Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 47 minutes ago

Old Walls

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 1010587)

4.5

Very good

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor bedroom
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

10 Customer Reviews

  • "Excellent location"

    Reviewed by StuartOct 2021

  • "Old Walls is in a perfect location."

    A very comfortable cottage with good facilities. The balcony to the lounge was an added bonus as we had some beautiful weather. One thing to mention are the stairs to the lower ground floor bedroom. These are very steep and whilst no problem for our party they may be an issue for people with mobility issues. The parking permit for one car was convenient considering the lack of long term parking in the town. With the closure of the Creek car park, Shadycombe car park will not accommodate the amount of cars being given permits by the various holiday rental companies. Whereas this is one of the nicest cottages I’ve rented the parking issues that will undoubtedly exist next season may stop me re-booking.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are thrilled you loved Old Walls, it really is in a prime location. We are sorry you found parking difficult. Due to a new harbour Office being built the large carpark has closed a month early, there will still be the same amount of spaces over the winter months as this carpark always closes to house the boats over this time. Although parking has been tricky this week, we have many properties with passes that have not had an issue, we can only apologise that you did. The Creek car park will be open again as normal by next Easter. We do hope you enjoyed all that the area has to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KathrynSep 2021

  • "The extractor fan in the bathroom is broken and needs sorting because the mildew is building up ."

    But it’s a great spot and handy being so close to town

    Reviewed by AlisonAug 2021

  • "Location was fantastic."

    The cottage was beautifully clean. The parking past was a massive help, it covered all the places we visited.

    Reviewed by AndrewJun 2021

  • "Location is brilliant and the view over the estuary is lovely."

    It could do with modernisation especially in the bathrooms. The sofa was also a little grubby and could do with replacing or a good clean. I would consider booking again so don’t let this review put you off, it’s more improvements that could be made!

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the standard of comfort was not as you had expected. We have passed this onto the owner who have taken on board your comments and will look at making some improvements when the cottage is vacant at the end of the season. We are glad you were able to enjoy the fantastic location and views from Old Walls, and hope to welcome you back next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SarahMay 2021

  • "We love Great Walls and we’ve stayed there but it’s beginning to look a bit passed it’s best in the kitchen and lounge area."

    It great for 2 -3 only which for us is just fine

    Reviewed by ChrisOct 2020

  • "The cottage was lovely - perfectly located & wonderful balcony which was great for us as we had good weather."

    Reviewed by LouiseAug 2020

  • "Cottage in a lovely position and v pretty."

    There was building work in cottage opposite in Buckley St which meant noisy work from 8am weekdays. The first thing the builders did each day was arrive with open back van and chuck bricks/rubble into it from either upstairs or downstairs windows which was incredibly loud. The scaffolding poles had plastic hazard covering which sounded like heavy rain when it was windy. Weather wasn’t great so it happened frequently day and night. It would have been good to know about building work as I would have chosen a quieter property when booking 4/5 months ago. The fridge was often wet inside and there was a lot of water damage on plinth so it looks like it was long standing issue. Spotlights not working in downstairs corridor and the back door often opened in the wind so it had to be locked even when we were in the cottage during the day. Building work was main issue as even when sitting on balcony on the few sunny hours the work could be heard or the builders would be having their break right behind the property in the communal garden.

    Reviewed by ElizabethAug 2020

  • "Lovely holiday in Salcombe."

    Beautiful cottage in a great, central location. Extremely dog friendly town, with pubs, shops, cafes, ferry & beaches making us very welcome which made it a relaxed & happy week for us all. Be warned though, parking officials aren’t on holiday! We parked at Bigbury to walk to Burgh Island; completely forgot to buy a car park ticket & returned to a £50 parking fine.

    Reviewed by AnnetteJan 2020

  • "The cottage was brilliantly situated with immediate access to Salcombe centre yet just far back enough for privacy."

    The views from the balcony and bedroom were beautiful and definitely made the holiday very memorable.

    Reviewed by CaroleSep 2019

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

The property

Boasting picturesque views of the Kingsbridge Estuary within the bustling town of Salcombe, is this brightly-decorated, terraced cottage, Old Walls.

This endearing base is perfect for a family looking to getaway to the South Hams district of Devon to enjoy a traditional coastal holiday with a refreshing home to come back to each evening.

Internally, the cottage enjoys a light and airy feel to reflect the coastal surroundings of the property.

Relax into your evening within the open-plan living room, where the windows and balcony doors filter in natural light and a summer breeze into the space, ensuring a tranquil space to enjoy your wind down time.

Find a well-equipped kitchen, where you can cater your own delicious evening meals.

After dinner, choose to unwind on the plush L-shape sofa and tune into the TV, or catch the last glimpses of sunshine over the estuary with a glass of something chilled in-hand during a summer’s evening on the balcony.

Follow the timber and glazed staircase up to the first floor, where you will find two bedrooms, comprising a twin with 2'6" single beds and a single room, whilst the lower ground-floor boasts a king-size bedroom with its own en-suite bathroom.

If you don’t feel like cooking one evening, a short stroll will bring you to a selection of pubs and restaurants, as well as a number of shops for picking up the essentials.

During a summer’s afternoon, venture to the nearby beaches of North Sands and South Sands, or brush up on the local history by visiting the National Trust property Overbeck’s, where leisurely strolls can be enjoyed through the subtropical gardens.

For those feeling active, the surrounding area offers opportunities for surfing and walking along the breath-taking South West Coast Path.

Old Walls is a superb base for exploring the picturesque part of Devon with your loved ones.

Summary

  • Over three floors.Three bedrooms: 1 x lower ground-floor king-size with en-suite bath with shower over, basin and WC, 1 x twin bedroom with 2'6" single beds, 1 x single bedroom
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living room with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Lower-ground-floor utility.
  • Gas central heating
  • Gas hob, electric oven, microwave, fridge, small freezer, dishwasher, tumble dryer, washing machine, TV with DVD player and WiFi
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Balcony area with furniture
  • Sorry, no smoking, BBQ , 1 dog welcome at £25 per week
  • Pub and shop within yards
  • Note: Property is not suitable for children under five-years-old
  • Parking pass for one car is provided - for the long stay car park in Salcombe (subject to restrictions)

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

Property is not suitable for children under five-years-old

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it