In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

13 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 30 View Image Gallery
  • Miloran - Devon - 995637 - photo 1


(Ref. 995637)

Salcombe, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (14)
  • well (12)
  • lovely (10)
  • our (10)
  • nice (10)
  • good (9)

33 Customer Reviews

  • "We had expected the property to be basic reflected by the price, however, we had not expected it to be dirty."

    Mildew and mould in both bathrooms, especially on the shower doors and wash basin taps. Both towel rails would have benefited with a wash down. Also the property description should have mentioned that the client needs to bring their own shower safety mats as none are supplied and the surfaces of the shower tray and bath are very slippery. It should also be noted that the client also needs to bring oven gloves if they intend to use the oven. We had to make do with a tea towel which resulted in burnt fingers. The dish washer was also in need of a deep clean. The stench on opening the door was over powering so we couldn't face using it.

    Thank you for your feedback, Please know if you had mentioned any of the above during your stay, we would have rectified all that we could immediately. It is a shame you did not mention these matters when we called you after your first night to make sure you had all that you needed. We are please to report that we have since visited the property and found it spotless, we also found no issue with the dishwasher. We do hope you still managed to enjoy your holiday and all Salcombe has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jan2.2Jun 2023

  • "Nice holiday home, well equipped with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space."

    Drawbacks: very poor wifi (slow and often no connection), front door lock stiff to operate, parking at rear not easy to use due to rough, steep slope on access track. Location: fairly good for Salcombe, with steep walk to/from the town.

    Reviewed by Robert4.4Jun 2022

  • "Miloran was all that we expected."

    Enjoyed our week in Salcombe, sunny weather all week

    Reviewed by Marilynn5.0Oct 2021

  • "We loved our holiday and the house was really good too the bed was lovely and comfortable ."

    Kitchen was well stocked so no problem cooking and the area was great nice pubs would recommend the Crab Shack for a great meal definitely recommend staying here as a base to explore South Devon

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were really pleased to read that the property was comfortable for your stay and that you enjoyed the nearby eateries. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by Natasha4.7Jun 2021

  • "Thank you ."

    We found the house warm and cosy. Particularly needed due to elderly guests... would have liked to have known that the access was up steep steps! But they managed! Nevertheless, we did enjoy our stay, and the dogs got some great walks in! Our main complaint was that the dishwasher was not efficient... perhaps why some people said it was not 100% clean in their comments. It does not clean the cutlery very well. So we found some stains and some of the dishes not clean in the cupboards... we washed by hand well enough.... The weather was not great , but that was out side of your control! But we throughly enjoyed our visits to various places.. especially the South Sands hotel... lovely spot!

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were really pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to enjoy the local area. There are some stunning costal path walks. We were sorry you had some difficulty with the dishwasher, we have passed this onto the housekeeping team who will organise for the filter to be cleaned thoroughly. Thank you for bringing the steps to our attention, it is indeed listed in the property’s details on our website. We were only sorry you did not see this sooner. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by Fran3.8May 2021

  • "We enjoyed our stay at this house it was very well equipped and comfortable."

    My only criticism would be that the bedding is all old and needs replacing.

    Reviewed by Steve3.8May 2021

  • "Great accommodation and location Nice and quiet home from home feel."

    Beautiful views from seating area in back garden

    Reviewed by Antony5.0Apr 2021

  • "House was rather dusty, and carpets need a shampoo, but otherwise very good."

    Reviewed by Christopher3.8Oct 2020

  • "Just think it would be nice if someone noticed that all the screws were missing from one of the kitchen chairs and that the downstairs shower door handle was about to fall off."

    But its end of season so probably due for a bit of maintenance. But everything else was fine and a really enjoyable stay. Thanks

    Reviewed by Bernard3.8Sep 2019

  • "Miloran is a nicely laid out comfortable house, with very handy off-street parking, it has nice views from the lounge bay window and the garden."

    Shame the garden isn't dog friendly, (our small dog could easily of escaped) but that just made us go for more walks, so no big deal. Great location, only a 10 min walk into town, 20 min walk to dog friendly North Sands beach. Salcombe is a great base for exploring, Plymouth, Dartmouth, Dartmoor & all the nearby beaches, it is very welcoming has great food & drink, and lovely people, we had a wonderful time.

    Reviewed by Warren4.4Aug 2019

  • "Everything about the accommodation was really lovely, but I think calling the garden ‘enclosed’ is a bit misleading for any but the most unmotivated dog."

    Small dogs easily could get through the holes in the hedges and my medium could have easily jumped any of the access gates to the property. Otherwise, perfect week.

    Reviewed by Beverly4.4Aug 2019

  • "We did have a problem when the window handle snapped off whilst closing it, and someone came out and fixed it within an hour or two of us reporting it ."

    we were very surprised at the prompt attention that it received! This is the fifth year in succession we have booked with coast and country and probably will again next year.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7Jul 2019

  • "Well first off the weather was fantastic that said the the house was fantastic ..."

    Well first off the weather was fantastic that said the the house was fantastic and only 30 minutes drive to many beaches

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2019

  • "A lovely house, which we've stayed in several times before."

    However, on this occasion we felt let down by the standards we have come to expect from your company. Despite being told upon collection of the key that there may still be a 'checker' at the property, upon arrival we found a mouldy loaf of bread in the bread bin. Although switched on, the fridge temperature gauge was set to zero. We only realised this the following day, luckily, the 100 pounds worth of shopping we purchased the day before wasn't ruined ! We fail to understand why the fridge would be turned off, especially as we were told that the 'checker' would be checking that everything was switched on and working ready for our stay. There were issues in the bathroom this time - the toilet flusher was not working properly, and the bath panel was loose and kept falling off. The back door lock also needs some attention. We were a bit surprised when we received our 'reminder' email (one week before our stay) that it mentioned the need for a "Good Housekeeping Bond" of £200. There was no previous mention of this when we made our booking, although neither was it mentioned when we collected our key ! As mentioned, this is a lovely house we normally enjoy staying in, however, although these are only small issues, they did detract from the enjoyment of our holiday.

    Reviewed by Neil3.4Jun 2019

  • "This was a lovely house and we had a great stay."

    Just a couple of things: The pillows were inadequate in number and in dreadful need of replacing. We had taken a couple of our own so managed ok but had we not we would have had to go out and buy some more. It would also be nice to be left some bare essentials as has been our experience in previous cottages we’ve stayed in- washing up liquid, hand wash, a pint of milk, a few teabags etc.

    Reviewed by Jane4.1Apr 2019

  • "Lovely place."

    Be aware garden is on a steep hill but this is Salcombe afterall. Lovely location. Minutes from town. Good facilities. Cannot fault it. Thankyou.

    Reviewed by Andy4.1Apr 2019

  • "Access to this property is steep, both front and back, making it unsuitable for anyone with mobility issues."

    The car parking on the front is only suitable for a Ford Focus or similar, which could be an issue, and the rear car parking is difficult to access in anything but a small 4 x 4 because of the ground clearance. The staircase is also quite steep and could do with a ‘Mind your head’ sign. Overall, however, this is a very clean property with all the facilities you need for a comfortable stay.

    Reviewed by Barry4.4Feb 2019

  • "So..."

    .let's start with "dog friendly garden." This is only true if your dog is crossed with a mountain goat. Both grassed areas are a 45 deg slope, and not really conducive to your dog having a comfortable "squat" without the risk of it tumbling down the slope. My dog refused to even walk on the grass. It's also not fully enclosed if your dog is medium sized or smaller. There are gaps under the fence, and in the hedges. I had only been there an hour and my dog was in next doors garden through a hole in the hedge. Now onto the house. It is practical for everything you might need. Kitchen is excellent. Beds comfy. The key word is practical. It's also a bit soulless. It was also very dusty! Backs of sofas, bases of light fittings, top of the telly. However, despite those niggles, we had a great week, and made the best of the decked area in the garden. The weather was good, and the Victoria Inn in Salcombe is truly amazing! Well worth the walk back up the hill from town (which isn't nearly as bad as some would have you believe.) I would come back to Salcombe again, I'd use Coast and Country again, I just wouldn't stay in Miloran again. It was a good house in places..just not enough of the right places for me.

    Mr Andrew HarringtonOct 2018

  • "We found this property perfect for our needs (we don't mind the walk up the hill!"

    ) it's near the local store and far enough out of the town that the areas not too busy but only a short walk to get there

    Mr A BlythmanJul 2018

  • "Comfy and well equipped, particularly the kitchen"

    Mrs L WickhamNov 2017

  • "To start with the positives: very clean, modern decor."

    Very comfortable double bed, sofas and kitchen stools. Excellent fridge freezer, wifi & TV. Off road parking for 1 car. Most amenities were provided for within the property. Security: Plenty of keys for windows and all doors. Though location of the outside decking area wasn't ideal, it was a good place to catch the sun. Negatives: The property is built on a slope which has to be at least 60 degrees. There is a long flight of stairs up to the decking. Also there is a small 40-60 degree slope of lawn just before the decking the lower edge of which abuts a vertical 15 foot rock face, and it was where our dog chose to "do what dogs do" she wasn't happy & neither were we. That area is fenced off for us humans, but we still had to get over there to clear up. The kitchens patio doors look onto that rock face which is about 15 foot away. The kitchen lacked trays for transporting plates, glasses etc. No Cook Pots, whether they might have been metal or Pyrex Dishes with lids were available, so casseroles could not be prepared. The 1 non-stick frying pan looked 20 years old, desperately needs replacing. No non stick pans for cooking eggs and dairy products were provided either. Lesser issues: Some of the keys were marked incorrectly, these all need checking a marking correctly. The bath took forever to drain, we asked that they sort the issue out so that future guests don't face the same slight inconvenience. I really hope they did! Final Issue, which I'm not sure whether it is Miloran or Coast & Country Cottages responsibility: There is no info to say where the nearest places are for buying food. The Spar Shop in Loring Road is closest and is only a few hundred yards away (if the you exit the property via the rear gate, turn left along a rough footpath then right on to a made up footpath, cross the road entering street opposite & shop is 50 yards on right). Next nearest in The Co Op in Marlborough. We only discovered the Spar half way through the week after making 2 car journeys to Marlborough!!

    Mr AtkinsonJul 2017

  • "Good location (if you don't mind walking up a hill), clean and spacious."

    Extremely well equipped kitchen.

    JoannaAug 2016

  • "The property was adequate but a little basic in terms of facilities."

    The pillows were extremely uncomfortable. Oven gloves are a necessity when the cheap saucepans radiate excessive heat through the handles. The mat in the lounge is a trip hazard, which was reported. The TV didn't work in the twin bedroom which was frustrating for our boys during the Olympics. No lid on the wheelie bin which was a problem when it rained and obviously became smelly at the front of the property.

    Aug 2016

  • "Needs freshened up."

    Would be nice to be presented with small hamper with at least cleaning products etc

    DAVIDApr 2016

  • "Very Well equipped property great for the short break that we needed."

    Mrs B HillDec 2015

  • "House is very well furnished, but felt some coat hooks in the utility would have been useful, and parking not the greatest."

    Mr B TuftonOct 2015

  • "Lovely house, not so much a cottage, really comfortable, great base for the walking holiday we spent."

    well equipped, extremely comfortable. hill to walk up from town very steep indeed, but then this is Salcombe!

    Jun 2015

  • "Nice comfortable home,could do with a few more cooking equipment(ie Pyrex,cooking dishes also some smaller cups) Plenty of hot water very homely feel."

    May 2015

  • "Towels would have been good as included, House lovely but prob bit too modern/ordinary 3 bed semi to make experience wow!"

    Garden not really effective for dog as open at top end and steps very steep...first set dangerous???? and open on one side giving access to next door. Also very slippery with moss which when wet was lethal!

    Apr 2015

  • "The house was well furnished and equipped and felt very homely but unfortunately the lounge smelt of wet dog, really not very nice."

    Will definitely avoid pet friendly houses in the future. The road was very noisey with late night drinkers walking past. We would not book this house again.

    Aug 2014

  • "Lovely cottage."

    Very clean and modern with beautiful view from garden decking area.

    Aug 2014

  • "Garden needs attention,overgrown brambles sharp made it difficult to climb steps to upper deck ."

    One step also needs attention very uneven .same applies to rear drive entrance above house. Would be nice if outside verandas doors shingle hard to walk .furniture by veranda very shabby and unusable.

    Jul 2014

  • "Excellent"

    Jun 2014

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • Two bedrooms, both on first floor: 1 x King-size and 1 x Twin (can be linked to create super-king size bed on request
  • Third day room/nursery with single futon available at extra cost of £100.00 per week (children under 10 only)
  • Shower room on ground floor with power shower, w.c., basin and heated towel rail
  • Family bathroom on 1st floor with shower over bath, basin, w.c
  • and heated towel rail
  • Kitchen/dining room and separate lounge
  • Utility room.
  • Gas central heating
  • Fridge/freezer, washing machine and tumble dryer in the utility room
  • Oven hob,dishwasher, microwave, toaster, kettle
  • Wifi available
  • Flatscreen TV with Freeview HD, Blu-ray player
  • Off road parking for one car on driveway, further parking for 2 cars at rear
  • Small terrace with table and chairs
  • Upper terrace
  • Strictly No Smoking

The property

A well presented semi-detached house, offering spacious accommodation, boasting views towards Batson Creek and beyond.

Just a short walk from Salcombe’s waterfront, cafes and restaurants, and with the beaches of North Sands and South Sands only a mile or so away, it’s ideally situated for exploring Salcombe, and the surrounding area.

The kitchen is newly fitted, and well equipped with a small breakfast bar, behind which is a dining table seating six, with doors leading onto the lower terrace.

Adjacent to the kitchen is a utility area.

Additionally, on the ground floor is a shower room.

The sitting room is comfortably furnished with a pretty bay window enjoying views towards Batson Creek.

The property has two bedrooms, the main bedroom has a King-size bed, and the second bedroom has two single beds (that can be linked together on request to create a super-King size bed).

There is a third small room to be used as either a nursery or day room for younger children.

The property is baby/child friendly, with a travel cot and high chair supplied, and a single futon/day-bed for one additional child available on request for an additional cost.

There is a shared family bathroom on the first floor.

Outside, to the rear of the property is a small furnished terrace area, with steps leading up through the sloping garden to a sunny decking area, with further steps leading up to an additional parking area for one car.

In total, parking for three cars is provided, with additional space for a small boat trailer.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Additional single futon available at extra cost of £100.00 per week. (children under 10 only)

Please be aware, due to the nature of the town, several of our properties are situated up hills. Please contact our reservations team if you would like more information about the location of this property.

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas