame when this happens and one is so much looking forward to a long needed break. If someone in your party had alerted Coast & Country to the need for a further clean I can assure you that this will have been dealt with promptly as cleanliness is of the utmost importance, especially during these worrying times. Please be assured that Ginn Cottage is thoroughly cleaned after every visit and fresh bed linen/throws/towels/kitchen towels are always provided for your convenience. I take pride in maintaining Ginn Cottage to the highest standard and I always respond immediately to any customer concerns. You will note that the feedback to date has always been positive. I am therefore disappointed that you didn't contact us at the time of your visit so that we could have put things right for you. That said, these are unprecedented times and I appreciate that all cleaners as frontline workers are under enormous pressure to meet the extra demands imposed during Covid19. For instance my regular cleaner is unable to work as she is shielding and therefore a new team of cleaners have been working hard to help meet the needs of this incredibly busy season. I was at the property at the end of July and I can assure you that it had been cleaned thoroughly before I arrived and again by myself during my visit and by the cleaners on changeover. I am sure you appreciate that cobwebs can appear during and between visits. Following your feedback and as you suggested I will certainly notify the cleaners to double check lights and corners for cobwebs etc..Thank you for bringing this to my attention. In the meantime, I have checked with the current visitors and they have confirmed that the cottage is pristine. Kind regards Jacquie Johnson Property Owner

    Reviewed by AdamAug 2020

  • "This cottage is in an excellent location and it’s really cosy."

    The owner obviously cares about detail and has great taste.

    Reviewed by TMar 2020

  • "The cottage was beautifully prepared."

    I would recommend to anyone,

    Reviewed by MickOct 2019

  • "Ginn Cottage was exactly as described."

    Beautifully decorated with a lovely 'seaside' feel. Good quality fixtures and fittings, and linen - and very comfortable beds! A good location very near to short and long stay car parks and an easy stroll both into Salcombe centre and Batson Creek. The Council no longer do week long passes, so you need to renew your ticket each 24 hours (easily done on the phone or by machine). The small but pretty garden was ideal for sitting in the sunshine. Personally we would have found a microwave useful, but we managed without and it really did have everything else you could want. The owner has provided a lovely place to stay.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to give Ginn Cottage such lovely feedback! We've passed your comments regarding a microwave on to the owner who will investigate if there a little reconfiguration of the kitchen could accommodate one! We are so pleased you enjoyed your time in Salcombe and look forward to welcoming you back to the area again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChristineAug 2019

  • "Excellent service and all went very smoothly."

    Greatly appreciated the half time sheet change and clean. Lovely cottage and hope to return next year. Thank you Lucie

    Reviewed by LucieAug 2019

  • "A parking permit would be useful"

    Reviewed by SusannJun 2019

  • "The cottage was perfect and deceptively spacious."

    There were a few crucial bit missing in the kitchen. No chopping knifes it peeler.

    Reviewed by SarahApr 2019

  • "Great little cottage ideally suited for a girls weekend visit to the Gin school."

    Cosy and well equipped. The fire made it! Maybe take a wireless speaker for some chilled background music. Beds were very comfortable.

    Thank you very much for your kind review in respect of your recent stay at Ginn Cottage. We were delighted to receive your comments and there will be a wireless speaker system in place shortly. We hope you choose to stay with us again very soon. The Team at Coast & Country Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by JoannaFeb 2019

  • "We have stayed in Ginn cottage a few times now and have really enjoyed it."

    It is a quirky, cosy and very comfortable ex fishermans cottage. Like many character cottages, the kitchen is quite small which is fine for simple suppers, lunches and breakfast. The cottage is very nicely furnished. It is really useful to have the utility room and store downstairs, so you can drop off all your beach and sailing bags etc before going into the cottage. The main attraction is its location with easy access into the town - It is close enough for an easy stroll into town for a drink or something to eat and yet far enough away for peace and quiet. It is the perfect place to escape to and snuggle down for a winter break - equally great as a base for summer outdoor beach and boating fun. It's fine for 4 adults, but even more perfect for 2 who want a neat little cottage in lovely Salcombe, The cottage garden is delightful too

    Nov 2018

  • "Both my wife and I had a wonderful stay in this beautifully decorated little ..."

    Both my wife and I had a wonderful stay in this beautifully decorated little cottage in Salcombe The work that has been put into the decoration of this terrace Fishermans cottage is to be admired Based in the heart of Salcombe all the amenities are only a couple of minutes walk away I would recommend this cottage as a place to stay when visiting Salcombe and exploring Devon

    JayAug 2018

  • "My husband and I stayed at Ginn Cottage in August this year, we had the most relaxing time which is just what we needed."

