Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 37 View Larger Image
  • Seagull Cottage - Devon - 994988 - photo 1

Seagull Cottage

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 994988)


(12 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 8

  • Bedrooms 4

  • Bathrooms 3

  • Pets No

  • Show on map


  • Broadband / WiFi
  • Seaside
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Cot available

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

31 Customer Reviews

  • "Beautiful cottage, really well fitted out, lots of lovely touches like the personalised bedding and cushions, and the Emma Bridgewater crockery."

    Beds were really comfortable, the children loved the little bunk room. The only thing, (and I doubt there is anything that can be done about this in a cottage of this age) is that it is impossible to sleep in any of the downstairs bedrooms when someone is in the lounge or the kitchen. The creaking floor boards are the loudest I have ever heard! However it didn't detract from our enjoyment, the cottage is really lovely and in a perfect location.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were really pleased to read that the cottage was comfortable and presented beautifully for your stay. Thank you for bringing the floorboards to our attention, we have passed this onto the owner. We were sorry for any inconvenience this caused to your stay but were pleased to read that you still enjoyed Devon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by ClaireDec 2021

  • "Fabulous cottage but in desperate need of a thorough clean throughout and perhaps redecoration."

    Reviewed by JoyDec 2021

  • "Seagull cottage was fabulous."

    We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this gorgeous cottage in a Perfect location.

    Reviewed by JaneOct 2021

  • "Property was dirty and not adequately cleaned."

    To the point we found previous occupiers detritus under the coffee table, dirty water left in the mop bucket and dirt left in the dust pan. The parking situation is dreadful and not well managed. We only got a space one day, the rest of the time we had to pay. It should be made clear that although parking for one car, it’s not guaranteed. It was also disappointing that there is no recycling facilities. Tourist information told us it is your responsibility and the public recycling centre was shut. We had to bring a weeks worth of recycling home, I suspect many wouldn’t.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were terribly sorry to read that the cleanliness of the property was unsatisfactory for your stay, we can only apologise for this. Please be assured that should you have contacted our Salcombe office upon your arrival then we would have arranged for the property to be recleaned for you. We were sorry to read that you had some difficulty with the parking arrangements, it is indeed detailed on our website, we were only sorry you missed this! Thank you for bringing the waste disposal to our attention. Unfortunately, the council are yet to arrange the recycling system for commercial property lets. There are however local recycling banks you could visit should you wish to. We do hope that despite these issues, you had an enjoyable stay here in Devon and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon! Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by ElizabethOct 2021

  • "We had a wonderful holiday in Salcombe."

    The cottage was in a great location with the most amazing views. When we arrived we found the cottage tidy but in need of a deep clean. We had to put all the crockery through the dish washer and wash everything in the kitchen (everything was dusty). The cottage has been beautiful decorated and is filled with quality items that have been obviously used and enjoyed but the decor and some items are now in need of a refresh. All the bathrooms are fantastic except that none had a mirror directly over the sink and my husband could shave for a week!

    Reviewed by ChrisOct 2021

  • "Lovely cottage in superb location with amazing views."

    Just a couple of niggles, after a very, very long journey some milk would have been most welcome to enable a cup of tea to be made! Also a fitted sheet that actually fitted the extremely comfortable large attic room bed would have provided a much better first nights sleep - had the hassle of arranging it’s change the following day, which to be fair it was promptly. The free car park pass is also more or less invalid after the end of September as it proved impossible to get into the alternative car park. Parking in the long stay is a good 25 minute steep walk away, be warned if you intend using your car on a daily basis.

    Reviewed by DavidSep 2021

  • "Lovely well equipped holiday cottage ."

    . everything You need is there . Bed super comfy with great showers /Bath . Stunning views to wake up to ! Very close to lovely pub with great food and lovely walks . Would highly recommend. There were 5 of us all adults think anymore would of been overcrowded with size of cottage .

    Reviewed by JulieSep 2021

  • "Seagull cottage was beautiful with spectacular views."

    The rooms are on the small side but it is very well equipped and we had a really lovely holiday. The only issue was the noise from the creaking floor boards on the first floor which really did impact on those sleeping in the ground floor bedrooms.

    Reviewed by DeborahApr 2021

  • "The house was comfortable and stylish."

    It would have been a squash for more than 4 people though. The main issue was cleanliness. The basic cleaning had been done but the whole house was in real need of a spring clean i.e drain for shower was blocked, kitchen bin wa filthy, cupboards and drawers in need of a wipe put, dusty sofas, dirty windows, long term dust and grime if you moved anything. Spent several hours of holiday cleaning to make it feel more comfortable.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay at Seagull Cottage. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the cleanliness, we work very hard with our owners and individual cleaners/caretakers to ensure all properties are clean, tidy and well-presented before the arrival of holiday guests and we are sorry that these checks did not highlight the issues you have raised. We did offer for the cleaner to return and fix the issues you had raised and you declined this offer which was disappointing as we would have most certainly been able to rectify most of this for you immediately. The property is due for its annual deep clean in February where thorough cleaning of all areas will take place. We hope you enjoyed your time in Salcombe and hope to see you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarlaDec 2020

  • "Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay!"

    Amazing views and gorgeous cottage xx

    Oct 2020

  • "Absolutely glorious!"

    The stylish home, the weather, the views. Already booked for next year! Cannot wait to return. Thanks so much.

    Sep 2020

  • "Very nice base for a few days of coastal walking between Christmas & New Year"

    Reviewed by FredDec 2019

  • "Had a fabulous time at Seagull Cottage!"

    !! Didn't want to leave .... It had a delightful feel about it and we were so happy to be there. Cannot wait to return soon. Many thanks

    Reviewed by MaureenSep 2019

  • "Beautiful house in lovely setting"

    Reviewed by OlwenFeb 2019

  • "Lovely property in our favourite part of town."

