In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Kennford - Devon - 995542 - photo 1


(Ref. 995542)

Salcombe, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • property (14)
  • well (13)
  • house (11)
  • location (11)
  • bed (10)
  • all (10)

25 Customer Reviews

  • "A very clean and well furnished house."

    We had a great stay. (Constructive feedback would be, to kindly provide some basic store cupboard items: tea, coffee, sugar, cooking oil & more than 2 loo rolls for a week for 8 people.) For the price, location & standard of accommodation this is a great house! We would definitely rent again. Many thanks indeed.

    Reviewed by Emma4.7Dec 2023

  • "The house is the same as the listing."

    There was just the 2 of us and the dog so plenty of room for us. Parking is ok. Location is lovely and quiet but close enough to walk into the the town. There is as lack of recyling which didn't sit well with us. Comfortable big bed.

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Oct 2023

  • "This property was clean and welcoming."

    The beds were comfortable and the linen crisp. The kitchen and equipment worked well. The bathroom was nice and airy, but the property only has one bathroom (2 loos) for 8 guests! There is plenty room in the property to add another shower and a downstairs loo. Despite the easy access into town the bathroom situation would make us hesitant to hire this property again. And add a key box!! The garden was a pleasant surprise. We popped into coast and country to pick up a second key. The staff were welcoming and helpful. They didn’t have a second key but quickly had one cut and called us to arrange collection/drop off. All in all a lovely relaxing stay.

    Reviewed by Maura4.4Sep 2023

  • "Great house in a great location in the town."

    Good to have parking space and outdoor space. Well equipped and comfy. Attractive pictures around the house made it feel very homely.

    Reviewed by Gabby5.0Sep 2023

  • "On arrival the ground floor wooden floor was just like a swamp and we had to get a mop and dry the floor before we could let anybody into the house."

    Kennford Broken Window. Received a phone call from Coast and Country / Sykes on 22/08/2023 four days before the start of our holiday to say that a window in the second floor bedroom had been broken by the previous occupant. The caller didn’t seem to be to confident that it could be replaced before the start of our holiday but it had been made safe. I phoned and Emailed to try to get this work done before the start of our holiday as we intended to have two small children sleeping in this room, the response was. Good afternoon Mr Kirkham, Thank you for your recent web message. I would like to reassure you that we are dealing with the replacement window as a matter of High importance. We have had contractor visit the property to measure for the new window. A pane of glass has been ordered however, it will not be delivered until early next week due to the Bank holiday weekend. The glass can be fitted around your requirements. The broken window is in the front facing twin room and it is the bottom window. You do still have access to the bunk room for your children to sleep. If you wish, we can arrange to lock the twin room during your stay. This unfortunately is not a quick fix as this is a wooden sash window which is situated at the very top of the high building. The broken window is secure and safe but may look a little unsightly. I hope this reassures your concerns. Kind regards. The window was broken at least four working day before the bank holiday weekend, the glass a single pane of standard glass that could be fitted by removing the sash from inside the room, why this work couldn’t be done within the four days I don’t understand as you considered this to be a matter of High importance. One excuse by the local office was that we use local labour and it could take up to two week just to get a dishwasher repaired pity the poor family of eight with no dishwasher. The use of local labour is a good thing but if they can’t perform you need to go elsewhere. Friday the first of September one week into the holiday received a message after a day on the beach to say that the contractors would be in to replace the windows on Saturday morning. I moved my car from the parking space directly below the window to the Creek long stay car park just in case something should fall from the window and went to to the beach. On return much to my dismay the repair had not taken place. Followed this procedure Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday after speaking to the local office who believed that the contractor could turn up although they could get no response to emails and messages sent to the contractor. Had a great holiday in Salcombe as we always do, but could do without the hassle. Regards John Kirkham.

    Reviewed by John2.8Aug 2023

  • "Great location near the bottom of a hill and close to town and the CO OP."

    Well equipped and clean kitchen with a well received welcome pack consisting of a blue cloth a couple of dish washer tablets washing up liquid bin bag and 2 tea towels. Lovely garden with seating area and good sized BBQ. Washing line is functional but could be replaced and resited as its old and too close to the pergola. Bedrooms were nice and the main bedroom had a hairdryer and straighteners with a heat resistant mat. Nice large lounge with a good quality smart tv and WiFi. Dining area is large with a lovely antique wooden table. Bearing in mind the law on gas hobs changed in 2011 it was shocking and in my view dangerous to find after accidentally leaving the unlit gas on three times that it has no thermocouples. It may be technically ok because none are fitted but Im amazed that a new compliant hob isnt in situ. On a more positive note it was pleasing that a second key was provided on request. It may be good to offer more than one key upfront as without a key safe it makes it problematic when there are a number of couples in residence who go out separately. Having only one shower or bathroom for such a large property is a bit of an issue. That said we were able to work round it and it was good to have an ensuite WC. Maybe a couple more bath mats would be nice as the floor outside the shower tends to get rather wet. All in all it was a great property and we would go back.