    Everything was on our doorstep so we didn’t even have to get in the car for the whole week, which was bliss. We found the cottage to be so beautiful and so well equipped, it had everything we could have needed. The decor was beautiful and the bedrooms and bathrooms outstanding, just perfect. The added bonus to this beautiful cottage was the garden, just perfect to unwind after a long day exploring the beautiful town and beaches. Can’t wait to book again next year.

    A JeffsAug 2018

  • "A most enjoyable stay in Ginn Cottage, we found it to be very clean with lovely decor."

    Well equipped and with a lot of character. We enjoyed walking into Salcombe everyday a lovely resort with shops cafe bars restaurants and a very picturesque harbour. I am looking forward to another enjoyable holiday in Ginn Cottage next year

    M MooreAug 2018

  • "Lovely quaint fisherman’s cottage full of character, beautifully furnished and well equipped."

    Perfect location for Salcombe and visiting the surrounding areas , we will be back !

    J AllenJul 2018

  • "The cottage is beautifully decorated, with lots of nice touches and details within."

    The bedroom was very comfortable! There was plenty of space for us to live in and self-cater for multiple days, and it was in a great location with easy access to both the town centre and for us to go out for walks.

    D Amin-PriddleApr 2018

  • "I spent a week at Ginn Cottage 2nd to 9th March."

    It was furnished and decorated to a very high standard and equipped with good quality kitchenware and accessories. It's a compact cottage, but deceptively spacious and the 2nd floor bedroom is very cosy, the bed being amazingly comfortable which is important to me as I don't sleep well way from home. We didnt make use of the garden at that time of year but I imagine that its a gorgeous spot in summer for the obligatory gin(n) and tonic. All in all a very pleasant and relaxing trip; I would definitely recommend it.

    Jan HughesMar 2018

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Fisherman's cottage
  • Two bedrooms: 2 x Double
  • Sitting area
  • Kitchen/dining area
  • Utility room with iron and ironing board
  • Family bathroom with bath, shower (over), wash-hand basin, w.c., and heated towel rail
  • Courtyard
  • Gas central heating. Fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, electric oven, four-ring gas hob, toaster, kettle. TV, DVD, Music system. Feature gas fire. Wifi available. Small courtyard, small decked terrace with bistro table, bench and chairs
  • Bed linen, tea towels and towels provided
  • Hairdryer provided
  • Car Parking is available at an additional cost in the nearby car park (please check with the office for current rates)

The property

This small and sweet, terraced fisherman’s cottage sits a stroll away from Salcombe town centre.

Renovated in 2017, Ginn Cottage provides couples and young families with a high standard of holiday accommodation set over three floors. Step through a stable door into the cosy sitting room, which opens onto the dining area and character kitchen with Belfast sink.

Everyone can spend time together here, winding down in the evening or before heading out for the day. Narrow stairs wind up to the main double bedroom on the first floor, whilst further still, nestled in the second floor eaves, is a second delightful double, with glimpses over Batson Creek and its resident boats, and Snapes Point.

An immaculate family bathroom completes the accommodation inside, whilst leading from the kitchen (down and below the cottage) is a handy utility room.

Here you can store boots or beach gear after a country hike or a sandy day spent beside the sea.

Outside is a little courtyard that has a bistro table with 2 chairs.

A narrow stone path leads to a small, shaded decking, set beneath a pergola, complete with a table and 4 chairs, and a small garden with an olive tree and pretty shrubs.

Settle here at the close of the day with a drink or two, and share the day’s stories.

Popular Island Street is just a 2 minute walk away, with it's boutique shops, Salcombe Gin distillery, bar and galleries.

Within just 5-7 minutes’ walk is Salcombe centre, a popular town set within South Devon’s Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

The adventurous can choose from a range of water sports, or why not take a leisurely day to relax on one of the beaches?

Lace up your boots to wander the South West Coast Path or spend the day perusing the many gift shops, local galleries and independent shops.

With freshly caught fish, local produce and even an award-winning gin to sample, this town is a foodie’s delight.

A cosy and thoughtfully finished cottage from which to uncover this charming corner of Devon.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

No pets permitted.

All bed linen and towels are supplied. You will need to bring your own beach towels.

Car Parking is available at an additional cost in the nearby car park.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Last minute