    3 generations of our family from 6 months to 60 years enjoyed a fantastic break here. The views, the layout and the attention to detail make this a perfect holiday home. Thank-you we will be back.

    Sep 2017

  • "Lovely property located in a great position."

    Due to the position the evenings can be noisy but it is a happy buzz. The views from the upstairs balcony and top floor bedroom are wonderful even on wet days. You can even see the bakers which is a twice daily trip for us. The lounge is smaller than it appeared in the photo and the coffee table must be negotiated to get to the kitchen area but well presented. All the bedrooms are a good size but the top floor has a sloping ceiling so if you're tall consider the other rooms. We had a very special week in this cottage and would stay in it again. The cottage has everything you need and more.

    Sep 2016

  • "Great location and nice accommodation"

    Richard TarvinAug 2016

  • "Wow this cottage looks great on the Website and is even better in reality."

    It is beautifully decorate, well planned with everything you could need or want. The location is perfect and that view!! Let's just say it is very hard to drag yourself away from it. Only downside could be that You have to park in a car park a short walk away which was fine for us but might not suit everyone. I would whole heartedly recommend this property and we hope to return soon.

    Amanda And Richard RanceMay 2016

  • "Great location in the heart of Salcombe."

    High standard of fittings etc.

    Jan 2016

  • "Excellent"

    Oct 2015

  • "See above. I do not think property is as good as a number of others we have booked through Coast and Country."

    We would not return there.

    Aug 2015

  • "Lovely property, location and great showers, must return soon."

    Jun 2015

  • "Excellent"

    May 2015

  • "Lovely cottage, wonderfully positioned and makes a great base for your holiday."

    Apr 2015

  • "Lovely property."

    Underfloor heating is very efficient and the property would be perfect if it weren't so hot in the ground floor bedroom. Sleeping with the window wide open in December just to maintain a reasonable temperature in the room seems wasteful.

    Jan 2015

  • "Excellent property loved all the Emma Bridgewater pottery"

    Nov 2014

  • "Cottage was stunning."

    The location overlooking the estuary was breathtaking and the interior design had obviously been very well thought through, using very good quality items.

    Sep 2014

  • "Good"

    Jul 2014

  • "Excellent cottage, finished to a very high standard."

    The bedroom with the cabin bed was very odd and would have been much better as single room. The cottage was too hot - was the heating on? the cottage needs air conditioning if not as the weather was not that hot.

    Jun 2014

  • "Its brilliant - luxurious - well designed - great location"

    Apr 2014

  • "A very different type of holiday for us being right in the midst of the town but what a delight."

    Super views and many hours spent watching the tides change. Although we stayed in March we had lovely weather and would definitely come back to Seagull Cottage especially out of season. Well equipped and beautifully and tastefully decorated, they had thought of everything.

    Apr 2014

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • Four bedrooms: 1 x King-size bed with an en suite wet room featuring a rainhead shower, w.c, basin and heated towel rail
  • 1 x set of bunk beds
  • 1 x Twin with cabin beds
  • 1 x King-size bed with an en suite wet room featuring a rain head shower, w.c, basin and heated towel rail
  • Family bathroom on ground floor with bath, w.c, basin and heated towel rail
  • Open plan kitchen/dining room/sitting room
  • Utility room at basement level with washing machine, tumble drier, ironing facilities and sink.
  • Gas fired underfloor heating
  • Fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, oven, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, kettle TV, DVD, Music system
  • Parking pass for one car is provided - for the long stay car park in Salcombe (subject to restrictions) Ground floor decking area with rattan sofa, first floor balcony with french bistro table with four chairs
  • Bed linen and towels supplied

The property

This exquisitely presented seaside holiday home sits in the heart of Salcombe, with views stretching across the estuary towards East Portlemouth, South Pool Creek and nearby beaches. Offering a tasteful mix of traditional and modern décor, Seagull Cottage has a range of bedrooms to suit a variety of holiday groups. Enter through a stable door into the stone-flagged hall, to find two of the bedrooms (one with en-suite), as well as the family bathroom. Stairs lead up to the open-plan living space, where you can gather at mealtime, put your feet up or marvel at the far-reaching views from the wall of French windows and doors.

Step out onto the balcony for elevated sights across the estuary, and relax with your morning coffee or evening sip of something stronger. Across the three floors you’ll find four bedrooms, two with the luxury of en-suite wet rooms, and two bunk bedrooms – the ideal hidey-hole for younger guests.

The ground floor master bedroom is bright and welcoming with its light furnishings and patio doors to the private decking.

Here you’ll find a large rattan sofa – the perfect place to gaze across the rooftops and chimneypots to the coast beyond. The first floor twin comes with cabin bunkbeds, and winding up to the second floor, via traditional, narrow stairs, you’ll find an attic king-size double, complete with en-suite.

Settle in bed beneath the skylight, from where you might even spot a star or two at the close of the day.

A parking pass for one car is provided for the long-stay car park (approx. 5-7 mins walk away). Just a few steps from Seagull Cottage are plenty of pubs, boutique shops and restaurants, as well as the waterfront. Drop a fishing line from the harbour in the hope to catch a crab, watch the sailing boats, or stroll along the beach at sunset. Travel a little further and South Devon’s entire coastline is your oyster, with pretty coves, beaches bays dotted beside the sea. Wander the South West Coast Path, get the heart racing with speedboat rides or relax on a fishing boat trip.

Seagull Cottage is an elegant escape for those seeking a central, seaside base.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

For reasons of comfort the cottage is only available for a maximum of eight people with no more than 6 adults.

Only one set of bunk beds on ground floor will be made up.

No pets permitted.

Telephone available for incoming and local calls only.
This is a strictly non smoking property inside and outside