    Reviewed by Claudia4.1Jul 2023

  • "Having stayed in Salcombe a few times, I am familiar with the area."

    This property for us was in the perfect spot, 3 minutes to the local store and around 10-minute gentle walk to the center. House was lovely, well equipped and cosy, with a great wood burner, comfortable places to sit, well equipped kitchen. As we were there in the winter I didn’t venture much in the garden, but this seemed a great space also. Four bedrooms all very comfortable, plenty of space and a large bathroom with separate shower from the bath. I was a bit concerned with parking, but clearly this is resolved as I had a Lexus SUV that fitted on the drive. Wouldn’t hesitate to book this again.

    Feb 2023

  • "Loved our weekend break."

    The house ws really well appointed and in a fabulous location close to the centre and all the amenities, restaurants and bars. It was a little early in the season and the whole family made use of the log burner and the cosy lounge! We'll definitely be coming back to Kennford!

    Feb 2023

  • "One bathroom is not enough for a house sleeping 8 also no downstairs toilet , which is important with children."

    Kitchen was well equipped but small . Furniture was not shabby chic just old . Bed linen and pillows need replacing especially the pillows as they smell. No car charging at the property which ridiculous as this costs about £20 and could be paid as an extra as there is no charge points in Salcombe at all

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay at Kennford. We were sorry to hear that you weren't happy with the bed linen and pillows, we most certainly would have been able to deliver new/replacements to you should you have contacted the team during your stay. We have passed your other comments on to the owner for their consideration. We hope that you did enjoy your time in Salcombe especially the exceptional weather we've all enjoyed this Summer. From the C&CC team, on behalf of Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire2.8Aug 2022

  • "The property is one we have stayed in a number of times and hope to return to."

    The cleaning was not the best but I realised it’s difficult times to get staff to get these types of jobs done. Coast and Country staff were excellent and very helpful as ever.

    Reviewed by Frances3.8Jul 2022

  • "The huge bedside table lamps in the master bedroom need replacing with a much smaller matching pair and the fridge door needs re-hanging so that it opens right to left, it’s such a pain when you’re by the worktop doing something and then you have to go to the opposite side of the fridge to open the door, five minutes with a screwdriver is all that it would take to swap the hinges to the opposite side."

    Reviewed by Christopher4.4May 2022

  • "We were only provided with one key for the property which was quite a challenge - a key safe would be a good option."

    Also the bbq had not been emptied so we had to do this before we used it. However the property is excellent and had everything that we required.

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Apr 2022

  • "Would have been good to know that property works were going on on both sides of us during our stay, trades starting from 8am most days, this also made using the garden unrealistic at certain points."

    Also, you need to update photo on your website of the car parking space. The overhang which car can part park under is now boarded up, we only just managed to squeeze a Vw golf into the space (to the satisfaction of the parking warden) and had to park our other larger car elsewhere. Also, for a property of this size, could definitely do with a larger outdoor bin (this was also full on our arrival). Overall, a great property and perfect location, a few niggles which are easy to fix though.

    Car parking space is larger again now and larger black wheelie bin retrieved from neighbours. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jonathan3.8Apr 2022

  • "A very nice place to stay, convenient for the centre of Salcombe, but tucked away from the main run through the High street."

    Well appointed and very comfortable. Parking not a problem if you have a small car. If you have a larger car it does tend to hang out across the pavement, as the parking bay is a little small. We'd definitely return.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were really pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Salcombe. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.4Oct 2021

  • "Lovely stay very clean beautifully presented."

    Only thing was refuse containers for recycling very poor. No info on how to put heating on if needed.

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0Sep 2021

  • "The house was good, it had everything we needed and location excellent."

    The previous comments about the duvet and cover had obviously been rectified as found no issue, although only used the master bedroom. The only issue we found was on cooler evenings we were unable to switch the heating on. I understand some may take advantage but given the cost of one week I think it should be readily available to use.

    Many thanks for leaving us your comments. We were pleased to read that the property was comfortable for your stay. We were only sorry you had some difficulty with the heating. Please be assured that should you have contacted our office during your stay, we would have sent a member of our team down to rectify this. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer4.4Sep 2021

  • "For what is a relatively expensive property we were particularly disappointed with the quality of the mattresses/ duvets/ pillows and linen."

    There were mattress toppers for sale in the Factory Shop opposite Co-Op for £30...this is all it would take for the owners to upgrade and allow a good night's sleep. The duvets were absolutely shocking and more like army or prison bedding !! Again little does it cost to buy new hollowfill duvets?! We feel these owners are resting on their laurels of having a home with such a beautiful garden located so centrally. They have no problem renting our their home so why try harder? Well please try harder. We are a party of 6 who come regularly to Salcombe as my daughter lives there. I am sad to say that we have now sought to book places other than Kennford until these simple but fundamental issues are addressed.

    Thank you for your feedback. We can only apologise that unhappy with the bedding when you arrived. Please know that if you had let us know these issues whilst you were at the property, we would have done our best to rectify the situation as soon as possible. We have passed your comments on to the owner who is now ordering new duvets for the property. We hope there you had enjoyable stay in spite of these issues and look forward to welcoming you back to the area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan2.2Jun 2021

  • "We had a terrific week in Salcombe staying at Kennford."

    The property was perfect for the two families, both in terms of location and facilities. We have stayed in numerous different rentals in the area and this is our favourite yet - well appointed, reasonably priced and a short walk into town. The team at Coast & Country couldn’t have been more helpful and their offices are just around the corner. Thanks for such a memorable stay!

    Reviewed by Benjamin5.0Dec 2019

  • "We have been to Salcombe many times and rented various properties."

    It was easier when we dealt with the local office of Coast and Country Cottages. I had some queries regarding the location of the house but kept being referred to Google maps! At no point was I offered the option to speak to the local office which would have been helpful. Kennford is a nice house in a very convenient and quiet location. It's well equipped and comfortable. It has a big garden and off street parking which is useful in Salcombe. However it is advertised as having 2 bathrooms when it does not. The 2nd bathroom is just an ensuite toilet and basin in the main bedroom. The listing does say this but but is misleading in my opinion as i did not think that would be all - surely a bathroom has a shower and/or bath. We managed as there were only 5 of us but even then sharing one shower for two weeks was not great. Also the mattress in the main bedroom is very very soft which did not suit everyones tastes.

    Reviewed by Rhona3.4Sep 2019

  • "Recycling was hard to do."

    No facilities at house. Local recycling just glass paper and drink cartons. I felt everything had to go through inblack bin Otherwise lovely house. Ideally additional car parking. Like use of a permit but we found a place to leave second car. Kate

    Reviewed by Kate5.0Apr 2019

  • "The property was in good location and was very clean all very good."

    Mr Andrew JonesSep 2017

  • "Wonderful situation well stocked"

    JSep 2016

  • "We decided that after fifteen years of one week self catered holidays we wanted and very much needed a two week stay in Salcombe."

    The investment was fantastic for all our family and we really relaxed and had time for each other. that Time for each other that is hard to capture in "normal life". The property was brilliant and we had a superb experience from Coast and Country Cottages in Salcombe.

    Will LowbridgeAug 2016

  • "Stunning property with everything you could possibly need for a fantastic weekend."

    I am sure we will be back!

    Jun 2015

  • "The garden behind the property was perfect for our daughters 21st birthday celebration- we hung lanterns from the pergola and it was magical!"

    Great location and lovely house.

    Reviewed by Anna5.0Aug 2011

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • Four bedrooms: 1 x king-size bed with en-suite bathroom with basin and WC, 1 x twin, 1 x second floor twin, 1 x second floor bunk room with children's bunks
  • Bathroom with bath, hand-held shower with separate shower cubicle, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room with woodburning stove
  • Please be aware this property is suitable for a MAXIMUM of 6 adults
  • Bunk beds are only suitable for children
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Gas hob, electric oven, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer, smart TV, DVD, WiFi
  • Bed linen and towels provided
  • Off road parking for one car
  • Enclosed multi-tiered garden at rear with furniture and BBQ
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Strictly No Smoking
  • Shop and pub 5 mins walk

The property

This Edwardian-style cottage is tucked away on Coronation Road in the seaside town of Salcombe, perfect for exploring all that South Devon has to offer.

Arranged over three floors, this spacious accommodation is furnished to a high standard of quality throughout, with bright and airy rooms welcoming you inside.

The lounge invites you to share stories over a cups of tea, sinking into the pastel blue sofas as you chat away the afternoon among friends.

Enjoy views of the Shadycombe Creek and hills beyond from the front bay window, and read your favourite book as the woodburner warms the whole room.

You also have the benefit of a dining area set adjacent, opening the space up for home-cooked feasts surrounded by your loved ones.

The kitchen is at the rear of the property, composed in a u-shape, with modern fittings and timber worktops.

Upstairs are four bedrooms over two floors; the master bedroom offers a king-size bed, en-suite bathroom with W.C.

and basin only and more of those countryside vistas out of the front bay window.

There is a twin room followed by the family bathroom and the top floor plays host to another twin next to a cosy, children's bunk room.

Outside, you will find a charming garden that is laid over five levels, with lawned areas and gravelled areas, enjoying a pergola concealed by grapevines.

This is the perfect little spot for soaking up the Devon sunshine and eating alfresco-style.

This quiet, residential area of Salcombe, is just a few minutes' walk to the waterfront, with shops and pubs in abundance.

You have access to the pretty beaches of North Sands and South Sands, as well as the National Trust's Overbeck's.

For those feeling energetic, there are many water sports to try and wonderful opportunities for walking along the South West Coast Path, with superb views each way you turn.

This period cottage makes the most of a coastal setting, an opportunity not to be missed!

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Property sleeps a maximum of 6 adults.
Please note the bunk bed are suitable for children only.

Please be aware, due to the nature of the town, several of our properties are situated up hills. Please contact our reservations team if you would like more information about the location of this property.

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas